Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and theThey assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    I found distracting bugs in all the versions of the game, but playing Riptide on our high-end gaming PC results in a smoother framerate and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    72
    Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    While bugs may have been the bane of Dead Island, the underlying shabbiness of everything else still overwhelms Riptide. For as long as you don't notice the fundamental flaws in game systems and for as long as you can put up with the instantly forgettable story and mission objectives, this is a game where you can have a lot of fun improvising your way through hordes of the undead. Unfortunately, the game lasts twice as long as my patience for the duff bits held out.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 98
  2. Negative: 24 out of 98
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game as the first one, still makes it a good game
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game willDead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same. There have not been any graphical improvements to the game over the first one, all of the old characters remain as playable characters (with the exception of a new character with a ridiculously fun, but overpowered running kick move), and I have only run across one new type of zombie so far in a few hours of game play. I have to admit, there seems to be a great variety of weapons that were not in the first game (my favorite is the staff that you wield like a bad-ass, zombie slaying Darth Maul). Considering that most new games have a starting price between $50-$60 dollars, i'd say that Dead Island: Riptide is a great buy at the reduced price of $39.99 on steam considering the lack of new material. Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    7
    If you happened to like the first Dead Island you will also enjoy Riptide as well. The game has some minor improvements, a new character, newIf you happened to like the first Dead Island you will also enjoy Riptide as well. The game has some minor improvements, a new character, new enemies and new weapons. It is basically an expansion pack to the original game and should be evaluated as such. Nothing spectacular, but overall a good game. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    I have played a couple of hours and here are some impressions. I like the looting, the RPG-elements and the gameplay. Some elements ruin theI have played a couple of hours and here are some impressions. I like the looting, the RPG-elements and the gameplay. Some elements ruin the sense of realism, but can be tons of fun if you can look past that fact.

    The game looks, plays and sounds EXACTLY like the original Dead Island. Graphics looks dated and ugly up close. No AA or AF, graphic options are poor. FOV is narrow and can't be changed ingame. Soundmix is awful (I had to crank voices up to 90%, and lower the others to 20-30% to be able to hear voices properly.) I am amazed that they have carried over the screeching sound for USB 7.1 headsets (makes the game unbearable to play with i.e. a G35.)

    Gameplay has its ups and downs. Mouse acceleration is apparent, it makes the fights more intense; that you have to struggle with the aim. But it makes gunplay insanely frustrating. There are lots of exploration to be done. There are lootable containers EVERYWHERE. They introduce very little new, and has put very little effort into fixing and upgrading previous mechanics.

    I am very much enjoying this game. And as many others have pointed out; if you did not like Dead Island, you will not like this.
    Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    more of the same but less of the same. Riptide plays and looks pretty much like Dead Island with a few new changes/skills thrown in. fans ofmore of the same but less of the same. Riptide plays and looks pretty much like Dead Island with a few new changes/skills thrown in. fans of the previous version won't really complain about the gameplay or mechanics. however, given that it was released as a stand-alone full-priced game, content is not enough and game is too short. this should probably have been released as a DLC for half the retail price. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    0
    It doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimizationIt doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimization I'm not gonna rate it more than 0. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews