Dead Island: Riptide PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    This is indeed more of the same Dead Island gameplay, hardly any changes, hardly any tweaks, hardly any improvements. But I don't care because I loved the original so much and am happy to have more.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    When I started to play it thought they failed a lot of things. Later I founded game is extremely addictive and have same charm like old DI! It have some things which could be better, too similar to original, but overall very fun to play! Need some new missions DLC soon!!!
  3. May 8, 2013
    8
    Riptide is a confusing game. I like it. I like the new stuff they added, the scenery, the stuff they kept that worked well, but i can't lose the feeling that they could have done much better with the time they had on their hands :P It feels rushed, bland. It doesn't necessarily mean it's bad, although it can get like that sometimes, it just means they aimed at die hard fans as the keyRiptide is a confusing game. I like it. I like the new stuff they added, the scenery, the stuff they kept that worked well, but i can't lose the feeling that they could have done much better with the time they had on their hands :P It feels rushed, bland. It doesn't necessarily mean it's bad, although it can get like that sometimes, it just means they aimed at die hard fans as the key demographic. Its somewhat disturbingly harsh difficulty is a challenge for veteran players and as such, i guess, can be a turn off for some of the newcomers. The weapons and recipes are familiar and fresh at the same time. The new map is very detailed, though the mini map feature is a little retarded. The game is flawed, that's a given, but it's also tons of fun, once you put some time into it. Or you can wait for a proper patch, so you don't have to suffer any indignity. Your call. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is just like the first game, which is not bad. But it had so much potential, which was'nt used. It still is a pretty good game. It's funny and its story is so much better than the first game. It still has its bugs and sometimes it's unplayable. But when it gets to multiplayer-mode it is awesome.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    If you liked Dead Island, then you definitely have to try DI:Riptide. It still looks more like solid addon, then a sequel, but has some improvements that make game even more fun and addictive. More weapons including harpoons and nailguns, improved interface, bosses, boats, tonns of quests (some of them are just hillarious), and new story in an vast and well designed island. SameIf you liked Dead Island, then you definitely have to try DI:Riptide. It still looks more like solid addon, then a sequel, but has some improvements that make game even more fun and addictive. More weapons including harpoons and nailguns, improved interface, bosses, boats, tonns of quests (some of them are just hillarious), and new story in an vast and well designed island. Same zombie-slashing-rpg fun, but with great additions to gameplay. It still has some glitches and flaws from the original, but game is too much fun to be ruined by them. Obviously best zombie-rpg for the moment! Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    8
    If You liked the first part You will enjoy this one even more. If not, You won't probably find anything interesting. But for me this is really great game, that I have spend a lot time with. And I had lots of fun. New character is nice to start with. Plot is not really important but isn't the worst I ever encountered in games. Crafting lovely as never before and gameplay is much better thanIf You liked the first part You will enjoy this one even more. If not, You won't probably find anything interesting. But for me this is really great game, that I have spend a lot time with. And I had lots of fun. New character is nice to start with. Plot is not really important but isn't the worst I ever encountered in games. Crafting lovely as never before and gameplay is much better than it was in first DI. Play and enjoy! Expand
  7. JEK
    Apr 30, 2013
    8
    First off, I'm a fan of the first installment. I'm not complaining about the new one but they should have fixed the game and mix it up with some new elements. The have added a boat riding zombie but the rest are the same. Riptide is overcrowded unlike the 1st one where the scenery is beautiful. This one is a bit muddy and flood full game (lol). I Miss the resort type of feel. They shouldFirst off, I'm a fan of the first installment. I'm not complaining about the new one but they should have fixed the game and mix it up with some new elements. The have added a boat riding zombie but the rest are the same. Riptide is overcrowded unlike the 1st one where the scenery is beautiful. This one is a bit muddy and flood full game (lol). I Miss the resort type of feel. They should have added like a motorcycle or different vehicle (not that boat). They should have enhance the graphic through cut scenes. Overall, It's a fun game. Expand
  8. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill.The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill. The cut scenes are bad, the story is barely there, and I don't care. I just want to have some visceral combat and get cool weapons to continue the slaughter. The game is delivering on that flawlessly. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    mindless game, i enjoyed first DI game. DIR is more of the same thing which is not necessary the bad thing. I actually enjoyed it and truly recommend for those who liked the first part. o

    Bad things? story, story, story.. it sucks.. they need to sort it out in next DI!
  10. May 31, 2013
    9
    if u loved the original dead island then you will love dead island riptide.

    if on the other hand you hated the original dead island then you will hate dead island riptide as well.
  11. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is still as flawed as the original, but that doesn't mean its unplayable. Anybody who found any enjoyment in the original should play through Riptide.
  12. May 9, 2013
    10
    Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido.Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera. Collapse
  13. May 2, 2013
    10
    I have been waiting a long time for this, and i didnt want to write a review too soon. I have just finished the campaign, i will not play any multiplayer at all since in the first game it felt like i was boosting other team mates all over. My favorite character is Xian Mei, i cannot like the game on any of the others, so i do understand why some of you had a hard time in this one and i doI have been waiting a long time for this, and i didnt want to write a review too soon. I have just finished the campaign, i will not play any multiplayer at all since in the first game it felt like i was boosting other team mates all over. My favorite character is Xian Mei, i cannot like the game on any of the others, so i do understand why some of you had a hard time in this one and i do understand the low ratings some of you have given. Story is simple, it follows the normal facts that would happen in case of a zombie plague. You get to do normal stuff in such case, help people that otherwise cant, or wont help themselves. You can feel the fear from given situation and the shivers from the gruesome fighting. It is disgusting, but feels justified. Totally awesome game. I recommend it totally. Do not treat it as a shooter, do not try to run past the action, just live it. I will give it a straight 10 despite the multiplayer and coop not being taken into consideration. I am treating Dead Island as a genre of its own. You cannot compare it to Left4Dead or any other game. This is the best horror zombie story telling adventure ever. The graphics and the places you visit are simply astonishing. It is like a virtual vacation to some of the most exotic places. I must say, first impression made by first Dead Island wasn't much when i first tried it.. let the game rest for quite a while then went in to finish it. After level 20 or so i started to get the hang of it, the fights were no longer boring. I presume most people that gave low rating experienced the same as me, a unsuccesful first contact. Just give it some time, you need to get used to this game, as it is one of a kind. It is the Far Cry 3 of horror games, so to say. Enjoy it! Expand
  14. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This review is based on experiences made at 14% main plot progression. As stated before by others, if you loved the original, you will enjoy this one too. In fact I think Deep Silver managed to mess (a bit) up more things than corrected, but it is still a good game. The graphics are basically the same; no wonder, we are still on a tropical island. I would say it is beautiful, although, forThis review is based on experiences made at 14% main plot progression. As stated before by others, if you loved the original, you will enjoy this one too. In fact I think Deep Silver managed to mess (a bit) up more things than corrected, but it is still a good game. The graphics are basically the same; no wonder, we are still on a tropical island. I would say it is beautiful, although, for example, the waterfalls look like in ten year old games. I think the overall FPS dropped compared to the "vanilla" DI, but it still can produce 25-30 frames per sec on a 7 year old Pentium D with Radeon HD5770 on almost maximum settings (cheers for Deep Silver!). The gameplay is the same: you start with a basic weapon, you get quests, begin exploring, get rewards and loot. A big plus that you can import your DI characters and continue on the same level where you left them, although you will not get their equipment and known mods. I think the movement of the characters became more sluggish, but you will get used to it in no time. The voice actors for the main characters are the same as in DI, and the overall quality of acting is also the same: not bad, but no Oscar. The story so far contains absolutely no surprises, but I must tell, I don't care. I am on a zombie infested island, and I am not there for drama. I am there to kick ass. The game deliver this, so why complain? Expand
  15. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    If you liked Dead Island, this is for you. I wouldn't recommend a full price buy, but for 15 dollars or less is perfect
    This game an improve version of Dead island, with another character, better graphics, less bugs, more weapons and some new features
    If you like the old one and wanted to play more, this is your game to play
  16. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    The Dead Island series is probably one of the most divisive game franchises of the last 5 years. Either you really like it, or you just don't. I played through the original a couple of times using different characters, not because the story was any good, because it isn't, and not because it looks very good, but honestly it looks pretty average.

