Dead Island: Riptide PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    This is indeed more of the same Dead Island gameplay, hardly any changes, hardly any tweaks, hardly any improvements. But I don't care because I loved the original so much and am happy to have more.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    When I started to play it thought they failed a lot of things. Later I founded game is extremely addictive and have same charm like old DI! It have some things which could be better, too similar to original, but overall very fun to play! Need some new missions DLC soon!!!
  3. May 8, 2013
    8
    Riptide is a confusing game. I like it. I like the new stuff they added, the scenery, the stuff they kept that worked well, but i can't lose the feeling that they could have done much better with the time they had on their hands :P It feels rushed, bland. It doesn't necessarily mean it's bad, although it can get like that sometimes, it just means they aimed at die hard fans as the keyRiptide is a confusing game. I like it. I like the new stuff they added, the scenery, the stuff they kept that worked well, but i can't lose the feeling that they could have done much better with the time they had on their hands :P It feels rushed, bland. It doesn't necessarily mean it's bad, although it can get like that sometimes, it just means they aimed at die hard fans as the key demographic. Its somewhat disturbingly harsh difficulty is a challenge for veteran players and as such, i guess, can be a turn off for some of the newcomers. The weapons and recipes are familiar and fresh at the same time. The new map is very detailed, though the mini map feature is a little retarded. The game is flawed, that's a given, but it's also tons of fun, once you put some time into it. Or you can wait for a proper patch, so you don't have to suffer any indignity. Your call. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is just like the first game, which is not bad. But it had so much potential, which was'nt used. It still is a pretty good game. It's funny and its story is so much better than the first game. It still has its bugs and sometimes it's unplayable. But when it gets to multiplayer-mode it is awesome.
  5. Feb 12, 2017
    10
    1st review - Apr 26, 2013 / Score - 1
    I'll put it in a nutshell last year I rated the 10 out of 10 as the game was fresh, interesting etc.
    This year I can not rate this game higher than 1, as I see no difference, and what's more important see no soul in the game. It's a dump copypaste, sad. 2nd review - Feb 12. 2017 / Score - 10 I decided to give the game another chance (as a result
    1st review - Apr 26, 2013 / Score - 1
    I'll put it in a nutshell last year I rated the 10 out of 10 as the game was fresh, interesting etc.
    This year I can not rate this game higher than 1, as I see no difference, and what's more important see no soul in the game. It's a dump copypaste, sad.

    2nd review - Feb 12. 2017 / Score - 10
    I decided to give the game another chance (as a result of my replay of first DI and deep willingness to have more time in DI universe) in 3 years after my first try, and... Guys, the game is pretty epic, I was wrong and idk what I wanted to see in it at the time of my fist gameplay =)
    On my second play-through I noticed how many cool and new features they had added, and how greatly graphics had been improved (I replayed it just after Dead Island). The story is not bad, but gameplay itself was improved noticeably. I really loved it.
    Re-estimated from bottom to top =)
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    If you liked Dead Island, then you definitely have to try DI:Riptide. It still looks more like solid addon, then a sequel, but has some improvements that make game even more fun and addictive. More weapons including harpoons and nailguns, improved interface, bosses, boats, tonns of quests (some of them are just hillarious), and new story in an vast and well designed island. SameIf you liked Dead Island, then you definitely have to try DI:Riptide. It still looks more like solid addon, then a sequel, but has some improvements that make game even more fun and addictive. More weapons including harpoons and nailguns, improved interface, bosses, boats, tonns of quests (some of them are just hillarious), and new story in an vast and well designed island. Same zombie-slashing-rpg fun, but with great additions to gameplay. It still has some glitches and flaws from the original, but game is too much fun to be ruined by them. Obviously best zombie-rpg for the moment! Expand
  7. May 28, 2013
    8
    If You liked the first part You will enjoy this one even more. If not, You won't probably find anything interesting. But for me this is really great game, that I have spend a lot time with. And I had lots of fun. New character is nice to start with. Plot is not really important but isn't the worst I ever encountered in games. Crafting lovely as never before and gameplay is much better thanIf You liked the first part You will enjoy this one even more. If not, You won't probably find anything interesting. But for me this is really great game, that I have spend a lot time with. And I had lots of fun. New character is nice to start with. Plot is not really important but isn't the worst I ever encountered in games. Crafting lovely as never before and gameplay is much better than it was in first DI. Play and enjoy! Expand
  8. JEK
    Apr 30, 2013
    8
    First off, I'm a fan of the first installment. I'm not complaining about the new one but they should have fixed the game and mix it up with some new elements. The have added a boat riding zombie but the rest are the same. Riptide is overcrowded unlike the 1st one where the scenery is beautiful. This one is a bit muddy and flood full game (lol). I Miss the resort type of feel. They shouldFirst off, I'm a fan of the first installment. I'm not complaining about the new one but they should have fixed the game and mix it up with some new elements. The have added a boat riding zombie but the rest are the same. Riptide is overcrowded unlike the 1st one where the scenery is beautiful. This one is a bit muddy and flood full game (lol). I Miss the resort type of feel. They should have added like a motorcycle or different vehicle (not that boat). They should have enhance the graphic through cut scenes. Overall, It's a fun game. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill.The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill. The cut scenes are bad, the story is barely there, and I don't care. I just want to have some visceral combat and get cool weapons to continue the slaughter. The game is delivering on that flawlessly. Expand
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    mindless game, i enjoyed first DI game. DIR is more of the same thing which is not necessary the bad thing. I actually enjoyed it and truly recommend for those who liked the first part. o

    Bad things? story, story, story.. it sucks.. they need to sort it out in next DI!
  11. May 31, 2013
    9
    if u loved the original dead island then you will love dead island riptide.

    if on the other hand you hated the original dead island then you will hate dead island riptide as well.
  12. Jan 15, 2017
    8
    I Don't know why this game got a lot of hate,however it looks a bit like far cry 3 with zombies. but still,dead island riptide somehow holds itself at it's finest. a dashing-looking,zombie slashing with combined weapons,driving around the island,earning cash by saving survivors and glorious graphics with simple gameplay,storyline and lovely sandbox. a gamer who loves an open world gameI Don't know why this game got a lot of hate,however it looks a bit like far cry 3 with zombies. but still,dead island riptide somehow holds itself at it's finest. a dashing-looking,zombie slashing with combined weapons,driving around the island,earning cash by saving survivors and glorious graphics with simple gameplay,storyline and lovely sandbox. a gamer who loves an open world game surrounded with zombies,should try this out.

    My rating for it would be 8.0/10
    Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is still as flawed as the original, but that doesn't mean its unplayable. Anybody who found any enjoyment in the original should play through Riptide.
  14. May 9, 2013
    10
    Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido.Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera. Expand
  15. May 2, 2013
    10
    I have been waiting a long time for this, and i didnt want to write a review too soon. I have just finished the campaign, i will not play any multiplayer at all since in the first game it felt like i was boosting other team mates all over. My favorite character is Xian Mei, i cannot like the game on any of the others, so i do understand why some of you had a hard time in this one and i doI have been waiting a long time for this, and i didnt want to write a review too soon. I have just finished the campaign, i will not play any multiplayer at all since in the first game it felt like i was boosting other team mates all over. My favorite character is Xian Mei, i cannot like the game on any of the others, so i do understand why some of you had a hard time in this one and i do understand the low ratings some of you have given. Story is simple, it follows the normal facts that would happen in case of a zombie plague. You get to do normal stuff in such case, help people that otherwise cant, or wont help themselves. You can feel the fear from given situation and the shivers from the gruesome fighting. It is disgusting, but feels justified. Totally awesome game. I recommend it totally. Do not treat it as a shooter, do not try to run past the action, just live it. I will give it a straight 10 despite the multiplayer and coop not being taken into consideration. I am treating Dead Island as a genre of its own. You cannot compare it to Left4Dead or any other game. This is the best horror zombie story telling adventure ever. The graphics and the places you visit are simply astonishing. It is like a virtual vacation to some of the most exotic places. I must say, first impression made by first Dead Island wasn't much when i first tried it.. let the game rest for quite a while then went in to finish it. After level 20 or so i started to get the hang of it, the fights were no longer boring. I presume most people that gave low rating experienced the same as me, a unsuccesful first contact. Just give it some time, you need to get used to this game, as it is one of a kind. It is the Far Cry 3 of horror games, so to say. Enjoy it! Expand
  16. Nov 3, 2014
    8
    It is the same Dead Island original game with new maps , some fixed bugs and slightly improved mechanics. Therefore it deserves the same score as the original (more or less).
    Don't trust the haters. If you loved Dead Island, you'll definitely love this one too. It should've come out as a expansion, though.
  17. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This review is based on experiences made at 14% main plot progression. As stated before by others, if you loved the original, you will enjoy this one too. In fact I think Deep Silver managed to mess (a bit) up more things than corrected, but it is still a good game. The graphics are basically the same; no wonder, we are still on a tropical island. I would say it is beautiful, although, forThis review is based on experiences made at 14% main plot progression. As stated before by others, if you loved the original, you will enjoy this one too. In fact I think Deep Silver managed to mess (a bit) up more things than corrected, but it is still a good game. The graphics are basically the same; no wonder, we are still on a tropical island. I would say it is beautiful, although, for example, the waterfalls look like in ten year old games. I think the overall FPS dropped compared to the "vanilla" DI, but it still can produce 25-30 frames per sec on a 7 year old Pentium D with Radeon HD5770 on almost maximum settings (cheers for Deep Silver!). The gameplay is the same: you start with a basic weapon, you get quests, begin exploring, get rewards and loot. A big plus that you can import your DI characters and continue on the same level where you left them, although you will not get their equipment and known mods. I think the movement of the characters became more sluggish, but you will get used to it in no time. The voice actors for the main characters are the same as in DI, and the overall quality of acting is also the same: not bad, but no Oscar. The story so far contains absolutely no surprises, but I must tell, I don't care. I am on a zombie infested island, and I am not there for drama. I am there to kick ass. The game deliver this, so why complain? Expand
  18. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    If you liked Dead Island, this is for you. I wouldn't recommend a full price buy, but for 15 dollars or less is perfect
    This game an improve version of Dead island, with another character, better graphics, less bugs, more weapons and some new features
    If you like the old one and wanted to play more, this is your game to play
  19. Oct 9, 2016
    9
    Klimatyczna jak diabli. Wciąga jak żaden inny fps Każdy typ zombiaka wydaje charakterystyczne dźwięki i to jest piękne. Cała muzyka jest świetna. Majstersztyk.
  20. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game as the first one, still makes it a good game
  21. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    The Dead Island series is probably one of the most divisive game franchises of the last 5 years. Either you really like it, or you just don't. I played through the original a couple of times using different characters, not because the story was any good, because it isn't, and not because it looks very good, but honestly it looks pretty average.

    What sets the Dead Island series ahead of
    The Dead Island series is probably one of the most divisive game franchises of the last 5 years. Either you really like it, or you just don't. I played through the original a couple of times using different characters, not because the story was any good, because it isn't, and not because it looks very good, but honestly it looks pretty average.

    What sets the Dead Island series ahead of other zombie games is the great coop support and combat mechanics, specifically the analog based control you have when it comes to planning body part specific attacks against enemies. With a good group of 2-4 people, you can wade through large groups of infected pretty quickly, and it's super satisfying breaking the arms on a big thug and then whittling away at him while he's trying to head butt or bite at you.

    The story in Riptide is also a bit better than the original. This time they dive into the background of the infection more, which is cool. It's still not Uncharted or Bioshock levels of storytelling, but they give you just enough to maintain interest.

    In the end, if you played the original and enjoyed it, you'll probably have a lot of fun with this one. If you never played the original, I would recommend buying it first, you can pick it up for $5-$10 pretty regularly if you keep an eye out for Steam or Greenmangaming sales. Play it with other people to get the full experience out of it. It may take a little to reach a point where you feel like a badass, but the payoff is definitely worth it.
    Expand
  22. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Ok i know there are a ton of defensive fans who would say im wrong but this is my opinion.

    First of all i would like to say that game play feels exactly the same from the first dad island, which in fact i do like. but it shouldn't be ignored that the developers didn't try to mix things up. The animations are still god awful like in the first game, i don't think quicksilver thought of
    Ok i know there are a ton of defensive fans who would say im wrong but this is my opinion.

    First of all i would like to say that game play feels exactly the same from the first dad island, which in fact i do like. but it shouldn't be ignored that the developers didn't try to mix things up.

    The animations are still god awful like in the first game, i don't think quicksilver thought of us again when we said we can see the weird arm movements in the shadows

    The graphics are even more pretty and i have to run the game medium settings, so graphics dont take a toll on lower settings.

    The setting of riptide looks exactly like every part of the other island in the first game but these areas are actually complimented by the graphics in terms of forest density and city textures.

    The new character seems overpowered but that 'll be fixed soon or later.

    they managed to get an 8 from me this time around.
    Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    DIfferent island, same game. If you never played the original go for it.
    For everyone else who played the original, nothing new. I rated it 8
    because I see it like a new game for new players and the original
    was one of the best well done games.
  24. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Without playing the original Dead Island, perhaps my review is not substantiated enough. I enjoyed playing it, and it did end up leaving me wanting more. So in my book....thats a winner.
  25. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    New Dead Island is pretty good game.But still now it's not up-to-date to sell a game which might be just a copy of previous.Sounds ridiculous,isn't it?But still I suppose even in this case I will be able to enjoy, though game-play is a weak point of that game
  26. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same.Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same. There have not been any graphical improvements to the game over the first one, all of the old characters remain as playable characters (with the exception of a new character with a ridiculously fun, but overpowered running kick move), and I have only run across one new type of zombie so far in a few hours of game play. I have to admit, there seems to be a great variety of weapons that were not in the first game (my favorite is the staff that you wield like a bad-ass, zombie slaying Darth Maul). Considering that most new games have a starting price between $50-$60 dollars, i'd say that Dead Island: Riptide is a great buy at the reduced price of $39.99 on steam considering the lack of new material. Expand
  27. May 3, 2013
    9
    Dead Island Riptide is a great roll playing zombie game with best cooperation mode i´ve ever seen!
    The battles make fun, the quest are cool, their are cars and crazy weapons like nail pistols and you can trow knives into a zombie´s body and take it out when you get close to that zombie for throwing it again!!!
    Warning: Riptide is like the first Dead Island with another island! It´s not
    Dead Island Riptide is a great roll playing zombie game with best cooperation mode i´ve ever seen!
    The battles make fun, the quest are cool, their are cars and crazy weapons like nail pistols and you can trow knives into a zombie´s body and take it out when you get close to that zombie for throwing it again!!!
    Warning: Riptide is like the first Dead Island with another island! It´s not good to buy it if you have the first one!!!
    Expand
  28. May 3, 2013
    8
    Fun addictive melee combat that, atleast from my experience in co-op, carries you through the passable graphics and weak story. Had no major glitches (only stuff like ragdoll spazzing which is pretty funny). Feels more fair than the last game where, especially in the city, you would constantly get attacked by many special zombies at a time. In my experience it is nothing but improvementsFun addictive melee combat that, atleast from my experience in co-op, carries you through the passable graphics and weak story. Had no major glitches (only stuff like ragdoll spazzing which is pretty funny). Feels more fair than the last game where, especially in the city, you would constantly get attacked by many special zombies at a time. In my experience it is nothing but improvements and whilst the core mechanics are the same it has a lower price point to make up for this. Expand
  29. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  30. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    It needed more sub quests, npc perk leveling and weapon modifications, the group battles were a really nice touch but the drowners were just such a bad call
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.