User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2013
    9
    if u loved the original dead island then you will love dead island riptide.

    if on the other hand you hated the original dead island then you will hate dead island riptide as well.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    Dead Island Riptide. This game has so many bugs I can't even fit here in this text bar. The voice acting was great on some characters, but not everyone. And why oh why this game is a sequel and not a DLC? There is nothing new added to the game except for boats and a few new zombie types. And why does money even exist in this game? Its a zombie apocalypse, a zombie survival game! Why doesDead Island Riptide. This game has so many bugs I can't even fit here in this text bar. The voice acting was great on some characters, but not everyone. And why oh why this game is a sequel and not a DLC? There is nothing new added to the game except for boats and a few new zombie types. And why does money even exist in this game? Its a zombie apocalypse, a zombie survival game! Why does it cost 2000$ just to fix a baseball bat? If you hated the original game, you will hate this one too. Expand
  3. May 7, 2013
    5
    I liked the original Dead island and with this sequel I was hoping for something new. Unfortunately I hardly got something new. Sure, slaying zombies remains fun but I could do the same in the prequel. Also this game seems to punish you for not playing in co-op as the difficulty doesn't seem to adjust itself when playing with/without other people. The story is mediocre, even with the newI liked the original Dead island and with this sequel I was hoping for something new. Unfortunately I hardly got something new. Sure, slaying zombies remains fun but I could do the same in the prequel. Also this game seems to punish you for not playing in co-op as the difficulty doesn't seem to adjust itself when playing with/without other people. The story is mediocre, even with the new character. The boats are fun for what they are but aren't such a necessity.
    Overall a very average game that could have been great but it feels like just a reboot of the original
    Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    i really loved the first one!! but this is just garbage!! this is just a ripoff... story is waaay to short compared to dead island 1 and the bugs man like that autosave problem with the weapons chararcter lvl...
    that took way to long to get fixed... there is only 1 thing i like in riptide. the new character
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Techland ponownie robi dwie gry na raz, i ponownie jedna z nich musi na tym ucierpieć. W tym wypadku to nie Call of Juarez, a Dead Island. Bardzo chciałbym w twarz spytać się twórców-CO TO JEST? Naprawdę? Po tak dobrej jedynce dajecie nam coś takiego? Graficznie twórcy nie zrobili DOSŁOWNIE niczego. Smutne jest to że od 1 minęły 3 lata, więc można by poprawić trochę silnik. Fabuła jestTechland ponownie robi dwie gry na raz, i ponownie jedna z nich musi na tym ucierpieć. W tym wypadku to nie Call of Juarez, a Dead Island. Bardzo chciałbym w twarz spytać się twórców-CO TO JEST? Naprawdę? Po tak dobrej jedynce dajecie nam coś takiego? Graficznie twórcy nie zrobili DOSŁOWNIE niczego. Smutne jest to że od 1 minęły 3 lata, więc można by poprawić trochę silnik. Fabuła jest podobna co w pierwowzorze. Uratować siebie, uratować innych. Powiem szczerze, może w jedynce mogłem jakoś wciągnąć się w klimat, ale to co tutaj jest to kompletna nuda. Twórcy nie dodali do rozgrywki prawie nic. Co prawda pojawia się obrona punktów, ale została tak głupio zrobiona że nawet nie pasuje w ogólnie do rozgrywki Dead Island. Do tego twórcy każą nam zapierniczać po całej mapie, trochę piechotą, trochę autem, trochę łodzią, tak żebyśmy stracili godzinie żeby tylko dojść do jakieś głupiego dodatkowego questa, bez którego mamy o wiele mniej XP, bez czego jest o wiele ciężej. Oczywiście da się w to jeszcze grać, jeżeli gra się w to ze znajomymi. Smutne to jest, że znajomi nie będą nawet chcieli w to grać. Moja ocena jest taka wysoka, tylko przez sam system walki i inne plusy poprzedniego DS. Moja ocena 5/10 Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    6
    While the original Dead Island was a solid game it felt a bit rushed towards the end. Riptide on the other hand is rushed from the get go. It's shocking how little effort went into making of Riptide.

    Throughout the game you will be constantly reminded what an half-ass job they did. Just the sheer amount of reused assets and locations is enough to make you disoriented and question
    While the original Dead Island was a solid game it felt a bit rushed towards the end. Riptide on the other hand is rushed from the get go. It's shocking how little effort went into making of Riptide.

