Darksiders PC

Darksiders Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 627 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have beenThe time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have been implicated for the premature destruction of Earth and are swept up in a conspiracy between the forces of Heaven and Hell. Banished and stripped of your powers, embark on an epic quest of revenge and redemption as you battle angels and demons to restore your awesome abilities and seek out who betrayed you. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Xbox Games With Gold - April 2017
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Darksiders looks great on PC, thanks to the greater resolution and the lack of tearing. The game itself comes with excellent graphics and nice artistic direction, but its strength lies in its gameplay: War faces hundreds of different enemies, using many different weapons, and there are plenty of puzzles to be solved in each level. Definitely a fantastic action/adventure game, an exercise in game design that can't leave you indifferent.
  2. My feelings towards Darksiders haven't changed a lot since its original release back in January and I'm not hesitating to recommend it despite its technical nitpicks. PC gamers (considering you have a powerful system) have no right to skip this one, it's worth your time and your money.
  3. It is, however, a polished, entertaining product and while not a gaming milestone by any means, it represents a solid example of an AAA title, which delivers exactly what it promised.
  4. Darksiders can only be recommended, because it's one of the best hack'n'slay games on the PC. Period.
  5. If you missed Darksiders the first time or if you just stick only to PC gaming, then this one's worth a shot.
  6. It's a shame there was no bonus content to justify the eight-month long wait, but the excellent core game is kept intact, and is sure to entertain PC gamers, assuming they have a gamepad to play the game comfortably.
  7. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    Not the most innovative of games, but give Darksiders a go and you'll most likely be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#246, p.106]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 140
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far moreThis is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesome looking. New elements are constantly introduced to keep it fresh--grappling hook, horseback combat, and even some Portal dynamics near the end. The biggest criticism is that Darksiders doesn't do anything new, but combining all these great elements from other games so successfully IS something new. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool! No too many words praising. The
    Quite a masterpiece of bold creativity.
    Fascinating story,character design and combat.
    War is cool!
    No too many words praising.
    The default key set of this one is a bit inconvenient for keyboard playing,so I needed to remap the keys.
    I am going through the story firstly in the apocalyptic difficulty and feel that the pace of the game is mostly quick and intensive and this means its "enter aiming mode,aim down,shoot,quit aiming mode" maneuver is annoying and destructive to the fluency,though players need to execute this "combo" quite often.
    Sometimes hints are not obvious enough for new players like me,for that I got a little confused with the complicated set of skills and enhancement.
    Rotating map is common among many action games but impractical at all compared with the mini maps in Blizzard's WOW.
    After completing all of the elements of the game,I should say that it is a masterpiece which is of the same level of those more famous games,like Diablo,Warcraft,Biohazard franchises.Though I don't think the traditional RPG parts of Darksiders 2 is interesting enough,but boring,I hope that Nordic Games treasure,develop this beautiful story and let more people try,taste it with more fascinating,clean Darksiders games.
    A bad glitch showed up:toggling among the game and other program while I was playing it may cause the achievement tracking/counting system/function no longer effective,which disturbed some of the achievements completion and urged me to have some parts replayed.
    Another glitch,the cloud save of this game is a vanity,maybe still is.
    A suggestion,a roaming mode after the end of the main story,having the game divided into parts of levels and bosses,and allowing replaying the story with all the collectibles completed,which would be convenient for players to patch up the missed achievements and enjoy beating the game cleanly.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun II wasn0t sure if I should buy this game first. I'm not that much of an action-gamer. Bought it cheap anyways and was amazed how much fun I had. Darksiders opened a compelte new world of games for me - thanks alot for that. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2016
    8
    Darksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has itsDarksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has its problems, yes, but that does not mean the game is not on a great path. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Before I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something calledBefore I even played the game I knew that I would enjoy it. It is rare for a game to do something like this because of something called "story" which is something a lot of people tend to not care about anymore these days. For those of you who don't know and have been missing out, story is this fascinating thing that makes games more than just fun, but entertaining and involving. While playing the game I felt myself driven to keep going not only because the combat was exciting and enjoyable to watch (which it was) and not to just unlock all the items and powers (which are all fun in their own right) but because I wanted to know what happens to War! Its brilliant, and more games need it. In my opinion even games that are poorly executed should have one of these two features: A unique and interesting story that makes you WANT to know what happens next, just like a good book. And if it doesn't have that then it should allow you to make that story for yourself. And Darksiders does that first one to a well polished shine. As far as gameplay goes that's really where the score of 8 is coming from. Its fun and wonderful to watch but button mashing is really all you need followed by a good dodge every now and then, puzzles are well and good but we've all seen puzzles before. However what isn't really a strong argument is the keymapping. Which yes DEFAULT keymapping is awkward, but surprise guys, you have the power to change all that which I did, and I was able to set it up to where it wasn't awkward anymore; amazing how the ability to change the keymapping can fix crappy key configurations. You'll get your money's worth and more, pick it up and enjoy. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2010
    7
    Overall this game a well done Xbox 360 port. The controllers for the PC are atrocious and the game is obviously much better suited to beOverall this game a well done Xbox 360 port. The controllers for the PC are atrocious and the game is obviously much better suited to be played on a Xbox controller for windows. Overall the story offers a linear progression, with additional goodies being added with each phase of the game, giving you the ability to backtrack to previously visited areas to see if you missed anything. While you have the ability to backtrack if you wish (with some scaled baddies to fight in the area), it just seems like a one play wonder. I personally played it through once and then moved on. Worth the asking price of $40? I personally don't think so. It is a game that is more attune to a $20 price tag. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    Played this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly aPlayed this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly a recipe for a winner. I wasn't able to play much of it which that in itself says it all. I know some people will say, "how do you know if you didn't even play all the way through." and to that I say, you don't have yourself locked into torturous human experimentation lab on the off chance that you might get a lollipop when you leave. Collapse

See all 140 User Reviews

Trailers