Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    73
    Apocalypse Edition is basically the same experience as Dead Rising 3 on Xbox One adding the Untold stories season pass. Expands the gameplay of the series to a big city, Los Perdidos. Nick Ramos is a mechanic who has to survive with others in a unoriginal sandbox, which is not innovative.
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition doesn’t differ much from the Xbox One version released last year, but it hasn’t lost any of its fun factor since then. A higher frame-rate and slightly better graphics offer some advantages, but the real value is in playing Dead Rising 3 cooperatively.
  3. 70
    Apocalypse Edition is not going to sate anyone looking for a deep narrative experience - The Walking Dead or The Last of Us this is not. However, for those looking for a higher level of action and maybe something a bit more humorous (albeit not kid friendly in the least, just for the record), then Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition could be a real treat.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 21, 2014
    70
    A beautiful expansion of a franchise hampered by its history. [Oct 2014, p.60]
  5. Sep 16, 2014
    70
    This PC release contains all the DLCs, except the last one. The conversion is not so brilliant and many technical issues still persist. Still, the game offers many hours of insane and funny gameplay.
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    70
    A computer version of Dead Rising 3 has met our expectations. It has brought free downloadable content and generally great fun, already known from the Xbox. But its technical optimization along with a number of overlooked issues are good enough reason to quarter Capcom's staff.
  7. Sep 9, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3's world is grey and bland, yes, but those aren't words that can be used to describe the frenetic zombie-culling action which forms the game's core.
  8. Sep 4, 2014
    70
    This Apocalypse Edition is the exact same game that we played one year ago on Xbox One: dismembering zombies is certainly entertaining, but on the long run even that can bore you. The game comes with support to a full HD resolution, but frame rate issues are still there, and the technical requests are inexplicably high.
  9. Sep 4, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3 has a better look on PC and will entertain you big time. It is generous and fun, we have never seen so many zombies in the streets, the open world is full of activities, featuring stupid and hilarious ideas... The best game of the Dead Rising saga.
  10. Sep 6, 2014
    67
    But if you have yet to experience Dead Rising 3, then this might be worth a look. But if you value performance over everything else, you’d do well to play the waiting game and see what fixes, if any, the community may produce.
  11. Oct 30, 2014
    65
    It may not have the strongest story in the series, but the gameplay is enjoyable due to the number of weapons and crafting options at your disposal.
  12. Sep 26, 2014
    65
    Even if you play Dead Rising 3 together, it still quickly becomes stale and boring. New gadgets and weapons differ mostly by animation, while zombies are just an annoying obstacle on your road to the next waypoint.
  13. Sep 12, 2014
    65
    Apart from the optimization issues, Dead Rising 3 is still a lot of fun.
  14. Nov 14, 2014
    60
    All in all, Dead Rising 3 is a fun, open world zombie-splattering experience that is notably let down by a weak narrative, derivative boss fights and too much emphasis on using crazy weapons to obliterate scores of undead.
  15. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 13, 2014
    60
    Botched port mires an otherwise interesting title. The game doesn't look as good as it should on the PC and there are heaps of technical issues. Still a fun and absurd ride, though. [Issue#245]
  16. Sep 12, 2014
    60
    With a more engaging story that didn’t solely rely on zaniness and/or idiocy to sell itself, Dead Rising 3 could have been more worthy of recommendation. Instead, accept my lukewarm approval of it as a purchase decision.
  17. Sep 10, 2014
    60
    No game does zombie carnage as well as Dead Rising, but tired storytelling, repetition, and technical shortcoming hamper the experience. What's left is a bland game that leans too heavily on its impressive central combat mechanic.
  18. Sep 9, 2014
    60
    Dead Rising 3 should appeal to people enjoying short, simple fun in a world full of imaginary possibilities (especially when they do it in cooperation). The game definitely will be fun for fans of zombies (it's pretty much a must buy for them). All in all, Dead Rising 3 is a good but monotonous game that had some bad luck. First it had to be finished for Xbox One's premiere (a giant patch followed) and now it's very poorly optimized.
  19. Sep 8, 2014
    60
    The PC version of Dead Rising 3 is the same game as on Xbox One, but with better graphics and a higher frame rate. However, you need a high end PC to get the most out of the game, which makes this version interesting for a select group of gamers.
  20. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2014
    55
    PC gamers had to wait whole year to get their hands on Dead Rising 3. It’s hard to tell what Capcom Vancouver was doing all that time because the quality of Apocalypse Edition leaves much to be desired. It has all the problems of the Xbox One version, the frame rate is locked at 30 fps and the loading times are disgraceful. [Nov 2014, p.74]
  21. Sep 9, 2014
    50
    With a bit more time in development, Dead Rising 3 for PC could have been the definitive version. Unfortunately, an above-average game is hamstrung by a port that runs poorly on stronger PC hardware. Crashes and framerate issues abound. If you really want to play Dead Rising 3, your best bet is to wait or pick up the Xbox One version.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    As always, the developers have done on the PC port of the curve, it is absolutely not thinking about optimization. User Score is quiteAs always, the developers have done on the PC port of the curve, it is absolutely not thinking about optimization. User Score is quite natural.

    Zero Optimization. 0 of 10.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    5
    This is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more toThis is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more to hold it together (like some kind of not dreadful story or characters), otherwise it gets old fast. After about the 5,000th zombie that I ran over, I caught myself getting distracted by the TV. Not a good sign. As for performance, this is the most demanding game I've installed on my PC. I suppose you could get 30 fps on a fairly good system if you tone it down a bit, but if you max it and unlock the framerate you're most likely gonna have a problem. On my 4790K, 16 GB Ram and a 780 Ti, the framerate was inconsistent. It fluctuated constantly between 50 and 70, although it usually stayed above 60. That's fine, but the game does not look anywhere near as good as it should for it to drop to 50 on a 2500$ system. It's a marginal improvement on something like Just Cause 2, and that game runs at 4 times the framerate. So, in conclusion, if you have a good PC, and if mowing through thousands of zombies for dozens of hours is enough to keep your attention, I recommend this game. Otherwise, I suggest you wait for some patches and a sale. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    It runs like **** the port is **** wait until a patch is made. I love the Dead Rising series. I pre-ordered DR3 on the first day it wasIt runs like **** the port is **** wait until a patch is made. I love the Dead Rising series. I pre-ordered DR3 on the first day it was available even before Capcom added the free DLC to the pre-order. Too bad the PC port for DR3 is complete and utter **** This is probably the second worst PC port in history only second to GTA IV. This is ridiculous. The game crashes after changing the graphics to low, and quitting, and it can barely play up to 30 fps at all on any machine. Go buy the console version, unless you want an unstable ****ty port.

    EDIT: Even after more frustration, I've run tinto MORE BUGS. Crashes to desktop, freezes to my PC, indefinitely stuck on the logo screen for eternity. This game needs a patch FAST. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is still too buggy, ESPECIALLY FOR NVIDIA users! Wait until you hear more about this because you waste your money. Expect less than 30 fps for only a couple zombies, and once again crashes every 5 minutes.
    Full Review »