DCS: A-10C Warthog Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "DCS: A-10C Warthog" is a PC simulation of the U.S. premier Close Air Support attack aircraft. This is the second aircraft in the DCS series, following DCS: Black Shark, and raises the bar even higher in the DCS series. Warthog brings the most realistic PC simulation of a modern fixed wing combat aircraft in regards to flight dynamics, avionics, sensors, and weapon systems. You also have the option to play Warthog in "Game" mode for a casual game experience. Fly missions in the Caucasus region of the Black Sea against and with a wide array of air, land and sea forces with new and improved intelligence. Create your own missions and campaigns with the included Mission and Campaign Editors, and fly with and against friends online using the included online game browser. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The DCS A-10C flight simulator from Eagle Dynamics is arguably the most complex and realistic flight simulator available to the consumer market today, and will remain so for quite awhile. If you are willing and able to make the commitment to acquire the proper equipment and spend a significant amount of time and energy climbing the steep learning curve, you will know as much about every arcane detail of the mighty A-10 Warthog as any military pilot.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    92
    The most exhaustively detailed, realistic combat jet simulation you'll find outside of a classified U.S. military facility.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    91
    In these hard times when gamers have to decide what they want to spend the hard earned money on, if flight combat is your thing, or you wanted to try it out and see if it is your thing. DCS A10C Warthog is the combat flight simulator for you.
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    90
    Sharing the experience of tense, realistic flight simming does wonderful things for the game's appeal. [May 2011, p.62]
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    But for those who favor stepping into the shoes of a real pilot who flies but a single plane, and for those who are willing to commit fully to a program that may well take months to evolve, this is the current peak of the genre.
  6. 80
    This full-featured air simulator finally comes to us after a long wait and squeezes out everything from virtual pilots. In addition it offers great graphics and sounds that bring you to ecstasy. [June 2011]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I'll start this review simply by saying go and download DCS: World now, you need to discover this free software if you are even remotely interested in aviation or flight sims. Once you have this base program installed, which it's self comes with a free SU-25 you can choose to buy and install any modules you please, these are often available on sale at stupidly low prices considering the amount of effort that has gone into them.

    So, on to DCS: A10C... Wow, where to begin? This sim can seem overwhelming at first (Although there is an arcade mode if you really want to defeat the purpose of this sim) It was created to train the actual Warthog pilots and the meticulous attention to detail really shows. You will need to put some effort into learning the systems etc before you will get anywhere, the flight model and physics are some of the most accurate you can imagine, yank on the stick to hard in a heavy loaded yet and you will go into a spin as the real aircraft would... or even worse, the wing will rip off. You need to approach this sim like no other game you have ever played, you need to imagine you are sat in the real jet and treat it with the same respect. Fortunately this is easy to achieve in such a high quality title as this, it really does a good job of putting you right there in the jets The training missions are very well done and will get you started. There is also a large and friendly community over on the Eagle forums so just ask away and you'll get all the help you need.

    Once you get the basics down, you will quickly realise just what a quality product this really is. The A-10c itself is a great choice of aircraft as it allows you to get down low and dirty, putting you right into the action. Aiming at an enemy tank, Pulling the trigger and hearing that mighty avenger cannon roar, causing the whole jet to shake violently as it does never gets old. If you need a little more convincing, head over to you tube and watch the Video by glowingamraam titled "project 10" It was based on an early build and many improvements have happened since but it will give you a good idea of what DCS: A10C is all about.

    The only real complaint with DCS: World in general is that the scenery is limited to Georgia and it isn't what you would call beautiful. But then it isn't bad either and it does the job for now. Fortunately this will be resolved shortly when Eagle dynamics release the brand new engine EDGE. This looks very promising indeed and will most likely make the best combat sim there is even better.

    I hope this review helps anybody that is on the fence or has just never found DCS before. Get yourself involved, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best flight sim I've ever played. There is no equal anywhere. I thought flight sims were dead, but DCS resurrected flight sim with this one for sure.
    This is like really being a pilot or the closest thing to it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I've got over 10 years experience as an A-10 Crew Chief on both A and C models and have to say this game is amazing. The detail and real to life operations of systems is incredible and blew my mind away the first time starting the jet up from the ramp.

    I've flown flight sims on and off for over 20 years but this is the most realistic, detailed sim I have ever flown and have enjoyed every second I've been in the virtual pit.
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    DCS A-10C ??? What can I say ? Its not so much a game, as a way of life. From the brilliant training missions, that guide you through the many complex systems. To the complete mission builder, that lets you control every detail. right down to the wind direction. Every part of this sim screams love and attention to detail. The best part for me, is starting the warthog up on a rainy morning. listening to the rain gently drumming on the windscreen. Then as I slowly flick the switches, bringing this beautiful baby to life. Hearing the engines whistling up to ready. The grin on my face as I know that I am gonna go tank busting :) Expand
  5. May 2, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing!

    It's a little expensive for a PC game, but if that's the price to pay for this kind of quality I'm more than happy to
    support Eagle Dynamics!

    This game is silky smooth, has incredible graphics and ULTRA realistic (yes I've flown planes but not the Walthog). 

    It will take the same amount of time completing the training as it takes to complete a console game. 

    Some may say it's boring ... each to their own. This game isn't for the casual gamer. It's a full blown simulator and will require reading/training to master. 

    I'm not even that bothered with the missions. I simply enjoy the flying aspect this game offers. 

    Near perfect (and closer to 10 than a 9). 

    Kudos. 
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2011
    10
    Having flown flight simulators for over 21 years now, I have seen many developments in terms of graphics, realism, physics and procedures during that time. For me, DCS:A-10C is the pinnacle of these developments. The realism of the simulator is second to none from the moment you sit in a cold **** and have to carry out pre-flight checks, start up procedures, radio communications and full combat deployment tactics make it the most immersive simulator I have ever flown. For those that just want to jump in and shoot off a few missiles and drop a few bombs this is catered for as well, and I know many converts that actually fly DCS:A-10C now using full procedures.

    A key factor in the development of the simulator is the strength of the LockOn and DCS community that continuously push The Fighter Collection (TFC) and Eagle Dynamics (ED) to make the best simulator on the market. Both TFC and ED listen to the community wishes and likes and cater for those in frequently released patches to improve the simulator experience for their audience.

    From the moment I climb into the virtual **** to the moment I shut down the aircraft I am fully immersed in the vision, sound and thought provoking process to achieve my mission.
    In my view, it is the best combat flight simulator on the market and no other products come close or will do for a long time to come.
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    This is the single best flight simulator out there. The level of detail is beyond words - every switch, every system is modeled. DCS is the last hope in combat flight simulators these days. I hope everyone who is into this stuff throws their money at them. The 1.09 patch was outstanding - I guess 4GB is going to have something worthwhile in it for sure, but they added so much stuff, and it's really encouraging to see a developer so devoted to their game. The only reason I couldn't give a 10 was the training missions. They really should have covered all of the weapons, and perhaps had a training mission that held your hand from start to end. I own BlackShark and A-10 and I can't wait for more of the same from DCS. Although the IGN review had some good points, I really think this game deserves over a 93 and with extra training missions a 98. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews