Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    90
    Dead Rising 3 Apocalypse Edition is a must-have for any sandbox rampage lover.
  2. Sep 11, 2014
    90
    The graphics are just as impressive here as they were on the Xbox One: Witnessing literally thousands upon thousands of zombies on screen at once is breathtaking, as is charging through them with muscle cars.
  3. Oct 31, 2014
    85
    Even though it has a few annoying and erroneous elements and an uncompelling, cringeworthy story, Dead Rising 3 is still an incredibly fun game. If you're looking for something where you can turn your brain off and go ballistic- Dead Rising 3 is going to be a perfect fit for you.
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    85
    Dead Rising 3 is truly a game that is its best when it isn’t trying, it is unapologetic and bloody, and one of the best zombie hack and slash games that has ever been released.
  5. Sep 6, 2014
    85
    Dead Rising 3 had big shoes to fill, following in the wake of two games that had huge impact on the gaming community. While it is by no means a perfect game, and falls slightly behind the original Dead Rising, it is a welcome breath of fresh air into an otherwise stale zombie genre.
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    83
    The same great game it is on Xbox One, but prettier. On the other side of that coin, it includes the same issues with the map design feeling maze-like and confusing, but no other game does huge hordes of zombies quite like this one.
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    82
    Dead Rising 3 is a remarkable game, capable of bringing a lot of fun to fans of open-world games and zombies. Unfortunately the modest technical area and the poor performance even on high-end computers, may be a let off to a lot of gamers who would like to try it.
  8. Sep 4, 2014
    81
    Dead Rising 3 on PC has got higher resolution and more details than the Xbox One version, but also some frame rate issues if you don't have a beast of a PC. It still is a very good third episode for the Capcom series.
  9. Sep 8, 2014
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a step forward for the series as it finally finds the confidence to expand its setting, which is mostly down to better hardware being available.
  10. Sep 7, 2014
    80
    Great for the PC crowd, provided you have a controller.
  11. Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition is a beefy port of a great Xbox One game and its decent post-release content.
  12. Sep 4, 2014
    80
    After cutting loose with a pair of chainsaw swords, or giving zombies a devastating Street Fighter "Shoryuken" Dragon Punch, you can wash the blood and gore off your boots with the knowledge that it was all time well spent.
  13. Sep 10, 2014
    79
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition is a solid attempt in the Capcom series and it's rich in content, but in terms of graphics and optimization this port should have been better.
  14. Sep 4, 2014
    79
    The killing-lots-of-zombies genre is overcrowded, but Dead Rising 3 is one of the best, with a lovable dedication to fun, and some of the most inventive, hilarious weapons on PC.
  15. Dead Rising 3 is an enjoyable and fast-paced game. We have many options for weapon, vehicle and suit. However, high system requirement and low frame rate ruins everything. Dead Rising 3 really needs to solve its own technical problems as soon as possible.
  16. Sep 13, 2014
    77
    Dead Rising 3 is funny, and more importantly a riot to play.
  17. Sep 4, 2014
    77
    30 fps, some tearing, improved but still "flat" textures. Dead Rising 3 PC conversion is not as solid as we hoped. The game is still fun to play, but we were expecting more on the technical side.
  18. Sep 29, 2014
    76
    Dead Rising 3 Apocalypse Edition is a confused but enjoyable zombie-killing sim.
  19. Sep 4, 2014
    76
    Capcom has done a great job bringing the game to PC, but there's no reason to play if you've already done on Xbox One, since the additions are merely visuals.
  20. Nov 26, 2014
    75
    For extremely high-end PC gamers who don't have the console in question, this is a great chance to try out a special game. Everyone else should just stick to the original version.
  21. Sep 9, 2014
    75
    Dead Rising 3 is still the same fun, over the top, zombie slashing, open world game we learned to love on Xbox One. Unfortunately, unless you have a high end PC gaming rig, you will have frame rate and gameplay issues. But if you do have one, you will have a blast killing everything in sight.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    As always, the developers have done on the PC port of the curve, it is absolutely not thinking about optimization. User Score is quiteAs always, the developers have done on the PC port of the curve, it is absolutely not thinking about optimization. User Score is quite natural.

    Zero Optimization. 0 of 10.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    5
    This is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more toThis is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more to hold it together (like some kind of not dreadful story or characters), otherwise it gets old fast. After about the 5,000th zombie that I ran over, I caught myself getting distracted by the TV. Not a good sign. As for performance, this is the most demanding game I've installed on my PC. I suppose you could get 30 fps on a fairly good system if you tone it down a bit, but if you max it and unlock the framerate you're most likely gonna have a problem. On my 4790K, 16 GB Ram and a 780 Ti, the framerate was inconsistent. It fluctuated constantly between 50 and 70, although it usually stayed above 60. That's fine, but the game does not look anywhere near as good as it should for it to drop to 50 on a 2500$ system. It's a marginal improvement on something like Just Cause 2, and that game runs at 4 times the framerate. So, in conclusion, if you have a good PC, and if mowing through thousands of zombies for dozens of hours is enough to keep your attention, I recommend this game. Otherwise, I suggest you wait for some patches and a sale. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    It runs like **** the port is **** wait until a patch is made. I love the Dead Rising series. I pre-ordered DR3 on the first day it wasIt runs like **** the port is **** wait until a patch is made. I love the Dead Rising series. I pre-ordered DR3 on the first day it was available even before Capcom added the free DLC to the pre-order. Too bad the PC port for DR3 is complete and utter **** This is probably the second worst PC port in history only second to GTA IV. This is ridiculous. The game crashes after changing the graphics to low, and quitting, and it can barely play up to 30 fps at all on any machine. Go buy the console version, unless you want an unstable ****ty port.

    EDIT: Even after more frustration, I've run tinto MORE BUGS. Crashes to desktop, freezes to my PC, indefinitely stuck on the logo screen for eternity. This game needs a patch FAST. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is still too buggy, ESPECIALLY FOR NVIDIA users! Wait until you hear more about this because you waste your money. Expect less than 30 fps for only a couple zombies, and once again crashes every 5 minutes.
    Full Review »