    What sets the Dead Island series ahead of
    The Dead Island series is probably one of the most divisive game franchises of the last 5 years. Either you really like it, or you just don't. I played through the original a couple of times using different characters, not because the story was any good, because it isn't, and not because it looks very good, but honestly it looks pretty average.

    What sets the Dead Island series ahead of other zombie games is the great coop support and combat mechanics, specifically the analog based control you have when it comes to planning body part specific attacks against enemies. With a good group of 2-4 people, you can wade through large groups of infected pretty quickly, and it's super satisfying breaking the arms on a big thug and then whittling away at him while he's trying to head butt or bite at you.

    The story in Riptide is also a bit better than the original. This time they dive into the background of the infection more, which is cool. It's still not Uncharted or Bioshock levels of storytelling, but they give you just enough to maintain interest.

    In the end, if you played the original and enjoyed it, you'll probably have a lot of fun with this one. If you never played the original, I would recommend buying it first, you can pick it up for $5-$10 pretty regularly if you keep an eye out for Steam or Greenmangaming sales. Play it with other people to get the full experience out of it. It may take a little to reach a point where you feel like a badass, but the payoff is definitely worth it.
    Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game as the first one, still makes it a good game
  18. Nov 3, 2014
    8
    It is the same Dead Island original game with new maps , some fixed bugs and slightly improved mechanics. Therefore it deserves the same score as the original (more or less).
    Don't trust the haters. If you loved Dead Island, you'll definitely love this one too. It should've come out as a expansion, though.
  19. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Ok i know there are a ton of defensive fans who would say im wrong but this is my opinion.

    First of all i would like to say that game play feels exactly the same from the first dad island, which in fact i do like. but it shouldn't be ignored that the developers didn't try to mix things up. The animations are still god awful like in the first game, i don't think quicksilver thought of
    Ok i know there are a ton of defensive fans who would say im wrong but this is my opinion.

    First of all i would like to say that game play feels exactly the same from the first dad island, which in fact i do like. but it shouldn't be ignored that the developers didn't try to mix things up.

    The animations are still god awful like in the first game, i don't think quicksilver thought of us again when we said we can see the weird arm movements in the shadows

    The graphics are even more pretty and i have to run the game medium settings, so graphics dont take a toll on lower settings.

    The setting of riptide looks exactly like every part of the other island in the first game but these areas are actually complimented by the graphics in terms of forest density and city textures.

    The new character seems overpowered but that 'll be fixed soon or later.

