DCS: A-10C Warthog Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "DCS: A-10C Warthog" is a PC simulation of the U.S. premier Close Air Support attack aircraft. This is the second aircraft in the DCS series, following DCS: Black Shark, and raises the bar even higher in the DCS series. Warthog brings the most realistic PC simulation of a modern"DCS: A-10C Warthog" is a PC simulation of the U.S. premier Close Air Support attack aircraft. This is the second aircraft in the DCS series, following DCS: Black Shark, and raises the bar even higher in the DCS series. Warthog brings the most realistic PC simulation of a modern fixed wing combat aircraft in regards to flight dynamics, avionics, sensors, and weapon systems. You also have the option to play Warthog in "Game" mode for a casual game experience. Fly missions in the Caucasus region of the Black Sea against and with a wide array of air, land and sea forces with new and improved intelligence. Create your own missions and campaigns with the included Mission and Campaign Editors, and fly with and against friends online using the included online game browser. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The DCS A-10C flight simulator from Eagle Dynamics is arguably the most complex and realistic flight simulator available to the consumer market today, and will remain so for quite awhile. If you are willing and able to make the commitment to acquire the proper equipment and spend a significant amount of time and energy climbing the steep learning curve, you will know as much about every arcane detail of the mighty A-10 Warthog as any military pilot.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    92
    The most exhaustively detailed, realistic combat jet simulation you'll find outside of a classified U.S. military facility.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    91
    In these hard times when gamers have to decide what they want to spend the hard earned money on, if flight combat is your thing, or you wanted to try it out and see if it is your thing. DCS A10C Warthog is the combat flight simulator for you.
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    90
    Sharing the experience of tense, realistic flight simming does wonderful things for the game's appeal. [May 2011, p.62]
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    But for those who favor stepping into the shoes of a real pilot who flies but a single plane, and for those who are willing to commit fully to a program that may well take months to evolve, this is the current peak of the genre.
  6. 80
    This full-featured air simulator finally comes to us after a long wait and squeezes out everything from virtual pilots. In addition it offers great graphics and sounds that bring you to ecstasy. [June 2011]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best flight sim I've ever played. There is no equal anywhere. I thought flight sims were dead, but DCS resurrected flight sim withThis is the best flight sim I've ever played. There is no equal anywhere. I thought flight sims were dead, but DCS resurrected flight sim with this one for sure.
    This is like really being a pilot or the closest thing to it.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I've got over 10 years experience as an A-10 Crew Chief on both A and C models and have to say this game is amazing. The detail and real toI've got over 10 years experience as an A-10 Crew Chief on both A and C models and have to say this game is amazing. The detail and real to life operations of systems is incredible and blew my mind away the first time starting the jet up from the ramp.

    I've flown flight sims on and off for over 20 years but this is the most realistic, detailed sim I have ever flown and have enjoyed every second I've been in the virtual pit.
    Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    DCS A-10C ??? What can I say ? Its not so much a game, as a way of life. From the brilliant training missions, that guide you through the manyDCS A-10C ??? What can I say ? Its not so much a game, as a way of life. From the brilliant training missions, that guide you through the many complex systems. To the complete mission builder, that lets you control every detail. right down to the wind direction. Every part of this sim screams love and attention to detail. The best part for me, is starting the warthog up on a rainy morning. listening to the rain gently drumming on the windscreen. Then as I slowly flick the switches, bringing this beautiful baby to life. Hearing the engines whistling up to ready. The grin on my face as I know that I am gonna go tank busting :) Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I'll start this review simply by saying go and download DCS: World now, you need to discover this free software if you are even remotelyI'll start this review simply by saying go and download DCS: World now, you need to discover this free software if you are even remotely interested in aviation or flight sims. Once you have this base program installed, which it's self comes with a free SU-25 you can choose to buy and install any modules you please, these are often available on sale at stupidly low prices considering the amount of effort that has gone into them.

    So, on to DCS: A10C... Wow, where to begin? This sim can seem overwhelming at first (Although there is an arcade mode if you really want to defeat the purpose of this sim) It was created to train the actual Warthog pilots and the meticulous attention to detail really shows. You will need to put some effort into learning the systems etc before you will get anywhere, the flight model and physics are some of the most accurate you can imagine, yank on the stick to hard in a heavy loaded yet and you will go into a spin as the real aircraft would... or even worse, the wing will rip off. You need to approach this sim like no other game you have ever played, you need to imagine you are sat in the real jet and treat it with the same respect. Fortunately this is easy to achieve in such a high quality title as this, it really does a good job of putting you right there in the jets The training missions are very well done and will get you started. There is also a large and friendly community over on the Eagle forums so just ask away and you'll get all the help you need.

    Once you get the basics down, you will quickly realise just what a quality product this really is. The A-10c itself is a great choice of aircraft as it allows you to get down low and dirty, putting you right into the action. Aiming at an enemy tank, Pulling the trigger and hearing that mighty avenger cannon roar, causing the whole jet to shake violently as it does never gets old. If you need a little more convincing, head over to you tube and watch the Video by glowingamraam titled "project 10" It was based on an early build and many improvements have happened since but it will give you a good idea of what DCS: A10C is all about.

    The only real complaint with DCS: World in general is that the scenery is limited to Georgia and it isn't what you would call beautiful. But then it isn't bad either and it does the job for now. Fortunately this will be resolved shortly when Eagle dynamics release the brand new engine EDGE. This looks very promising indeed and will most likely make the best combat sim there is even better.

    I hope this review helps anybody that is on the fence or has just never found DCS before. Get yourself involved, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    DCS: A-10 Warthog is the most hardcore combat flight sim since the days of Falcon 4. With it's excellent and most detailed graphics, avionics,DCS: A-10 Warthog is the most hardcore combat flight sim since the days of Falcon 4. With it's excellent and most detailed graphics, avionics, flight model, weapon systems and fidelity makes this simulation one of the best of all times in gaming history. Highly recommended to play along with Thrustmasters Warthog HOTAS for plug & play setup. The game has a very steep learning curve but rewards you highly when mastered. I can assure that this game will leave you with big grins on you face when completing a successful mission. A must for any combat simulation enthusiast! Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    As others have said, in fact so many people that by repeating it, I risk stating the obvious; DCS A-10 represents the state-of-the-art inAs others have said, in fact so many people that by repeating it, I risk stating the obvious; DCS A-10 represents the state-of-the-art in high-fidelity combat flight simulation. The flight modelling is superb, which is very important for an aircraft that has mass and weight, limited airspeed and is not fly-by-wire. Like most users of the product I value realism, so having to re- trim for an asymmetrical ordinance load after releasing a weapon gets high marks from me. The systems, avionics and weapons are modelled in astonishing detail, the terrain is superbly rendered and uniquely challenging at low-level (where the Hog often lives) and what's so unique about the A-10 platform, and rendered here immaculately, is that it's non-radar, which makes this the first simulation to model advanced optical targeting systems like the A-10C's Target Guidance Pod. The harmonisation of all sensors, systems and controls is immaculate. Let me say this, too: flying it and fighting it, in SP or MP, is FUN, as is the Mission Editor, a powerful tool. Developer support for the sim has been impressive, as are the plans for future expansion. This sim is without doubt a huge accomplishment by Eagle Dynamics. And for serious combat flight simmers looking for a non-legacy product, it's the only "game" in town at the moment. DCS A-10 just raised the bar for all future combat "study" sims for the PC. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2015
    0
    worst costumer service and forum etiquette ever...

    you get banned for asking questions. They avoid all questions when bugs have existed
    worst costumer service and forum etiquette ever...

    you get banned for asking questions.

    They avoid all questions when bugs have existed for 2 years now and do not fix what they put out.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews