Darksiders PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 590 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 590
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesomeThis is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesome looking. New elements are constantly introduced to keep it fresh--grappling hook, horseback combat, and even some Portal dynamics near the end. The biggest criticism is that Darksiders doesn't do anything new, but combining all these great elements from other games so successfully IS something new. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    i got this game free when i bought Space Marine off steam. It was 2 days before space marine was released so i decided to play this....3 days later space marine was availiable but i wouldnt play it untill i finished this. this game is pure awsome. if u like hack n slash type arcade games with a good story and easy fun gameplay with alot of cool upgrades then i definately reccomend this. Ii got this game free when i bought Space Marine off steam. It was 2 days before space marine was released so i decided to play this....3 days later space marine was availiable but i wouldnt play it untill i finished this. this game is pure awsome. if u like hack n slash type arcade games with a good story and easy fun gameplay with alot of cool upgrades then i definately reccomend this. I will buy the 2nd one when its out in a heartbeat! Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Before I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something called "story" which is something a lot of people tend to not care about anymore these days. For those of you who don't know and have been missing out, story is this fascinating thing that makes games more than just fun, but entertaining and involving. WhileBefore I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something called "story" which is something a lot of people tend to not care about anymore these days. For those of you who don't know and have been missing out, story is this fascinating thing that makes games more than just fun, but entertaining and involving. While playing the game I felt myself driven to keep going not only because the combat was exciting and enjoyable to watch (which it was) and not to just unlock all the items and powers (which are all fun in their own right) but because I wanted to know what happens to War! Its brilliant, and more games need it. In my opinion even games that are poorly executed should have one of these two features: A unique and interesting story that makes you WANT to know what happens next, just like a good book. And if it doesn't have that then it should allow you to make that story for yourself. And Darksiders does that first one to a well polished shine. As far as gameplay goes that's really where the score of 8 is coming from. Its fun and wonderful to watch but button mashing is really all you need followed by a good dodge every now and then, puzzles are well and good but we've all seen puzzles before. However what isn't really a strong argument is the keymapping. Which yes DEFAULT keymapping is awkward, but surprise guys, you have the power to change all that which I did, and I was able to set it up to where it wasn't awkward anymore; amazing how the ability to change the keymapping can fix crappy key configurations. You'll get your money's worth and more, pick it up and enjoy. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I hate to break it to the folk out there that are crying "console port!" on this one, but this is a game that was built around the controller. The PC controls are playable, but for this one you'll need a controller. If you don't own a controller, then you shouldn't get this game if you ain't a console port fan. And honestly, you SHOULD own a controller if you're always complaining aboutI hate to break it to the folk out there that are crying "console port!" on this one, but this is a game that was built around the controller. The PC controls are playable, but for this one you'll need a controller. If you don't own a controller, then you shouldn't get this game if you ain't a console port fan. And honestly, you SHOULD own a controller if you're always complaining about console ports. That would probably solve your gripes right from the start. Now, as far as the actual GAME goes, I find it fantastic. This is DMC meets Zelda, and it satisfies both styles very well. I would recommend this one to any fan of action RPGs with a sweet story, awesomely detailed characters and interesting personalities, as well as graphics that execute the comic book style pretty much perfectly. Again, this is a must on a controller, and only a controller! Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    A truly awesome game showcasing an epic story and incredible attention to graphical detail. So much blood & gore hack n' slash fun with Steam achievements! Each boss offers a unique character and provides an impressive battle. A game controller is highly recommended to play this console port. There are two levels that are really lengthy puzzle environments which can cause frustration toA truly awesome game showcasing an epic story and incredible attention to graphical detail. So much blood & gore hack n' slash fun with Steam achievements! Each boss offers a unique character and provides an impressive battle. A game controller is highly recommended to play this console port. There are two levels that are really lengthy puzzle environments which can cause frustration to the point of not wanting to continue playing. One comes very early at the Cathedral. All I have to say is stick with it. By no means is this game easy, but the experience is well worth it. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This game is like taking God of War and the Legend of Zelda and forging them togheter by the hands of Ronnie James Dio, all for 20 bucks? and on my PC! that sounds like a good deal for me.
  7. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    I bought this game for its apocalyptic setting. I thought it was a great prelude for the great duel between Heavens and Hells coming in Diablo III (truth be told, Christian Lichtner is the art director for both titles). I was right! Darksiders is a small gem! It struck me for great combat mechanics, very unique setting and atmosphere, as well as the creature design. The gameplay is fun,I bought this game for its apocalyptic setting. I thought it was a great prelude for the great duel between Heavens and Hells coming in Diablo III (truth be told, Christian Lichtner is the art director for both titles). I was right! Darksiders is a small gem! It struck me for great combat mechanics, very unique setting and atmosphere, as well as the creature design. The gameplay is fun, very diversified and compelling. The music is as epic as it should be. The bosses' difficulty is high and engaging. It's a very good title, made to resemble some AAA titles on the market and yet unique! The only glitch I found is that the engine is not very well optimised for PC: graphics glitches and FPS drops are a common nuisance. Also I'm not quite sure that is has a replayability that could make Darksiders enter the gaming hall of fame. For these reasons, I give it 9 out of 10. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is a game that kept me wholly entertained throughout it's 26 hour campaign. (30hours with all the collectables). It borrows gameplay elements from the likes of Zelda and Metroid and utilizes them well. The combat is fluid, raw, and very entertaining. The story is well constructed and the characters are believable and interesting. The game looks quite beautiful in full 1080p andDarksiders is a game that kept me wholly entertained throughout it's 26 hour campaign. (30hours with all the collectables). It borrows gameplay elements from the likes of Zelda and Metroid and utilizes them well. The combat is fluid, raw, and very entertaining. The story is well constructed and the characters are believable and interesting. The game looks quite beautiful in full 1080p and the art design fits the game well. I really have nothing bad to say about Darksiders other than I wish it was even longer. I cannot wait for Darksiders II. If you haven't played this one yet, you're really missing out. Expand
  9. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    One of the most awesome hack & slash games out there after God of War. The campaign, although short, will keep you in front of the PC for days. There are lost of places to explore and admire (the art style of the game is fantastic), lots of enemies to kill and a very addicting story.
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    It's been a long time since I enjoyed an action game on my PC (it goes back to Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver) and this game really did it. Nice storyline, the main character is cool (even if he kinda looks like Arthas from Warcraft III) and the amount of fighting in the game isn't boring. I can't wait for the sequel, Darksiders II!
  11. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Really awesome game! The fight is really enjoyable with good combos and weapons, the puzzles remind me of Zelda: Ocarina of time and even the story is good. Overall its a very entertaining game with good graphics and controls.
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    So, I just finished the game. I only can say one thing: This franchise needs to be saved! Its so awesome, the boss fights are epic, the story is great. I really love the combo's you can do and the setting of the story.

    It would be a shame of the game industry to let the franchise rot now THQ is gone.
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun I had. Darksiders opened a compelte new world of games for me - thanks alot for that.
  14. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    That game is amazing. They basically copied Zelda games (i really mean it, it's impossible to play without thinking of Zelda) then added a devil may cry combat style, more RPG elements and better storytelling. My only point against this game is its short length (approximately 20h for me)
  15. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more! I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended! PS.
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more!

    I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended!