    they managed to get an 8 from me this time around.
    Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    DIfferent island, same game. If you never played the original go for it.
    For everyone else who played the original, nothing new. I rated it 8
    because I see it like a new game for new players and the original
    was one of the best well done games.
  21. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Without playing the original Dead Island, perhaps my review is not substantiated enough. I enjoyed playing it, and it did end up leaving me wanting more. So in my book....thats a winner.
  22. May 3, 2013
    8
    Fun addictive melee combat that, atleast from my experience in co-op, carries you through the passable graphics and weak story. Had no major glitches (only stuff like ragdoll spazzing which is pretty funny). Feels more fair than the last game where, especially in the city, you would constantly get attacked by many special zombies at a time. In my experience it is nothing but improvementsFun addictive melee combat that, atleast from my experience in co-op, carries you through the passable graphics and weak story. Had no major glitches (only stuff like ragdoll spazzing which is pretty funny). Feels more fair than the last game where, especially in the city, you would constantly get attacked by many special zombies at a time. In my experience it is nothing but improvements and whilst the core mechanics are the same it has a lower price point to make up for this. Expand
  23. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    New Dead Island is pretty good game.But still now it's not up-to-date to sell a game which might be just a copy of previous.Sounds ridiculous,isn't it?But still I suppose even in this case I will be able to enjoy, though game-play is a weak point of that game
  24. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same.Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same. There have not been any graphical improvements to the game over the first one, all of the old characters remain as playable characters (with the exception of a new character with a ridiculously fun, but overpowered running kick move), and I have only run across one new type of zombie so far in a few hours of game play. I have to admit, there seems to be a great variety of weapons that were not in the first game (my favorite is the staff that you wield like a bad-ass, zombie slaying Darth Maul). Considering that most new games have a starting price between $50-$60 dollars, i'd say that Dead Island: Riptide is a great buy at the reduced price of $39.99 on steam considering the lack of new material. Expand
  25. May 3, 2013
    9
    Dead Island Riptide is a great roll playing zombie game with best cooperation mode i´ve ever seen!
    The battles make fun, the quest are cool, their are cars and crazy weapons like nail pistols and you can trow knives into a zombie´s body and take it out when you get close to that zombie for throwing it again!!!
    Warning: Riptide is like the first Dead Island with another island! It´s not
    Dead Island Riptide is a great roll playing zombie game with best cooperation mode i´ve ever seen!
    The battles make fun, the quest are cool, their are cars and crazy weapons like nail pistols and you can trow knives into a zombie´s body and take it out when you get close to that zombie for throwing it again!!!
    Warning: Riptide is like the first Dead Island with another island! It´s not good to buy it if you have the first one!!!
    Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  27. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    It needed more sub quests, npc perk leveling and weapon modifications, the group battles were a really nice touch but the drowners were just such a bad call
  28. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    This game was a lot of fun to play, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Was looking for something to follow Left 4 Dead2, this wasn't it because you have no companions except for cutscenes. But still a good game.
  29. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Although I didn't play the first game. This got to be the best zombie game I played. The story is good, same with the mechanics. I had no problem with the co-op. But the game gets a bit repetitive when you play the game for a long space of time
  30. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Is Riptide the same game as dead island? Basically yes. Has it been refreshed? Yes. It is still fun to play? Yes. Is it worth $40? Maybe. If charging $40 dollars for this game, helps fund an all new future Dead Island, then I'm all for it. This game deserves better review numbers then it's getting. Some people are just pissed off that riptide feels like a $40 dollar expansion pack. If youIs Riptide the same game as dead island? Basically yes. Has it been refreshed? Yes. It is still fun to play? Yes. Is it worth $40? Maybe. If charging $40 dollars for this game, helps fund an all new future Dead Island, then I'm all for it. This game deserves better review numbers then it's getting. Some people are just pissed off that riptide feels like a $40 dollar expansion pack. If you enjoyed the first one, you should enjoy this one. Some bugs have been fixed, some have not, some probably can't be. As far as Co-Op play complaints, I haven't tried it yet. I like to beat games on my own, get a feel for them and ace the controls before I play multi-player. As I said before, I do hope my $40 purchase is funding an all NEW dead island hopefully for this time next year or sooner. Expand
  31. May 3, 2013
    8
    I consider this as a good game. There are lots of new kinds of zombies and weapons. Although, the graphics are not such good ones, and the story from the first one is far better. The amount of "food medicines" in the game which cannot be carried decreased, and the amount of medic kits found for free in the map increased, meaning the game became easier. A good game, but could be far better.
  32. May 18, 2013
    9
    New story, new zombies, new ways to explore the Zombie lands. Most of the reviews that are critical I wonder if they played the game as it is so much better than many of the new big ticket games out. This game does have new Zombie types! It is a polished piece of work with the best zombie physics engine going. rich textures, great sound, amazing detail (water that gets cloudy the deeperNew story, new zombies, new ways to explore the Zombie lands. Most of the reviews that are critical I wonder if they played the game as it is so much better than many of the new big ticket games out. This game does have new Zombie types! It is a polished piece of work with the best zombie physics engine going. rich textures, great sound, amazing detail (water that gets cloudy the deeper you look). A skill system that shows results immediately. Variable skill zombies, a weapon modification system, repeating quests and re-spawning zombies in public zones to always keep you on your toes. This game can scare the life out of you if you let it.

    By far the best Zombie adventure I have played yet. There are not many games that can give you that trapped feeling when the zombies come. This game is a new use of an awesome engine that is a natural extension of the original Dead Island.
    Expand
  33. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews, this game is AWESOME. of course, i am biased because I am a huge fan of the original Dead Island. I love the gameplay, the characters, the missions, and grabbing loot a long the way. It's always fun to grab ten dollars off a zombie as they fly in the air from one of your machete slices. That's always epic. My brother and I played this co-op and completedDon't believe the negative reviews, this game is AWESOME. of course, i am biased because I am a huge fan of the original Dead Island. I love the gameplay, the characters, the missions, and grabbing loot a long the way. It's always fun to grab ten dollars off a zombie as they fly in the air from one of your machete slices. That's always epic. My brother and I played this co-op and completed it twice, and I played two times solo and completed with all four characters. It's so much fun. He likes the second one better, but I like the first better. This one is great, but it's too short, and there are too few missions. It's rather easy compared to the long and complicated first game. Which went on forever. But this game there is beautiful scenery, and an interesting story. my FAVORITE part is your ability to fight missions as a team, so with all the characters, plus others. Best aspect of this whole game. I hope they keep coming out with more dead islands, becuase I will keep buying them. Expand
  34. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    For $40 you get a rad open-world zombie RPG in an island setting. Tons of scavenging loot, tons of melee weapons, tons of fun in co-op. It's slower paced combat, but it's also far more visceral, and the RPG elements let you customize your character to your play style. Also, the weapon mods are dope.
  35. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Personally I do not agree with a lot of the complaints regarding this game. First off, I have no problem with any of the multiplayer features and I bought, downloaded and started playing this within 2 hours of release. 2nd, I do not agree that this is just a re-hash of the 1st one. They have made a great deal of game play enhancements to this game that have made it more like thePersonally I do not agree with a lot of the complaints regarding this game. First off, I have no problem with any of the multiplayer features and I bought, downloaded and started playing this within 2 hours of release. 2nd, I do not agree that this is just a re-hash of the 1st one. They have made a great deal of game play enhancements to this game that have made it more like the difference between Farcry 2 and 3. The weapons have been expanded and the more advanced weapons are very cool. The modifications that you can add to your weapons after collecting a blueprint are fascinating and a number of them enhance the stopping power of the weapon greatly especially after you have upgraded it to the 4th level.
    The comments about collecting from the same boxes/suitcases, etc... multiple times is irrelevant. In order to collect enough money to get the later weapons and upgrades, naturally the costs skyrocket, so they have made it easier by resetting some of the collection areas randomly (so you never know what you will be getting), but the amount of money you collect from the average drops do go up and the number of drop sites goes down dramatically.

    I have been having a great time with this release, playing for nearly 12 hours nonstop. It's a lot of fun! Having some 350 games just on Steam and another 500 elsewhere not to mention the disks, I rarely play one game for such an extended period. Not sure if I would be up for a replay once it's complete as it's a very long and complicated set of quests and side missions intertwined.

