Dead Island: Riptide PC

Dead Island: Riptide Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and theThey assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    I found distracting bugs in all the versions of the game, but playing Riptide on our high-end gaming PC results in a smoother framerate and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    72
    Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    While bugs may have been the bane of Dead Island, the underlying shabbiness of everything else still overwhelms Riptide. For as long as you don't notice the fundamental flaws in game systems and for as long as you can put up with the instantly forgettable story and mission objectives, this is a game where you can have a lot of fun improvising your way through hordes of the undead. Unfortunately, the game lasts twice as long as my patience for the duff bits held out.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 108
  2. Negative: 24 out of 108
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    9
    New story, new zombies, new ways to explore the Zombie lands. Most of the reviews that are critical I wonder if they played the game as it isNew story, new zombies, new ways to explore the Zombie lands. Most of the reviews that are critical I wonder if they played the game as it is so much better than many of the new big ticket games out. This game does have new Zombie types! It is a polished piece of work with the best zombie physics engine going. rich textures, great sound, amazing detail (water that gets cloudy the deeper you look). A skill system that shows results immediately. Variable skill zombies, a weapon modification system, repeating quests and re-spawning zombies in public zones to always keep you on your toes. This game can scare the life out of you if you let it.

    By far the best Zombie adventure I have played yet. There are not many games that can give you that trapped feeling when the zombies come. This game is a new use of an awesome engine that is a natural extension of the original Dead Island.
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is the follow-up of the decent game Dead Island. It's an open world first person shooter/beat em up with RPG elements andDead Island Riptide is the follow-up of the decent game Dead Island. It's an open world first person shooter/beat em up with RPG elements and full 4 co-op playable campaign. Personally, if you liked Dead Island, simply put Dead Island Riptide is 5 times better! The game has improved gameplay, improved zombie danger levels (i get killed SO many times if i'm uncareful now, or if i'm swarmed...), they have added so many more weapons and mods, etc...

    The only points of critic i have are the small time bugs i've encountered, like zombies running through barrels or crates instead of pathing around it, but nothing has crashed or frozen. I haven't found big gamebreaking bugs yet or bugs so bad i started hated playing the game...

    Another point of critic is the somewhat half-assed bad start of the story to the point where i just skipped it and wanted to hit some zombies in the face with my new BBQ knife. You wash up on the shore, some chick runs to you yelling some crap and i was there like: "who the f* are you now?!"

    Overal, great zombie slasher game, i'm loving it so far i got 13 hours in about 2 days already so if you have 40 euro's/dollars spare anyway, buy it until Metro Last Light or Company of Heroes 2 come out (because by that time you'll have finished Dead Island Riptide)

    Support the devs!!!
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Let me start by saying i never played the original dead island...but i have played a LOT of zombie games. That being said, this zombie game isLet me start by saying i never played the original dead island...but i have played a LOT of zombie games. That being said, this zombie game is good, but not great: the graphics are great and really add to the creepy atmosphere, some of the game-play mechanics and controls felt clunky, but not to the point of actually hurting the game. the zombie AI plays exactly how you might expect it to (an the downside it seems like the human AI does too at times). The fact of the matter is, this game is really quite decent, however there was just one thing that killed it for me: the inclusion of a skill tree...pretty much everything else in the game makes sense for a zombie survival horror: weapons deteriorate and eventually break, you can hold very little ammo and guns are extremely hard to find), even the crafting (while somewhat over the top with slightly ridiculous weapons) still makes sense, but when you add in a skill tree and a leveling system, it takes something away from the experience...but maybe that's just me, either way the game is good, but definitely not worth its current price-tag on steam ($40), if it is ever on sale and you enjoy zombie games you should try it out, odds are you will enjoy it (at least for a little while). Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    I have played a couple of hours and here are some impressions. I like the looting, the RPG-elements and the gameplay. Some elements ruin theI have played a couple of hours and here are some impressions. I like the looting, the RPG-elements and the gameplay. Some elements ruin the sense of realism, but can be tons of fun if you can look past that fact.

    The game looks, plays and sounds EXACTLY like the original Dead Island. Graphics looks dated and ugly up close. No AA or AF, graphic options are poor. FOV is narrow and can't be changed ingame. Soundmix is awful (I had to crank voices up to 90%, and lower the others to 20-30% to be able to hear voices properly.) I am amazed that they have carried over the screeching sound for USB 7.1 headsets (makes the game unbearable to play with i.e. a G35.)

    Gameplay has its ups and downs. Mouse acceleration is apparent, it makes the fights more intense; that you have to struggle with the aim. But it makes gunplay insanely frustrating. There are lots of exploration to be done. There are lootable containers EVERYWHERE. They introduce very little new, and has put very little effort into fixing and upgrading previous mechanics.

    I am very much enjoying this game. And as many others have pointed out; if you did not like Dead Island, you will not like this.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    This game is as average as average can get, the game starts off with one of the worst openings ever and proceeds to be flat out average theThis game is as average as average can get, the game starts off with one of the worst openings ever and proceeds to be flat out average the whole way through. If you could stand the first one then you might be able to stand Riptide. I however have played both and prefer the first one by a long shot. The graphics in this game are pretty bad, and character models are horrible. There are countless technical issues in Riptide, such as screen tearing, but the island does look beautiful from afar and the water does look pretty good. One thing I am really glad they changed is the weapons damage system which has been greatly improved, and therefor weapons last longer. I wished they had added more zombies types in this game, and it would really be a better game if it had a story that I cared about. If the story was good and the graphics were polished this game could get closer to a 7 or an 8. Saying that, this game did do some good things, like the new defense missions where there are zombies flooding a village and you put up barricades and kill all the zombies, I thought that was pretty cool. And I also liked the upgrade system in this game, which I believe returned from the last game, it still works the same and I still liked it. Saying all that this game could have been SO much better, and if Riptide could have a better story and graphics I'd say they could get something really good going. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    0
    It doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimizationIt doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimization I'm not gonna rate it more than 0. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews