Day of Defeat Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 749 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Day of Defeat is the latest online action experience from Valve, makers of "Half-Life" and "Counter-Strike." Stationed in the heat of WWII's European theater of war, players join the ranks of an elite military squad. Missions are based on key historical operations. And, as war rages, squadsDay of Defeat is the latest online action experience from Valve, makers of "Half-Life" and "Counter-Strike." Stationed in the heat of WWII's European theater of war, players join the ranks of an elite military squad. Missions are based on key historical operations. And, as war rages, squads must battle as a unit to achieve victory. The game pits players in Axis vs. Allies battles in Western Europe at the height of the war in 1944. A class based first person action game, players can take the role of snipers, infantry, machine gunner, rifleman and sergeant. The game features authentic weaponry, multiple modes of play and 10 new multiplayer maps of action, 15 total. There are also a host of graphics enhancements, including new character models and animations, increased textures and new particle effects. There's even a new class of characters ? so now gamers can choose to play as a British soldier. [Valve] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Not bad for a project that started out in a college dorm.
  2. The sound of bullets whizzing past your ear or slamming into some nearby surface is disturbingly realistic. [Aug 2003, p.102]
  3. Getting into a game is incredibly easy, and the action draws you in like a real war movie.
  4. Once you go online, the adrenaline rush is unsurpassed. [June 2003, p.57]
  5. 80
    The sense of satisfaction you feel in taking a crucial victory location or taking out four enemies in a row simply can't be beat.
  6. Day of Defeat isn't the most powerful gun in the armory, but it is the most reliable. [July 2003, p.73]
  7. 40
    The gameplay is limited in scope and the maps are repetitive in theme, if not design. The visuals are decent enough, but definitely not up to the standards of most modern releases.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 156
  1. EdH.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    The best I've ever played - and it keeps me coming back for more.
  2. NickR.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    DOD ROCKS DOD IS BETTER THAN CRAPPY CS ANY DAY at least there is gun recoil and haveing to be in a position(prone.. crouched satnding still) DOD ROCKS DOD IS BETTER THAN CRAPPY CS ANY DAY at least there is gun recoil and haveing to be in a position(prone.. crouched satnding still) to get an acurate shot not just spray&pray and head shot 24/7 the maps are fine tho it wouldnt be a bad thing to get some more maps out... i suggest if you own DoD to go and download DoD_kittyhax its an awsome map made by a fellow doder GL HF -{S-S}- Expand
  3. MichalK.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    game is great I spent my whole free time playing it.
  4. KeithK.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Not only is the gameplay intense and challenging, but the necessity of teamwork continues to maintain my interest years after its Not only is the gameplay intense and challenging, but the necessity of teamwork continues to maintain my interest years after its release...yes, some say that its features are dull or uninspired in that you are just playing a type of capture the flag or objective based game, but due to the class system, players must work as a team to hold the line and push forward and hold territory. Truely a masterpiece. Expand
  5. HenrikA.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Great game, high speed match play with aim aswell as tactics! And non of the long boring respwantimes that quite a few games use these days!
  6. FrederikMeringen
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    great game
  7. schlub
    Mar 29, 2010
    1
    I played on one of the 'free weekends' of this a while ago and it is seriously one of the worst FPS games I've ever played. I played on one of the 'free weekends' of this a while ago and it is seriously one of the worst FPS games I've ever played. The guns are crap, and you spend half your time sneaking or crawling around only to get instantly killed by a sniper a million miles away. Apparently it's more 'realistic' but it's simply no fun at all. I am really, really surprised that anyone likes this game. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews