User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 8 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing!

    It's a little expensive for a PC game, but if that's the price to pay for this kind of quality I'm more than happy to support Eagle Dynamics! This game is silky smooth, has incredible graphics and ULTRA realistic (yes I've flown planes but not the Walthog).  It will take the same amount of time completing the training as it takes to complete a console
    Absolutely amazing!

    It's a little expensive for a PC game, but if that's the price to pay for this kind of quality I'm more than happy to support Eagle Dynamics!

    This game is silky smooth, has incredible graphics and ULTRA realistic (yes I've flown planes but not the Walthog). 

    It will take the same amount of time completing the training as it takes to complete a console game. 

    Some may say it's boring ... each to their own. This game isn't for the casual gamer. It's a full blown simulator and will require reading/training to master. 

    I'm not even that bothered with the missions. I simply enjoy the flying aspect this game offers. 

    Near perfect (and closer to 10 than a 9). 

    Kudos. 
    Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Best use of hard drive space on my computer yet. If you like flying military aircraft, you won't regret buying this for a second.

    It takes some time to learn how to do everything, and longer still to do it well, but the learning is fun in itself.
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    DCS: A-10 Warthog is the most hardcore combat flight sim since the days of Falcon 4. With it's excellent and most detailed graphics, avionics, flight model, weapon systems and fidelity makes this simulation one of the best of all times in gaming history. Highly recommended to play along with Thrustmasters Warthog HOTAS for plug & play setup. The game has a very steep learning curve butDCS: A-10 Warthog is the most hardcore combat flight sim since the days of Falcon 4. With it's excellent and most detailed graphics, avionics, flight model, weapon systems and fidelity makes this simulation one of the best of all times in gaming history. Highly recommended to play along with Thrustmasters Warthog HOTAS for plug & play setup. The game has a very steep learning curve but rewards you highly when mastered. I can assure that this game will leave you with big grins on you face when completing a successful mission. A must for any combat simulation enthusiast! Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    As a veteran of Aviation in ODS, I've always been a fan of the A-10. I've tried flying the warthog in other games, but it's always been too unrealistic and left me wanting. Immediately upon firing DCS:A-10 up, I noticed how awesome simply starting the aircraft was (click the switches)! After getting in the air and dropping some laser guided bombs and firing that Gatling gun strapped toAs a veteran of Aviation in ODS, I've always been a fan of the A-10. I've tried flying the warthog in other games, but it's always been too unrealistic and left me wanting. Immediately upon firing DCS:A-10 up, I noticed how awesome simply starting the aircraft was (click the switches)! After getting in the air and dropping some laser guided bombs and firing that Gatling gun strapped to the front, I was HOOKED. I wanted to create my own mission, but was worried it would be too involved. I was able to do it pretty easily and found that I had created my perfect scenario; chasing Russian tanks through a mountain pass and leaving them in smoking ruins. The campaigns it came with were challenging and fun. Since I started playing they've added even more content, and there's rumors that they'll have Nellis AFB maps where you can fly around Las Vegas!

    Beautifully rendered, absolute realism, intense attention to detail, true physics. I really couldn't ask for more from a sim. This is what I've always dreamed of.

    Future game launches will come and go... I'll be flying my warthog, oblivious to the world.
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    DCS A-10C is an ingenious piece of software, providing an almost unbelievable military combat pilot flying experience. It pulls you in with a superb atmosphere and an incredible amount of visuals and detailed content. The **** start-up sequence alone will tempt you to enlist, and yes it is full of complexities, but unlike past military simulations DCS and their producers have made sureDCS A-10C is an ingenious piece of software, providing an almost unbelievable military combat pilot flying experience. It pulls you in with a superb atmosphere and an incredible amount of visuals and detailed content. The **** start-up sequence alone will tempt you to enlist, and yes it is full of complexities, but unlike past military simulations DCS and their producers have made sure there are numerous resources and shortcuts available to assist you along this magnificent journey.
    The A-10C is an all-weather; multi-mission precision weapons delivery aircraft also known as the Hawg, not a beauty pageant winner, but unique and eye-catching in its own way and it definitely manifests its way into your blood. Sure there have been countless military flight games, but A-10C emphasizes new discoveries and intrigue over everything in this genre. For a consumer product, itâ
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    DCS A-10C ??? What can I say ? Its not so much a game, as a way of life. From the brilliant training missions, that guide you through the many complex systems. To the complete mission builder, that lets you control every detail. right down to the wind direction. Every part of this sim screams love and attention to detail. The best part for me, is starting the warthog up on a rainy morning.DCS A-10C ??? What can I say ? Its not so much a game, as a way of life. From the brilliant training missions, that guide you through the many complex systems. To the complete mission builder, that lets you control every detail. right down to the wind direction. Every part of this sim screams love and attention to detail. The best part for me, is starting the warthog up on a rainy morning. listening to the rain gently drumming on the windscreen. Then as I slowly flick the switches, bringing this beautiful baby to life. Hearing the engines whistling up to ready. The grin on my face as I know that I am gonna go tank busting :) Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I've got over 10 years experience as an A-10 Crew Chief on both A and C models and have to say this game is amazing. The detail and real to life operations of systems is incredible and blew my mind away the first time starting the jet up from the ramp.

    I've flown flight sims on and off for over 20 years but this is the most realistic, detailed sim I have ever flown and have enjoyed every
    I've got over 10 years experience as an A-10 Crew Chief on both A and C models and have to say this game is amazing. The detail and real to life operations of systems is incredible and blew my mind away the first time starting the jet up from the ramp.

    I've flown flight sims on and off for over 20 years but this is the most realistic, detailed sim I have ever flown and have enjoyed every second I've been in the virtual pit.
    Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Hello all. I'm an airline Captain with more than 15.000 flight hours on my back and a PC flight simulator's fun since the 90's when ED developed it's first simulator the Flanker 1.0. The ED simulator's saga has been always improving over the years, until arriving to this marvel we have in our hands now. The DCS A-10C has the best flight model I've ever tried in a PC, the graphics areHello all. I'm an airline Captain with more than 15.000 flight hours on my back and a PC flight simulator's fun since the 90's when ED developed it's first simulator the Flanker 1.0. The ED simulator's saga has been always improving over the years, until arriving to this marvel we have in our hands now. The DCS A-10C has the best flight model I've ever tried in a PC, the graphics are astonishing and flying online is a great experience. I love to fly in formation with the A-10C, it feels so smooth that it looks like real live, and you may believe me, I have a bunch of flight hours in real live formation flight. Most of the aircraft systems are modeled to great detail which together with the 3D **** makes the flying experience very realistic. There are even training missions for you to learn and practice, which reduces to a great extent the learning hours required to get your type rating in the A-10C.
    Enjoy it and see you in the virtual skies!
    Collapse
  9. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    The best flight simulator done until today. Flying A-10C it's not just for combat fans, it's also the best simulated ever aircraft with the best flight model, that matches at 100% with the real one behaviour. If you like action, you'll find years of fun, not like games that in 6 hours you're done. Every mission it's a new experience. And you can do your own missions and campaigns.
    Easy to
    The best flight simulator done until today. Flying A-10C it's not just for combat fans, it's also the best simulated ever aircraft with the best flight model, that matches at 100% with the real one behaviour. If you like action, you'll find years of fun, not like games that in 6 hours you're done. Every mission it's a new experience. And you can do your own missions and campaigns.
    Easy to learn, very well documented and with the best multiplayer. Just fly like real squads do!
    Expand
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    As others have said, in fact so many people that by repeating it, I risk stating the obvious; DCS A-10 represents the state-of-the-art in high-fidelity combat flight simulation. The flight modelling is superb, which is very important for an aircraft that has mass and weight, limited airspeed and is not fly-by-wire. Like most users of the product I value realism, so having to re- trim forAs others have said, in fact so many people that by repeating it, I risk stating the obvious; DCS A-10 represents the state-of-the-art in high-fidelity combat flight simulation. The flight modelling is superb, which is very important for an aircraft that has mass and weight, limited airspeed and is not fly-by-wire. Like most users of the product I value realism, so having to re- trim for an asymmetrical ordinance load after releasing a weapon gets high marks from me. The systems, avionics and weapons are modelled in astonishing detail, the terrain is superbly rendered and uniquely challenging at low-level (where the Hog often lives) and what's so unique about the A-10 platform, and rendered here immaculately, is that it's non-radar, which makes this the first simulation to model advanced optical targeting systems like the A-10C's Target Guidance Pod. The harmonisation of all sensors, systems and controls is immaculate. Let me say this, too: flying it and fighting it, in SP or MP, is FUN, as is the Mission Editor, a powerful tool. Developer support for the sim has been impressive, as are the plans for future expansion. This sim is without doubt a huge accomplishment by Eagle Dynamics. And for serious combat flight simmers looking for a non-legacy product, it's the only "game" in town at the moment. DCS A-10 just raised the bar for all future combat "study" sims for the PC. Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Beginner to Experienced in no time! A week ago I had no idea how an A-10 even works. Today Im dropping bombs on targets from 20k feet on the most difficult settings with no problem. The training missions for this game explain in detail what every switch in the **** does and it why you need to turn it on. On top of that, turning to the flight manual for reference was even more rewardingBeginner to Experienced in no time! A week ago I had no idea how an A-10 even works. Today Im dropping bombs on targets from 20k feet on the most difficult settings with no problem. The training missions for this game explain in detail what every switch in the **** does and it why you need to turn it on. On top of that, turning to the flight manual for reference was even more rewarding when it came to explaining how to fly, weapons, navigate, communication, everything. I've never seen such a great simulator with precise detail and graphics. In fact the first three days I spent playing the training missions alone, and felt pretty comfortable when it was time to start the Campaign missions. Keep in mind, this game is NOT an arcade, it is in fact a Simulator with precision. Expand
  12. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    I have followed the decline of simulation software since the late nineties, and like so many other hardcore simmers have desperately waited for someone to release a 21st century hardcore simulation; a new bench mark so to speak. I heard whisperings of such a sim being developed by Eagle Dynamics but I was not a fan other ED's other efforts in the combat simulation genre. A video becomeI have followed the decline of simulation software since the late nineties, and like so many other hardcore simmers have desperately waited for someone to release a 21st century hardcore simulation; a new bench mark so to speak. I heard whisperings of such a sim being developed by Eagle Dynamics but I was not a fan other ED's other efforts in the combat simulation genre. A video become public of the A10C being started from a cold status , so I figure okay I'll buy it, but felt it would end up on my shelf like a few others that released over the past decade. Falcon 4 was my bench mark, and I still fly it today. DCS/ED decide to release the beta to buyers, which I thought was a great idea, so I purchased DCS A10. From the moment I entered the quiet **** and started clicking the battery power switch to initiate the start up I was sold. The terrain, 3d model, **** model, sounds, lighting, avionics, and weather are the best I've seen; on par with FSX and exceeds Falcon 4.0. The flight model and ground handling are fluid and feel very good although I find the ground bump on take off exaggerated. The damage model is simply the best available. It is the small details that make this sim awesome. Land too hard and you will blow a tire. Look at the tire and you will see it shredded. Take some hits from triple A and you will see where you were hit.

    Where is DCS A10 weak? In my opinion DCS A10 is weak in two areas. The first area is communications. In game voice communication via radio is a must now for online flights; a feature that is sadly missing in DCS A10, however a great little community mod called TARS fills that void. Also, the AI communication is not very good. The AI sound segmented, robotic, and there is very little environmental radio chatter. Falcon and FSX are the benchmarks in this area and ED/DCS would be wise to follow suite.

    The second area of weakness is effects. Where's the canopy glass scratches, **** shadows (I'm told this is coming in a patch), and the explosions although satisfactory could be much better.

    Overall, if you're a hardcore simmer this is a must have. Even with the two weak areas I mentioned this simulator is the new bench mark for all others to follow.
    Expand
  13. May 2, 2011
    10
    Having flown flight simulators for over 21 years now, I have seen many developments in terms of graphics, realism, physics and procedures during that time. For me, DCS:A-10C is the pinnacle of these developments. The realism of the simulator is second to none from the moment you sit in a cold **** and have to carry out pre-flight checks, start up procedures, radio communications and fullHaving flown flight simulators for over 21 years now, I have seen many developments in terms of graphics, realism, physics and procedures during that time. For me, DCS:A-10C is the pinnacle of these developments. The realism of the simulator is second to none from the moment you sit in a cold **** and have to carry out pre-flight checks, start up procedures, radio communications and full combat deployment tactics make it the most immersive simulator I have ever flown. For those that just want to jump in and shoot off a few missiles and drop a few bombs this is catered for as well, and I know many converts that actually fly DCS:A-10C now using full procedures.

    A key factor in the development of the simulator is the strength of the LockOn and DCS community that continuously push The Fighter Collection (TFC) and Eagle Dynamics (ED) to make the best simulator on the market. Both TFC and ED listen to the community wishes and likes and cater for those in frequently released patches to improve the simulator experience for their audience.

    From the moment I climb into the virtual **** to the moment I shut down the aircraft I am fully immersed in the vision, sound and thought provoking process to achieve my mission.
    In my view, it is the best combat flight simulator on the market and no other products come close or will do for a long time to come.
    Expand
  14. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Fantastic level of detail!!! Almost all aircraft systems have been completely simulated. Fully clickable **** Fully featured cold start, including possibility to customise all aspects of your capabilities: your HUD, weapon release profiles, flightplans, waypoints and markpoints. Great graphics with smooth frame-rates on an average i7. Stable code with no CTDs. 700 of well written pageFantastic level of detail!!! Almost all aircraft systems have been completely simulated. Fully clickable **** Fully featured cold start, including possibility to customise all aspects of your capabilities: your HUD, weapon release profiles, flightplans, waypoints and markpoints. Great graphics with smooth frame-rates on an average i7. Stable code with no CTDs. 700 of well written page manual makes the learning curve less intimidating. Make no mistake, to get the most enjoyment out of this monumental sim you must be prepared to spend significant amount of time studying the manual. This is the new benchmark in flight simulation with a level of detail surpassing any other offerings. Frequent patches show the dedication of developer ED. Hats off to Eagle Dynamics for an outstanding product! Immersion is even better if you own the Trustmaster HOTAS Warthog (Replica A-10C Stick and Throttle) that has been designed explicitly for this sim. Expand
  15. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the most complex and comprehensive flight simulator out there at the moment. The development team actually had a military contract with the USAF and NG to develop the A-10C trainers so this makes them, bar Fairchild-Republic, the most accurate portrayal of a military warplane available for commercial use.
  16. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    DCS: A-10C sets new standards in flight sims. It is created with love for detail, and it is this detail that will get you as close to the real A-10C as you can get if you are not a A-10C pilot. If you look for the ultimate realistic experience what modern military aircraft goes, this is it.
    I hardly rate something with the max score, but in this case the scala has to be changed.
  17. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best flight sim I've ever played. There is no equal anywhere. I thought flight sims were dead, but DCS resurrected flight sim with this one for sure.
    This is like really being a pilot or the closest thing to it.
  18. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    An incredible simulation. For understanding next to nothing, I can say the learning curve is STEEP (yes, with all caps). After learning one thing at a time though, it is extremely rewarding to watch those little derelict Urals go boom on the firing range (or of course saying **** it," grabbing rockets, loading all HEI rounds into the cannon and go blow random buildings up). There's so muchAn incredible simulation. For understanding next to nothing, I can say the learning curve is STEEP (yes, with all caps). After learning one thing at a time though, it is extremely rewarding to watch those little derelict Urals go boom on the firing range (or of course saying **** it," grabbing rockets, loading all HEI rounds into the cannon and go blow random buildings up). There's so much to this sim to learn that if you're interested in combat aviation at all, its a must have. Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    This is the single best flight simulator out there. The level of detail is beyond words - every switch, every system is modeled. DCS is the last hope in combat flight simulators these days. I hope everyone who is into this stuff throws their money at them. The 1.09 patch was outstanding - I guess 4GB is going to have something worthwhile in it for sure, but they added so much stuff, andThis is the single best flight simulator out there. The level of detail is beyond words - every switch, every system is modeled. DCS is the last hope in combat flight simulators these days. I hope everyone who is into this stuff throws their money at them. The 1.09 patch was outstanding - I guess 4GB is going to have something worthwhile in it for sure, but they added so much stuff, and it's really encouraging to see a developer so devoted to their game. The only reason I couldn't give a 10 was the training missions. They really should have covered all of the weapons, and perhaps had a training mission that held your hand from start to end. I own BlackShark and A-10 and I can't wait for more of the same from DCS. Although the IGN review had some good points, I really think this game deserves over a 93 and with extra training missions a 98. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Simply incredible simulation. Spend my teenage years with Apache Longbow, Falcon 4.0, SU-27 Flanker and DCS: A-10C Warthog is right up there with the legends.
  21. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eagle Dynamics haben ein teschnisch und spielerisch nahezu perfektes Meisterwerk abgeliefert. Das Spiel simuliert die A-10C Thunderbolt II "Warthog" bis ins kleinste Detail, sei es die detaillierte Flugphysik, oder das komplett klickbare, funktionstüchtige **** Und was diese Simulation zusätzlich auszeichnet, sind die groà Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    I've got to say, that this is my favorite air simulation to date. It's really amazing that you can come so close to flying an actual A-10C via a software. I do wish that the graphics were better. Yes, the is detailed and crisp and the airplane is as well, but the environment looks like a throwback somewhat to the IL-2 days of 7 years ago. DCS prides themselves on having a fantasticI've got to say, that this is my favorite air simulation to date. It's really amazing that you can come so close to flying an actual A-10C via a software. I do wish that the graphics were better. Yes, the is detailed and crisp and the airplane is as well, but the environment looks like a throwback somewhat to the IL-2 days of 7 years ago. DCS prides themselves on having a fantastic mission editor--which is great in itself. But then I'm left asking--why so few missions and campaigns? And on this note, it looks like DCS World offers more in the way of free campaigns and missions for their free plane Su-25T than the a10C offering.

    But hey, I wouldn't be thinking this critically about the game if I didn't really like the game in the first place. There's a high degree of realism and emersion along with hours and hours of fun. I've got quite a few games to pick from but this one gets the most play...

    p.s. the help from forums and the knowledge of more experienced a10C games is simply fantastic...
    Expand
  23. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I'll start this review simply by saying go and download DCS: World now, you need to discover this free software if you are even remotely interested in aviation or flight sims. Once you have this base program installed, which it's self comes with a free SU-25 you can choose to buy and install any modules you please, these are often available on sale at stupidly low prices considering theI'll start this review simply by saying go and download DCS: World now, you need to discover this free software if you are even remotely interested in aviation or flight sims. Once you have this base program installed, which it's self comes with a free SU-25 you can choose to buy and install any modules you please, these are often available on sale at stupidly low prices considering the amount of effort that has gone into them.

    So, on to DCS: A10C... Wow, where to begin? This sim can seem overwhelming at first (Although there is an arcade mode if you really want to defeat the purpose of this sim) It was created to train the actual Warthog pilots and the meticulous attention to detail really shows. You will need to put some effort into learning the systems etc before you will get anywhere, the flight model and physics are some of the most accurate you can imagine, yank on the stick to hard in a heavy loaded yet and you will go into a spin as the real aircraft would... or even worse, the wing will rip off. You need to approach this sim like no other game you have ever played, you need to imagine you are sat in the real jet and treat it with the same respect. Fortunately this is easy to achieve in such a high quality title as this, it really does a good job of putting you right there in the jets The training missions are very well done and will get you started. There is also a large and friendly community over on the Eagle forums so just ask away and you'll get all the help you need.

    Once you get the basics down, you will quickly realise just what a quality product this really is. The A-10c itself is a great choice of aircraft as it allows you to get down low and dirty, putting you right into the action. Aiming at an enemy tank, Pulling the trigger and hearing that mighty avenger cannon roar, causing the whole jet to shake violently as it does never gets old. If you need a little more convincing, head over to you tube and watch the Video by glowingamraam titled "project 10" It was based on an early build and many improvements have happened since but it will give you a good idea of what DCS: A10C is all about.

    The only real complaint with DCS: World in general is that the scenery is limited to Georgia and it isn't what you would call beautiful. But then it isn't bad either and it does the job for now. Fortunately this will be resolved shortly when Eagle dynamics release the brand new engine EDGE. This looks very promising indeed and will most likely make the best combat sim there is even better.

    I hope this review helps anybody that is on the fence or has just never found DCS before. Get yourself involved, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  24. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    Hello all. I'm an airline Captain with more than 15.000 flight hours on my back and a PC flight simulator's fun since the 90's when ED developed it's first simulator the Flanker 1.0. The ED simulator's saga has been always improving over the years, until arriving to this marvel we have in our hands now. The DCS A-10C has the best flight model I've ever tried in a PC, the graphics areHello all. I'm an airline Captain with more than 15.000 flight hours on my back and a PC flight simulator's fun since the 90's when ED developed it's first simulator the Flanker 1.0. The ED simulator's saga has been always improving over the years, until arriving to this marvel we have in our hands now. The DCS A-10C has the best flight model I've ever tried in a PC, the graphics are astonishing and flying online is a great experience. I love to fly in formation with the A-10C, it feels so smooth that it looks like real live, and you may believe me, I have a bunch of flight hours in real live formation flight. Most of the aircraft systems are modeled to great detail which together with the 3D **** makes the flying experience very realistic. There are even training missions for you to learn and practice, which reduces to a great extent the learning hours required to get your type rating in the A-10C.
    Enjoy it and see you in the virtual skies!
    Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The DCS A-10C flight simulator from Eagle Dynamics is arguably the most complex and realistic flight simulator available to the consumer market today, and will remain so for quite awhile. If you are willing and able to make the commitment to acquire the proper equipment and spend a significant amount of time and energy climbing the steep learning curve, you will know as much about every arcane detail of the mighty A-10 Warthog as any military pilot.
  2. 80
    This full-featured air simulator finally comes to us after a long wait and squeezes out everything from virtual pilots. In addition it offers great graphics and sounds that bring you to ecstasy. [June 2011]
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    But for those who favor stepping into the shoes of a real pilot who flies but a single plane, and for those who are willing to commit fully to a program that may well take months to evolve, this is the current peak of the genre.