Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    92
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    Dead Rising 2: Off the Record has problems - and that's compounded by the fact that some of those issues are inherited, rather than new. It's a game with strengths too though, and while Off the Record doesn't prove to be any better than Dead Rising 2 on the whole, it certainly isn't any worse.
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    75
    It's hard to evaluate Dead Rising 2: Off the Record. For those who still didn't play the second episode of the series, this remake could be even better than the one with Chuck Greene. I mean, you have an aged but still nasty Frank West instead, the chance to take pictures, some new elements (including the Sandbox Mode), all for a lower price. But if you already beaten Dead Rising 2, don't even bother: the story is the same, the bosses are the same and the new modes aren't that good.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    Capcom are trying to get money from out of your wallet, and they don't even bother to impress you for it. It means that if you have played the second volume, you would waste your money for this Off The Record game. If it's not your case, buy it and slaughter those goners until dying away.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    65
    Fans of Frank West can rejoice, others shouldn't waste their time. We suspect those others will be a majority. [December 2011, p.98]
  6. 60
    Almost identical copy of the original game comes with too little extras to attract veterans of Dead Rising. Only suitable for newcomers who skipped the previous games. [Dec 2011]
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    60
    It's basically the same game we had fun with a year ago – it features the same city and almost the same story with a new main character. It's not a bad game but I can recommend it only to the diehard fans of the series. [November 2011, p.61]
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    The way this game depicts Frank going through nearly the same story you've seen before sort of cheapens the existence of the original Dead Rising 2.
  9. 55
    The features of DR2:OTR would have been welcome in a DLC priced at 10 euros, but are unacceptable for a standalone product, despite the somewhat lowered price. [February 2012]
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    46
    Even if the new features had been awesome, this would have been a pointless re-release. [Jan 2012, p.810]
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    I played this game all the way through twice and loved it! The addition of Sandbox Mode is such a huge improvement! It is something that the Dead Rising series should have had from the start and in a game where exploration is rewarded, but time is limited Sandbox Mode is perfect! I've read a lot of reviews that say "killing zombies gets old," and that's why this mix of Story and Sandbox is so great. The level up, inventory, and skills systems are all well executed. The story is gritty without taking itself too seriously and the main characters are very interesting. My only complaint is that sometimes actions take a little too long to perform, which can mess up your timing in tense situations. If you haven't played Dead Rising 2 or always wanted to explore Fortune City without restrictions I highly recommend this game. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    1
    This product is a full priced DLC with very little new content. A new character, a new building, few new weapons and zombie models, and a not too interesting photo feature. The story is the same, the missions are the same, most of the content are the same as the base Dead Rising 2. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    It might only be worth your time if you haven't played the original Dead Rising 2. I never got around to it, but even still Off the Record has its flaws. The story is pretty nice, but from what I understand it simply inserts Frank West in Chuck's old scenes (I'm not sure though, so I won't hold it against the game just in case). The gameplay, however, has a few problems which will annoy people to varying degrees. Weapons still degrade very quickly, which isn't a huge issue but it can lead to some saving your best weapon for when you really need it or you think it will be most fun. It's still a minor annoyance to me that you can't hold more ammo for a gun than what comes with it. If you empty the gun, you need to go find another gun somewhere. The game has long animations typical of some of Capcom's games, which may annoy some people but it's not really a big deal for me. Just beware if you're being crowded by zombies (or swamped by hostile humans) and you're low on health, it's unlikely you will be able to quickly eat something or pick up a new weapon to save yourself. These dire situations are rare though and I'd say they're more often the fault of the player than the game. And of course, escorting survivors is still a big part of the game since it gives such a huge PP (experience) boost. Escorting people is never fun and it's not different in this game. Be warned that you do have to walk them back to and actually enter the safehouse to rescue them. Capcom did not update the game to use DR2: Case West's hostage rescuing system.

    There's a sandbox mode now, which removes the "missions" of the game. This leaves it pretty empty feeling. What you can do amounts to killing zombies and doing some timed challenges that have so far been all about killing zombies. There's leaderboards for this stuff, if that interests you. The sandbox stuff would be better if the world was more open and had no loading times, but that would be more work than is worth doing on Capcom's part I guess.

    The game is a definite improvement over DR2 but the improvements aren't worth $40 if you've played DR2 already. It's probably worth your time and money if you enjoyed the original DR, Case Zero or Case West though.
    Full Review »