Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight’s shortcomings will scare away genre detractors. The gameplay is repetitive, the level design annoying and backtracking quickly becomes a chore. It falls short because because of these things, yet remains an amazing experience.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight offers a short, but ultimately terrifying experience. The procedurally generated levels offers a unique twist on subsequent playthroughs, and the excellent sound design and powerful visuals really sell what Zombie Studios was going for here.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    One of the best in its class. It is a game that encapsulates the spirit of horror in any form of media and offers suspense, terror, panic and a mystery to solve. The procedurally-generated levels and fantastic design not only make the game challenging, but create an intense and energetic atmosphere, aided by the sparse resources that must be painstakingly preserved for that crucial, life-or-death moment.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    All in all, Daylight is a respectable addition to the modern horror lineup that packs enough scare into its roughly three hour playtime to justify its modest $15 price tag.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    If horror games are to be judged by their scares, then Daylight gives players their money’s worth. The game never failed to hit me with numerous jump-inducing moments, and smartly keeps the tension ratcheted through its mazes, only to let it out slowly in between — but just barely. Though short, the procedural generation adds replay value to the overall package, as does the Twitch functionality that makes streaming a bit more than just an experience in watching someone else scream like an idiot.
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    72
    Slender was a short and sweet horror game, which worked well because it kept things simple and duration short. Daylight feels lackluster because it tries to do too much with a concept that was only good for a single short-form horror game. [June 2014]
  7. May 7, 2014
    70
    In closure, Daylight as a whole does not reach the pinnacle of fear factors it strives for.
  8. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Although repetitive after a while, Daylight manages to fulfill the promise of shaking our breath while we cautiously walk in its procedurally-generated corridors. We fear those shadows, we know they’re there, even if we don’t see them.
  9. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Daylight has neither the creeping sense of psychological dread of Fatal Frame nor the poster man antagonist of Slender, and its reliance on cliché lacks distinction. But if the game's straightforward purpose was simply to panic and upset its player then it is an indisputable success, no matter how cheap the tricks employed.
  10. Apr 29, 2014
    67
    It holds some scary moments and manages to entertain, but it fails to deliver something now. If you haven't played any horror game from the Amnesia/Slender wave, it might be surprising. If you have, it feels like yet another survival horror relying on the very same gameplay.
  11. Apr 30, 2014
    65
    When I finished, I didn’t expect Daylight to stick with me as much as it did. The story did very little new; the levels weren’t novel; the ghosts were ones I’d seen before. But when I closed my eyes that night, all I could see was that Shadow at the end of the hallway, watching me.
  12. Apr 29, 2014
    65
    Daylight is a common horror game, following the lead of Slenderman. It is, from time to time, scary enough to thrill the player, but it's also too short and poorly presented.
  13. May 3, 2014
    63
    The procedural concept behind Daylight is quite charming and the game is full of potential, but it fails to deliver.
  14. Apr 29, 2014
    63
    Daylight is an horror game that despite its many limitations in gameplay and longevity, manages to keep its scary promises mainly thanks to a dark setting of great effect. The fear, though, is not enough to make a good horror game.
  15. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Overall, I enjoyed getting scared by horrible, scary-looking spirits.
  16. May 22, 2014
    60
    Daylight starts off scary and ominous, but repeating gameplay and enemies makes the game tedious and mediocre by the end.
  17. May 6, 2014
    60
    It's just let down by the repetitiveness and enemies that soon reveal themselves to be nothing more than a nuisance. Ultimately, the biggest shock Daylight gave me was the realisation that I was out to collect stuff instead of surviving the horrors around me. Don't say you weren't warned.
  18. May 1, 2014
    60
    Don’t get me wrong, it is a rather creepy game and it can still frighten even the boldest of players, but in the end, it is a single play through game that lasts four hours at the most.
  19. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    I also ran into a series of technical problems, including crashes, falling through the ground, and audio glitches. These technical missteps are distracting, but they aren’t the most serious problem. Daylight’s inability to terrify you and present a world you want to explore is its ultimate undoing.
  20. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Daylight is a good survival horror game for PC and PS4. In this game, Zombie Studios give to the players a huge amount of frights that will make them scream for a while. In addition, Daylight incorporates procedurally generated environments that invite the players to complete the game all over again.
  21. Apr 29, 2014
    58
    Daylight is the first ever game using unreal engine 4 – but with its cheap, boring gameplay and muddy textures it’s not a good advertorial for epic’s tech.
  22. Apr 29, 2014
    58
    It’s a fun experience overall, but certainly not the best in its genre.
  23. Apr 29, 2014
    58
    Daylight has a good foundation of scary atmosphere and interesting bits of story. All of that is squandered by the first half, where poor level design, unnecessary box-pushing puzzles, and impotent enemies deflate the scares before it even gets going. By the time I reached the more interesting second act, I’d grown immune to its tricks and could only see it as a mediocre series of fetch quests.
  24. May 26, 2014
    55
    Predictable scary moments and a missing constant tension is what awaits you in this game. Finding pieces of paper on an abandoned island might be a fun thing to do, but Daylight barely fits in the genre that is horror.
  25. May 19, 2014
    55
    Procedurally generated design makes Daylight a complete mess. With its cheap scares, poor writings and predictable events, Zombie Studios remains confined in his own labyrinth.
  26. Apr 29, 2014
    55
    Specially made for YouTube and Twitch, Daylight carries the legacy of Slenderman and Amnesia. Dark visuals, first person view without any form of self-defense, gloomy and nerve-racking atmosphere: everything's in it. Among all those banalities, Daylight has something very uncommon: the random generated levels, which is the strength and the weakness of this game, as it can't be fully mastered from a rhythm point of view.
  27. May 6, 2014
    52
    Should have stayed in the dark. Only the scary moments, which are often achieved by cheap tricks, save this game from getting a slating review.
  28. Aug 25, 2014
    50
    After 15 minutes Daylight is no longer scary and makes you explore boring, very similar environments that in addition are procedurally generated in a mindless manner (e.g. a whole floor of bathrooms). [08/2014, p.64]
  29. May 19, 2014
    50
    Daylight is what happens when you mix standard cheap scare videos with Slenderman games and standard horror tropes. The game will scare you time after time, thanks to its randomness. Besides those moments, Daylight has nothing else to offer.
  30. May 16, 2014
    50
    The story never gets interesting; it’s too disconnected for that. Besides this, is too short, it takes about 3 or 4 hours to reach the end and halfway you’ll already feel that you have been doing the same things over and over and the fear transforms into boredom.
  31. May 15, 2014
    50
    A mediocre start for Unreal Engine 4, on a game with surprise, horror and agony lasting no more than 30 minutes. Apart from that, it is a constant repetition with very few jump scares.
  32. May 11, 2014
    50
    It’s a shame that Daylight has turned out to be fairly average, because the title has the atmosphere, the creepily produced audio, some promising ideas, and initial jump scares, but the overall package is brought down by issues with gameplay, its focus on random design, clichéd story and unoptimised performance.
  33. May 6, 2014
    50
    Even though the beginning is filled with cliches, Daylight still manages to scare. At least for the first hour. After that the terror turns to indifference, the main character yells nonsense and the game mechanics become awful. Luckily you can connect the game to Twitch, which will allow other players to form your experience. Only then can Daylight become something more than a nonstop yawning.
  34. May 1, 2014
    50
    It's a shame, because there are moments when Daylight's ominous ambience is pitch perfect, but ultimately it's undone by ho-hum gameplay and a dull story. The witches are truly unnerving, but they're never a real threat, and the reward for your survival is disappointing.
  35. 50
    All in all, Daylight was a bit of a disappointment. Let it be said that it's utterly terrifying and will likely scare even the hardiest of players, but ultimately the experience feels a little shallow.
  36. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    Predictable, trite, and convoluted, Daylight is more likely to make you yawn than scream. It's every single horror game ever made, and it's less than the sum of its parts.
  37. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    I would be lying if I said Daylight didn't scare me, because it did, and often. It's kind of fascinating to see how much of its mechanical design was crafted in the interest of eliciting an emotional response from the player; all the theory and psychology behind its scares. But those moments of fear and panic were just that — moments — amid a whole campaign of boredom and frustration.
  38. Jul 10, 2014
    45
    From top to bottom, Daylight falls short of being a good horror game.
  39. Apr 30, 2014
    45
    Daylight is far from perfect, but despite having a dull gameplay mechanic and few scares it's a great game for inexperienced players who want to start their adventure with horror games. But still - it's not as scary as its competitors, unless you count system requirements. They're scary, and the graphics do not justify them. All in all this first game to utilize Unreal Engine 4 is mediocre at best, and scary game veterans can skip this one.
  40. Apr 29, 2014
    45
    Despite its budget release price, Daylight is an underwhelming survival horror full of monotony.
  41. Apr 29, 2014
    45
    There are some half-decent ideas here - particularly the evolution of the hospital - and some fairly decent jump scares, however Daylight is too often too keen to rely on tropes that have been far better served elsewhere.
  42. Apr 29, 2014
    43
    You can’t just chuck players in a maze with a ghost and tell them to be scared. Unfortunately this is exactly what Daylight does.
  43. Jun 29, 2014
    40
    The idea of randomly generated levels and scares is sound, it's just that the pieces used are so limited that it becomes horrifyingly boring. [July 2014, p.58]
  44. 40
    Didn’t fulfill our expectations at all. You might be better off downloading some freeware horror games. [Issue#242]
  45. May 16, 2014
    40
    A horror game hiding a fact behind great promises, that its developers did not even try to try. Its gameplay is dumb at the best. Its story will scare you only if you fear trivial kitsch, and there is no next-gen not even when looking from afar. At least the game won't take you long...
  46. May 7, 2014
    40
    It’s so sad that Daylight became the first commercial product based on Unreal Engine 4. You can’t find worse publicity for Epic’s new tech than this.
  47. Apr 30, 2014
    40
    Daylight gives the minimum for an horror/adventure game: it offers a fearful atmosphere and manages to scare us. But besides that, the procedural levels create nothing but poor level design and the gameplay is too repetitive.
  48. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Overall I felt as if Daylight was made as a jump-scare machine with a loosely tacked-on plot.
  49. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Throw in some truly dreadful writing (the newspaper clippings that tell the story are so nakedly expositional and poorly delivered as to be laughable) and an enemy that actually runs away from you at times and you've got a stinker.
  50. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Daylight is capable of doling out some shocks, but it’s far too reliant on a single trick and the writing covers too much well-trodden ground for players to be truly unnerved.
  51. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Daylight is a mess. Its procedurally generated design doesn’t succeed in creating unpredictable scares, and the enemies that populate the spooky locales prove to be more annoying than frightening. The randomized levels offer a slightly different experience if you take a second trip through, but you’ll have seen just about everything Daylight has to offer after only a couple hours of play--which, regrettably, isn't much.
  52. Jun 3, 2014
    30
    So unoriginal, it'll be tough to restrain yourself from rolling your eyes. [Issue#148, p.108]
  53. May 16, 2014
    30
    Some cheap "boo scares" and a few dark corridors do not make a decent horror game. If you wish to be frightened look elsewhere.
  54. May 9, 2014
    30
    Daylight’s claim to fame is its reported replay value; that no scare will ever be the same twice. While it is technically true that the level geometry does change from playthrough-to-playthrough, the scares certainly see some overlap, and the writing isn’t worth a return visit. There are no nascent ideas in Daylight – just the desperate, flailing attempts to throw every horror cliché at the wall.
  55. 30
    You're way better off playing Penumbra, Amnesia or Outlast. And when you're through with those, I still could name a slew of other horror games way better than this dull hunt for objects in confusing corridors.
  56. May 1, 2014
    30
    Baffling design decisions and over-reliance on the same tricks further mar this already unpleasant journey.
  57. May 1, 2014
    30
    Daylight incompetently piles on the clichés and delivers an experience that is far more likely to induce boredom than anything resembling fear.
  58. Apr 29, 2014
    30
    Daylight makes for an interesting experiment in audience participation, but no crowd of online viewers can make the poor writing any better or the themes any less hackneyed. In creating a game designed for return visits, Zombie Studios ironically forgot to make a game worth playing in the first place.
  59. May 7, 2014
    25
    For those who are interested, I found the fastest way to get through Daylight (and believe me that you want Daylight over as quickly as possible) is to light a flare and simply run through the levels.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 22 out of 39
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Its not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . its a good game , its a scary game , its a beautiful game , and its a game that costs 10 eu . Fun of the genre ? Worth a few playthroughs . Not a fun ? Dont bother , go for outlast . Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    What a total disappointment, was looking forward to this, being a fan of this genre. Repetitive, pointless fetch quest, looks rather abysmal on my GTX 780 Ti, reminds me of the original Quake with brown everything.
    It's a tech(although there isn't much tech) demo that has been directly converted into a game with a menu attached at the last minute. You might as well have just left it on a console command. Pitifully presented. With what amounts to pretty much no story.
    Compared to Outlast this is a joke. I wouldn't be happy with this on a steam sale at £2.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    I got this game with the purchase of my GTX 760 card. It's not my usual type of game, but hey, it was free so I gave it a shot. At the very least it gave me a chance to test out the new computer I built last week out of fancy shiny new parts.

    Now then, the game:
    The atmosphere is creepy, and there are enough spooky noises in the dark and ghosts moving furniture around to give you some jumps. At first the visuals looked pretty cool but it gets boring quickly. It's basically a fetch quest in a randomly-generated maze. All the doorways look the same, all the hallways look the same, all the rooms look the same, the one creepy ghost who follows you around always looks the same. After the first level there's almost nothing new to see. I think there was a story but I couldn't really piece it together from the scraps of paper strewn about and the ambiguous flashback cut scenes.

    Final verdict: It made for a decent afternoon distraction, but it's fitting that the game is set in a mental institution. If I was forced to live in a labyrinthine building like that I'd go crazy too.
    Full Review »