Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Daylight introduces gamers to a procedurally generated world that replicates the horrifying nature of Daylight over and over again, but creates a different environment for each new game. Each time the player begins a new game, they experience a new world with new content and encounters; from the layout of the building and the things they seek to the events they encounter, it is never the same experience twice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight’s shortcomings will scare away genre detractors. The gameplay is repetitive, the level design annoying and backtracking quickly becomes a chore. It falls short because because of these things, yet remains an amazing experience.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Although repetitive after a while, Daylight manages to fulfill the promise of shaking our breath while we cautiously walk in its procedurally-generated corridors. We fear those shadows, we know they’re there, even if we don’t see them.
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Overall, I enjoyed getting scared by horrible, scary-looking spirits.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    I would be lying if I said Daylight didn't scare me, because it did, and often. It's kind of fascinating to see how much of its mechanical design was crafted in the interest of eliciting an emotional response from the player; all the theory and psychology behind its scares. But those moments of fear and panic were just that — moments — amid a whole campaign of boredom and frustration.
  5. May 16, 2014
    50
    The story never gets interesting; it’s too disconnected for that. Besides this, is too short, it takes about 3 or 4 hours to reach the end and halfway you’ll already feel that you have been doing the same things over and over and the fear transforms into boredom.
  6. 40
    Didn’t fulfill our expectations at all. You might be better off downloading some freeware horror games. [Issue#242]
  7. May 7, 2014
    25
    For those who are interested, I found the fastest way to get through Daylight (and believe me that you want Daylight over as quickly as possible) is to light a flare and simply run through the levels.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 22 out of 39
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Its not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . its a good game , its a scary game , its a beautiful game , and its a game that costs 10 eu . Fun of the genre ? Worth a few playthroughs . Not a fun ? Dont bother , go for outlast . Collapse
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    I hated Daylight at first until I understood what it was than then chillaxed and for the £5 I paid for it on ebay, it wasn't bad.

    Basically
    this is a souped-up chase/light puzzle game like slenderman, with some procedural aspects in the way the world is generated.

    Very little storytelling and the tutorial elements are lacking, so here's what you have to do. Hidden around each level are "remnants", sheets of paper which glow read in the dark. You can see how many you have next to an icon in the bottom right corner of the screen.

    When you have them all you have to find a key item which then allows you to exit the level. All the time you are being chased by shades which you can dispel with flares, which you will find dotted around each level.

    You will also find glowsticks which, as well as illuminating your surroundings, show you objects which can be manipulated: climbable blocks; searchable boxes etc. Environments in the playthrough I did include an old hospital, catacombs, a beach, and forest.

    At the end there is a reveal of sorts but it is brief and confusing but interesting nontheless.

    If you stream the game on twitch, it responds to things people type in chat, producing 'scary' sounds and events in response to various keywords people type. Apparently, I was never quite sure if it worked.

    Might give it a replay to see how much things change with a new iteration.
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    6
    Daylight isn't a bad game by any stretch of the imagination. But what it isn't is a fantastic survival horror game that is an excellent demonstration of Unreal 4. While this review isn't going to very long, or detailed, personally, I would recommend the game solely for it's "play with friends" factor. It's an easy to learn, casual horror game with a few outstandingly well made elements, notably the voice acting. And for it's more then reasonable price tag, pick it up. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    The 50 + consecutive rooms with nothing interesting happening really scares me to death! The best parts were the wall art and Twitch streaming while people make jokes about this....whatever it is. Bundle it with a beer and a Dorito and it might get better ratings. Expand
  5. May 10, 2014
    3
    If you are in the market for this kind of game I'd just go with Amnesia. It's fun...ish. It does a great job with the mood, just not with the actual gameplay. Also, I got it free with my GTX 770 and yet it maxes out my card while lagging like crazy unless you modify some of the files. My 770 is manually overclocked and puts out between 90-144 fps on every other game I own. While looking for solutions it appears I'm nowhere near the only one with this issue so I feel like they released the game without actually finishing the game. This is a trend lately in the gaming industry. It worries me. Laziness. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    2
    damn, the game is freaking boring, i almost killed myself while i was playing....every scene is just the same not to mention that poorly ''witch'' and her annoying scream that makes the whole game even more boring.. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2014
    0
    Unspeakably bad. Repetitive, a total failure of gameplay, misuse of procedural generation, dull, tedious, not scary, horrible story, bad mechanics, nothing here works correctly. It has some nice graphics for the first half an hour until you realize that yes, you are just going to be seeing the same rooms over and over again at which point they become as tedious as everything else. There is not a price for which you should buy this game. At 99% off, this would still be a skip. It is a waste of the time and money of all parties involved. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews