Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Daylight introduces gamers to a procedurally generated world that replicates the horrifying nature of Daylight over and over again, but creates a different environment for each new game. Each time the player begins a new game, they experience a new world with new content and encounters; fromDaylight introduces gamers to a procedurally generated world that replicates the horrifying nature of Daylight over and over again, but creates a different environment for each new game. Each time the player begins a new game, they experience a new world with new content and encounters; from the layout of the building and the things they seek to the events they encounter, it is never the same experience twice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Daylight’s shortcomings will scare away genre detractors. The gameplay is repetitive, the level design annoying and backtracking quickly becomes a chore. It falls short because because of these things, yet remains an amazing experience.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Although repetitive after a while, Daylight manages to fulfill the promise of shaking our breath while we cautiously walk in its procedurally-generated corridors. We fear those shadows, we know they’re there, even if we don’t see them.
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Overall, I enjoyed getting scared by horrible, scary-looking spirits.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    50
    I would be lying if I said Daylight didn't scare me, because it did, and often. It's kind of fascinating to see how much of its mechanical design was crafted in the interest of eliciting an emotional response from the player; all the theory and psychology behind its scares. But those moments of fear and panic were just that — moments — amid a whole campaign of boredom and frustration.
  5. May 16, 2014
    50
    The story never gets interesting; it’s too disconnected for that. Besides this, is too short, it takes about 3 or 4 hours to reach the end and halfway you’ll already feel that you have been doing the same things over and over and the fear transforms into boredom.
  6. 40
    Didn’t fulfill our expectations at all. You might be better off downloading some freeware horror games. [Issue#242]
  7. May 7, 2014
    25
    For those who are interested, I found the fastest way to get through Daylight (and believe me that you want Daylight over as quickly as possible) is to light a flare and simply run through the levels.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 42
  2. Negative: 24 out of 42
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Its not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . itsIts not a 10 , obviously . Its a 7 or even a 6 , but because of the ignorant extremely low reviews , i am trying to help the game a bit . its a good game , its a scary game , its a beautiful game , and its a game that costs 10 eu . Fun of the genre ? Worth a few playthroughs . Not a fun ? Dont bother , go for outlast . Collapse
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Excellent horror game that takes full advantage of the atmosphere, which is a major successful factor to any great horror game. Although theExcellent horror game that takes full advantage of the atmosphere, which is a major successful factor to any great horror game. Although the story is shallow, the side scripts really bring chills to the player and added a whole extra element to the surroundings, which I believed was unique and well executed. The enemies are seriously frighting with a great range of new ghost each progressing level, Sound design some of the best work I have personally seen! Amazing. I would Recommend this game to any horror fan! or twitch tv players because your in for a nice surprise with some features. Daylight can hold a candle to the success of Outlast, which makes me all the excited for the future of horror games! Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    5
    I don't think this game should be called Daylight it should be called "Repetitive fetch quest simulator 2014"
    How this game received so much
    I don't think this game should be called Daylight it should be called "Repetitive fetch quest simulator 2014"
    How this game received so much hype I don't know since it's mediocre at best I would just wait until a sale eventually comes along and get it then but for now avoid like the plague!
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    The 50 + consecutive rooms with nothing interesting happening really scares me to death! The best parts were the wall art and TwitchThe 50 + consecutive rooms with nothing interesting happening really scares me to death! The best parts were the wall art and Twitch streaming while people make jokes about this....whatever it is. Bundle it with a beer and a Dorito and it might get better ratings. Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    3
    I cannot begin to imagine how is it possible that this game gets some 7s or 8s... It's beyond me.

    From the menu to the very first gameplay
    I cannot begin to imagine how is it possible that this game gets some 7s or 8s... It's beyond me.

    From the menu to the very first gameplay seconds it is quite obvious that this is a game of very poor quality. After having examined it for about 1 hour and a half I have reached the ending and also the conclusion that this is probably the worst game I have played in a long time. And I have played Double Dragon Neon and Rambo: The Video Game.

    Let's see... positives... Oh, when you turn around and see the ghosts beside you can be really creepy the first couple of times. Till you realize you can just light a flare... Also, the story that I read later from a site that this game has is interesting. Too bad that the storytelling is crap and won't make sense at all.

    Technically it's equal to PS2. No, not kidding. There is an explosion at about 3/4 of the game (1 hour in). Please check it. Please see the visual effect. I've seen reviews praising it's lighting effects and that they could get the Unreal Engine 4 impact. Yeah, ok... Let's just face it. Not ALL small companies make adequate games. Some of the smaller games are small for a reason.

    I'm gonna stop complaining now. This game is a post-Slender horror game that needs you to walk aimlessly through corridors, search for notes and go back to a portal to go to the next level. When Slender did it, it was cute. Now it's time to cut the bs. This could not and should not evolve into a full fledged game as there is no content. The atmosphere is kinda creepy, but that's just your imagination working.

    Trully terrible graphics, trully awful gameplay. And did I mention that I completed it in under 2 hours?

    ps. Oh, yeah, the randomly generated rooms.... WHY would I want to go through it again?
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2015
    2
    Got this for free with my video card. I was able to give it about an hour, after that I couldn't take it anymore. Boring and pointless; I haveGot this for free with my video card. I was able to give it about an hour, after that I couldn't take it anymore. Boring and pointless; I have way too many other games in my steam library before I waste my time with this. Glad I didn't pay anything for it. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2015
    0
    Ah yes, its another one of those games I played a long while back and forgot they existed. Its s*** of course. Someone saw how games likeAh yes, its another one of those games I played a long while back and forgot they existed. Its s*** of course. Someone saw how games like Amnesia and Outlast are a thing these days and just copied the formula with minimal effort. The result was an unoptimized and buggy game with a lame ass story. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers