Daylight PC

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 190

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2014
    5
    pretty bad game even if i do get scared keep in mind im 11 its not a very well jumpy scare and as long as you donte look behind you you are immortal the random generation is cool but horribly executed and for the price this is not worth it maybe 10$ overall more dev time and maybe a kick starter whoulde have helped
  2. May 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's a really awesome horror experience in here, but its only shown in occasional flashes of brilliance. The game suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, including occasional game ending crashes. In addition to this the game has major narrative issues. You are Sarah... Umm... That's pretty much it. If you thought Outlast's main character Miles was under developed, then wait until you get a load of this! You don't learn anything about her, or why the ghosts are their and you certainly don't learn about the hospital itself. To top it all of, the game ends with this poorly written revelation about the anti Christ, and then it tells you that you're being haunted by your own ghost! WTF? Who approved this ending? Who? There's just so many plot holes! So I checked the writing staff, and you'll never guess who was head writer... Jessica Chobot! What the hell! How did she get this position? HOW!!!! Despite all of this, the game has some fantastic moments. The aesthetic of the hospital is beautifully dark, ripe with detail and horror. This same description can be transferred to the ghost's as well. You're walking along in the darkness, only to be bathed in red light and figure of pure, nail biting horror. All of this atmospheric, aesthetic art is enhanced by your only source of light - your phone. In addition to this, the ghost's have incredibly sophisticated A.I, being extremely unpredictable, and surprising you when you least expect it. But the real spice in the mixture is the randomly generated levels. Every time you die, the level takes a drastic change; replacing supplies, completely changing the layout and many others. This also creates a very tense atmosphere, as desperately try to survive. However, just when the game is getting really good, it abruptly ends at 3 hours! 3 HOURS! I could've given this a 6, but 3 HOURS LONG! Are you kidding me? Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    5
    I don't think this game should be called Daylight it should be called "Repetitive fetch quest simulator 2014"
    How this game received so much hype I don't know since it's mediocre at best I would just wait until a sale eventually comes along and get it then but for now avoid like the plague!
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    While its atmosphere is often electrifying and it’s procedurally generated levels provide a truly gorgeous horror environment, it can also be quite repetitive running down the same corridors only to become lost. However the story and atmosphere easily balance out the good and bad points to the game. For $15 (£11.99) it’s defiantly worth picking up turning out the lights and putting someWhile its atmosphere is often electrifying and it’s procedurally generated levels provide a truly gorgeous horror environment, it can also be quite repetitive running down the same corridors only to become lost. However the story and atmosphere easily balance out the good and bad points to the game. For $15 (£11.99) it’s defiantly worth picking up turning out the lights and putting some headphones on as you play the game. Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    5
    Pros:
    + Horror
    + Unreal Engine 4 first game (finally) + Randomly generated levels + Very high replay value + Brilliant sounds Cons: - Long Loading times - No Story (You start in abandoned hospital with lost memory and you have to get out,thats it.) - Only 4 levels - Not challenging (I finished the game on easy,medium,hard) Would welcome brutal difficulty options. - IF THE GHOSTS
    Pros:
    + Horror
    + Unreal Engine 4 first game (finally)
    + Randomly generated levels
    + Very high replay value
    + Brilliant sounds
    Cons:
    - Long Loading times
    - No Story (You start in abandoned hospital with lost memory and you have to get out,thats it.)
    - Only 4 levels
    - Not challenging (I finished the game on easy,medium,hard) Would welcome brutal difficulty options.
    - IF THE GHOSTS COULD KILL YOU BY TOUCHING YOU,THIS WOULD CHANGE THE GAMEPLAY SIGNIFICANTLY. (At least on high difficulty)
    - No Co-op or Multiplayer (Co-op Campaign or Versus mode with the option play as a ghost and scary your friends in random maps could help the game last longer. )

    Wasted opportunity and potencial.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    5
    It's like slender but here you can run without problems, the 5/10 means that it's not scary that you think, I mean, the game seems to be really scary but... it's not :/, you'll play 10 min and then you'll laugh on the enemies.

    The graphics are very good but should be more scarier.
  7. May 13, 2014
    6
    Oh hell it's creepy. The jump-scares are not the best. But a good horror game need's that. Little bit bugs and issues that cause but the game is good still. The running and the flares got the game in it's own level. But still only a good horror game 6/10
  8. May 3, 2014
    5
    Big problem's are that it was not scary, A lot of backtracking with not really knowing where to go, And a poorly written story.
    Only redeeming quality's are the semi-randomness factor and twitch integration (which does not work very well)
  9. May 30, 2014
    5
    I was so looking forward to this game. While the gameplay is energetic, the controls tight and art style crunchy, the entertainment value does not hold up very long. It has about as much depth as a good flash game
  10. Jun 12, 2014
    6
    Daylight isn't a bad game by any stretch of the imagination. But what it isn't is a fantastic survival horror game that is an excellent demonstration of Unreal 4. While this review isn't going to very long, or detailed, personally, I would recommend the game solely for it's "play with friends" factor. It's an easy to learn, casual horror game with a few outstandingly well made elements,Daylight isn't a bad game by any stretch of the imagination. But what it isn't is a fantastic survival horror game that is an excellent demonstration of Unreal 4. While this review isn't going to very long, or detailed, personally, I would recommend the game solely for it's "play with friends" factor. It's an easy to learn, casual horror game with a few outstandingly well made elements, notably the voice acting. And for it's more then reasonable price tag, pick it up. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2014
    5
    Daylight is your cliché horror game. It takes both gameplay and story elements from several known games, and pairs them with lore that I could barely remember five minutes after completing it.

    When I approached Daylight, I expected a horror game with a story. I was hoping for the tension to build up as I learnt more about the creature that stalked me, and what had happened to the area I
    Daylight is your cliché horror game. It takes both gameplay and story elements from several known games, and pairs them with lore that I could barely remember five minutes after completing it.

    When I approached Daylight, I expected a horror game with a story. I was hoping for the tension to build up as I learnt more about the creature that stalked me, and what had happened to the area I was exploring. Instead, it turned into five games of Slender.

    Full Review: http://thedailychill.co.uk/daylight-review/
    Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    50
    After 15 minutes Daylight is no longer scary and makes you explore boring, very similar environments that in addition are procedurally generated in a mindless manner (e.g. a whole floor of bathrooms). [08/2014, p.64]
  2. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Overall, I enjoyed getting scared by horrible, scary-looking spirits.
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    45
    From top to bottom, Daylight falls short of being a good horror game.