    PS. Get a gamepad to fully enjoy the game, It's way better on a pad than on K+M
    Collapse
  16. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Purchased this game for $5 during the 2012 Steam Summer Sale and was very pleasantly surprised. Great story and characters. Good graphics. Good controls. Better than God of War and we loved God of War. We need more games like this! Eagerly anticipating the sequel.
  17. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    At first glance Darksiders looked to me just like any other 3rd person adventure hack and slash. In fact in the first level or so there is nothing more to it, but after that the game really picks up and gets interesting. I was mostly drawn in by its great setting that takes place in a post-Armageddon world where both angels and demons deem you as an enemy. The art style and theAt first glance Darksiders looked to me just like any other 3rd person adventure hack and slash. In fact in the first level or so there is nothing more to it, but after that the game really picks up and gets interesting. I was mostly drawn in by its great setting that takes place in a post-Armageddon world where both angels and demons deem you as an enemy. The art style and the environments were really beautiful as well, what enhanced the atmosphere. After you've gotten past the first level, that's when your character starts to learn new moves, making combat very fun and engaging. In addition you get some new weapons as well, like the Scythe, for more crowd control, and also a Tremor Gauntlet, if you fancy power punching. Among all the combat, the boss fights especially stood out for me. Each and every boss fight was both challenging and enjoyable at the same time and this is perhaps the game's biggest strength in my opinion. The cool cutscenes and the special kills were an icing on the cake. Although there are so many good things about this game and although I've given it a 9, I also have several criticisms. First of all, the game is not exactly a very good console port. The keyboard and mouse control scheme was more or less playable, but it's the fact that you couldn't change graphics options apart from resolution. Of course this isn't much of a problem for someone with a powerful PC, but for those of us with average machines, even on low resolution there is a noticeable drop in framerate in some areas of the game, making it quite stuttery. Another thing that I disliked - some areas were just a bit too long, like the Hollows and the Ashlands. Not sure whose bright idea it was that the sewers and the desert are good candidates for lengthy levels, since those usually tend to be amongst the most boring of the environments in any game. The Black Throne level was perhaps the biggest offender. Although it was a very beautiful level with some cool battles, it had way too much backtracking and also made you do the same thing 3 times! And my last criticism would be towards the puzzles. Although there were some great puzzles in the game, some others were really annoying. They weren't hard or anything. You could figure out most of them right away. It's just that to execute those solutions usually took too long, requiring too much running and jumping about, as well as tonnes of trial and error, and hence that was breaking the pace of the game. All those criticisms are quite strong for me and I guess if I wasn't so charmed by the game's setting and art style, I probably would've given it an 8 rather than a 9. Overall the game is highly entertaining and worth checking out. Going to be trying out the second one no doubt. Expand
  18. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    First I have to point out: don't listen to those saying it is a cheap console port, it is not. Controls are good, rarely I had problems with it. Graphic is still good and if someone downvotes game purely based on slightly out-dated graphic... The story is truly epic, I like characters, finally game with some memorable ones. Voice-acting is done very well. Combat is fun, fluid and can beFirst I have to point out: don't listen to those saying it is a cheap console port, it is not. Controls are good, rarely I had problems with it. Graphic is still good and if someone downvotes game purely based on slightly out-dated graphic... The story is truly epic, I like characters, finally game with some memorable ones. Voice-acting is done very well. Combat is fun, fluid and can be quite complex if you want to. The game is relatively long (took me around 12-15 hours to finish it on the highest difficulty) but it wasn't boring, it was still pushing the story forward. I highly recommend this game to God of War, Devil May Cry or maybe Prince of Persia fans. This game is often on -75% sale and for that price it is a steal. Expand
  19. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen totally and utterly underrated !!!!! get this without hesitation, this game deserves so much more attention than what it gets.
  20. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    A lot of action, nice graphics and art style, reminds me of Warcraft 3, fluid gameplay but garbage console port controls. I loved it, THQ somehow always manage to amaze me with their games.
  21. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    So far I am 3 hours into the game, and am having a lot of fun doing so! Combat is a mix of Space Marine and God of War, which certainly is not a bad thing. Fluent combat is what makes this game shine, and when different weapons and different combos are mixed together into a single flurry of attacks, the game is incredibly enjoyable. However, the only downside is that it is easy to forgetSo far I am 3 hours into the game, and am having a lot of fun doing so! Combat is a mix of Space Marine and God of War, which certainly is not a bad thing. Fluent combat is what makes this game shine, and when different weapons and different combos are mixed together into a single flurry of attacks, the game is incredibly enjoyable. However, the only downside is that it is easy to forget the amount of combos available to the player, and many will keep pressing 'Attack' rapidly, forgetting about the possibility of combos and just slashing their way to victory, pulling the game's score down to 9 instead of 10. If the game encouraged you to mix combos to create a greater variety of attacks, this game would easily receive a 10. Expand
  22. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game with an epic storyline. I see many complain about the controls, I finished it twice with an xbox controller and it's flawless... maybe some games are just meant for a gamepad. Otherwise, though, there is only one bug that I (and apparently the community) know of. I give it a 9 only for the grief it gave people w/o gamepads
  23. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    Great game BUT you NEED a controller. Keyboard control is HORRIBLE. I really don't know what they where thinking when making it... You can save EVERYWHERE for the people complaining about the way point... PRESS start. look bottom of the screen. You see Data? Click on it, you can save and load from there.

    The story is cool, music too (they give you the soundtrack when you bought the game
    Great game BUT you NEED a controller. Keyboard control is HORRIBLE. I really don't know what they where thinking when making it... You can save EVERYWHERE for the people complaining about the way point... PRESS start. look bottom of the screen. You see Data? Click on it, you can save and load from there.

    The story is cool, music too (they give you the soundtrack when you bought the game FINALLY a company who really think buying a game = buying the soundtrack too). Combat can be sometime repetitive and sometime you see they made the game longer with annoying things like=OH there is a door to open but 3 locks. To open one lock, you have to play for like 30-45 min.

    Anyway if you see this game on steam sales and you were thinking about buying it before. GET IT.
    P.S. i got this game free when i pre order: Space Marine
    Expand
  24. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is a very good game. It feels like a very good hack and slash game, the graphics are good for its time, the story line its not perfect but its good. On the mouse and keyboard option for pc is feeling all right but its still recomended to play with a controller. I suggest everyone to buy this game!
  25. Oct 2, 2014
    8
    The game borrows HEAVILY from Zelda, but that doesn't make it bad, in fact it makes it amazing.

    I have always wondered, with the widespread critical acclaim of the Zelda series why more games don't imitate it. Well, Darksiders 'borrows' and does it very well. Very very fun game, plot is iffy but very epic. Took me 22 hours to beat, loved every second. Cons: no real options as far
    The game borrows HEAVILY from Zelda, but that doesn't make it bad, in fact it makes it amazing.

    I have always wondered, with the widespread critical acclaim of the Zelda series why more games don't imitate it.

    Well, Darksiders 'borrows' and does it very well. Very very fun game, plot is iffy but very epic. Took me 22 hours to beat, loved every second.

    Cons: no real options as far as graphics settings. If you have an old computer you're outta luck. I always opt for performance over graphics but sadly this game doesn't even let you.
    Expand
  26. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is indeed a good game.It's an innovative and addictive game...I spend some good time trying to find all chests,treasures and secrets but that was not a bother since darksiders has a pretty fun gameplay and a nice story.It may not be perfect but it is perfect to me.It's been a while since I played a good game like this and I recommend it to you dearly!
  27. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    For me it's a totally win! Remembers me a little to "legacy of kain" series but better! Great story, love the config of controls (i'm playing with an xbox 360 controller), plenty of hours to play, the only down that i find it's in the graphic departure...everything else is perfect!
  28. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    I began playing with pretty bad motivation. I prejudiced this is going to be total crap. After going Darksiders through, gotta admit I was wrong. Especially liked the last quarter of the game. Combat itself is quite simple, but overall it worked least for me. Some puzzles made me pull my hair off, they had quite logical solutions, but couldn't get some of them. Some have referred this toI began playing with pretty bad motivation. I prejudiced this is going to be total crap. After going Darksiders through, gotta admit I was wrong. Especially liked the last quarter of the game. Combat itself is quite simple, but overall it worked least for me. Some puzzles made me pull my hair off, they had quite logical solutions, but couldn't get some of them. Some have referred this to Zelda. Well I'm not big fan of 'em. But Overall this was a positive surprise. Sequel seems to be coming, probably going to least try that too. Have seen better ones, but worse too. Expand
  29. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Darksiders is a masterpiece. If you missed it on consoles, make sure to give it a chance now that it has arrived on PC. It is a game not to be missed. Can't wait for the sequel!
  30. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! If you do not purchase this, you will miss out on one of the years best! For an older gamer like me the pacing is just right.The graphics are better than what has been discussed. A must buy!
  31. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Storyline and characters are well thought through, strikingly original artwork and models brings to life all the NPCs and environments along the way. Don't expect nonlinearity, but if you like a good story, battling in style and kicking the crap out of everything in sight with a choice selection of weapons and capabilities, this is the right game to play.
  32. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    Nie wiem czemu, ale ominą mnie cały hype związany z tą produkcją (o ile jakiś był). Przyznam się, że kupiłem grę ze względu na pudełko i zostałem miło zaskoczony. Gra jest fantastyczna, bardzo rozbudowana jak na produkcję tego typu. Pod wieloma względami przypomina Księcia z Persji (przemierzanieNie wiem czemu, ale ominą mnie cały hype związany z tą produkcją (o ile jakiś był). Przyznam się, że kupiłem grę ze względu na pudełko i zostałem miło zaskoczony. Gra jest fantastyczna, bardzo rozbudowana jak na produkcję tego typu. Pod wieloma względami przypomina Księcia z Persji (przemierzanie lokacji) i Kratosa (system walki i zbieranie kuleczek:P), choć to nie przeszkadza w rozgrywce, a gra się naprawdę miło. Całości dopełniają ciekawie zaprojektowane postacie. Główny bohater, robi wymiot jak przystało na jednego z jeźdźców apokalipsy. Dla mnie jedna z ulubionych gier + naprawdę udany zakup:) Expand
  33. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    As far as i can say it's an awesome game, it has the style as Devil May Cry, a fantastic story, full of epic moments ! I would recommend this game to anyone, and if is in sale...don't waste time thinking about ! Just get it !
  34. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    A nice additionto the 3rd person action genre. While not bringing anything particularly new to the table, what Darksiders does, bring is well polished and simple hack and slash fun at its finest. Sadly alot of the equipment is torn straight from other games and almost no effort is made to hide it, as if its slapping them in the face and saying "look at me I can do it better, with a biggerA nice additionto the 3rd person action genre. While not bringing anything particularly new to the table, what Darksiders does, bring is well polished and simple hack and slash fun at its finest. Sadly alot of the equipment is torn straight from other games and almost no effort is made to hide it, as if its slapping them in the face and saying "look at me I can do it better, with a bigger sword". Any way the core of this game is the combat and with the range of weapons and moves, the combos that you can pull off are extensive and enjoyable. The other side which the game is the puzzles and adventure aspect. Where it doesnt hold up quite as well as the combat, its still enjoyable and some of the later puzzles will get you thinking. Graphically the game is quite impressive, however the limited enemy roster with repainted skins can get irritating. Overall the game is a solid 3rd person action adventure which will appeal to most of the genres fans and will give you a good 20 hours of gameplay, especially on the harder difficulty setting. Expand
  35. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Though this game have little originality & actions which are copied & pasted from DMC & GOW , still one of the best experience in recent pc games. It is a great addition in the time of crysis for good pc games. It has a over the average storyline, fingers breaking action, numerous variety of enemy. Though graphics option are restrained for pc version, still looks good. Those who like toThough this game have little originality & actions which are copied & pasted from DMC & GOW , still one of the best experience in recent pc games. It is a great addition in the time of crysis for good pc games. It has a over the average storyline, fingers breaking action, numerous variety of enemy. Though graphics option are restrained for pc version, still looks good. Those who like to take down huge bosses, solve some creative puzzles & extra sauce of story this is just the game for them. Expand
  36. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. A collection of all the best gameplay elements combined into a final product that is just pure entertainment. Definitely a title that deserves a place on your hard drive.
  37. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Lets get one thing out here off the bat, I actually find this game to have very little to do with God Of War. I find it to be more Devil May Cry. The story is very well done. It has interesting characters and background. The combat system doesn't have to be complex but it can be. The LoZ aspects of the game are quite nice. Finding new items and using them to gain access to areas isLets get one thing out here off the bat, I actually find this game to have very little to do with God Of War. I find it to be more Devil May Cry. The story is very well done. It has interesting characters and background. The combat system doesn't have to be complex but it can be. The LoZ aspects of the game are quite nice. Finding new items and using them to gain access to areas is interesting to say the lest. I encountered no glitches which surprises me since it is a port after all. Aside from it crashing from time to time, which I think has been fixed in a patch for it has not happened for awhile. My one major complaint is that the bosses need to be harder. I found the bosses to be lacking somewhat. Except with the exception of the bosses where you rode on horseback, that was just fun as **** Graphics are not phenomenal, but they don't suck either. The controls, hell I have to say I'm impressed. I expected to have to use my gamepad for it. Vigil actually makes me eat my words when saying that mouse and keyboard can't be used with hack and slash games (I played DMC4 on my pc, its a pain in the ass on M&K). My one grip with the controls is using spells. You have to hold Caps lock then press a number. You don't have any controls over the graphics either, just screen resolution. So make sure your comp can run it before you buy it.

    All in all if anything give this game a play through for the story at least. If there is one thing anyone can agree on is that Vigil created one fantastic story.
    Expand
  38. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Well, for being my first action-adventure that I have actually played through, this game was not bad at all. I see some of you comparing it to this or that, or parts of this or parts of that, to tell you the truth it's all actually quite new to me. The other part is I hear some of you complaining about the graphics, and that there are no graphics options, actually I appreciate that theyWell, for being my first action-adventure that I have actually played through, this game was not bad at all. I see some of you comparing it to this or that, or parts of this or parts of that, to tell you the truth it's all actually quite new to me. The other part is I hear some of you complaining about the graphics, and that there are no graphics options, actually I appreciate that they did that for me beforehand, because it helped me get to the game ASAP, as opposed to me worrying about the frame rate and pushing the polygons and/or if it runs on my pc or not, you know all that extra shebang that comes with most PC games. Once I got to the core game play of this game, all my worries about graphics went completely down the drain, in fact I lowered my resolution to 1280x720 to make that gameplay smoother, and hooked up my wireless xbox360 controller to my PC ( also I hooked up my pc to my HDTV!). So I firmly believe that in this game gameplay is far more important than graphics.

    As for the gameplay, you may need to hit up the IGN guides to find your way through some of the puzzles that are not right of the bat obvious, and for the location of vital items that you can't miss. But, in my opinion, I would recommend this game most of the time, than not. so there we go, make your choice = )
    Expand
  39. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Darksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It is worth a try.
  40. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I'll start by saying that Darksiders is my private PC action game of the year for 2010. It's been a while since I enjoyed such game that much. I spent over 22 hours playing it and most of this time was pure pleasure. I even took my time to hunt down all the secret chests and artifacts. What's best is that the game introduces new gameplay elements all the time and so avoids gettingI'll start by saying that Darksiders is my private PC action game of the year for 2010. It's been a while since I enjoyed such game that much. I spent over 22 hours playing it and most of this time was pure pleasure. I even took my time to hunt down all the secret chests and artifacts. What's best is that the game introduces new gameplay elements all the time and so avoids getting repetitive. There's quite a lot of puzzles, most of them quite interesting, well designed and varied. There was only one or two that bordered on annoying. And while overall the puzzling elements are balanced quite well, I fell like the developers overdid it a bit in Black Throne levels. The pace there slowed down too much, and the puzzles started to be tiring at the end.

    And while Black Throne is the low point of the game, the Ashlands section where you get your hands on the rocket launcher like weapon is just so much fun that you don't want it to end. Pure, mindless fun and orgy of destruction.

    Technically, the game is not a masterpiece. However, it makes up for it with great art direction and design. I believe that in few years time, it will still be able to appeal visually to gamers. Character designs are fantastic, levels are varied and well designed. Each has it's own unique look and feel. The beasts you will slain look great, and there's plenty of bosses to kill. And War finishes the beasts in great style, resulting in tons of blood. Luckily, there's no quick time events except for using the 'finishing move' button.

    The other aspect that deserves a mention is the music. The soundtrack for Darksiders is the best game soundtrack I have heard so far. It beats all three God Of War soundtracks hands down. It's the only game music I ever listened to on it's own, and I don't normally listen to game or movie music. It's that good.

    Now, the game is by all means not perfect. The Black Throne I already mentioned. Unfortunately, I experienced a few crashes, which was rather annoying. Fortunately, the checkpoints are plenty so I never had to repeat too much of the level because of this. And my brother had no such problems on his rig. The gamepad controls worked great, except for aiming. No matter how I set sensitivity, it always felt wrong. I eventually got used to it, but it still left a bad impression.

    And the last gripe I have about the game is War. The main character. Looks great and it's a pleasure to watch as he deals with the beasts. But he has no character. You would at least expect he's a bad-ass. But he's not. He should be. The story is all about his vengeance and implies that he's a bad-ass. But it just does not feel like it. For most of the game, he feels like an errand boy. Only in the late part of the game, he starts to show a little bit of depth, but it's just too little too late. The potential for this character is great, but I feel it was pretty much wasted. Too bad.
    Expand
  41. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    This is a great game, if not a little on the short side for what it is. I finished in about 21 hours of play. That sounds like a lot, but when a Zelda game pushes 50+ its a little short. However, that should not deter you from playing, and if you are more meticulous than I am about finding all the items, then you can probably lengthen this out. One thing I was pleasantly surprised at wasThis is a great game, if not a little on the short side for what it is. I finished in about 21 hours of play. That sounds like a lot, but when a Zelda game pushes 50+ its a little short. However, that should not deter you from playing, and if you are more meticulous than I am about finding all the items, then you can probably lengthen this out. One thing I was pleasantly surprised at was the differences in the areas of the game. Some areas are destroyed city, dark and dank, then others are green lush and bright and it really adds a sense of atmosphere and change. The combat is tight and responsive, and for me, never got old. It was always fun trying to execute different combos to take down enemies faster and cooler. Weapon upgrades are fun and useful, however the secondary and third weapons are really just slots to hold character upgrades. You will rarely need anything but your primary sword for combat. (I never leveled the Scythe or Fist to even the first level)

    The puzzles are fun, if not a little on the easy side... that is until you get to the temple where you have to free the angel of death. That temple was challenging in a fun way and I wish that the other temples would have been more like that.

    I highly recommend this game, and am hoping for the 3 sequels. I think they did a great job with this and it would be great to play as the other three horsemen.
    Expand
  42. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This is a really great game. It had enough gameplay variety and a storyline that kept me interested throughout the game. It's a 3rd person action/adventure game similar to Zelda Ocarina of Time, but with Devil May Cry graphics/storyline. The adventuring side of things remained challenging and satisfying throughout the game. The combat was enjoyable but I found it to be rather basic, once IThis is a really great game. It had enough gameplay variety and a storyline that kept me interested throughout the game. It's a 3rd person action/adventure game similar to Zelda Ocarina of Time, but with Devil May Cry graphics/storyline. The adventuring side of things remained challenging and satisfying throughout the game. The combat was enjoyable but I found it to be rather basic, once I found a few combos and upgraded my character/weapons I managed to finish the 2nd half of the game without dying at all (on normal setting). Although it is possible to race through the game in several hours, I spent a fair amount of time seeking out the various hidden objects and achievements. It's one of the few games I could see myself playing again.

    One criticism of the PC version (at least via Steam) is that sometimes the game will not register achievements (annoying but not a deal breaker). I've also read some complaints about playing this game with a PC gamepad or mouse/keyboard combo, but I had no such problems with the Xbox360 controller.
    Expand
  43. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    Beautiful environments, visceral combat that is quite fun and awesome characters give this game a ton of charm and character. The graphics are reminiscent of World of Warcraft but much much better and darker. If you like Legend of Zelda or Devil May Cry I would recommend this game without hesitation. PC controls are surprisingly smooth.
  44. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Well, I've never played God Of War for much more than a few minutes, it was repetitive predictable and just boring. I don't want to compare this game to God Of War, or even Mark of Kri, this game is much closer to Zelda-64 or something along those lines. There is lots of exploring, getting lose, solving puzzles, and hacking and slashing.

    The Graphics are decent. They are stylized and
    Well, I've never played God Of War for much more than a few minutes, it was repetitive predictable and just boring. I don't want to compare this game to God Of War, or even Mark of Kri, this game is much closer to Zelda-64 or something along those lines. There is lots of exploring, getting lose, solving puzzles, and hacking and slashing.

    The Graphics are decent. They are stylized and fun. Granted, I wish I had the option to beef up the Anti-Aliasing, the over all feel is very stylish with a lot of attention to little details.

    The sound is decent as well. voice acting is great, Mark Hamel yet again proves to be one of the world's greatest voice actors. My only complaint is that the echoy effect is a bit over the top, kind of sounds like you are playing the game inside a metal box.

    Controls suck. They make no sense and were not optimized in the porting process what so ever. They just took controller buttons and mapped it to abitrary keys. Switching between Reg/Aim/Focus modes is annoying, switching weapons is annoying. The only thing they got right with controls was combat, which works for the most part, though i don't know why the block and dash key are the same key.

    Gameplay is where this game shines. There is tons of enemys, tons of enviroments, tons of puzzles, well to sum it up, tons of variety. The biggest problem with these Action/Adventure games always is becoming monotonous. Zelda always got right but games like Devil May Cry and God Of War turned into chores. Now the game isn't perfect, some areas last to long, some puzzles are tedious and just take unnecessary amounts of time (not thinking), but its mostly forgivable. My Biggest complaint is the lack of enemy health bars. Minions aren't that big of a deal, but things like Minibosses and Bosses become hard to strategize against since you have no idea how much health they have left, leaving you blindly slashing and hoping to kill them before you run out of health. tl;dr version. Highly stylish fun action/adventure game, with some minor, but forgivable, flaws.
    Expand
  45. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Although the game has simplistic combat, the level design of the temples and bosses are very good. The game is perfectly playable with a keyboard & mouse although the Alt button for dodge feels unnatural at first. The first couple of hours are quite boring and repetitive but then the temples kick in and the game becomes fun. The overworld isn't very big, but the game encourages explorationAlthough the game has simplistic combat, the level design of the temples and bosses are very good. The game is perfectly playable with a keyboard & mouse although the Alt button for dodge feels unnatural at first. The first couple of hours are quite boring and repetitive but then the temples kick in and the game becomes fun. The overworld isn't very big, but the game encourages exploration for treasure chests. The game may be a bit to easy for hack and slash veterans on normal so you should start on "Apocalyptic" difficulty, if you are. The final dungeon may be considered a "puzzle fest" for some people. I enjoyed it but it may have annoyed some. The story has a twist and has a satisfying ending. I enjoyed this game. All of the reviewers who decided to discredit the game on its orginality didn't mention that the game managed to add something that hasn't been included in the portal series: the ability to shoot portals through portals.

    Recommended, especially at its current price.
    Expand
  46. May 22, 2011
    10
    Awsome game! I was uncertain about purchasing this game originally as it is a console port. However I am glad I did. The game play, storyline and graphics are great. The game is challenging and entertaining without being an arduous slog. The benchmark has been set, I only hope the sequel is up to the same standard.
  47. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    An awesome button masher or just another God of War remake? This game gives many people mixed opinions but I don't understand why! The graphics are amazing, the sound too, the story is alright and animations are spectacular! Let's start with story. One of the Four Horseman from the bible, War is called to Earth to help the end of the world go on but it turns out he was framed and doesn'tAn awesome button masher or just another God of War remake? This game gives many people mixed opinions but I don't understand why! The graphics are amazing, the sound too, the story is alright and animations are spectacular! Let's start with story. One of the Four Horseman from the bible, War is called to Earth to help the end of the world go on but it turns out he was framed and doesn't know who sent the call of the Horsemen and War embarks on an epic journey to defeat the demon boss who was released to attack Earth in the first place. The story I didn't much care about, I'd give it a C+ at best but the gameplay I enjoyed thoroughly with its puzzles and epic animations and, to my excitement, no quick time events! The creatures and bosses are very imaginative as the weapons are too which I own all of them yet I never used any but the default one, Chaoseater, because use of weapons levels them up and by level three I was super man with this sword! Overall I give it an eight because of the stories lack of true depth to me though it still holds up well enough with its collectibles and achievements (if you're on Steam). Expand
  48. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    There really isn`t many games about the bible theme thus 10, pretty old-school game with great puzzles, cant wait for DS2.

    If you like some "uncommon" or original games you should really try this.
  49. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME !! There is fantastic graphic, epic story and epic bosses. Fighting is rewarding, models of monsters are pretty. What more could you want ?
  50. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant and awesome game.

    Let's start off with the combat/gameplay
    A very good combat system, easy enough for the hack-and-slash noobs and complex for the more elite players.
    What makes the combat so unique is everything... aside the combat!
    (small spoiler>)throughout the game you get acces to different kind of equipment: from a grapling hook to a portal gun! (i'm serious)(
    Expand
  51. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is awesome!!! Just like to watch a movie, want to play more and more! Videos in the game also good! Ah, can't wait the second part of the game! Hope it will be soon. So, good game for everyone) enjoy! Expand
  52. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Absolutely amazing game, great story, plenty of "baddies" to kill and an absolutely kick a$$ character to play as. Very dark atmosphere helps to fill the game with a sense of over looming peril and helps to pull you even more into the game.

    A must have for any hack and slash fan alike!
  53. May 12, 2011
    10
    Gave it a 10 to offset the low scores with braindead comments. Gameplay is fun - who cares about graphics if a game is fun...seriously go get an IQ above 100 and then try to make an intelligent comment. I've played through once and one of my sons has twice - we both enjoyed the puzzles and fighting. If I wasn't trying to offset the very low scores I would probably give it a solid 8.5
  54. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Darksiders Is an Outstanding game overall. Great game play, fun hard puzzles, great characters and storyline, and amazing attack combos! If you like Zelda or God of War you will love this!
  55. lhw
    Jul 17, 2011
    8
    As I had never owned any type of gaming console and therefore never played any of God of War or Zelda franchise, this game was well worth the money I spend on it. Overall it took me a good 10 hours to get through the game.
    It's often mentioned in other reviews that this game heavily copies from other games but I think considering they had to merge all these games into one they did a pretty
    As I had never owned any type of gaming console and therefore never played any of God of War or Zelda franchise, this game was well worth the money I spend on it. Overall it took me a good 10 hours to get through the game.
    It's often mentioned in other reviews that this game heavily copies from other games but I think considering they had to merge all these games into one they did a pretty decent job. - The graphics might not be top notch but the comical style conceals the obvious flaws. - The overall control handling was okay from a PC gamers point of view. - The puzzles might have been a bit repetitive but not to a level where it is annoying. - The story is actually quite interesting and I didn't skip any of the cinematics.