    Throughout the game you will be constantly reminded what an half-ass job they did. Just the sheer amount of reused assets and locations is enough to make you disoriented and question yourself about whether or not you've already been somewhere.

    The inclusion of many loading zones and ladders artificially prolong the game. Also, the enemies re-spawn when you load a zone, so most of the time you have to kill the same mob twice, which takes time but serves no real purpose.

    There is an overabundance of stuff to be had and the game fails to prove a challenge at any point in time.

    In conclusion, it is my opinion that this games is not worth your money or time. If you are looking for a similar game that you can play with your friends cooperatively, get the original Dead island and you will have a much better time with it.
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    I played Dead island a few times , before Riptide. I will compare them.

    Compared to Dead island, riptide has: - less better level design. The dead zones are just small chambers with 1 unique zombie inside. In Dead Island it was quiet a large internal area that you could explore. Playing inside gives a more claustrophobic feeling. The internal areas did even have their own quests. -
    I played Dead island a few times , before Riptide. I will compare them.

    Compared to Dead island, riptide has:
    - less better level design. The dead zones are just small chambers with 1 unique zombie inside.
    In Dead Island it was quiet a large internal area that you could explore. Playing inside gives a more
    claustrophobic feeling. The internal areas did even have their own quests.
    - much lower difficulty. Riptide is too easy compared to the first part.
    - Riptide you can heal as much as you have healing kits, but in the first part, the kits are much harder to
    get by.
    - a better gun implementation. That's good for Puna players. Or others chars who want to experiment
    with guns
    - Guns are too powerful later in Riptide. One good auto rifle will own them all.
    Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2013
    6
    Nice coop game. Much less buggy than Dead Island (maybe someone fired the monkeys and hired real developers). Knowing the bad track of the developer, this time I didn't bought first day, waiting instead until it was finished and debugged (not to say much more cheap).
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    This game is as average as average can get, the game starts off with one of the worst openings ever and proceeds to be flat out average the whole way through. If you could stand the first one then you might be able to stand Riptide. I however have played both and prefer the first one by a long shot. The graphics in this game are pretty bad, and character models are horrible. There areThis game is as average as average can get, the game starts off with one of the worst openings ever and proceeds to be flat out average the whole way through. If you could stand the first one then you might be able to stand Riptide. I however have played both and prefer the first one by a long shot. The graphics in this game are pretty bad, and character models are horrible. There are countless technical issues in Riptide, such as screen tearing, but the island does look beautiful from afar and the water does look pretty good. One thing I am really glad they changed is the weapons damage system which has been greatly improved, and therefor weapons last longer. I wished they had added more zombies types in this game, and it would really be a better game if it had a story that I cared about. If the story was good and the graphics were polished this game could get closer to a 7 or an 8. Saying that, this game did do some good things, like the new defense missions where there are zombies flooding a village and you put up barricades and kill all the zombies, I thought that was pretty cool. And I also liked the upgrade system in this game, which I believe returned from the last game, it still works the same and I still liked it. Saying all that this game could have been SO much better, and if Riptide could have a better story and graphics I'd say they could get something really good going. Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    I really don't know what to say. This game had so much potential and yet it is marred with horrendous glitches that result in a crash almost every 20 minutes, if not other game breaking problems. You cannot alt tab, loading screens take nearly 10 minutes, entering a new area will take you right to your desktop, items are lost, this is simply horrible. The game would have easily been anI really don't know what to say. This game had so much potential and yet it is marred with horrendous glitches that result in a crash almost every 20 minutes, if not other game breaking problems. You cannot alt tab, loading screens take nearly 10 minutes, entering a new area will take you right to your desktop, items are lost, this is simply horrible. The game would have easily been an 8/10 if not for the technical issues, even with the god inventory management system, well, that's too bad. Expand
  11. May 8, 2013
    5
    Its Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it is alot harder... which I would have liked if it wasn't so unfairly hard. It uses the whole waves of enemies while you defend a area (and in some instances infinite respawning enemies, these areas that you have to run passed which you might realize andIts Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it is alot harder... which I would have liked if it wasn't so unfairly hard. It uses the whole waves of enemies while you defend a area (and in some instances infinite respawning enemies, these areas that you have to run passed which you might realize and fight till you die). The original game had maybe 1 instance of them both, here we get 3-4 in a shorter game.

    +Improvements to combat like new mods and weapons
    +Mini quests (fetch quests) are more interesting this time around rather than the blandness of what was before.
    +Everything the worked before is maintained like modding weapons and visceral combat...

    -One bad new gameplay mechanic, a one-hit kill move where you drop down on a zombie from up high, or at least weaken them down enough for a single extra hit to do the trick. But I’d reserve how often I did this, because it would always leave me staring at my feet for a few seconds while getting attacked by the other zombies, helpless and paralyzed...
    -You end up getting pulled underwater when you explore with the boat, I mean seriously? Insta kills just because we want to explore. If you want to make the game linear like the previous dead island, don't block off areas with insta kills, Because we can't see it coming. Just block the areas off with debris, bouy's, nets, rocks...
    -Difficulty scales widely against you when you play on your own, dead island was criticized for throwing in characters into cutscenes when you play on your own... now theres another reason to hate coop designed game. Not playtesting solo games?
    -The game is roughly 15 hours rather than the 22 hours of the original.
    -glitching weapons and enemies through walls and ground, crashes and disappearing items, teleporting even into far away areas when your coop partner dies.. ect
    -Story is even more disjointed and slow than it was before..
    Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    Possibly one of the most boring games of 2013 this game becomes extremely repetitive and the way zombies re spawn is just one of the many many small things that make this a game to avoid.
    With one of the most dullest storylines in recent memory clunky weapons, glitchy multiplayer annoying sound effects, almost no vehicles to drive my recommendation is to skip this one
  13. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    If you are looking for an advancement and progression on what made the original game great, you'll be severely disappointed. This game is pretty much exactly the same as the original. They've rinsed and repeated the storyline and most of the weapons, and even some building models and textures. I'm sure that this laziness won't be as acceptable in a third game, and Deep Silver should beIf you are looking for an advancement and progression on what made the original game great, you'll be severely disappointed. This game is pretty much exactly the same as the original. They've rinsed and repeated the storyline and most of the weapons, and even some building models and textures. I'm sure that this laziness won't be as acceptable in a third game, and Deep Silver should be well aware of that. They are very lucky that the original was such a good game, or else the score would've been a lot lower. Expand
  14. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Island: Riptide isn´t bring us anything new, but when you love the original game, probably you love this game too. It is not a master piece, but you can enjoy for hours. Expand
  15. Oct 13, 2013
    5
    A good basic idea but repetitive missions and numerous bugs make this game boring and repetitive. They could be better exploited the ideas of the first, but it seems that in this sequel there has been no commitment necessary.
  16. Feb 28, 2014
    6
    Now, if you've seen my xbox 360 dead island review, you'd know I liked the original Dead Island. However, unlike Dead Island, I went into this game expecting a good game like the first with some improvements. This game only has one improvement: John, the new character. The rest of the game is worse. The graphics in the first level are bad, and the rest of the game is ok graphics. TheNow, if you've seen my xbox 360 dead island review, you'd know I liked the original Dead Island. However, unlike Dead Island, I went into this game expecting a good game like the first with some improvements. This game only has one improvement: John, the new character. The rest of the game is worse. The graphics in the first level are bad, and the rest of the game is ok graphics. The controls (on pc at least) were bad. The amount of lag I received playing online, was bad. The storyline was ok. The gameplay was slower than Dead Island. And don't expect a good ending for it either. Expand
  17. Jun 22, 2014
    6
    This game was semi-disappointing since Deep Silver did not fix any of the existing problems from the first game, and even threw in a few more bugs. On paper, the game looks like it has plenty of improvements, and even a new character to play with, but they fall short with repetitive loss of sound, heavy spawn glitches, and a lack of original dialog from the voice actors that makes the gameThis game was semi-disappointing since Deep Silver did not fix any of the existing problems from the first game, and even threw in a few more bugs. On paper, the game looks like it has plenty of improvements, and even a new character to play with, but they fall short with repetitive loss of sound, heavy spawn glitches, and a lack of original dialog from the voice actors that makes the game play out like a "WWE ##" game by THQ with **** acting and wrestlers just told to say some lines and leave so they could splice them into the game with a grapefruit spoon and rusty barbed wire. I did enjoy that they added siege functions and that the guns are now actually FUNCTIONAL, unlike the first one. This game is worth it for a few nights of fun if you are only paying $14 bucks or less. Expand
  18. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    I will absolutely ignore all release day bugs, this is normal for a new game and I understand how it just needs to get patched out in a few weeks.

    My problem is with the amount of content in this game. The game was released as a full game for $40, but at best it should only be worth $10 and as a DLC. That's at best. The mechanics of the game are exactly the same as the original game (a
    I will absolutely ignore all release day bugs, this is normal for a new game and I understand how it just needs to get patched out in a few weeks.

    My problem is with the amount of content in this game. The game was released as a full game for $40, but at best it should only be worth $10 and as a DLC. That's at best. The mechanics of the game are exactly the same as the original game (a game I absolutely love) which is no problem for me, I don't mind at all the hack and slash nature of the game, but the total content for quests, area, and objects in riptide amounts to LESS than the beach map part (the first part) in the original game. For people who don't know what I'm talking about, they are charging the same amount to buy riptide as the original game, but riptide only has 1/6 the story, area, and object content as the original game.

    This game should have been an expansion for 1/10th the price, that's the short story.
    Expand
  19. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    ZOMBIEEEEs! :D Hey guys i hope this review will help you. I love zombie games, RE 6 and all the things around. However i also liked Dead Island. I enjoy the game and stuff and was happy when i heard that another part of DI is coming out, riptide. I had big expectations, for example new story new characters and stuff. Sadly i got dissapointed. Reasons for it Same characters nothing new,ZOMBIEEEEs! :D Hey guys i hope this review will help you. I love zombie games, RE 6 and all the things around. However i also liked Dead Island. I enjoy the game and stuff and was happy when i heard that another part of DI is coming out, riptide. I had big expectations, for example new story new characters and stuff. Sadly i got dissapointed. Reasons for it Same characters nothing new, same setting again miles of jungle walking, again same car models, 1000 of other things. Okey they added a new character okey. But what i expect of zombie games is new fire arms, you cant modifiy them for example no supressed weapons would be handy, no sights. Same boring quests, find, put find, search help, bring kill. Apart from that the story is kinda boring. Its not a new game. Its a DLC but its okey nothing special i finished it and it got boring after a while but if you have nothing to play, buy it. Expand
  20. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    If your looking for a great in-depth story narrative, then this is most certainly NOT your game. This is very much like Dead Island 1 with hardly any changes other than the obvious cross-hair change, zombie types and basically- Weapons. It practically plays the same as its predecessor. But If you love killing zombies with a variety of weapons Then this is your game!
  21. May 21, 2013
    3
    This follow-up to the series doesn't meet what I was expecting. Loved the first one, Dead Island. this game however is frustrating and has some stupid moments that go beyond trying to be a challenge. When your walking along and get jumped from all directions suddenly by groups of half a dozen zombies that with your stamina and health, you have no chance to fight so you just sit there andThis follow-up to the series doesn't meet what I was expecting. Loved the first one, Dead Island. this game however is frustrating and has some stupid moments that go beyond trying to be a challenge. When your walking along and get jumped from all directions suddenly by groups of half a dozen zombies that with your stamina and health, you have no chance to fight so you just sit there and wait to die so you can reload. that's not a game, that's a joke by the programmers who are trying to loose their client base :D. Another thing that drives me nuts is what seems to be a lack of physics for water on zombie movement, they run faster in the water than I do on dry land? Overall I am disappointed in the game and if given the chance I would have waited for the price to drop by half before buying. Expand
  22. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    It is not horribly difficult to love the original Dead Island. Even if you did love the original, Riptide's lack of vision somehow serves to make its predecessor seem better by comparison. Riptide is not changed enough in good ways and changed more than enough in bad ways to take what was a critically divisive but ultimately enjoyable title and turn it into a thoroughly unenjoyable one.
  23. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    The story is nice just as it was in the first one so that boosted the rating. And fixing things like appropriate zombie levels to scale with characters is nice. However...Meh... Same game (and bugs somehow). There is nothing new or amazing about this. It really is just the next chapter to a story without any other twists or surprises. When considering getting this game think to yourself,The story is nice just as it was in the first one so that boosted the rating. And fixing things like appropriate zombie levels to scale with characters is nice. However...Meh... Same game (and bugs somehow). There is nothing new or amazing about this. It really is just the next chapter to a story without any other twists or surprises. When considering getting this game think to yourself, "would I read the second book to this series"? Expand
  24. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    A mere mission pack, where you can clearly see when they run out of money. The beginning is fine, but further you get, disappointment rises, and last third (with ending) is just miserable. Ending was a joke and it's clear they want to milk the series even more. I wouldn't be against it if the quality wasn't so poor! There is hardly any improvement at all and I don't know how they expectA mere mission pack, where you can clearly see when they run out of money. The beginning is fine, but further you get, disappointment rises, and last third (with ending) is just miserable. Ending was a joke and it's clear they want to milk the series even more. I wouldn't be against it if the quality wasn't so poor! There is hardly any improvement at all and I don't know how they expect people to get interested when the best they could do is this. Expand
  25. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Personally I do not agree with a lot of the complaints regarding this game. First off, I have no problem with any of the multiplayer features and I bought, downloaded and started playing this within 2 hours of release. 2nd, I do not agree that this is just a re-hash of the 1st one. They have made a great deal of game play enhancements to this game that have made it more like thePersonally I do not agree with a lot of the complaints regarding this game. First off, I have no problem with any of the multiplayer features and I bought, downloaded and started playing this within 2 hours of release. 2nd, I do not agree that this is just a re-hash of the 1st one. They have made a great deal of game play enhancements to this game that have made it more like the difference between Farcry 2 and 3. The weapons have been expanded and the more advanced weapons are very cool. The modifications that you can add to your weapons after collecting a blueprint are fascinating and a number of them enhance the stopping power of the weapon greatly especially after you have upgraded it to the 4th level.
    The comments about collecting from the same boxes/suitcases, etc... multiple times is irrelevant. In order to collect enough money to get the later weapons and upgrades, naturally the costs skyrocket, so they have made it easier by resetting some of the collection areas randomly (so you never know what you will be getting), but the amount of money you collect from the average drops do go up and the number of drop sites goes down dramatically.

    I have been having a great time with this release, playing for nearly 12 hours nonstop. It's a lot of fun! Having some 350 games just on Steam and another 500 elsewhere not to mention the disks, I rarely play one game for such an extended period. Not sure if I would be up for a replay once it's complete as it's a very long and complicated set of quests and side missions intertwined.

    I do have some negative comments, they are all not positive, few games will ever get that treatment. The primary question I have is whether the map should be bigger and the map system better adapted to see more of the area you have already explored. The current map is very detailed and if the mission takes you across the map, you can't see where you need to go nor map a route to get there. This adds to the frustration of playing, however you will eventually memorize the map and know the correct route eventually. I just think that with a better mapping interface, they could have made a bigger map and we would not have to visit the same areas so many times (areas, not exact locations, locations are visited once, but if the guy there sells weapons, you may not have the cash to buy the weapon you want and have to return once, max.
    There are issues with the sound, I believe them to be related to their generation of the torrential rains that this kind of jungle would naturally get. However, sometimes, the sound is more like static rather than pounding rain. I am sure that this could be fixed soon. I honestly do not have any bugs that are in anyway annoying other than the rain. However and as with all other games there are issues, but not something worth bashing the game over. This is a solid game and you will get many many hours of game play out of it, as much or more that the average game of this type. (can't say for sure as I haven't completed it).

    I appreciated the plot, the missions and the side quests and it's very satisfying to get all the XP for completing most. Which gets to my last issue. The side quests come at you about 8 at a time and all ask for a specific item and quantity. These missions are all completed while doing the main quest, so when you eventually find yourself back at the main base turning in your quests, you can rack up 3 or so levels. I think that we could go for less of that as it is redundant, but as I said, they are all completed in the process of doing the main quest, you just have to explore, something that a lot of people these days seem to want to do less and less of and more run and gun. I, myself, have always been the kind of player that takes his time and looks in every nook before heading on and there is a distinct advantage here should you enjoy that play style.

    Finally, they have enhanced the skill tree for this game. It is much more detailed and the 3 vines are intertwined quite well so as to prevent you from putting all your skill in one tree which gives you the opportunity to experience some of the abilities that you may not start spending SP's until late in the game.

    Finally, Driving is very well done, very smooth, it is very hectic once you get in a boat as the water is teeming with zombies floating who wake up when they hear your boat, but you can easily plow through them with accelerate and easily rack up XP if you spend the appropriate amount of time to learn how to steer and accelerate fluid. Definitely not any sort of negative or reason for taking away a star(s) for sure.

    Also, it is very easy to pick up a single player mission and turn it into a coop mission when you get to the boss or mass zombie fights, no issues with that and I think it was done seamlessly.
    Expand
  26. Apr 29, 2013
    2
    I loved the first game .Played almost 500 hours. I love the game play and graphics, but this games crashes for no reason. If I am running to a location or driving fast it will crash. If I enter a room fast it will crash. Do not buy this game until they fix it. It is seriously broken. I have a good gaming computer. I am Playing Star Trek the game 2013 ,Bioshock Infinity and Borderlands 2I loved the first game .Played almost 500 hours. I love the game play and graphics, but this games crashes for no reason. If I am running to a location or driving fast it will crash. If I enter a room fast it will crash. Do not buy this game until they fix it. It is seriously broken. I have a good gaming computer. I am Playing Star Trek the game 2013 ,Bioshock Infinity and Borderlands 2 they run fine.

    CPU: Intel Core i7 930 Bios 1501
    Mobo: Asus P6X58D Premium
    Video: EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2662-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB
    Video Driver: 320.00-desktop-win8-win7-winvista-64bit-english-beta
    Ram: XMS3 6GB Triple Channel DDR3 Memory Kit (TR3X6G1600C8)
    PSU: RAIDMAX RX-1200AE 1200W
    HDD: Western Digital WD Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
    Heatsink: HEATKILLER Rev3.0 Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator
    Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
    Expand
  27. May 4, 2013
    2
    Generic story and short, copy of first game, pathetic animations, poor design, excessive price.

    Maybe use it 30 min to kill some zombies, but that's all.
  28. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Is Riptide the same game as dead island? Basically yes. Has it been refreshed? Yes. It is still fun to play? Yes. Is it worth $40? Maybe. If charging $40 dollars for this game, helps fund an all new future Dead Island, then I'm all for it. This game deserves better review numbers then it's getting. Some people are just pissed off that riptide feels like a $40 dollar expansion pack. If youIs Riptide the same game as dead island? Basically yes. Has it been refreshed? Yes. It is still fun to play? Yes. Is it worth $40? Maybe. If charging $40 dollars for this game, helps fund an all new future Dead Island, then I'm all for it. This game deserves better review numbers then it's getting. Some people are just pissed off that riptide feels like a $40 dollar expansion pack. If you enjoyed the first one, you should enjoy this one. Some bugs have been fixed, some have not, some probably can't be. As far as Co-Op play complaints, I haven't tried it yet. I like to beat games on my own, get a feel for them and ace the controls before I play multi-player. As I said before, I do hope my $40 purchase is funding an all NEW dead island hopefully for this time next year or sooner. Expand
  29. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    Compared to the first installment of Dead Island, this is a complete disaster.
    I don't even know what went wrong, the gameplay is a mess, hitting zombies is just about luck and not skills anymore.
    The controls and the combat mechanics are clunky as hell and very annoying when you are surrounded by zombies. Not only they made them tougher but also buggier and glitchier just like
    Compared to the first installment of Dead Island, this is a complete disaster.
    I don't even know what went wrong, the gameplay is a mess, hitting zombies is just about luck and not skills anymore.
    The controls and the combat mechanics are clunky as hell and very annoying when you are surrounded by zombies. Not only they made them tougher but also buggier and glitchier just like everything else in this game.

    Visually it doesn't look that good either, zombies spawning in from of you out of nowhere, graphical bugs and random crashes.

    Horrible music, terrible voice acting.
    Constantly bashing zombies just got way too repetitive and boring in this sequel.

    This is a complete messed up game, don't even bother unless its $5.
    Save your cash and get the first Dead Island instead. This is just pathetic beyond relief.
    Expand
  30. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Insanity, buying the same game twice, and expecting a different result.

    Still broken and buggy despite being a minor expansion pack to a 2 year old game.
  31. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill.The game is certainly rough around the edges but what is there is a lot of fun. There is so much to explore and the combat just feels right. I don't need this game to reinvent the wheel, I laugh at people who make these sorts of arguments considering very few games today are truly revolutionizing anything. Dead Island has tons of stuff to explore, weapons to collect, and zombies to kill. The cut scenes are bad, the story is barely there, and I don't care. I just want to have some visceral combat and get cool weapons to continue the slaughter. The game is delivering on that flawlessly. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.