Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Jul 10, 2014
    45
    From top to bottom, Daylight falls short of being a good horror game.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    45
    Daylight is far from perfect, but despite having a dull gameplay mechanic and few scares it's a great game for inexperienced players who want to start their adventure with horror games. But still - it's not as scary as its competitors, unless you count system requirements. They're scary, and the graphics do not justify them. All in all this first game to utilize Unreal Engine 4 is mediocre at best, and scary game veterans can skip this one.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    45
    Despite its budget release price, Daylight is an underwhelming survival horror full of monotony.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    45
    There are some half-decent ideas here - particularly the evolution of the hospital - and some fairly decent jump scares, however Daylight is too often too keen to rely on tropes that have been far better served elsewhere.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    43
    You can’t just chuck players in a maze with a ghost and tell them to be scared. Unfortunately this is exactly what Daylight does.
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    40
    The idea of randomly generated levels and scares is sound, it's just that the pieces used are so limited that it becomes horrifyingly boring. [July 2014, p.58]
  7. 40
    Didn’t fulfill our expectations at all. You might be better off downloading some freeware horror games. [Issue#242]
  8. May 16, 2014
    40
    A horror game hiding a fact behind great promises, that its developers did not even try to try. Its gameplay is dumb at the best. Its story will scare you only if you fear trivial kitsch, and there is no next-gen not even when looking from afar. At least the game won't take you long...
  9. May 7, 2014
    40
    It’s so sad that Daylight became the first commercial product based on Unreal Engine 4. You can’t find worse publicity for Epic’s new tech than this.
  10. Apr 30, 2014
    40
    Daylight gives the minimum for an horror/adventure game: it offers a fearful atmosphere and manages to scare us. But besides that, the procedural levels create nothing but poor level design and the gameplay is too repetitive.
  11. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Overall I felt as if Daylight was made as a jump-scare machine with a loosely tacked-on plot.
  12. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Throw in some truly dreadful writing (the newspaper clippings that tell the story are so nakedly expositional and poorly delivered as to be laughable) and an enemy that actually runs away from you at times and you've got a stinker.
  13. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Daylight is capable of doling out some shocks, but it’s far too reliant on a single trick and the writing covers too much well-trodden ground for players to be truly unnerved.
  14. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Daylight is a mess. Its procedurally generated design doesn’t succeed in creating unpredictable scares, and the enemies that populate the spooky locales prove to be more annoying than frightening. The randomized levels offer a slightly different experience if you take a second trip through, but you’ll have seen just about everything Daylight has to offer after only a couple hours of play--which, regrettably, isn't much.
  15. Jun 3, 2014
    30
    So unoriginal, it'll be tough to restrain yourself from rolling your eyes. [Issue#148, p.108]
  16. May 16, 2014
    30
    Some cheap "boo scares" and a few dark corridors do not make a decent horror game. If you wish to be frightened look elsewhere.
  17. May 9, 2014
    30
    Daylight’s claim to fame is its reported replay value; that no scare will ever be the same twice. While it is technically true that the level geometry does change from playthrough-to-playthrough, the scares certainly see some overlap, and the writing isn’t worth a return visit. There are no nascent ideas in Daylight – just the desperate, flailing attempts to throw every horror cliché at the wall.
  18. 30
    You're way better off playing Penumbra, Amnesia or Outlast. And when you're through with those, I still could name a slew of other horror games way better than this dull hunt for objects in confusing corridors.
  19. May 1, 2014
    30
    Baffling design decisions and over-reliance on the same tricks further mar this already unpleasant journey.
  20. May 1, 2014
    30
    Daylight incompetently piles on the clichés and delivers an experience that is far more likely to induce boredom than anything resembling fear.
  21. Apr 29, 2014
    30
    Daylight makes for an interesting experiment in audience participation, but no crowd of online viewers can make the poor writing any better or the themes any less hackneyed. In creating a game designed for return visits, Zombie Studios ironically forgot to make a game worth playing in the first place.
  22. May 7, 2014
    25
    For those who are interested, I found the fastest way to get through Daylight (and believe me that you want Daylight over as quickly as possible) is to light a flare and simply run through the levels.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 40
  2. Negative: 22 out of 40
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Its not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . its a good game , its a scary game , its a beautiful game , and its a game that costs 10 eu . Fun of the genre ? Worth a few playthroughs . Not a fun ? Dont bother , go for outlast . Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    I got this game with the purchase of my GTX 760 card. It's not my usual type of game, but hey, it was free so I gave it a shot. At the very least it gave me a chance to test out the new computer I built last week out of fancy shiny new parts.

    Now then, the game:
    The atmosphere is creepy, and there are enough spooky noises in the dark and ghosts moving furniture around to give you some jumps. At first the visuals looked pretty cool but it gets boring quickly. It's basically a fetch quest in a randomly-generated maze. All the doorways look the same, all the hallways look the same, all the rooms look the same, the one creepy ghost who follows you around always looks the same. After the first level there's almost nothing new to see. I think there was a story but I couldn't really piece it together from the scraps of paper strewn about and the ambiguous flashback cut scenes.

    Final verdict: It made for a decent afternoon distraction, but it's fitting that the game is set in a mental institution. If I was forced to live in a labyrinthine building like that I'd go crazy too.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    What a total disappointment, was looking forward to this, being a fan of this genre. Repetitive, pointless fetch quest, looks rather abysmal on my GTX 780 Ti, reminds me of the original Quake with brown everything.
    It's a tech(although there isn't much tech) demo that has been directly converted into a game with a menu attached at the last minute. You might as well have just left it on a console command. Pitifully presented. With what amounts to pretty much no story.
    Compared to Outlast this is a joke. I wouldn't be happy with this on a steam sale at £2.
    Full Review »