    All in all a decent amusement but of course most of the puzzles and items have to be credited to their originial creator (especially the portal gun).
    Expand
  56. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is great in terms of gameplay. The aesthetic details both figures, scenes, fx, etc. are cared for perfectly. It is a game that is a compelling story and fighting for players and, in turn, generates pure addiction! Expand
  57. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    A little too much puzzle stuff, and not quite enough combat (I'm a Golden Axe fan), but I truly enjoyed this game. The first boss is way too tough, but you'll get by (watch youtube videos). I played with keys/mouse and enjoyed the solid controls (unlike The Witcher 2, which drove me to a healthy "delete local content"). Multiplayer could make this game really fun. Yesterday I completed theA little too much puzzle stuff, and not quite enough combat (I'm a Golden Axe fan), but I truly enjoyed this game. The first boss is way too tough, but you'll get by (watch youtube videos). I played with keys/mouse and enjoyed the solid controls (unlike The Witcher 2, which drove me to a healthy "delete local content"). Multiplayer could make this game really fun. Yesterday I completed the game and that is something I can say hasn't happened in a while. Kept me interested. Expand
  58. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Wow, this game was such a nice surprise. I picked it up on Steam on a whim and when I first played it I was thinking that I was over this style of game. However, I played it a little longer and got absolutely hooked. The first stage gives no indication of just how good this game becomes. I loved the battles, the worlds, the graphics, and the moves that you can acquire. Great game, totalWow, this game was such a nice surprise. I picked it up on Steam on a whim and when I first played it I was thinking that I was over this style of game. However, I played it a little longer and got absolutely hooked. The first stage gives no indication of just how good this game becomes. I loved the battles, the worlds, the graphics, and the moves that you can acquire. Great game, total surprise, and I really look forward to the sequel next year. Expand
  59. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    This game is great, but it has its issues on the pc. The most annoying one so far is having to constantly use ctrl and alt which is awkward with the wasd setup. Other than that the game is pretty awesome. I love the story and the portrayal of the demons and angels from christianity, the graphics and scenery are very detailed, the use of different combos and secondary weapons and rangedThis game is great, but it has its issues on the pc. The most annoying one so far is having to constantly use ctrl and alt which is awkward with the wasd setup. Other than that the game is pretty awesome. I love the story and the portrayal of the demons and angels from christianity, the graphics and scenery are very detailed, the use of different combos and secondary weapons and ranged weapons is intuitive, the puzzles are challenging but not overly difficult, the voice acting is good and the voices fit the characters well. You pretty much have to play the game twice if you want to get all of the content and hidden chests. The boss battles aren't particularly hard because you gain more health bars quickly and are more about mechanics than brute force. The insta-kill moves get monotonous quickly but you don't have to use them to kill enemies every time. If you hate quick-time events fear not because this game doesn't have any. Overall a solid game that I will be replaying at least once more. Expand
  60. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Great stuff !! Overlord meets Diablo and Tomb Raider .. 30 hours and more finest game-play full of Action, Quests and cool ideas !! The RPG -Elements are perfectly integrated for enhances gameplay .. Balancing is perfect, only few critical savepoints could be better .. Postal-Elements are also included, what a great idea !
  61. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    Picked this up for 5$ during the Steam Sale and it turns out that was a steal... game was great at over 20 hours of playtime to collect a lot of the side-artifacts... It felt like Legend of Zelda for adults.
  62. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I got this game as a promotion to another game, just to keep me entertained till the real game were released. Now that it has been released I find it hard to let War and Ruin be and start the other game. I would never have thought that it would be so much fun to kill angels and daemons with over-sized weapons. But it is ! And on top of a great game-play there is the atmosphere, the storyI got this game as a promotion to another game, just to keep me entertained till the real game were released. Now that it has been released I find it hard to let War and Ruin be and start the other game. I would never have thought that it would be so much fun to kill angels and daemons with over-sized weapons. But it is ! And on top of a great game-play there is the atmosphere, the story and the music. All combines to make this game really unique and fantastic. Expand
  63. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    Only one negative thing about the game: hard port from console, which makes graphics preset to specific settings ana sometimes difficult controls.
    Otherwise, its a brilliant game.
    Some Prince of Persia, some Devil May Cry but very unique story and a FUN game. Casting all religious aspects aside (its just a fiction) you will remember those 15 or so hours on gameplay on APPOCALYPTIC
    Only one negative thing about the game: hard port from console, which makes graphics preset to specific settings ana sometimes difficult controls.
    Otherwise, its a brilliant game.
    Some Prince of Persia, some Devil May Cry
    but very unique story and a FUN game.
    Casting all religious aspects aside (its just a fiction)
    you will remember those 15 or so hours on gameplay on APPOCALYPTIC difficulty
    and unforgettable ending..
    Well done, the game is a must buy for adventure lovers
    Expand
  64. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Game is realy cool, quests, fights, gears enchantments, hidden treasures. I passed game 2 times at apocalyptic. Only things that made me sad it's cartoon graphic.
  65. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Excellent. My most favorite game. The plot, setting, all at the highest level. Played and could not stop long with me this was not. Level design and atmosphere make fall in love with the game.
  66. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Had a blast playing the game. Just bought part 2 and would recommend the game to anyone. It has a few bugs and nuances due to it being a pc port but not a big deal. Game looks great on 1080 and performs great overall. Would recommend.
  67. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest hack slash games on PC.The artwork in the game is absolutely gorgeous and very detailed.The puzzles are brilliant the gameplay is terrific.Item collection involves a lot of backtracking which will leave you well satisfied and intrigued at the same time giving you a feeling of nostalgia .The variety of Boss battles are amazing.Just remembers to play the game with "sweetOne of the greatest hack slash games on PC.The artwork in the game is absolutely gorgeous and very detailed.The puzzles are brilliant the gameplay is terrific.Item collection involves a lot of backtracking which will leave you well satisfied and intrigued at the same time giving you a feeling of nostalgia .The variety of Boss battles are amazing.Just remembers to play the game with "sweet FX" and adjust the brightness and contrast levels. Expand
  68. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    is this a good game: Yes. Does this game steal heavily from Zelda, God of War and many other games: Yes. but is that why it's awesome: Yes. this game is a conglomerate of every thing that is good from a huge list of games. Even if your knit picky and say "it's a rip off of all these game" it's still a great game.
  69. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Darksiders is a more action-oriented brother to The Legend of Zelda. It focuses more on visuals and exciting combat. The puzzles are less complex and focuses more on difficult fights. This would all make for a fantastic game, except that the combat feels a bit dumbed down (e.g. you do the same moves over and over again, and your massive sword feels like it's lacking in power). TheDarksiders is a more action-oriented brother to The Legend of Zelda. It focuses more on visuals and exciting combat. The puzzles are less complex and focuses more on difficult fights. This would all make for a fantastic game, except that the combat feels a bit dumbed down (e.g. you do the same moves over and over again, and your massive sword feels like it's lacking in power). The progression of acquiring items to unlock new zones is exactly like in Zelda. Finally, the boss battles are epic and diverse, but I feel like some of them were too difficult- I had a very hard time with the first battle and the last battle relies on Quicktime events that were difficult to execute on my computer (I had to tap the action button at a specific rate to win, and you have to do this three times- mashing the button didn't work, and it took me over a dozen tries to find the rhythm the first time, and then I had to replicate the same rhythm two more times, which was was far more difficult than it should have been). Overall, I recommend the game. Expand
  70. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Some people just shouldn't write reviews.

    You WILL get used to the controls of this game and, when you do, you will be able to focus on the story and gameplay, which, is realy fun. This ain't a 10 score game, but it's a damn fun ride. Did I use the word FUN allready ? Darksiders has a..."different" story. The gameplay brings nothing new. It's just a fairly good execution of things
    Some people just shouldn't write reviews.

    You WILL get used to the controls of this game and, when you do, you will be able to focus on the story and gameplay, which, is realy fun. This ain't a 10 score game, but it's a damn fun ride.

    Did I use the word FUN allready ?

    Darksiders has a..."different" story. The gameplay brings nothing new. It's just a fairly good execution of things that games like Devil May Cry, God of War and Prince of Persia (PS2 era) presented us in the past. But the story makes up for that. Well, at least if you are into apocalyptic stories and like a badass main charcater with a lot of moral fiber.

    This is not a bad game. I enjoyed very much and if you like the genre, I promisse you, you WILL like this.
    Expand
  71. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool! No too many words praising. The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys. I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool!
    No too many words praising.
    The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys.
    I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its "enter aiming mode,aim down,shoot,quit aiming mode" maneuver is annoying and destructive to the fluency,though players need to execute this "combo" quite often.
    Sometimes hints are not obvious enough for new players like me,for that I got a little confused with the complicated set of skills and enhancement.
    Rotating map is common among many action games but impractical at all compared with the mini maps in Blizzard's WOW.
    After completing all of the elements of the game,I should say that it is a masterpiece which is of the same level of those more famous games,like Diablo,Warcraft,Biohazard franchises.Though I don't think the traditional RPG parts of Darksiders 2 is interesting enough,but boring,I hope that Nordic Games treasure,develop this beautiful story and let more people try,taste it with more fascinating,clean Darksiders games.
    A bad glitch showed up:toggling among the game and other program while I was playing it may cause the achievement tracking/counting system/function no longer effective,which disturbed some of the achievements completion and urged me to have some parts replayed.
    Another glitch,the cloud save of this game is a vanity,maybe still is.
    A suggestion,a roaming mode after the end of the main story,having the game divided into parts of levels and bosses,and allowing replaying the story with all the collectibles completed,which would be convenient for players to patch up the missed achievements and enjoy beating the game cleanly.
    Expand
  72. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    A good puzzle, action, jump, slash game. Not the best, but good.
    Pros: Cool looking bosses, fun fighting, fun puzzles.
    Cons: Playing with a controller sometimes the aiming in fights is a bit annoying. A lot of times the camera angle is retarded. Ideally you would like to see yourself, the enemy and where you are going, most of the times you get two out of three. The story is generic as
    A good puzzle, action, jump, slash game. Not the best, but good.
    Pros: Cool looking bosses, fun fighting, fun puzzles.
    Cons: Playing with a controller sometimes the aiming in fights is a bit annoying. A lot of times the camera angle is retarded. Ideally you would like to see yourself, the enemy and where you are going, most of the times you get two out of three. The story is generic as hell. Considering this game is a complete rip-off of Soul Reaver one might expect that they could produce a better story considering the Legacy of Kain series (of which Soul Reaver is a part) has the best story in gaming history.

    So to sum up, fun but not a game of the year.
    Expand
  73. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    My overall experience with Darksiders was enjoyable. The aspects of the game that it took from previous titles such as Zelda and God of War were all well implemented. While the game may not be as good as the titles it takes mechanics from, it is a decent title that I would recommend picking up.
  74. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    In my opinion,one of the best games I've played.Here's why:
    -Graphics:Fairly innovative,there aren't a lot of games that use the same style when it comes to graphics and this game was the one who did it best.They fit the environment,they are good and best of all,innovative.10 for graphics.
    -Plot:I have to say,a lot of games develop plots this way,however,they don't present characters in
    In my opinion,one of the best games I've played.Here's why:
    -Graphics:Fairly innovative,there aren't a lot of games that use the same style when it comes to graphics and this game was the one who did it best.They fit the environment,they are good and best of all,innovative.10 for graphics.
    -Plot:I have to say,a lot of games develop plots this way,however,they don't present characters in the same way this game does.The events make sense,the characters are connected just fine and it is generally pleasing to see a plot such as this one.It's a very pleasant sight when near the end,everyone 's intentions seem to unwrap before your eyes as you begin the final fight.The only bad thing I can say about the story is that it wasn't clearly explained what would happen if War really did manage to complete his goals,because all we got was a rough outline of what might happen.9 for story.
    -Music:The music fits the combat,fits the events and fits the exploring.It makes this game seem a bit better,mostly because the music fits great with every other aspect.It even makes me want to keep playing and listen to it even when I'm not playing.10 for music.
    -Game play:The controls are good,they respond properly and there's no problem there.There are some glitches,however,none that would make the game seem broken.The character design adds a lot to the game play,as it makes the combat and dialogues seem quite satisfying.And last but not least,the A.I. are very good.To make good A.I. for characters of large scales and such design is always a hardship,however,this game managed to make them just right.I haven't experienced any flaws with the A.I. ,they seem to be near perfection and might be some of the best out there.9 for game play,because of the bugs.
    Replay value:There are a lot of extras,some of them hard to find during the first time a person plays the game,but they aren't really crucial to the story or its development.However,that abyssal armor was pretty sweet.The experience and the collectibles might be the only 2 things that would make a person replay this game.So it doesn't really make you want to replay it,as it isn't really an open world and you can't really miss anything that's important to the story.8,as it doesn't really make people want to replay it.
    Finally,the graphics are great,the plot is very close to perfect,the music is amazing,game play is close to amazing and the replay value is above average,but not near perfect.(10+9+10+9+8=9.2,and I give this game a well deserved 9.)Try it,play it and I guarantee you will like it.
    Expand
  75. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    As an old God of War fan I couldn't resist trying Darksiders. And I am far from disapointed. Game really makes you want to play it for hours. That's mainly becouse of the "Half-Lifish" idea of giving you new mechanics every next chapter, so that you don't stuck to doing the same thing on and on. As a slasher it really does grate in terms of... well... slashing. Killing enemies isAs an old God of War fan I couldn't resist trying Darksiders. And I am far from disapointed. Game really makes you want to play it for hours. That's mainly becouse of the "Half-Lifish" idea of giving you new mechanics every next chapter, so that you don't stuck to doing the same thing on and on. As a slasher it really does grate in terms of... well... slashing. Killing enemies is rewarding, and finishers feel really good, even though the secondary weapons weren't really comfortable in use, and made me use only that huge sword. But that's not the last of "it-could-have-been-done-better". Some of the ranged weapons became useless after half an hour of having them in the inventory, and War's horse felt balky. Anyways the storyline and fun Darksiders gave me make me want to go, try the sequel. I'm actually on my way to do that, and I hope it got away from it's predecessor's flaws. Expand
  76. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I truly enjoyed this game. For enjoyment 10/10. I cannot give this game a perfect 10 as no game in my eyes can ever be perfect, however there is next to nothing that I can criticise about this game other than I wish there were more quests to do post completion of the game!
  77. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I'm about 80% through the game and this game is like God of War, except I found the puzzles to be more challenging. The graphics are ok. Kinda grainy looking for today's standards. I give it somewhat of a pass on graphics since the game is old. It still is alot of fun. If you are a fan of the God of War games you will like this one. The game doesn't dish out anything original really so youI'm about 80% through the game and this game is like God of War, except I found the puzzles to be more challenging. The graphics are ok. Kinda grainy looking for today's standards. I give it somewhat of a pass on graphics since the game is old. It still is alot of fun. If you are a fan of the God of War games you will like this one. The game doesn't dish out anything original really so you might not be impressed if you have played a ton of video games on the Xbox already. I just got my Xbox about 6 months ago and I think this is one of the better games for this system if you like a challenge, but not too much of a challenge. Other than a couple of REALLY tedious challenge type battles the game is awesome. Controls are a bit off sometimes. And there seems to be a delay with jumping so if you are running towards a cliff you will end up falling off a few times until you get used to jumping a little bit sooner. If it were not for the small negative things I posted this game would have gotten a 10 and that is not counting the dated looking graphics. This game should NOT be getting a 10 as it is not the same caliber as a perfect game and whoever is giving this game a 0 and saying that it is linear is full of crap. Final Fantasy was linear. This game is like Zelda or Metroid in some ways. If you like God of War, Metroid or Zelda try this one out. Just don't have the expectation that this game is as polished as those titles. This is a good one though if you don't have a Wii or Playstation available. Expand
  78. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    Absolutely amazing game. Great work on the puzzles and game-play. The game-play is a mixture of God of War and Devil may cry. You'll have to collect souls and do upgrades. In short it is worth buying.
  79. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    I give this game a score of 10 because this game does what a video game should do: Entertain you and make you escape in a "different world".

    I am a 30 years old game who played through console in his childhood and played mostly RTS(Starcraft, Warcraft III, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War). I haven't played lot of third person slash / shooter except maybe Legacy of Kain on PS2. I like
    I give this game a score of 10 because this game does what a video game should do: Entertain you and make you escape in a "different world".

    I am a 30 years old game who played through console in his childhood and played mostly RTS(Starcraft, Warcraft III, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War). I haven't played lot of third person slash / shooter except maybe Legacy of Kain on PS2. I like about every game type except MMO, who are IMO, time-killers, might as well get a lobotomy and sit on a chair on IV's.

    I have played this game on PC for around 36 hours(with a Logitech Gamepad, who plays that with a mouse and keyboard? that is plain stupid i.e.: all the bad reviews), the controls are very intuitive and simple and I haven't finished the game yet. The puzzles are fairly challenging without being impossible, yes I had to use youtube a few times where my patience was running thin. I play this game just to relax and switch off, this game will not drive you nuts and is actually entertaining, also there is no "grinding" whatsoever so people with a a life will enjoy it (if you have no life you will probably chew through it in a few days; I have been there once upon a time).

    Pros: Good storyline, fantastic arts(as the attention to details in the background and the overall world), very entertaining. Joe Madureira is a fantastic graphist and that shows. You will get immersed in this universe of desolation. This game reminds me of a 3D version of Zelda a link to the past, you have to use your tools in order to get through dungeons and puzzles, you can upgrade your life, your wrath and your armor aquire a very few items but still you need to find those secret chests. The combat is fairly simple but I am not a hack and slash player (not even remotely). To get through this game you actually have to observe and think about what you're doing( not just slash through and "go up in levels"). The boss are reasonably do-able on a first fight, if you take the time to check the environment and the boss itself you will find its weakness.

    Cons: No replayability, no "leveling up" and super super dupa-omni boss (who drops "epic" nice looking armor to show to your "virtual friends") to kill after grinding and leveling for 200 hours(i.e. wasting your time / life). For me it's a pro, but it seems to be a "con" if we look at the popularity of MMO RPG.
    Expand
  80. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Sure, there are no advanced graphics options and some of the controls are a bit messy (I only did okay thanks to a 5-button mouse); sure, the story's a little "retarded" and the voice acting is only AAA quality if it was for an "are you afraid of the dark?" episode but what most reviews seem to ignore, both from users and critics, is that this game is just plain FUN! It's incredibly closeSure, there are no advanced graphics options and some of the controls are a bit messy (I only did okay thanks to a 5-button mouse); sure, the story's a little "retarded" and the voice acting is only AAA quality if it was for an "are you afraid of the dark?" episode but what most reviews seem to ignore, both from users and critics, is that this game is just plain FUN! It's incredibly close formula-wise to a Zelda game, but with the sort of hyper-cheesy art and story direction that you would have thought was the most badass thing ever when you were 13 (this is both good and bad). It's clear that the developers had fun making this game, and I've been having fun playing it. There are FAR more polished and tightly put together AAA games around, but lack that spark of wanting to come back and play more. Expand
  81. May 31, 2013
    8
    Darksiders' storyline is a bit better than most action games and its gameplay is quite detailed with all sorts of ways to travel, fight and explore through the game's world. The game's sound and characters are nicely done and adds a unique feeling to the overall atmosphere along with its amazing visual styles and unique art style to the genre. However the game falls short in terms of itsDarksiders' storyline is a bit better than most action games and its gameplay is quite detailed with all sorts of ways to travel, fight and explore through the game's world. The game's sound and characters are nicely done and adds a unique feeling to the overall atmosphere along with its amazing visual styles and unique art style to the genre. However the game falls short in terms of its replay value and music which is more unnoticeable than any other OST you would hear from a game. Regardless if you are itching for some action and demon slaying, this is the game for you. If you enjoyed games like God of War and Devil May Cry, this game will be worthy of a purchase especially at the price it goes for on Steam. Expand
  82. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I like very much this game cause it has good mood (not many games is about the conflict between heaven and hell), comabt is very satisfied. Graphic is nice Only Black Throne frustrated me (too much thinking, less fighting) but I don't like many riddles.
  83. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    A great action adventure game, you play as one of the four horsemen in a war between the three kingdoms, heaven, hell and humanity. Think of this game as a combination of Diablo II and Legend of Zelda and you'll get a good idea of what it's like. Add TriDef with a 3D monitor for a even better, 3D gaming experience.
  84. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    Darksiders is a wonderfull creation that will worth your money. The graphics ar fine and the sound is great. The Gameplay is one of the best, but not that different from the God of War series (which is much better). They ripped off Santa Monica's GOW. The story is highly un- interesting. However The RPG elements add a different experience to the game.
  85. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    I have to say I enjoyed a lot this game. I've felt myself so cool from the beginning, and the charachter gain even more "coolness" with the goin-on. The plot is interesting, even if it isn't so deep, and I found myself right using keyboard, I haven't got any problem. The great amount of chest and secrets will make you go in old areas a bunch of time before you can complete the game 100%.I have to say I enjoyed a lot this game. I've felt myself so cool from the beginning, and the charachter gain even more "coolness" with the goin-on. The plot is interesting, even if it isn't so deep, and I found myself right using keyboard, I haven't got any problem. The great amount of chest and secrets will make you go in old areas a bunch of time before you can complete the game 100%. There are 2 problem in this game, imo. First, a Steam bug regarding achievements. I really hate to do something i expect an achievement for and seen it not recognized. I complete the game 100% on hard mode and I still have 15 out of 43 achiv... Secondly, and this is the greater problem ,is the difficulty level. Very early in the game you find yourself with a lot of health, and this mean you probably will never die. Also, the boss mechanic are very easy to understand. To make an example, I died about 10 times on hard difficulty, 8 of that on the first boss. After that, I had so much health that the game become very easy. Expand
  86. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Although this is a direct port (with no extra features for PC, i.e. tweaking graphics settings) it's still a fantastic game that can be picked up cheaply. Highly recommended to play with a controller, where the controls are intuitive and flow excellently. Although the graphics are average at best (and look dated even for a 2010 game) they don't distract from the game-play and fun factor.Although this is a direct port (with no extra features for PC, i.e. tweaking graphics settings) it's still a fantastic game that can be picked up cheaply. Highly recommended to play with a controller, where the controls are intuitive and flow excellently. Although the graphics are average at best (and look dated even for a 2010 game) they don't distract from the game-play and fun factor. And ultimately that's what this game comes down to - the fun factor. You'll have a blast leaping around and swinging your massive sword. Expand
  87. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My initial thoughts on this game were influenced by a friend. He bragged and bragged about how great this game was, so I thought I would try it and see if it lived up to my expectations set by my friend. They blew them out of the water! I know I will receive hate mail for saying this, but it is comparable to Legend of Zelda with a slightly darker, more destructive and angry main character! Now let me save myself before all of my credibility is shot to ****, it is not better than Legend of Zelda games! It has very similar features, mildly challenging puzzles, battle arenas, bosses that should kick the crap out of you, and of course an obnoxious voice in your ear (demon, navi, whatever...its annoying!). A few things that really stood out to me when playing:
    1) Climbing on vines - In a lot of games, climbing up vines, walls, etc is a slow, painful process that I dread doing. This game had a nice way to expedite the movement and make that one tiny part of the game (which was painful to do) much better!
    2) Pretty decent enemies - much like LoZ there are enemies which you hate to kill (for whatever reason) and there are enemies you love to kill! Same here. The poison, meat men were the bane of my existence! However, there is nothing more satisfying from insta-kiling bats while flying through the air! Another nice aspect of the enemies were that they scaled with your "level." The easy to kill "dogs" had a higher "level" which were not as easy to kill and allowed for continued satisfaction in their demise. Other monsters have a similar example. This was a good choice by the game designers!
    3) Your secondary arsenal - You are given many different tools throughout the game and are required to use all of them at least once in a significant part of the game, whether that be bosses, puzzles, and even standard movement around the world. This allows for a more dynamic character, which was not necessary but certainly beneficial!
    4) Demon Shop - This certainly provides more dynamic fighting sequences, otherwise I know the game would get pretty boring very quickly. My favorite is the baseball swing...the satisfaction is endless...

    Graphics: Yes the graphics are outdated as I write this, the game was released in 2010 and I beat it early 2013 (new, aspiring gamer). Even so, the graphics that do matter are good enough to satisfy most gamers! Those who are unsatisfied are either shallow when it comes to graphics, or have a disposition against the game and refuse to acknowledge what it truly looks like. Yes maybe a car will fly through part of a tree when you throw it. Does that ruin the game? NO! If it does, get a job doing graphics and fix it! 9/10

    Sound: Nothing comes to mind when I think of sounds, neither good nor bad...obviously nothing that detracted from the game! 7/10

    Character Development: Some people are very passionate when it comes to character development, so I thought I would include a section on my views of character development. War comes down to earth, kicks *** and then realizes that it was a mistake! So he is stripped and reduced to "nothing" and he has to build himself back up. I'm not a huge fan of this kind of beginning because until you catch up to where you were at the beginning, you always feel like the main character is less than his full potential. If you start out as nothing...you can build up to something amazing and never have experienced that loss of power! War is hell-bent on revenge and atonement for his disgrace throughout the game, which is not over-played, but you can certainly see it throughout the cut-scenes. Otherwise you do not learn much about he mysterious protagonist! For better or for worse! 7/10

    Game-play: The game gets better the longer you play it, to be truly honest, you get out of it what you put in. Cheesy, but true! If you don't collect souls, if you don't use other skills/tools, if you don't try and find any hidden chests. You will not have as much fun! Secondly, the game starts out as a dynamic hack-n-slash. You kill everything, any way you can and solve small puzzles to get to the next place. However, the last quarter(?) of the game (when you try to free the Angel of Death), has fantastic puzzles and relentless mini-bosses! If the entire game would have been like the last quarter with the same amount of fighting as the first three quarters, I would have for sure given this game 10/10. Alas, it is not so. 9/10.

    All in all, this game was a gem and I truly enjoyed every moment of playing it! If this game is not on your wish list, on your shelf or in your steam library. You are gaming wrong! -Quant
    Expand
  88. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    Very impressed. Came at the game not knowing what to expect and was pleasantly surprised and pleased.
    Good production values, great fun and some interesting puzzles.
    Is a combination of DMC and Gods of War IMHO.
    One thing, once you nail a strategy for taking down each type of mob then at can be a little repetitive.
  89. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Una muy buena historia, muy buen gameplay, excelentes gráficos, controles muy simples de usar pero difícil de dominar a la perfección, la verdad es que disfrute cada segundo de este juego, tiene errores, eso es lo malo, pero igual, esos errores no molestaran demasiado. El voice actin es perfecto con el ser de cada personaje, los sonidos son muy realistas, muy excelente este juego y laUna muy buena historia, muy buen gameplay, excelentes gráficos, controles muy simples de usar pero difícil de dominar a la perfección, la verdad es que disfrute cada segundo de este juego, tiene errores, eso es lo malo, pero igual, esos errores no molestaran demasiado. El voice actin es perfecto con el ser de cada personaje, los sonidos son muy realistas, muy excelente este juego y la verdad es que lo recomiendo, si te gustan juegos estilo God Of War, este juego es para vos! Expand
  90. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This is a really good and fun game. It's a lot like God of War; very hack and slash, fun, fast-paced combat and a substantial amount of puzzle solving. The boss fights are very well done, and the game can be quite challenging. The story is very interesting and exciting, though nowhere near biblical accurate. The game does have its faults but the ups in this game more than surpass them.
  91. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    I am not giving it a 10. I don't give 10s out often so, that's that. However, this game is absolutely fantastic. The art style is brilliant. The voice acting is just divine I cannot fault this...until you get into combat. Some of the combat seems a bit button mash-y and that's fine as it's a hack n' slash game the puzzles seem incredibly simple and repetitive which is okay. everythingI am not giving it a 10. I don't give 10s out often so, that's that. However, this game is absolutely fantastic. The art style is brilliant. The voice acting is just divine I cannot fault this...until you get into combat. Some of the combat seems a bit button mash-y and that's fine as it's a hack n' slash game the puzzles seem incredibly simple and repetitive which is okay. everything else (and I mean everything) Is up to a great level of sophistication. Ignore the idiots who say it's a clone of games because it is unique. It is unique in the sense that even though a vats majority of ideas for games have already been taken, they took it upon themselves to sift into the bible to the apocalyptic section and sift out the Four Horseman...and as a concept it is fantastic.! Expand
  92. Sep 8, 2015
    8
    I grade the game with an 8 because Darksiders is a Green Color Score Game, but the real score is a 7.

    Game is a 7. I found the game very-very easy. If you use dash and stone skin you will kick-asses all the game, I lose only 1 heal bar vs The Destroyer-Abbadon in Apocalypsis (only lose the bar because I suck in "pressing bottons mini-games"). Well, I use two post-procesing forced
    I grade the game with an 8 because Darksiders is a Green Color Score Game, but the real score is a 7.

    Game is a 7.

    I found the game very-very easy. If you use dash and stone skin you will kick-asses all the game, I lose only 1 heal bar vs The Destroyer-Abbadon in Apocalypsis (only lose the bar because I suck in "pressing bottons mini-games").

    Well, I use two post-procesing forced into the game: FXAA (max quality) and morphological filtering, force AA edge dected (multisample) at 8qX (that is 16x in nVidias) and Texture Ultra quality (with AMD optimacer). V-Sync at 58 frames (you know, new patch in Catalys AMD allow you to fix V-sync frames to a minimun of 55 and a maximun of 95).

    Doing this the game improve a lot. GRAPICS AND EFFECT AT MAMMOTH LVLS. Really impressive the good optimization of this game, a 2010 game support so hard-core high-end set up is impressive.

    Most of the game is not fight at all. Puzzles are stupidly easy and they only made you lose a lot of time (and fun).

    Maybe people said this game is hard because they tried to block in fights (there is a small dealy in blocks) so you have to be very, very acuarate and wait the exact moment, or just dash an hit. I calculate that for every counter I can made 4 slash. Just dash and slash :D. Very easy game. (Yeah, I have the madman trophy in the Witcher II, so this is a chesse eating game).

    Solid 7 game:
    Grapics: 7 (with forces AA improve to a 10, for 2010 standars)
    Sounds: 7
    Fun lvl: 7
    Difficult: 1
    Puzzle solve: -1000 (very boring part of the game, at least 10 hours of the game is solving puzzles)
    Expand
  93. Nov 19, 2015
    8
    Slasher with an open world create a perfect combination, as evidenced by the Darksiders. The game has very nice, varied fairy-tale graphics and nice soundtrack. An interesting character leveling. I think this game is one of the best slashers on the market.

    Score: 8/10 - I highly recommended it!
  94. Jan 20, 2016
    8
    Darksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has its problems, yes, but that does not mean the game is not on a great path.
  95. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    Acabei de zerar os dois jogos..
    Darksiders 1. Surpreendeu minhas expectativas
    Historia bem bacana com bons desenhos e cenários, puzzles inteligentes e divertidos. É jogo de ação basicamente linear com jogabilidade bem simples. No decorrer da historio nós anceia pelos chefes épico. A dificuldade dos anjos, demônios e tudo que se opor ao guerreiro lendário aumenta com as habilidades do
    Acabei de zerar os dois jogos..
    Darksiders 1. Surpreendeu minhas expectativas
    Historia bem bacana com bons desenhos e cenários, puzzles inteligentes e divertidos. É jogo de ação basicamente linear com jogabilidade bem simples.

    No decorrer da historio nós anceia pelos chefes épico. A dificuldade dos anjos, demônios e tudo que se opor ao guerreiro lendário aumenta com as habilidades do WAR, podendo ir e vir nos mapas com a mesma dificuldade.

    Nota geral 9 de 10
    Expand
  96. Feb 24, 2016
    8
    I came at this one backwards, having been obsessed with Darksiders 2 and wanting to dig into the original. So it's pretty hard not to compare it to the much larger, darker and more sophisticated sequel. The combat seems rather simplistic and clunky when you're used to Death's smooth moves and complex combos. The style is sort of cartoony and over-bright, but maybe that's just compared toI came at this one backwards, having been obsessed with Darksiders 2 and wanting to dig into the original. So it's pretty hard not to compare it to the much larger, darker and more sophisticated sequel. The combat seems rather simplistic and clunky when you're used to Death's smooth moves and complex combos. The style is sort of cartoony and over-bright, but maybe that's just compared to the pervasive atmospheric gloom of D2. Loot and upgrades feel weak as well. But despite all those comparative quibbles, I'm still enjoying the game -- it's tighter and more focused than the sequel, showing the roots of the series and just being plain fun. Expand
  97. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    If the Legend of Zelda, God of War and Devil May Cry had a baby, Darksiders would be that baby.

    Easily one of my favourite games of all time. Great action and excellent puzzles.
  98. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    This game is surprisingly overrated and considering i bought it 3 days ago and ive played so much since then that i can already write a review that is already a reason to give this game a 10. Its simply excellent and mixs elements from god of war zelda and dark souls to make a cluster of a world that is at times confusing but also atmospheric. The game is generally lonely and linear butThis game is surprisingly overrated and considering i bought it 3 days ago and ive played so much since then that i can already write a review that is already a reason to give this game a 10. Its simply excellent and mixs elements from god of war zelda and dark souls to make a cluster of a world that is at times confusing but also atmospheric. The game is generally lonely and linear but there is also open areas full of life. I specially liked the boss fights and how a control system that was made for console fit perfect for pc in this game. The combat is dynamic and it always feels that if you do nothing wrong you can exit fights without getting touched thanks to the parry and dash mechanics. I highly recommend this underrated msterpiece Expand
  99. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    The Game is amazing it lets you explore find amazing items the monsters are creative also the bosses the only reason why I gave it a 9 out of 10 is because the puzzles are annoying but that does not mean the game is bad you should give it a try
  100. Apr 27, 2016
    8
    Really cool game! Good gameplay and quite an interesting story too. I kinda hated some of the puzzles though. Goddamn those could get annoying. If you like 3rd person hack 'n' slash games definitely check this one out!
  101. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more! I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended! PS.
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more!

    I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended!

    PS. Get a gamepad to fully enjoy the game, It's way better on a pad than on K+M
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    PC answer to God of War is not without flaws but the lack of competition on the PC platform makes Darksiders an unconditional winner. Be warned - No fun without a joypad! Forget about playing Darksiders with a keyboard and mouse only. [Issue#197]
  2. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    Not the most innovative of games, but give Darksiders a go and you'll most likely be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#246, p.106]
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    83
    Sure, you've seen it all somewhere before, but Darksiders manages to tie together just about every adventure-game idiom and make it all work.