Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight’s shortcomings will scare away genre detractors. The gameplay is repetitive, the level design annoying and backtracking quickly becomes a chore. It falls short because because of these things, yet remains an amazing experience.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight offers a short, but ultimately terrifying experience. The procedurally generated levels offers a unique twist on subsequent playthroughs, and the excellent sound design and powerful visuals really sell what Zombie Studios was going for here.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    One of the best in its class. It is a game that encapsulates the spirit of horror in any form of media and offers suspense, terror, panic and a mystery to solve. The procedurally-generated levels and fantastic design not only make the game challenging, but create an intense and energetic atmosphere, aided by the sparse resources that must be painstakingly preserved for that crucial, life-or-death moment.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    All in all, Daylight is a respectable addition to the modern horror lineup that packs enough scare into its roughly three hour playtime to justify its modest $15 price tag.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    If horror games are to be judged by their scares, then Daylight gives players their money’s worth. The game never failed to hit me with numerous jump-inducing moments, and smartly keeps the tension ratcheted through its mazes, only to let it out slowly in between — but just barely. Though short, the procedural generation adds replay value to the overall package, as does the Twitch functionality that makes streaming a bit more than just an experience in watching someone else scream like an idiot.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 42
  2. Negative: 24 out of 42
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Its not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . itsIts not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . its a good game , its a scary game , its a beautiful game , and its a game that costs 10 eu . Fun of the genre ? Worth a few playthroughs . Not a fun ? Dont bother , go for outlast . Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    I got this game with the purchase of my GTX 760 card. It's not my usual type of game, but hey, it was free so I gave it a shot. At the veryI got this game with the purchase of my GTX 760 card. It's not my usual type of game, but hey, it was free so I gave it a shot. At the very least it gave me a chance to test out the new computer I built last week out of fancy shiny new parts.

    Now then, the game:
    The atmosphere is creepy, and there are enough spooky noises in the dark and ghosts moving furniture around to give you some jumps. At first the visuals looked pretty cool but it gets boring quickly. It's basically a fetch quest in a randomly-generated maze. All the doorways look the same, all the hallways look the same, all the rooms look the same, the one creepy ghost who follows you around always looks the same. After the first level there's almost nothing new to see. I think there was a story but I couldn't really piece it together from the scraps of paper strewn about and the ambiguous flashback cut scenes.

    Final verdict: It made for a decent afternoon distraction, but it's fitting that the game is set in a mental institution. If I was forced to live in a labyrinthine building like that I'd go crazy too.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    What a total disappointment, was looking forward to this, being a fan of this genre. Repetitive, pointless fetch quest, looks rather abysmalWhat a total disappointment, was looking forward to this, being a fan of this genre. Repetitive, pointless fetch quest, looks rather abysmal on my GTX 780 Ti, reminds me of the original Quake with brown everything.
    It's a tech(although there isn't much tech) demo that has been directly converted into a game with a menu attached at the last minute. You might as well have just left it on a console command. Pitifully presented. With what amounts to pretty much no story.
    Compared to Outlast this is a joke. I wouldn't be happy with this on a steam sale at £2.
    Full Review »