Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    I found distracting bugs in all the versions of the game, but playing Riptide on our high-end gaming PC results in a smoother framerate and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    72
    Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    While bugs may have been the bane of Dead Island, the underlying shabbiness of everything else still overwhelms Riptide. For as long as you don't notice the fundamental flaws in game systems and for as long as you can put up with the instantly forgettable story and mission objectives, this is a game where you can have a lot of fun improvising your way through hordes of the undead. Unfortunately, the game lasts twice as long as my patience for the duff bits held out.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 91
  2. Negative: 22 out of 91
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Although I didn't play the first game. This got to be the best zombie game I played. The story is good, same with the mechanics. I had no problem with the co-op. But the game gets a bit repetitive when you play the game for a long space of time Collapse
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide is the follow-up of the decent game Dead Island. It's an open world first person shooter/beat em up with RPG elements and full 4 co-op playable campaign. Personally, if you liked Dead Island, simply put Dead Island Riptide is 5 times better! The game has improved gameplay, improved zombie danger levels (i get killed SO many times if i'm uncareful now, or if i'm swarmed...), they have added so many more weapons and mods, etc...

    The only points of critic i have are the small time bugs i've encountered, like zombies running through barrels or crates instead of pathing around it, but nothing has crashed or frozen. I haven't found big gamebreaking bugs yet or bugs so bad i started hated playing the game...

    Another point of critic is the somewhat half-assed bad start of the story to the point where i just skipped it and wanted to hit some zombies in the face with my new BBQ knife. You wash up on the shore, some chick runs to you yelling some crap and i was there like: "who the f* are you now?!"

    Overal, great zombie slasher game, i'm loving it so far i got 13 hours in about 2 days already so if you have 40 euro's/dollars spare anyway, buy it until Metro Last Light or Company of Heroes 2 come out (because by that time you'll have finished Dead Island Riptide)

    Support the devs!!!
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Let me start by saying i never played the original dead island...but i have played a LOT of zombie games. That being said, this zombie game is good, but not great: the graphics are great and really add to the creepy atmosphere, some of the game-play mechanics and controls felt clunky, but not to the point of actually hurting the game. the zombie AI plays exactly how you might expect it to (an the downside it seems like the human AI does too at times). The fact of the matter is, this game is really quite decent, however there was just one thing that killed it for me: the inclusion of a skill tree...pretty much everything else in the game makes sense for a zombie survival horror: weapons deteriorate and eventually break, you can hold very little ammo and guns are extremely hard to find), even the crafting (while somewhat over the top with slightly ridiculous weapons) still makes sense, but when you add in a skill tree and a leveling system, it takes something away from the experience...but maybe that's just me, either way the game is good, but definitely not worth its current price-tag on steam ($40), if it is ever on sale and you enjoy zombie games you should try it out, odds are you will enjoy it (at least for a little while). Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    6
    Now, if you've seen my xbox 360 dead island review, you'd know I liked the original Dead Island. However, unlike Dead Island, I went into this game expecting a good game like the first with some improvements. This game only has one improvement: John, the new character. The rest of the game is worse. The graphics in the first level are bad, and the rest of the game is ok graphics. The controls (on pc at least) were bad. The amount of lag I received playing online, was bad. The storyline was ok. The gameplay was slower than Dead Island. And don't expect a good ending for it either. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    5
    A good basic idea but repetitive missions and numerous bugs make this game boring and repetitive. They could be better exploited the ideas of the first, but it seems that in this sequel there has been no commitment necessary. Expand
  7. May 31, 2013
    0
    well.
    i loved the first dead island game, but riptide is a joke!
    how can people honestly rate it higher than 2, maybe 3? probably those
    people didnt play the first and awesome dead island.

    riptide is like buying a lacoste or nike shirt in china, you get a cheap copy of a wonderful original thing.

    if it was a dlc, i wouldnt mind, the other dlcs were not that great either,...

    but selling this as full new game, without any information that its basically the same game, only with terrible changes and an additional character... thats just robbery in my opinion.
    please do yourself a favour and dont buy it, not even for 5 euros on sale in the future!
    Expand

See all 91 User Reviews