Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    50
    All the problems of the first game and no new ideas. Terry Bogan is awesome. Riptide is painfully average. [July 2013, p.72]
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    Offering very little progression on Dead Island, this is one for the fans. Series newcomers should get the cheaper original instead. [June 2013, p.92]
  6. May 14, 2013
    60
    Dead Island Riptide is a stop-gap extension to the franchise that is enjoyable in small doses, but disappointingly fails to address problems that plagued the original game.
  7. May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  8. May 9, 2013
    65
    If you're an avid collector of zombie games, and you had the best time of your life playing Dead Island, you are probably going to want to give Riptide a decent playthrough. If you enjoyed it before, odds are you will enjoy it the second time, too. But if, like me, you found the first title lacked soul, Dead Island 2.0 is not the Lazarus you are looking for.
  9. 50
    For new players, Riptide may well be a decent enough curiosity, but for everybody else, there’s little reason to return to Techland’s zombie-murdering vision.
  10. May 6, 2013
    40
    Everything added is a disappointment, and everything retained only succeeds as much as it did before. It’s not often that a sequel completely fails to build on the successes of the game that came before it, but Riptide achieves that defeat with a cynical lack of ambition.
  11. May 3, 2013
    65
    As we could expect, Dead Island Riptide suffers form the 1.5 syndrome. In other words this stand alone game could have been sold as a DLC to the first episode. Those who disliked Dead Island can keep staying away from this game. For the Fans of the IP, the game offers a good deal with the seductive tropical setting, the countless zombies and the improvised weapons, but they will still have to cope with the drawbacks of the genuine game as bugs, repetitive action and boring quests are still the main stay of this game.
  12. May 2, 2013
    40
    Riptide brings absolutely nothing new to the experience of the first game. If anything, it just piles on new frustrations.
  13. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.
  14. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    58
    Truth is, regardless of the game’s quality, I’m starting a second playthrough immediately after submitting this review. As bad as it may be on technical and artistic levels, there’s a certain broke and busted charm that makes Dead Island: Riptide almost endearing. Even the Romero downer ending backed by Chamillionaire’s raps couldn’t shake the smile I had after finishing the grind through nearly seventeen hundred ghouls.
  16. Apr 28, 2013
    70
    Dead Island: Riptide is not a surprise. It has its dynamic gameplay with a great cooperative mode, however, those Poles might think of a different story next time. And above all, improve its gaming controls along with its interface.
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    69
    Even fans of the original should expect more here.
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    Although Riptide features a New Game Plus mode, I find myself calling it a day. I enjoyed the game, just as I enjoyed the original, but that's the thing: I enjoyed it -just- as I enjoyed Dead Island. Riptide offers very little to keep the franchise fresh and instead focuses on giving us more of the same. For series newcomers, Riptide is undoubtedly the better game. As a fan, I was happy to receive it, but until a numbered sequel comes along, my time in the tropics is through.
  19. Apr 24, 2013
    65
    There’s a B movie in Dead Island: Riptide that entertains in that laughable B-movie sort of way: that “don’t take it so seriously, characters so bad they’re good, what ridiculous thing might happen next” sort of way. But like the B horror genre itself, Riptide can’t stand on that appeal forever. Eventually, the endless zombie head-crushing just isn’t entertaining anymore.
  20. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    Dead Island: Riptide is simply more of the same dumb fun, and while it still might not be the game it could be, I’ve learned to embrace it for what it is, absurd.
  21. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    A prettier, more interesting and better-made almost-sequel. The developers have taken many critical opinions into consideration and the result is this: many of the flaws of the original game are now a thing of the past. I had a good time, but all in all there are too few new things and revolutionary changes to consider giving a higher grade. If this had been the game released almost 2 years ago, the overall impression would have been better.
  22. Apr 23, 2013
    78
    People that loved the first game will more than likely enjoy Riptide. It may not be revolutionary, but Dead Island Riptide is still an addictive game.
  23. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Dead Island Riptide is essentially what the original should have been. It's lighter on bugs, it's more playable, and it's got prettier graphics. If you were a fan of the original game, have at the sequel, but know that it's not much more than "more Dead Island."
  24. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    More a Dead Island 1.5 than a true sequel, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but not an amazing thing either.
  25. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    The biggest issue with Dead Island Riptide is that it's a glorified expansion pack sold at nearly full price ($40 US on PC, $50 on consoles); there's nothing wrong with a developer doing this if they're adding lots of features and are building on top of a near-universally beloved game, but the simple fact is that neither of those conditions really apply here.
  26. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    Somewhat entertaining, but this should really have been a DLC pack and not a full game.
  27. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    Riptide remains "more of the same" of Dead Island and innovations are very few and not well-aimed. But if you liked the previous adventure in Banoi, and you can withstand the horrible respawning system, you'll have fun in Palanai too.
  28. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Its addicting zombie-slaying action, dozens of interesting weapons, and immersive qualities far outweigh its dull story and occasional technical hiccups, the latter of which pale in comparison to those of the original. This outshines its predecessor in almost every conceivable way--and once it sinks its teeth into your time, Riptide is a hard game to put down.
  29. Apr 22, 2013
    40
    Riptide is dumb, and mind-numbingly slow, and somehow manages to make the art of zombie-slaying feel like utter tedium. And if slaying zombies isn't fun in a game that's all about slaying zombies, why bother?
  30. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    There are little additions, but it still is as big and fun as the previous one. It makes clear what is going to offer – that is, more Dead Island – and if that's what you're looking for, it won't disappoint you.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 353 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 87
  2. Negative: 21 out of 87
  1. May 31, 2013
    9
    if u loved the original dead island then you will love dead island riptide.

    if on the other hand you hated the original dead island then
    you will hate dead island riptide as well. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Personally I do not agree with a lot of the complaints regarding this game. First off, I have no problem with any of the multiplayer features and I bought, downloaded and started playing this within 2 hours of release. 2nd, I do not agree that this is just a re-hash of the 1st one. They have made a great deal of game play enhancements to this game that have made it more like the difference between Farcry 2 and 3. The weapons have been expanded and the more advanced weapons are very cool. The modifications that you can add to your weapons after collecting a blueprint are fascinating and a number of them enhance the stopping power of the weapon greatly especially after you have upgraded it to the 4th level.
    The comments about collecting from the same boxes/suitcases, etc... multiple times is irrelevant. In order to collect enough money to get the later weapons and upgrades, naturally the costs skyrocket, so they have made it easier by resetting some of the collection areas randomly (so you never know what you will be getting), but the amount of money you collect from the average drops do go up and the number of drop sites goes down dramatically.

    I have been having a great time with this release, playing for nearly 12 hours nonstop. It's a lot of fun! Having some 350 games just on Steam and another 500 elsewhere not to mention the disks, I rarely play one game for such an extended period. Not sure if I would be up for a replay once it's complete as it's a very long and complicated set of quests and side missions intertwined.

    I do have some negative comments, they are all not positive, few games will ever get that treatment. The primary question I have is whether the map should be bigger and the map system better adapted to see more of the area you have already explored. The current map is very detailed and if the mission takes you across the map, you can't see where you need to go nor map a route to get there. This adds to the frustration of playing, however you will eventually memorize the map and know the correct route eventually. I just think that with a better mapping interface, they could have made a bigger map and we would not have to visit the same areas so many times (areas, not exact locations, locations are visited once, but if the guy there sells weapons, you may not have the cash to buy the weapon you want and have to return once, max.
    There are issues with the sound, I believe them to be related to their generation of the torrential rains that this kind of jungle would naturally get. However, sometimes, the sound is more like static rather than pounding rain. I am sure that this could be fixed soon. I honestly do not have any bugs that are in anyway annoying other than the rain. However and as with all other games there are issues, but not something worth bashing the game over. This is a solid game and you will get many many hours of game play out of it, as much or more that the average game of this type. (can't say for sure as I haven't completed it).

    I appreciated the plot, the missions and the side quests and it's very satisfying to get all the XP for completing most. Which gets to my last issue. The side quests come at you about 8 at a time and all ask for a specific item and quantity. These missions are all completed while doing the main quest, so when you eventually find yourself back at the main base turning in your quests, you can rack up 3 or so levels. I think that we could go for less of that as it is redundant, but as I said, they are all completed in the process of doing the main quest, you just have to explore, something that a lot of people these days seem to want to do less and less of and more run and gun. I, myself, have always been the kind of player that takes his time and looks in every nook before heading on and there is a distinct advantage here should you enjoy that play style.

    Finally, they have enhanced the skill tree for this game. It is much more detailed and the 3 vines are intertwined quite well so as to prevent you from putting all your skill in one tree which gives you the opportunity to experience some of the abilities that you may not start spending SP's until late in the game.

    Finally, Driving is very well done, very smooth, it is very hectic once you get in a boat as the water is teeming with zombies floating who wake up when they hear your boat, but you can easily plow through them with accelerate and easily rack up XP if you spend the appropriate amount of time to learn how to steer and accelerate fluid. Definitely not any sort of negative or reason for taking away a star(s) for sure.

    Also, it is very easy to pick up a single player mission and turn it into a coop mission when you get to the boss or mass zombie fights, no issues with that and I think it was done seamlessly.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    The story is nice just as it was in the first one so that boosted the rating. And fixing things like appropriate zombie levels to scale with characters is nice. However...Meh... Same game (and bugs somehow). There is nothing new or amazing about this. It really is just the next chapter to a story without any other twists or surprises. When considering getting this game think to yourself, "would I read the second book to this series"? Full Review »