DayZ PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 130
  2. Negative: 19 out of 130
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    Definitely not a game for everyone. While it is a mesmerizing environment that puts the player's tactical intelligence to the test, and the game is absolutely the most realistic zombie-survival game ever made, there is no default story (although user-driven ones can be entertaining), and it is ludicrously difficult and unforgiving. When your character dies, they die - you lose every ounceDefinitely not a game for everyone. While it is a mesmerizing environment that puts the player's tactical intelligence to the test, and the game is absolutely the most realistic zombie-survival game ever made, there is no default story (although user-driven ones can be entertaining), and it is ludicrously difficult and unforgiving. When your character dies, they die - you lose every ounce of progress you made with the character, lose all of your items (unless you can somehow find your corpse before someone else does), and must start over completely from scratch. And it is very, very, very difficult to stay alive. The focus of the game is on realism and survival in a zombie apocalypse, and the game really stresses the realism. Three gunshots will instantly kill you, no matter what gear you have, and a few zombies can easily tear you apart, or at the very least, cause you to bleed to death in minutes. For those looking for an uber-realistic zombie survival simulator, your day has come. For others, this may not be your style - or be downright frustrating to the point of rage-quitting forever.

    ** Pros **

    ++ Incredibly realistic
    ++ Huge open-world environment
    ++ Good graphical detail
    ++ Highly tactical - a great sense of accomplishment follows a well-executed strategy
    ++ Well-executed intensity in combat situations
    ++ Zombies are actually scary

    ** Cons **

    -- Incredibly realistic (it is flabbergasting how quickly you can die)
    -- No story whatsoever
    -- Cannot play by yourself
    -- Other players will more often kill you on sight than try to help you out
    -- Outrageously steep learning curve
    -- Awkward animations
    -- Unwieldy keymapping - almost every single key on your keyboard is bound to an action
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    5
    DayZ is a Rogue-like horror-survival FPS based on the modern warfare simulator Armed Assault 2 (ARMA) which means that although you'll be dodging zombies, you'll be doing it in a very realistic manner. If you're a fan of Left 4 Dead and wish it had been more sandbox like, you'll probably enjoy DayZ. If you're a fan of Eve, you'll probably find some similarities in the hardcore dog-eats-dogDayZ is a Rogue-like horror-survival FPS based on the modern warfare simulator Armed Assault 2 (ARMA) which means that although you'll be dodging zombies, you'll be doing it in a very realistic manner. If you're a fan of Left 4 Dead and wish it had been more sandbox like, you'll probably enjoy DayZ. If you're a fan of Eve, you'll probably find some similarities in the hardcore dog-eats-dog world projected in DayZ. DayZ is a lot what S.T.A.L.K.E.R was promised to be. Unfortunately, being as popular as DayZ is also comes with a huge downside: Cheaters. Each public server is dogged by cheaters and hackers. The only way to truly play the game is by joining a private hive server which means that your character will only be saved on one server rather than on the global "hive" which connects each public server. People who find walking through the woods for minutes on end and getting lost because they haven't found a compass yet or being beaten to death by zombies or one-shot sniped by a 13-year-old bandit the most frustrating thing in the world need not apply, this game is unforgiving but at the same time it's got potential, it's unique and it can keep you entertained for quite a few days. At some point, it will all start seeming rather pointless and this is when you know DayZ has reached its apex because of a lack of end-game features and slow-release cycle. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    I fell in love with DayZ right away, but with the 1.7.1 patch, zombies can detect you more easily and players don't start with weapons, meaning it's harder to get a weapon in the first place. What this results in is zombies being very much a threat while players are barely a concern. Anyone who played DayZ for more than an hour knows that the thing that made DayZ fun was that you reallyI fell in love with DayZ right away, but with the 1.7.1 patch, zombies can detect you more easily and players don't start with weapons, meaning it's harder to get a weapon in the first place. What this results in is zombies being very much a threat while players are barely a concern. Anyone who played DayZ for more than an hour knows that the thing that made DayZ fun was that you really only had to worry about not literally touching zombies, but what you really had to fear was the constant threat of snipers, looters, bandits and killers. 1.7.2 made Zombies less able to hear you through walls and allowed players to place bear traps, which are at least steps in the right direction, but personally I couldn't get into DayZ after zombies were that threatening. The zombies weren't scary anymore, they were just annoying. Other people weren't scary anymore because they weren't there. Hopefully, the dev team realizes this and nerfs the zombies once again while allowing players faster access to the ability to threaten other players, which is the heart of the DayZ experience. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Great great game with good potential with some glaring issues. Because it is a mod there have been dozens of times where zombies would sprint through walls and windows and break your leg, make you bleed, or even kill you in one hit at full health. Since the servers are unregulated if you accidentally join a server with a piece of S**T hacker then your hours of saving supplies will vanishGreat great game with good potential with some glaring issues. Because it is a mod there have been dozens of times where zombies would sprint through walls and windows and break your leg, make you bleed, or even kill you in one hit at full health. Since the servers are unregulated if you accidentally join a server with a piece of S**T hacker then your hours of saving supplies will vanish in a instant when your spawned into the middle of the sky and fall into a pile of other unfortunate survivors. If this game gets dedicated regulated servers and bugs fixed and a more accessible map (aka you can go inside most buildings instead of a few) it would easily be a 10 but that is not the case just yet. It will become its own game since the modders are now funded by the creators of ARMA 2 but till then I would just find another survival game to pass the time, unless of course you enjoy being unfairly at others mercy. Expand
  5. MFZ
    Jan 10, 2013
    6
    The graphics set the mood well, but they are still lacking in certain engaging aspects like animation and gore detail. The sound is captivating. It feels natural and it's detailed. You hear your character walk through grass, on concrete, on wood, etc.. and even though it does lack, I think it's the high point of the game. The gameplay wants to be better, but is limited due to it beingThe graphics set the mood well, but they are still lacking in certain engaging aspects like animation and gore detail. The sound is captivating. It feels natural and it's detailed. You hear your character walk through grass, on concrete, on wood, etc.. and even though it does lack, I think it's the high point of the game. The gameplay wants to be better, but is limited due to it being a mod. Zombies clip through walls sometimes and the inventory system is clunky and can be time consuming to use efficiently. I'm anxiously awaiting the standalone version of this game because I think ( hope ) it will improve on many things I've mentioned. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    5
    DayZ is very much a work in progress, and is still in Open-Alpha. For a hard-core perma-death game, it is ok. But, there is so much hacking that it makes most servers unplayable in any meaningful way. In addition, once one learns how to effectively dodge and shake the zombies, the game goes directly into player-kill mode, where the only meaningful or 'fun' thing to do is kill otherDayZ is very much a work in progress, and is still in Open-Alpha. For a hard-core perma-death game, it is ok. But, there is so much hacking that it makes most servers unplayable in any meaningful way. In addition, once one learns how to effectively dodge and shake the zombies, the game goes directly into player-kill mode, where the only meaningful or 'fun' thing to do is kill other players. Note that the game is not really a 'free' game, as you must purchase $30 worth of Arma2 & Arma2: Operation Arrowhead in order to be able to play the DayZ mod. Only for the most hard-core of perma-death fans. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    Man! This game is WAY easier to play when I'm not trying to play NHL at the same time.
    Trying to deke a puck while running away from some funk dancing zombies isn't easy let me tell you.
  8. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Personal i think this game has to have a lot of patience to be played can be quite difficult at times to play especially now there are no official servers, some people claim to have the latest anit-cheat/hacks software on their servers but it doesn't seem to work, and believe me hackers are becoming more and more abundant, making the entire map at risk, and generally causing you toPersonal i think this game has to have a lot of patience to be played can be quite difficult at times to play especially now there are no official servers, some people claim to have the latest anit-cheat/hacks software on their servers but it doesn't seem to work, and believe me hackers are becoming more and more abundant, making the entire map at risk, and generally causing you to disconnect and re-connect to a new server. As a mod you can imagine there are still some issues which need to be solved in the game and the combat and zombies need to be looked at, as well as some of the glitches in this game, most of the time it can become very annoying to play with such issues. however i have given this game a 6 to keep it in the green as it is a free mod and one the most realistic games i have ever played, the fact that finding a downed helicopter doesn't have to just be flown into the air, it has to be repaired etc. and the only way to repair is to find parts and tools. The incorporated realism of ARMA 2 has made this a very desirable mod for the game, but free to play you're getting more than what you ever bargained for, be prepared this is a one to watch Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    i love this game but a lot of people will just shoot on sight NOT FOR EVERYONE it is good with great potential although the zombie mechanics i think are complete **** on account of this it is a great time waster i do not like how you lose all progress such as no vault though i love the hardcore aspect from die you lose items on the person between dayz and warz i would choose warz but if ii love this game but a lot of people will just shoot on sight NOT FOR EVERYONE it is good with great potential although the zombie mechanics i think are complete **** on account of this it is a great time waster i do not like how you lose all progress such as no vault though i love the hardcore aspect from die you lose items on the person between dayz and warz i would choose warz but if i am playing with a group of players i would without a doubt choose dayz for the great multiplayer aspect where you have to rely on others to help you get to different points on the game over all i think this is a great play with friends to join you on the experience but if you are looking for a softer core version of this game one that you can play on your own with out hacks i would have to send you to warz keep on mind these games are both till in progress i believe all i have to say is give each game a chance Expand
  10. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    To begin with you start in the post-Soviet state of Chernarus, Where a virus has turned everyone into zombies. You are a survivor with limited supplies, you must scavenge the world for supplies like weapons, food, water and medicine, whilst killing or avoiding zombies and other players.
    This game is not for children and requires you to be over the age of 18, I also don
  11. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    If you want a game unlike anything you have ever played get DayZ. It is really good for it being in alpha and with some more updates it can only get better. You can go the same place 100 times in DayZ and every time it will be different. You will see players, do you trust them or not? Need to eat? Kill a sheep, cow, lamb, rabbit, chicken, or find some good ol' DayZ Heinz Beans! You canIf you want a game unlike anything you have ever played get DayZ. It is really good for it being in alpha and with some more updates it can only get better. You can go the same place 100 times in DayZ and every time it will be different. You will see players, do you trust them or not? Need to eat? Kill a sheep, cow, lamb, rabbit, chicken, or find some good ol' DayZ Heinz Beans! You can also go into shock, break your leg(s), bleed to death, etc. Its a scary world out there in DayZ get some buddies and get to playing. Collapse

There are no critic reviews yet.