Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    I found distracting bugs in all the versions of the game, but playing Riptide on our high-end gaming PC results in a smoother framerate and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    72
    Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    While bugs may have been the bane of Dead Island, the underlying shabbiness of everything else still overwhelms Riptide. For as long as you don't notice the fundamental flaws in game systems and for as long as you can put up with the instantly forgettable story and mission objectives, this is a game where you can have a lot of fun improvising your way through hordes of the undead. Unfortunately, the game lasts twice as long as my patience for the duff bits held out.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 87
  2. Negative: 21 out of 87
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game
    as the first one, still makes it a good game Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Ok i know there are a ton of defensive fans who would say im wrong but this is my opinion.

    First of all i would like to say that game play
    feels exactly the same from the first dad island, which in fact i do like. but it shouldn't be ignored that the developers didn't try to mix things up.

    The animations are still god awful like in the first game, i don't think quicksilver thought of us again when we said we can see the weird arm movements in the shadows

    The graphics are even more pretty and i have to run the game medium settings, so graphics dont take a toll on lower settings.

    The setting of riptide looks exactly like every part of the other island in the first game but these areas are actually complimented by the graphics in terms of forest density and city textures.

    The new character seems overpowered but that 'll be fixed soon or later.

    they managed to get an 8 from me this time around.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Let me start by saying i never played the original dead island...but i have played a LOT of zombie games. That being said, this zombie game is good, but not great: the graphics are great and really add to the creepy atmosphere, some of the game-play mechanics and controls felt clunky, but not to the point of actually hurting the game. the zombie AI plays exactly how you might expect it to (an the downside it seems like the human AI does too at times). The fact of the matter is, this game is really quite decent, however there was just one thing that killed it for me: the inclusion of a skill tree...pretty much everything else in the game makes sense for a zombie survival horror: weapons deteriorate and eventually break, you can hold very little ammo and guns are extremely hard to find), even the crafting (while somewhat over the top with slightly ridiculous weapons) still makes sense, but when you add in a skill tree and a leveling system, it takes something away from the experience...but maybe that's just me, either way the game is good, but definitely not worth its current price-tag on steam ($40), if it is ever on sale and you enjoy zombie games you should try it out, odds are you will enjoy it (at least for a little while). Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    6
    Now, if you've seen my xbox 360 dead island review, you'd know I liked the original Dead Island. However, unlike Dead Island, I went into this game expecting a good game like the first with some improvements. This game only has one improvement: John, the new character. The rest of the game is worse. The graphics in the first level are bad, and the rest of the game is ok graphics. The controls (on pc at least) were bad. The amount of lag I received playing online, was bad. The storyline was ok. The gameplay was slower than Dead Island. And don't expect a good ending for it either. Expand
  6. May 8, 2013
    5
    Its Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it is alot harder... which I would have liked if it wasn't so unfairly hard. It uses the whole waves of enemies while you defend a area (and in some instances infinite respawning enemies, these areas that you have to run passed which you might realize and fight till you die). The original game had maybe 1 instance of them both, here we get 3-4 in a shorter game.

    +Improvements to combat like new mods and weapons
    +Mini quests (fetch quests) are more interesting this time around rather than the blandness of what was before.
    +Everything the worked before is maintained like modding weapons and visceral combat...

    -One bad new gameplay mechanic, a one-hit kill move where you drop down on a zombie from up high, or at least weaken them down enough for a single extra hit to do the trick. But I’d reserve how often I did this, because it would always leave me staring at my feet for a few seconds while getting attacked by the other zombies, helpless and paralyzed...
    -You end up getting pulled underwater when you explore with the boat, I mean seriously? Insta kills just because we want to explore. If you want to make the game linear like the previous dead island, don't block off areas with insta kills, Because we can't see it coming. Just block the areas off with debris, bouy's, nets, rocks...
    -Difficulty scales widely against you when you play on your own, dead island was criticized for throwing in characters into cutscenes when you play on your own... now theres another reason to hate coop designed game. Not playtesting solo games?
    -The game is roughly 15 hours rather than the 22 hours of the original.
    -glitching weapons and enemies through walls and ground, crashes and disappearing items, teleporting even into far away areas when your coop partner dies.. ect
    -Story is even more disjointed and slow than it was before..
    Expand
  7. May 31, 2013
    0
    well.
    i loved the first dead island game, but riptide is a joke!
    how can people honestly rate it higher than 2, maybe 3? probably those
    people didnt play the first and awesome dead island.

    riptide is like buying a lacoste or nike shirt in china, you get a cheap copy of a wonderful original thing.

    if it was a dlc, i wouldnt mind, the other dlcs were not that great either,...

    but selling this as full new game, without any information that its basically the same game, only with terrible changes and an additional character... thats just robbery in my opinion.
    please do yourself a favour and dont buy it, not even for 5 euros on sale in the future!
    Expand

See all 87 User Reviews