User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2013
    9
    if u loved the original dead island then you will love dead island riptide.

    if on the other hand you hated the original dead island then you will hate dead island riptide as well.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    New Dead Island is pretty good game.But still now it's not up-to-date to sell a game which might be just a copy of previous.Sounds ridiculous,isn't it?But still I suppose even in this case I will be able to enjoy, though game-play is a weak point of that game
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    mindless game, i enjoyed first DI game. DIR is more of the same thing which is not necessary the bad thing. I actually enjoyed it and truly recommend for those who liked the first part. o

    Bad things? story, story, story.. it sucks.. they need to sort it out in next DI!
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Although I didn't play the first game. This got to be the best zombie game I played. The story is good, same with the mechanics. I had no problem with the co-op. But the game gets a bit repetitive when you play the game for a long space of time
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill. The cut scenes are bad, the story is barely there, and I don't care. I just want to have some visceral combat and get cool weapons to continue the slaughter. The game is delivering on that flawlessly. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    This is indeed more of the same Dead Island gameplay, hardly any changes, hardly any tweaks, hardly any improvements. But I don't care because I loved the original so much and am happy to have more.
  8. May 9, 2013
    10
    Si te gusto el primer juego este es mucho mejor. Ahora puedes subir hasta el nivel 70 por cada personaje. El juego muestra mejores graficas, mejores skills o habilidades, mejor gameplay. La historia es la continuacion de lo que paso en el ultimo. No se como le han dado tan poca puntuacion. Si te gusto el primero este te encantara. Actualmente estoy jugando multiplayer y es super divertido. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera. Expand
  9. May 2, 2013
    10
    I have been waiting a long time for this, and i didnt want to write a review too soon. I have just finished the campaign, i will not play any multiplayer at all since in the first game it felt like i was boosting other team mates all over. My favorite character is Xian Mei, i cannot like the game on any of the others, so i do understand why some of you had a hard time in this one and i do understand the low ratings some of you have given. Story is simple, it follows the normal facts that would happen in case of a zombie plague. You get to do normal stuff in such case, help people that otherwise cant, or wont help themselves. You can feel the fear from given situation and the shivers from the gruesome fighting. It is disgusting, but feels justified. Totally awesome game. I recommend it totally. Do not treat it as a shooter, do not try to run past the action, just live it. I will give it a straight 10 despite the multiplayer and coop not being taken into consideration. I am treating Dead Island as a genre of its own. You cannot compare it to Left4Dead or any other game. This is the best horror zombie story telling adventure ever. The graphics and the places you visit are simply astonishing. It is like a virtual vacation to some of the most exotic places. I must say, first impression made by first Dead Island wasn't much when i first tried it.. let the game rest for quite a while then went in to finish it. After level 20 or so i started to get the hang of it, the fights were no longer boring. I presume most people that gave low rating experienced the same as me, a unsuccesful first contact. Just give it some time, you need to get used to this game, as it is one of a kind. It is the Far Cry 3 of horror games, so to say. Enjoy it! Expand
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Dead Island Riptide is exactly how a zombie killing game should be. The story line makes sense, and is very interesting. The one major problem that it fixed from the original is the co op problem. It was impossible to beat the game without the help of a friend in the original, and that is not so the case in Riptide. What made me rate this game a nine is that some of the missions in the game remind me of some in the original. For example, you have to get fill up a can of gas again. I'm also not a big fan of the chrome engine, but I won't let that affect the score. A really cool feature I enjoy is the import character feature. Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game as the first one, still makes it a good game
  12. May 18, 2013
    9
    New story, new zombies, new ways to explore the Zombie lands. Most of the reviews that are critical I wonder if they played the game as it is so much better than many of the new big ticket games out. This game does have new Zombie types! It is a polished piece of work with the best zombie physics engine going. rich textures, great sound, amazing detail (water that gets cloudy the deeper you look). A skill system that shows results immediately. Variable skill zombies, a weapon modification system, repeating quests and re-spawning zombies in public zones to always keep you on your toes. This game can scare the life out of you if you let it.

    By far the best Zombie adventure I have played yet. There are not many games that can give you that trapped feeling when the zombies come. This game is a new use of an awesome engine that is a natural extension of the original Dead Island.
    Expand
  13. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Its a carbon copy lol

    That's not even partially true. It has is a number of new weapon mods. It has new zombie types (drowner, screamer, grenadier, mutated scientist, and wrestler generally), and if you count the variations (frenzied walkers, drugged infected, etc.) there are quite a few more, including "boss" types that are far tougher. There are several new weapons, with blades,
    blunt, and guns, including scoped rifles. A new class of stackable throwing knives has been added. It has a new vehicle type, the boat. There is an additional character to play with an entirely new skill tree. New explosives include several types of mines that can be placed on the ground to defend an area.

    New elements include base/hub defence, where you have to stay alive and defeat groups of zombies that are attacking. Also, the other main characters are present and you are able to interact with them, and they assist in the defense missions. You can use fences to close off approach routes, and in some case you can bring stationary heavy guns from other locations to defend the area. You are able to upgrade the members of your team, improving the weapons they possess or the items they are able to sell you. Your group of survivors moves from base to base, so they are not stuck in one place the entire game. Dead Zones, like mini-dungeons, exist, where buildings have been closed up and you can venture in if you want to... there are rare craftplans and craftparts that can be found in them that enable you to do the final upgrades for the team members, but you are not forced to enter into them. A new quest mechanic exists, where instead of the minimap leading you directly to the quest target, it takes you to an area, and you need to search around in that area to find what you are looking for. For co-op, there is a new rage mechanic where you can sacrifice your own rage and instead get a group benefit for 30-60 seconds.

    It is shorter, than dead island I would say that if you actually do the quests and explore everything, it is about 65% as big. If you only do the main sequence questline, then it is maybe 50%. One of the complaints I have seen is that it is a lot like the original... it is a continuation of the storyline, of course it is a lot like the original. But it is not simply more of the same, and perhaps these people who are complaining after only playing a few hours just never got far enough to see the majority of it. If you did not like Dead Island, you are unlikely to enjoy Riptide. If you did like it, this is far more than a DLC. allso its moddable to customize to your own game preferance, and mods some very good mods made by modders all ready available to download just do a simple google search
    Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    If you liked Dead Island, then you definitely have to try DI:Riptide. It still looks more like solid addon, then a sequel, but has some improvements that make game even more fun and addictive. More weapons including harpoons and nailguns, improved interface, bosses, boats, tonns of quests (some of them are just hillarious), and new story in an vast and well designed island. Same zombie-slashing-rpg fun, but with great additions to gameplay. It still has some glitches and flaws from the original, but game is too much fun to be ruined by them. Obviously best zombie-rpg for the moment! Expand
  15. May 3, 2013
    9
    Dead Island Riptide is a great roll playing zombie game with best cooperation mode i´ve ever seen!
    The battles make fun, the quest are cool, their are cars and crazy weapons like nail pistols and you can trow knives into a zombie´s body and take it out when you get close to that zombie for throwing it again!!!
    Warning: Riptide is like the first Dead Island with another island! It´s not
    good to buy it if you have the first one!!! Expand
  16. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Dead Island: Riptide is my favorite game in 2013.Killing zombies was my favorite part, i'm never getting tired of it.I enjoyed the story very much, graphics are nice.Some people said it has many bugs, but i didn't experienced not even a one bug.It has only a one bad thing suddenly changing weather.The campaign is long enough (about 16 hours).This game is totally worth 43.53 dollars on Amazon.

    Have fun playing this!
    Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews, this game is AWESOME. of course, i am biased because I am a huge fan of the original Dead Island. I love the gameplay, the characters, the missions, and grabbing loot a long the way. It's always fun to grab ten dollars off a zombie as they fly in the air from one of your machete slices. That's always epic. My brother and I played this co-op and completed it twice, and I played two times solo and completed with all four characters. It's so much fun. He likes the second one better, but I like the first better. This one is great, but it's too short, and there are too few missions. It's rather easy compared to the long and complicated first game. Which went on forever. But this game there is beautiful scenery, and an interesting story. my FAVORITE part is your ability to fight missions as a team, so with all the characters, plus others. Best aspect of this whole game. I hope they keep coming out with more dead islands, becuase I will keep buying them. Expand
  18. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Alright so here is the way I see it. If your looking for good graphics or a great stand alone game then you should just turn around and go back to were you came. If your looking for a game with great game play and an in depth, smooth, glitch free story line; then this game isn't for you. If your looking for a game, however, that will bring you hours upon hours of enjoyment, and plenty of laughter at the downright absurd glitches that you can share, and then become an "inside joke" with friends. Then you have certainly found a game for you. Lets just say if you don't have any friends, then don't get this game. Expand
  19. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    If you liked Dead Island, this is for you. I wouldn't recommend a full price buy, but for 15 dollars or less is perfect
    This game an improve version of Dead island, with another character, better graphics, less bugs, more weapons and some new features
    If you like the old one and wanted to play more, this is your game to play
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.