    I do have some negative comments, they are all not positive, few games will ever get that treatment. The primary question I have is whether the map should be bigger and the map system better adapted to see more of the area you have already explored. The current map is very detailed and if the mission takes you across the map, you can't see where you need to go nor map a route to get there. This adds to the frustration of playing, however you will eventually memorize the map and know the correct route eventually. I just think that with a better mapping interface, they could have made a bigger map and we would not have to visit the same areas so many times (areas, not exact locations, locations are visited once, but if the guy there sells weapons, you may not have the cash to buy the weapon you want and have to return once, max.
    There are issues with the sound, I believe them to be related to their generation of the torrential rains that this kind of jungle would naturally get. However, sometimes, the sound is more like static rather than pounding rain. I am sure that this could be fixed soon. I honestly do not have any bugs that are in anyway annoying other than the rain. However and as with all other games there are issues, but not something worth bashing the game over. This is a solid game and you will get many many hours of game play out of it, as much or more that the average game of this type. (can't say for sure as I haven't completed it).

    I appreciated the plot, the missions and the side quests and it's very satisfying to get all the XP for completing most. Which gets to my last issue. The side quests come at you about 8 at a time and all ask for a specific item and quantity. These missions are all completed while doing the main quest, so when you eventually find yourself back at the main base turning in your quests, you can rack up 3 or so levels. I think that we could go for less of that as it is redundant, but as I said, they are all completed in the process of doing the main quest, you just have to explore, something that a lot of people these days seem to want to do less and less of and more run and gun. I, myself, have always been the kind of player that takes his time and looks in every nook before heading on and there is a distinct advantage here should you enjoy that play style.

    Finally, they have enhanced the skill tree for this game. It is much more detailed and the 3 vines are intertwined quite well so as to prevent you from putting all your skill in one tree which gives you the opportunity to experience some of the abilities that you may not start spending SP's until late in the game.

    Finally, Driving is very well done, very smooth, it is very hectic once you get in a boat as the water is teeming with zombies floating who wake up when they hear your boat, but you can easily plow through them with accelerate and easily rack up XP if you spend the appropriate amount of time to learn how to steer and accelerate fluid. Definitely not any sort of negative or reason for taking away a star(s) for sure.

    Also, it is very easy to pick up a single player mission and turn it into a coop mission when you get to the boss or mass zombie fights, no issues with that and I think it was done seamlessly.
    Expand
  36. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Dead Island Riptide is exactly how a zombie killing game should be. The story line makes sense, and is very interesting. The one major problem that it fixed from the original is the co op problem. It was impossible to beat the game without the help of a friend in the original, and that is not so the case in Riptide. What made me rate this game a nine is that some of the missions in theDead Island Riptide is exactly how a zombie killing game should be. The story line makes sense, and is very interesting. The one major problem that it fixed from the original is the co op problem. It was impossible to beat the game without the help of a friend in the original, and that is not so the case in Riptide. What made me rate this game a nine is that some of the missions in the game remind me of some in the original. For example, you have to get fill up a can of gas again. I'm also not a big fan of the chrome engine, but I won't let that affect the score. A really cool feature I enjoy is the import character feature. Expand
  37. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is the follow-up of the decent game Dead Island. It's an open world first person shooter/beat em up with RPG elements and full 4 co-op playable campaign. Personally, if you liked Dead Island, simply put Dead Island Riptide is 5 times better! The game has improved gameplay, improved zombie danger levels (i get killed SO many times if i'm uncareful now, or if i'mDead Island Riptide is the follow-up of the decent game Dead Island. It's an open world first person shooter/beat em up with RPG elements and full 4 co-op playable campaign. Personally, if you liked Dead Island, simply put Dead Island Riptide is 5 times better! The game has improved gameplay, improved zombie danger levels (i get killed SO many times if i'm uncareful now, or if i'm swarmed...), they have added so many more weapons and mods, etc...

    The only points of critic i have are the small time bugs i've encountered, like zombies running through barrels or crates instead of pathing around it, but nothing has crashed or frozen. I haven't found big gamebreaking bugs yet or bugs so bad i started hated playing the game...

