Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and theThey assumed they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. However, their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the friendly confines of a military ship, but when an unpredictable storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. May 13, 2013
    85
    Pretty much a carbon copy of Dead Island, which is OK as it's a direct continuation. But the game feels much, much easier with less zombies. Still fun, but next time go for gold. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    I found distracting bugs in all the versions of the game, but playing Riptide on our high-end gaming PC results in a smoother framerate and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    72
    Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    While bugs may have been the bane of Dead Island, the underlying shabbiness of everything else still overwhelms Riptide. For as long as you don't notice the fundamental flaws in game systems and for as long as you can put up with the instantly forgettable story and mission objectives, this is a game where you can have a lot of fun improvising your way through hordes of the undead. Unfortunately, the game lasts twice as long as my patience for the duff bits held out.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Riptide isn't especially good, but I can't help but feel that it might well be the most accurate depiction of what trying to survive a zombie apocalypse would be like in reality.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    With the all new and exciting bugs Techland have added, you are paying seven times as much for a worse version of the game.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 100
  2. Negative: 24 out of 100
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the original Dead Island, and I love Riptide. Having a new character to play, new infected to kill, they also changed up the story a bit and some of the stuff you can do.
    I've had no issue playing with friends as I have seen people complain.
    It's a continuation to the first game, kind of like the F.E.A.R. series, L4D L4D2, Serious Sam, etc. So of course it's going to have a lot of the same game mechanics, that's just a petty excuse to not like a game.
    It is a lot like Dead Island, but it does have a lot more stuff to it. Like new character, new (some fun) weapons, more infected, and for example another means of travel is a boat. I have personally had no issues with the game except some minor glitches like the first game had. It's just a bit dull when you're not playing with other people.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game
    Good for anger management

    Just like the first one, you slay the living out of zombies. Pretty graphics. Even tho it's almost the same game as the first one, still makes it a good game
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Dead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game willDead Island: Riptide offers almost the exact same experience as the previous Dead Island. If you loved the first dead island, this game will offer the same zombie slaying fun that the last game had. However, if you hated the first dead island, stay well away from this title. When i say that Dead Island: Riptide has the exact same game play as the first Dead Island, i mean the EXACT same. There have not been any graphical improvements to the game over the first one, all of the old characters remain as playable characters (with the exception of a new character with a ridiculously fun, but overpowered running kick move), and I have only run across one new type of zombie so far in a few hours of game play. I have to admit, there seems to be a great variety of weapons that were not in the first game (my favorite is the staff that you wield like a bad-ass, zombie slaying Darth Maul). Considering that most new games have a starting price between $50-$60 dollars, i'd say that Dead Island: Riptide is a great buy at the reduced price of $39.99 on steam considering the lack of new material. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    7
    First of all this is an expansion pack not a sequel. The only thing you get is a new campaign with a few new enemies and a new (useless)First of all this is an expansion pack not a sequel. The only thing you get is a new campaign with a few new enemies and a new (useless) character everything else is pretty much the same. Same gameplay mechanic, same graphic and also the same bugs and problems (they could of at least fixed the autoequip problem so I don't have to do it myself). I liked the game but not so much as the first game since the locations are a bit boring. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    This game is pretty much just like the first game. Sure I loved the first Dead Island, but Riptide doesn't improve anything that neededThis game is pretty much just like the first game. Sure I loved the first Dead Island, but Riptide doesn't improve anything that needed improving. And to me seems worse.

    With some minor improvements such as alcohol, molotov's grenades no longer taking up inventory space and there are now specific weapons classed as throwing which also don't waste inventory space, such as throwing knives.

    I like that I could import my lvl 52 character.

    Story was not as good as the first and neither were the locations, weren't as interesting or as fun to explore. Walking slowly through flooded jungle becomes tiresome. It feels more like a tunnel than open world.

    Dislike that still guns can only be found in later lvls, nor can you store excess ammo in your inventory, can only have maximum in your gun and that's it.

    For completing a mission my lvl 70 character is awarded a purple lvl 15 pistol. Rewards should be equivalent to my characters lvl.

    I carried a fuel container to a petrol bowser and left it there and went into the nearby bungalow which loaded as a seperate zone and fought some killer zombie and came out and my fuel container was not there anymore, it was listed as back where I picked it up from. Really annoying that when you go into bungalows and caves they load as a seperate area and when you go back out everything is reset including zombies, cars and items.
    This is really annoying, that I have to trek all that way again.

    Also going into another zone such as a building and out again will cause the side quest you were tracking to change to tracking the main quest instead.

    Ordinary Walker Zombie's can one hit kill very accurately by throwing a weapon at you. A bit ridiculous and contradictory considering they aren't smart enough to climb a ladder, but are smart enough to use and throw a knife at you. Zombies are meant to be mindless and it takes a being with a mind and reason to be able to use a weapon. (I know zombies could throw weapons in the first game, but that didn't result in 1 hit kills with full health).

    Respawns are way too fast.

    I clear an area and zombies respawn moments later. They seem to make respawns in Riptide way too fast. I liked how it was In the first game, the area would stay clear for quite a long while.

    Still no autosave added, not being able to save when you want is a pain, the game only saves when you quit or reach cheackpoints. I exited the game after the survivors moved from Paradise camp to Halai Village, but when I reloaded my game I was not in Halai village which is SE, for some stupid reason my character was all the way fartherest south west point in Pearl Sands. It should leave your character where you quit. Not on the total opposite side of where your character last was. Other times after reloading. Quitting and reloading has the problem of not knowing where your character will be as it's often not where you last were.

    There's too many annoying things that make Riptide not as fun as the first.
    The game was sort of fun, but also frustrated me alot and took patience to be able to endure the frustrating elements, it felt like a backward step with this game instead of forward.
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2013
    5
    Its Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it isIts Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it is alot harder... which I would have liked if it wasn't so unfairly hard. It uses the whole waves of enemies while you defend a area (and in some instances infinite respawning enemies, these areas that you have to run passed which you might realize and fight till you die). The original game had maybe 1 instance of them both, here we get 3-4 in a shorter game.

    +Improvements to combat like new mods and weapons
    +Mini quests (fetch quests) are more interesting this time around rather than the blandness of what was before.
    +Everything the worked before is maintained like modding weapons and visceral combat...

    -One bad new gameplay mechanic, a one-hit kill move where you drop down on a zombie from up high, or at least weaken them down enough for a single extra hit to do the trick. But I’d reserve how often I did this, because it would always leave me staring at my feet for a few seconds while getting attacked by the other zombies, helpless and paralyzed...
    -You end up getting pulled underwater when you explore with the boat, I mean seriously? Insta kills just because we want to explore. If you want to make the game linear like the previous dead island, don't block off areas with insta kills, Because we can't see it coming. Just block the areas off with debris, bouy's, nets, rocks...
    -Difficulty scales widely against you when you play on your own, dead island was criticized for throwing in characters into cutscenes when you play on your own... now theres another reason to hate coop designed game. Not playtesting solo games?
    -The game is roughly 15 hours rather than the 22 hours of the original.
    -glitching weapons and enemies through walls and ground, crashes and disappearing items, teleporting even into far away areas when your coop partner dies.. ect
    -Story is even more disjointed and slow than it was before..
    Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    0
    It doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimizationIt doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimization I'm not gonna rate it more than 0. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews