User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 130
  2. Negative: 19 out of 130
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    Want a game that is overhyped, extremely boring, and glitchy? Look no further! I started playing DayZ from the very beginning and thought "Wow these graphics are underwhelming" but I kept going because that wasn't what I was looking for. I was looking for an experience with zombies unmatched! But I didn't find that either. What you will find are a ton of glitchy, slow, and dumb zombies that you can easily escape from. The real threat comes from the people. Usually hackers, liars, and server hoppers. People claim that this game has the best PvP system ever, but if you engage someone they will more than likely log out and move to a different server. Not only that but you will be crawling for hours around a bland map looking for items you will use up and then need again or be shot. The realism is hardly there. The most realistic part is that you need to drink, eat, and die when shot. The time it takes to eat and drink is out of proportion and you can die from a 5 foot fall. Anyone claiming this game is realistic are just fooling themselves. It amazes me that people can even call this a zombie game. This game is nothing but a glitchy, hacker infested, survival game that keeps you playing for hours on end to find something that you will be searching for all over again in an hour tops. TL;DR: Are you looking for a game with bad AI, hackers EVERYWHERE, hours of mindless crawling, glitch galore, and hardly any realism!? Look no further!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    What zombie survival? The AI zed is so unintelligent that the only fear is the ever growing base of prepubescent players willing to kill you just because their "kill death ratio" (KDR) somehow matters in a game that doesn't measure such a thing. New players will inevitibly be killed continuously by overpowered players (most of which hack to do so) who assume kill on sight rather than help. The best bet is to save for a game better than DayZ and better than War Z. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    2
    This game has a lot of potential to be something great but the game mechanics are absolutely beyond horrible. Server connection problems and the fact that your player will randomly crouch without you commanding it makes the game even more annoying. The way your character moves is anything but smooth and it takes you a ridiculous amount of time to swim somewhere. I've glitch died several times by falling off of ladders and phasing through buildings where I would break a leg and slowly bleed to death. Zombies are retardedly overpowered. They will chase you and eventually catch you no matter what you do, and there are practically no weapons to kill them. I'm not one to give bad reviews but this game is an absolute pile of crap Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    Definitely not a game for everyone. While it is a mesmerizing environment that puts the player's tactical intelligence to the test, and the game is absolutely the most realistic zombie-survival game ever made, there is no default story (although user-driven ones can be entertaining), and it is ludicrously difficult and unforgiving. When your character dies, they die - you lose every ounce of progress you made with the character, lose all of your items (unless you can somehow find your corpse before someone else does), and must start over completely from scratch. And it is very, very, very difficult to stay alive. The focus of the game is on realism and survival in a zombie apocalypse, and the game really stresses the realism. Three gunshots will instantly kill you, no matter what gear you have, and a few zombies can easily tear you apart, or at the very least, cause you to bleed to death in minutes. For those looking for an uber-realistic zombie survival simulator, your day has come. For others, this may not be your style - or be downright frustrating to the point of rage-quitting forever.

    ** Pros **

    ++ Incredibly realistic
    ++ Huge open-world environment
    ++ Good graphical detail
    ++ Highly tactical - a great sense of accomplishment follows a well-executed strategy
    ++ Well-executed intensity in combat situations
    ++ Zombies are actually scary

    ** Cons **

    -- Incredibly realistic (it is flabbergasting how quickly you can die)
    -- No story whatsoever
    -- Cannot play by yourself
    -- Other players will more often kill you on sight than try to help you out
    -- Outrageously steep learning curve
    -- Awkward animations
    -- Unwieldy keymapping - almost every single key on your keyboard is bound to an action
    Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    2
    I could list all the things wrong with this mod, but it would take too long. If your idea of fun is crawling around for hours then being chased by poorly animated monkeys, go right ahead. But it is in no way worth the purchase of ARMA II, not by a long shot.
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    DayZ is Highly addictive and takes time getting used to. u can learn stuff about playing dayz by thinking about real life what u would do in that situation .Once you can get good its fun Its about one of the Best zombies games ever the hyper realism makes you coming back for more its so difficult the zombies are scary and one moment i found myself In a grocery store with zombies surrounding all the windows SCARY!! This game is recommended to anyone with good enough computer specs. This is Given a good rating by me because its Easily One of the best zombies Simulators ever. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2012
    4
    I like where the developer of DayZ is going with the game. I really do. However implementation leaves much to be desired. The game is plagued with crippling lag, server stability issues, and frequent game crashes. That's to be expected from a game still in beta though. No, the real reason why I gave it a 4 is because of gameplay problems. Food/water/weapon spawns are almost non-existent. That means you can play for days or even weeks before you ever see a weapon. The lack of food and water spawns mean your game won't last 45 minutes. You'll die of starvation or dehydration so very frequently. Because of the lack of food/water/weapons, it makes the game completely pointless. It's no longer a survival game if survival chances are 0% due to shoddy game mechanics. To make matters worse, hackers are frequent and ruin the game for everyone. They teleport everyone into one spot, then open fire on everyone. Zombie AI is also pretty bad. They can spot you from a great distance away and when they do, they pursue you relentlessly. You're supposed to be able to run away and the zombie will eventually give up the chase, but that's also broken. They will NOT stop chasing you and you eventually give up in frustration. Blood is a terribly broken game mechanic too. When you lose blood, your screen gets fuzzy and gameplay gets immensely more difficult. There's no real way to replenish your blood levels either so if a zombie even scratches you, you're better off just dying and starting over. *Overall Impressions* It seems the only way to enjoy this game is to not play at all. I understand the concept of survival, but this is just retarded. Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    I fell in love with DayZ right away, but with the 1.7.1 patch, zombies can detect you more easily and players don't start with weapons, meaning it's harder to get a weapon in the first place. What this results in is zombies being very much a threat while players are barely a concern. Anyone who played DayZ for more than an hour knows that the thing that made DayZ fun was that you really only had to worry about not literally touching zombies, but what you really had to fear was the constant threat of snipers, looters, bandits and killers. 1.7.2 made Zombies less able to hear you through walls and allowed players to place bear traps, which are at least steps in the right direction, but personally I couldn't get into DayZ after zombies were that threatening. The zombies weren't scary anymore, they were just annoying. Other people weren't scary anymore because they weren't there. Hopefully, the dev team realizes this and nerfs the zombies once again while allowing players faster access to the ability to threaten other players, which is the heart of the DayZ experience. Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Great game, pretty stable for an alpha. If you like hardcore realism combined with a PvP "System" that will give you an adrenaline rush like never before and zombies. Then this game is for you.
  10. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    After playing the Beta of Dayz, you can see a definite potential for a good game, genuinely unique ideas and some gameplay you can't experience with another zombie game. However, the game strikes me as clunky and sometimes frustrating. It is hard however to judge the game before its technically finished, patches and updates are still regular.
  11. Nov 3, 2012
    5
    DayZ is a Rogue-like horror-survival FPS based on the modern warfare simulator Armed Assault 2 (ARMA) which means that although you'll be dodging zombies, you'll be doing it in a very realistic manner. If you're a fan of Left 4 Dead and wish it had been more sandbox like, you'll probably enjoy DayZ. If you're a fan of Eve, you'll probably find some similarities in the hardcore dog-eats-dog world projected in DayZ. DayZ is a lot what S.T.A.L.K.E.R was promised to be. Unfortunately, being as popular as DayZ is also comes with a huge downside: Cheaters. Each public server is dogged by cheaters and hackers. The only way to truly play the game is by joining a private hive server which means that your character will only be saved on one server rather than on the global "hive" which connects each public server. People who find walking through the woods for minutes on end and getting lost because they haven't found a compass yet or being beaten to death by zombies or one-shot sniped by a 13-year-old bandit the most frustrating thing in the world need not apply, this game is unforgiving but at the same time it's got potential, it's unique and it can keep you entertained for quite a few days. At some point, it will all start seeming rather pointless and this is when you know DayZ has reached its apex because of a lack of end-game features and slow-release cycle. Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Great great game with good potential with some glaring issues. Because it is a mod there have been dozens of times where zombies would sprint through walls and windows and break your leg, make you bleed, or even kill you in one hit at full health. Since the servers are unregulated if you accidentally join a server with a piece of S**T hacker then your hours of saving supplies will vanish in a instant when your spawned into the middle of the sky and fall into a pile of other unfortunate survivors. If this game gets dedicated regulated servers and bugs fixed and a more accessible map (aka you can go inside most buildings instead of a few) it would easily be a 10 but that is not the case just yet. It will become its own game since the modders are now funded by the creators of ARMA 2 but till then I would just find another survival game to pass the time, unless of course you enjoy being unfairly at others mercy. Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    If you want a game unlike anything you have ever played get DayZ. It is really good for it being in alpha and with some more updates it can only get better. You can go the same place 100 times in DayZ and every time it will be different. You will see players, do you trust them or not? Need to eat? Kill a sheep, cow, lamb, rabbit, chicken, or find some good ol' DayZ Heinz Beans! You can also go into shock, break your leg(s), bleed to death, etc. Its a scary world out there in DayZ get some buddies and get to playing. Expand
  14. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    An amazing mod, even in its alpha state. I have been gaming for nearly 20 years now, and DayZ gave me a fresh, new experience. That in itself is quiet the feat, but DayZ took it even further and added some adrenalin fuelled gameplay. Every footstep I heard would have me hold my breath with anticipation. That said, the alpha is filled with bugs, slow connecting times and cheaters BUT this is an alpha, an idea or experiment if you will. This gives me hope that the standalone will become the game I want it to be, and I believe it to be in very good hands. DayZ is slow, it Collapse
  15. MFZ
    Jan 10, 2013
    6
    The graphics set the mood well, but they are still lacking in certain engaging aspects like animation and gore detail. The sound is captivating. It feels natural and it's detailed. You hear your character walk through grass, on concrete, on wood, etc.. and even though it does lack, I think it's the high point of the game. The gameplay wants to be better, but is limited due to it being a mod. Zombies clip through walls sometimes and the inventory system is clunky and can be time consuming to use efficiently. I'm anxiously awaiting the standalone version of this game because I think ( hope ) it will improve on many things I've mentioned. Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Fun thing is, people do not realise that this game/mod is in Apha and there wasnt even a proper team that worked on it, so before you open your mouth, try to understand what is going on with it first. I think that from what it was and what it is now, there is a big jump!
    Now, when the Standalone is in development, that gives the developers a whole new perspective and so many more options
    what to do with the engine. I think this is one of the most abitious games this year, it just needs some polish. Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    Man! This game is WAY easier to play when I'm not trying to play NHL at the same time.
    Trying to deke a puck while running away from some funk dancing zombies isn't easy let me tell you.
  18. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Cant wait for Standalone version, you cant "rate" free arma 2 mod.... 10/10 for mod, great job Rocket... but its too glitchy and run very bad on good pc rig... cant wait for standalone version
  19. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best mods out there... It isn't the best but its great! Sure it has bugs but you must remember its an alpha MOD not a game. When you play It takes you in and subversive game-play elements. This MOD makes you feel like your the person surviving and when you kill someone makes you feel bad (most of the time) unlike modern FPS witch have no affect on your feelings what so ever. There is a few problems but nothing to cry over. The game has almost unlimited replayability seeing as there are now new maps you can go on and the large number of things you can do... Expand
  20. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    simply put? it's a bit glitchy, there are some hackers, and it's a mod. remember that, a mod. it had no financial backing and no professional support. people who expect this to be perfect are out of their damn minds.
    I've spent months playing it and love it. Just ready for the actual release.
  21. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Personal i think this game has to have a lot of patience to be played can be quite difficult at times to play especially now there are no official servers, some people claim to have the latest anit-cheat/hacks software on their servers but it doesn't seem to work, and believe me hackers are becoming more and more abundant, making the entire map at risk, and generally causing you to disconnect and re-connect to a new server. As a mod you can imagine there are still some issues which need to be solved in the game and the combat and zombies need to be looked at, as well as some of the glitches in this game, most of the time it can become very annoying to play with such issues. however i have given this game a 6 to keep it in the green as it is a free mod and one the most realistic games i have ever played, the fact that finding a downed helicopter doesn't have to just be flown into the air, it has to be repaired etc. and the only way to repair is to find parts and tools. The incorporated realism of ARMA 2 has made this a very desirable mod for the game, but free to play you're getting more than what you ever bargained for, be prepared this is a one to watch Expand
  22. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    So its a realistic mod or game about zombies, you need to survive, its online.

    Like the bad things on this game is if they kill you, you loose every thing.

    for using this game you need arma || combined operations.
  23. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    After understanding my surroundings and looking farther than the crappy inventory system, I realized Dayz is a paranoia simulator that has 2 core elements: zombies and survivors. Zs can be avoided and some times are stupid as **** but dont get **** they´ll **** gangbang rape you. Survivors are scarier than zombies, they can group with you or they´ll kill you for your loot. Trust noone, just RL friends. You can get robbed in this game. The loot system is great, a compass, a map, matches, a pistol, food, drinks, you learn the value of digital items. Expand
  24. Aug 20, 2012
    5
    DayZ is very much a work in progress, and is still in Open-Alpha. For a hard-core perma-death game, it is ok. But, there is so much hacking that it makes most servers unplayable in any meaningful way. In addition, once one learns how to effectively dodge and shake the zombies, the game goes directly into player-kill mode, where the only meaningful or 'fun' thing to do is kill other players. Note that the game is not really a 'free' game, as you must purchase $30 worth of Arma2 & Arma2: Operation Arrowhead in order to be able to play the DayZ mod. Only for the most hard-core of perma-death fans. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Is this mod a bit broken and unoptimized? Yes. Does it show a lot or promise? Yes. Is it still fun to play? Absolutely. This mod is by far one of the most entertaining games I have installed right now, but it's not for everyone, easy to learn or easy to play unless you have the right mindset. Expect to die the first few times and experiment, read up a bit on it - if you are looking for a challenge and suspense then this game will bring it, and more. Expand
  26. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    i love this game but a lot of people will just shoot on sight NOT FOR EVERYONE it is good with great potential although the zombie mechanics i think are complete **** on account of this it is a great time waster i do not like how you lose all progress such as no vault though i love the hardcore aspect from die you lose items on the person between dayz and warz i would choose warz but if i am playing with a group of players i would without a doubt choose dayz for the great multiplayer aspect where you have to rely on others to help you get to different points on the game over all i think this is a great play with friends to join you on the experience but if you are looking for a softer core version of this game one that you can play on your own with out hacks i would have to send you to warz keep on mind these games are both till in progress i believe all i have to say is give each game a chance Expand
  27. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Is a game with a lot of potentiality. The Original game is not new but the engine brings to the player and developers the possibility to imagine and create almost with no limits. The multilayer system is perfect, the map is enormous and the weather conditions are incredible. The zombies have some strange movements, the saving system is not the best and the playability is not to much friendly.
  28. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Never has a game drawn such emotion out of me. The difficulty level you find is a refreshing challenge compared to most games today where they hold your hand through everything.
  29. X0R
    Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I already owned Arma2, so as a free mod this game is a blast. It has a lot of quirks to it, and no tutorial hand-holding, but that adds to the high realism of what I'd expect to experience in an apocalyptic world. You're always searching for food & water, ammo, bandages, pain killers and looking over the hill for a human that might help you, or hit you in the head with a wrench to pick your corpse for loot. While the PvP element is at its core, I can never predict how someone will react. 50% of the time I'm surprised in walking away with a new friend. DayZ is still in development, but as it stands Rocket has created something very different, and very cool.

    I rated this game high because personally, I love it, but if you want to know more before buying Arma2, just look at one of the many youtubes out there with DayZ Survival stories ....that's what sucked me in last year.
    Expand
  30. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    I give this mod such a high score because it has implemented some features and ideas that are completely new to games. And that is saying a LOT. Of course this game isnt for everyone. As the developer said it is a Anti-Game since it is very frustrating.

    But if you bear that in mind it is a great game, specially if you play it as a newbie. The only goal in this gameis to survive. And boy
    is it hard as you begin. You have no guns, zombies are everywhere around anything with loot, you need to eat and drink regularly to stay alive, you bleed when hit and you cant heal as in other games. If you get killed you have to start from scratch, losing all that you had. Here you just gain a tiny ammount of health by eating or need a friend to give you a blood transfusion. So if you are alone you are alone you can only heal very slowly by eating. Oh and you havent got a map when you start and even if you get that and a compass you will still have to guess your location. You will spend a lotof time looking at your map and saying: I think that hill up north must be this one in my map here.
    If you think that was hard enough here comes the best part. The zombies will not be your biggest threat, the players will. Since most of them will just shoot you on sight. There are a lot of bandit gangs around with sniper rifles and whatnot and most of the time you wont even know where the shot cme from. Since this mod is based on a ultra-realistic military combar simulator you pretty much get killed after a couple of shots. That gives the player the feeling of being a prey to some crazy post-apocaliptic raider gangs. So most of the time you will just travel through the forest, trying to avoid populated areas and only going out to scavenge a town one you have scouted and made sure there was no-one around.

    If you are into this feeling check this mod out. If you find it too hard there is plenty of guides and maps around that will tell you how easily trick zombies and where to get loot relatively easy. But I suggest you try to play this game as a noob and learn it along the way, its so much more fun.

    There is so much that can be learned from this mod in regards to other games. As someone said before, this is what STALKER should have been.
    Expand
  31. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    To begin with you start in the post-Soviet state of Chernarus, Where a virus has turned everyone into zombies. You are a survivor with limited supplies, you must scavenge the world for supplies like weapons, food, water and medicine, whilst killing or avoiding zombies and other players.
    This game is not for children and requires you to be over the age of 18, I also don
  32. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Not with out its problems but by far the best free mod i have played. I cant wait for the standalone version which will fix the glitches and hacking.

    It is very intense at times a single mistake can set you back hours of game play but that is what makes it so exciting. Never has a game got my heart going as much as this one has.

    With that said you can have a lot of fun doing silly
    things, playing jokes on people and if your lucky meet a few "friendlies". But be careful, most of them just want your can of beans... Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    An amazing mod, even in its alpha state. I have been gaming for nearly 20 years now, and DayZ gave me a fresh, new experience. That in itself is quiet the feat, but DayZ took it even further and added some adrenalin fuelled gameplay. Every footstep I heard would have me hold my breath with anticipation. That said, the alpha is filled with bugs, slow connecting times and cheaters BUT this is an alpha, an idea or experiment if you will. This gives me hope that the standalone will become the game I want it to be, and I believe it to be in very good hands. DayZ is slow, it Collapse