    Another point of critic is the somewhat half-assed bad start of the story to the point where i just skipped it and wanted to hit some zombies in the face with my new BBQ knife. You wash up on the shore, some chick runs to you yelling some crap and i was there like: "who the f* are you now?!"

    Overal, great zombie slasher game, i'm loving it so far i got 13 hours in about 2 days already so if you have 40 euro's/dollars spare anyway, buy it until Metro Last Light or Company of Heroes 2 come out (because by that time you'll have finished Dead Island Riptide)

    Support the devs!!!
    Expand
  38. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This game is a lot of fun, especially when playing with friends. Even playing solo, the combat is the highlight and the source of most of my enjoyment. This is basically the same game as before, so if you liked that, you will like this. I bought this on release so I could play with friends and not have to catch up or hold them back by joining in later on. I do not regret this purchaseThis game is a lot of fun, especially when playing with friends. Even playing solo, the combat is the highlight and the source of most of my enjoyment. This is basically the same game as before, so if you liked that, you will like this. I bought this on release so I could play with friends and not have to catch up or hold them back by joining in later on. I do not regret this purchase one bit. I've sunk 20 hours into this game in the first week and can't wait to play more.

    If you are looking for a deep story experience or the latest and greatest in game mechanics and design, this will not do much for you. If you want a game that is a lot of fun, can be played w/ friends, and involves zombies, do not pass up on this game.

    If you're really on the fence about this then just wait a few weeks as the price will drop. The last game sold millions of copies and was not a best in class product, so, at least Deep Silver knows how to draw you in for the fun.
    Expand
  39. May 1, 2013
    8
    To the point. I love it. Is it for everyone? No. If you enjoyed the first game you will love riptide. Co-op is still the same great drop in drop out fun. Over-all it is an 8 because of the hiccups. I would give it a 11! for how much fun my friends and I have had.

    Riptide is by no means perfection. it has glitches and flaws. It also has TONS of fun to be had. Loads of weapons,
    To the point. I love it. Is it for everyone? No. If you enjoyed the first game you will love riptide. Co-op is still the same great drop in drop out fun. Over-all it is an 8 because of the hiccups. I would give it a 11! for how much fun my friends and I have had.

    Riptide is by no means perfection. it has glitches and flaws. It also has TONS of fun to be had. Loads of weapons, tons of mods, gobs of action, varied scenery, lots of missions etc...
    The added weapon proficiency (think borderlands 1) are great fun.
    Expand
  40. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Dead Island: Riptide is my favorite game in 2013.Killing zombies was my favorite part, i'm never getting tired of it.I enjoyed the story very much, graphics are nice.Some people said it has many bugs, but i didn't experienced not even a one bug.It has only a one bad thing suddenly changing weather.The campaign is long enough (about 16 hours).This game is totally worth 43.53 dollars onDead Island: Riptide is my favorite game in 2013.Killing zombies was my favorite part, i'm never getting tired of it.I enjoyed the story very much, graphics are nice.Some people said it has many bugs, but i didn't experienced not even a one bug.It has only a one bad thing suddenly changing weather.The campaign is long enough (about 16 hours).This game is totally worth 43.53 dollars on Amazon.

    Have fun playing this!
    Expand
  41. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Its a carbon copy lol

    That's not even partially true. It has is a number of new weapon mods. It has new zombie types (drowner, screamer, grenadier, mutated scientist, and wrestler generally), and if you count the variations (frenzied walkers, drugged infected, etc.) there are quite a few more, including "boss" types that are far tougher. There are several new weapons, with blades,
    Its a carbon copy lol

    That's not even partially true. It has is a number of new weapon mods. It has new zombie types (drowner, screamer, grenadier, mutated scientist, and wrestler generally), and if you count the variations (frenzied walkers, drugged infected, etc.) there are quite a few more, including "boss" types that are far tougher. There are several new weapons, with blades, blunt, and guns, including scoped rifles. A new class of stackable throwing knives has been added. It has a new vehicle type, the boat. There is an additional character to play with an entirely new skill tree. New explosives include several types of mines that can be placed on the ground to defend an area.

    New elements include base/hub defence, where you have to stay alive and defeat groups of zombies that are attacking. Also, the other main characters are present and you are able to interact with them, and they assist in the defense missions. You can use fences to close off approach routes, and in some case you can bring stationary heavy guns from other locations to defend the area. You are able to upgrade the members of your team, improving the weapons they possess or the items they are able to sell you. Your group of survivors moves from base to base, so they are not stuck in one place the entire game. Dead Zones, like mini-dungeons, exist, where buildings have been closed up and you can venture in if you want to... there are rare craftplans and craftparts that can be found in them that enable you to do the final upgrades for the team members, but you are not forced to enter into them. A new quest mechanic exists, where instead of the minimap leading you directly to the quest target, it takes you to an area, and you need to search around in that area to find what you are looking for. For co-op, there is a new rage mechanic where you can sacrifice your own rage and instead get a group benefit for 30-60 seconds.

    It is shorter, than dead island I would say that if you actually do the quests and explore everything, it is about 65% as big. If you only do the main sequence questline, then it is maybe 50%. One of the complaints I have seen is that it is a lot like the original... it is a continuation of the storyline, of course it is a lot like the original. But it is not simply more of the same, and perhaps these people who are complaining after only playing a few hours just never got far enough to see the majority of it. If you did not like Dead Island, you are unlikely to enjoy Riptide. If you did like it, this is far more than a DLC. allso its moddable to customize to your own game preferance, and mods some very good mods made by modders all ready available to download just do a simple google search
    Expand
  42. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Alright so here is the way I see it. If your looking for good graphics or a great stand alone game then you should just turn around and go back to were you came. If your looking for a game with great game play and an in depth, smooth, glitch free story line; then this game isn't for you. If your looking for a game, however, that will bring you hours upon hours of enjoyment, and plenty ofAlright so here is the way I see it. If your looking for good graphics or a great stand alone game then you should just turn around and go back to were you came. If your looking for a game with great game play and an in depth, smooth, glitch free story line; then this game isn't for you. If your looking for a game, however, that will bring you hours upon hours of enjoyment, and plenty of laughter at the downright absurd glitches that you can share, and then become an "inside joke" with friends. Then you have certainly found a game for you. Lets just say if you don't have any friends, then don't get this game. Expand
  43. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    I may have a different review than everyone else as I have played at a later date and with (I think will most likely be a better computer) The game had great graphics for when it was released and the game play was amazing I imported my character just to make it harder on myself. I had no bugs except for one audio bug that added crackling and if you were able to pay attention to the storyI may have a different review than everyone else as I have played at a later date and with (I think will most likely be a better computer) The game had great graphics for when it was released and the game play was amazing I imported my character just to make it harder on myself. I had no bugs except for one audio bug that added crackling and if you were able to pay attention to the story it was pretty good and could hold your attention (unless you don't have a great attention span) This game feels like a great sequel as it continues off of the older game and still keeps the same style without making that style bland Expand
  44. Sep 8, 2015
    9
    This game has an insane quantity of bugs but it still remains as very good game if you liked the last one but the real problem of this "game" was that the creator didn't add more than simple boats, a new campaign and a new character. The story it's OK but it is too short if you don't do the sidequests and it is a bit boring if you don't play with someone in coop. The conclusion is that ifThis game has an insane quantity of bugs but it still remains as very good game if you liked the last one but the real problem of this "game" was that the creator didn't add more than simple boats, a new campaign and a new character. The story it's OK but it is too short if you don't do the sidequests and it is a bit boring if you don't play with someone in coop. The conclusion is that if liked the last game and you have someone to play with you will love the game, otherwise, you will not enjoy the entire fun that this game provides. Expand
  45. May 9, 2013
    0
    Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido.Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.