Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 600 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, theDarksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    96
    Being a fan of almost every genre this game has smashed together into one has made it highly enjoyable, and the ending had me hoping that the next installment (should they choose to make it) gets in the development queue soon.
  2. 90
    Darksiders 2 rises above the rest as a perfect example of what an action-adventure game should be, and if I had my way, Vigil Games would be making them all.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It has everything – great environmental puzzles, Prince of Persia style acrobatics, spectacular combat and an advanced character development system. It's definitely the best slasher available on PC and X360 and one of the best in genre's history. [10/2012, p.48]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Darksiders 2 may not be perfect but it is a great action game nonetheless and guarantees hours of thrilling entertainment.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Loot interacts with combat far better than Death's abilities. [Oct 2012, p.68]
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    An exciting and lengthy adventure with interesting characters and a host of items and features that make its mix of combat and puzzle-solving very attractive. It's better if you also played the original game, but even if you didn't, Darksiders II is definitely worth looking at.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    I can say, though, that Darksiders 2 plays really, really well on a decent PC, so what it lacks in fidelity it at least partially makes up for in smooth framerates.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 137
  2. Negative: 28 out of 137
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when yougreat game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    this great game i love it i keep playing it on pc cause it fun the more i get into it more i love this one better then first one this onethis great game i love it i keep playing it on pc cause it fun the more i get into it more i love this one better then first one this one show more design more open world world Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hear very often that the game sucks for PC, but I'm reviewing the PS3 version.

    The graphics are stunning, and Death himself is a badass. The new loot system, the talent trees, and getting my horse at the very beginning was much better than having to wait until over halfway through the game like the last one. Death is not War in any way, and that's great. He's his own person, has his own (wondrously unsavory) personality, and turning into the Grim Reaper as much as you do is satisfying. The puzzles are just as entertaining and frustrating as the last game. Though Dust can, at times, be a bit confusing when you're trying to find the right way, you'll usually figure it out (after a bit of head scratching).

    I was disappointed when I did not see Fury and Strife, as Vigil had promised us that, but perhaps the White and Black Riders will get their own games, eh?
    Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    darksiders 2 borrows from a lot of games specially prince of persia but i don't have a problem with that if you could deliver a good gamedarksiders 2 borrows from a lot of games specially prince of persia but i don't have a problem with that if you could deliver a good game play and this game does it is incredibly fun with great RPG elements the story is not that good but what is best in this game are the boss fights they're well done and very good but the progress of the game is the same nothing new go a place and then you're asked to get three items from three places to advance this happens in this game for about 4 times making it a bit repetitive but i can't deny the amount of fun i had with this game and it is so much better than the first game Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    While the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the charactersWhile the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the characters as the original. Sometimes you get that "What was the point of this game again?" feeling as the story doesn't really suck you in and you are occasionally reminded that you are on a mission instead of just randomly looking for stuff to kill. Dialogue is mostly interesting and humorous and you rarely find yourself skipping cut scenes to get back to the action.

    There is a good balance between combat and puzzles but sometimes you wish there was something else in there to break it all up. I'm not sure what, but something. Occasionally you are shown a room full of jumping puzzles and you just cbf. Sometimes having to collected X number of items before you can fight the boss gives you the same feeling.

    While the graphics on the PC port are not perfect the art itself is quite impressive. It is a shame it wasn't ported with a bit more effort as a high end PC would have really made this game shine. Textures sometimes take me back to the late 90's, while the characters are bright and quite detailed at times the surroundings really lets them down. Forcing everything to max via your graphics card settings squeezes a little extra eye candy out of the engine.

    Combat is fun, fast and for a controller based game really not that repetitive. The variety of moves and weapons really puts this game in front. While some fights can drag on a bit the intensive action keeps the game alive. There is quite a variety of items and upgrades in the game and plenty of treasure to be found which makes the long and sometimes quite tricky jump puzzles worthwhile.

    Overall the game is a good sequel to the original and definitely worth the time if you're and action RPG fan.
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    I don't know what happened in the recent years, but when I played Darksiders back then, I enjoyed the game a lot. It did not mindlesslyI don't know what happened in the recent years, but when I played Darksiders back then, I enjoyed the game a lot. It did not mindlessly combined ideas of other developers, to me it created its own Bible Arkham asylum. With this game it's different. I don't like it. First of all, I think it lacks story moments. Of 45 hours I spent in this game I had about 2 hours of story telling moments. I thing had the game length of the original, I would not notice this. But here it frustrated me. Secondly, the game artificially prolonged. Instead of one brilliant quest changing another with bullet speed, I go to one person for help, he sends me to another guy, the later needs me to clear 3 dungeons/floors/ collect orbs/crystals etc. You name it! How comes the game that handled quests presentation similar to Bayonetta and God of War, suddenly goes down to MMORPG-style? Next big problem - loot. I have nothing against it. I had my thumbs up for this opportunity. The case is, it is broken. In the original game, developer decided when you receive pieces of equipment, thus carefully selecting right moments to make battles interesting and challenging for you, because they knew how strong you gonna be when you reach this boss. Here developer can not determine that. You can rush forward through bosses, or you can farm experience and gold and become stronger. The result for me was: a) most of the enemies on Apocalyptic difficulty did not pose any threat for me and b) of 100 opened chests 98 chests contained garbage. In the original game, as you remember, every chest was useful, it was a treasure to find one already. It had lots of souls/artefact/map/life enhancer/demon meter enhancer. I really wanted to find all of them on the level. In Dirksiders 2 I don't care for chests. I already know they contain rubbish. As a result the game is easy for me and I changed my equipment 3 or 5 times. And without any enjoyment, because I was buying things from trader. What is the point of creating 1000 of equipment, when you need just 20-30 peaces of it?
    DLCs are a money sucking mockery - you get 2 hours of mediocre gameplay without interesting plot (you can not create interesting story in 2 hours) and innovative ideas. Compared with original game Darksiders 2 looks to me like Diablo III compared with Diablo II. It looks tempting, it feels empty. I witness MMORPG becoming more singleplayer engaging than singleplayer slashers. What a shame.
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    darksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also prettydarksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also pretty atmosphereic and cool. puzzles are overall mediocore. sometimes they are good but some times theyre boring and not fun to do. the music in the game is mostly good and pretty epic, though sometimes its a bit anoyying. and combat system is overall great, but like the puzzles, it gets tedious near the end of the game. the pacing in the game isnt really good. the best thing about the game is the boss fights. they are just thrilling and really fun to do. every boss fight feels unique, even though they dont really innovate.
    the game has few problems though. graphics arent really good. because the enviroment looks good, it makes up for it a bit, but when theres a cutscene and you have close-ups on characters and objects, you see how bad textures and character models are.the animations are inconsistent. finishers look great and opening doors is also pretty cool. combat animation are good, though they can be better. the running animation is pretty bad though. running also feels too slow. the story is bland. writing and characters are bad. voiceacting is also for the most part bad. the game tries to make a cool universe but it fails. the story was pretty forgetable. the open world is useless and doesnt make any real purpose. your horse is also pretty useless as you barely use him. the game is also a bit buggy. the aim redicle is just bad, and its a shame they released it. the aim redicle feels like a cheap port, and there are barely graphics options.
    overall, i sometimes enjoyed the game. it has a lot of problems, but sometimes i just couldnt stop playing because it was so amazing, but sometimes it was really boring and i didnt really want to play it. the game is just inconsistent in almost every aspect. if you like this kind of game, you will enjoy it and in its best moments it will be great, just sometimes expect some boring segments and a bad port.
    Expand

See all 137 User Reviews