Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    95
    Many horror games are able to deliver shocks during play, but none does it as well as Dead Space 2. Isaac's inner struggle in the tense setting of "Sprawl" provides an unforgettable atomsphere, making Dead Space 2 one of the most terrifying and unmissable horror games this generation and the benchmark for others to follow.
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    95
    Dead Space 2 is the best Survival Horror of this generation.
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    94
    Dead Space, improved. Not just a great sequel, but a great horror game. Isaac's dementia and the underused impaling in combat mechanic are the only disappointments, and they're pretty slight.
  4. Feb 24, 2011
    92
    The interaction of great FPS storytelling mixed with light RPG elements has become a very successful formula and created some of my favorite games: System Shock, BioShock, Mass Effect, Half-Life and now Dead Space. The plotline of DS2 is clearly setting up for another sequel, and though I just finished playing this one, I'm already looking forward to the next. Bring it on!
  5. Jan 21, 2011
    92
    Years have passed since the first game, and Dead Space 2 doesn't surprise us as much as the original did, but it has reinvented itself very well. The main character and its new situation help create interest and surprises, and offer us much more. And, again, it knows how to create that thrilling tension which makes it a great horror game.
  6. Jan 26, 2011
    91
    What a game to start 2011 ... Dead Space 2 may not offer any real innovations compared to its predecessor, but in the end, that doesn't matter at all. Isaac Clarke's second appearance presents itself as a very polished, amazingly frightening Horror- and Action-Masterpiece, that doesn't allow itself any aggravating flaws and is therefore this year's first must-have title.
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    91
    Take away the interface tweaks and improved mechanics behind how Isaac moves and feels, and examine the overall structure, you don't have a "good game and then a better game," you have two different games: a creepy sci-fi horror game with some damn good action versus a damn good sci-fi shooter with some creepy parts.
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    An absolute blockbuster that makes the superb original look like a B-movie. [Mar 2011, p.87]
  9. Feb 21, 2011
    90
    The first Dead Space was a stress test, this is a real game where you can stop, recover and play around with different weapons- and it's still extremly thrilling.
  10. Feb 10, 2011
    90
    Dead Space 2 is intense. The campaign lasts around 8 hours on Normal, and almost every minute of that is spent enduring this psychological stress that alternates between exhilaration and agitation.
  11. Feb 7, 2011
    90
    Dead Space 2 hits every base that matters with the precision of a well-aimed plasma cutter. It's also a sharp testament to Visceral Games' hard work in proving again how a single-player experience can still be beautifully relevant in a hobby where online multiplayer can sometimes come off as an entitlement.
  12. Feb 2, 2011
    90
    While Dead Space 2 doesn't reimagine its first iteration, it's amazing, stunning, tough and much more action oriented. It adds an enjoyable multiplayer mode too, which brings some freshness to its formula.
  13. Jan 21, 2011
    90
    The shocking moments, the gruesome deaths, and the fun of playing through this experience again and again are what I took away from this one.
  14. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    A monster of a sequel, offering bigger scares and more excitement than I expected... The tease for Dead Space 3 has my head spinning with questions. [Feb 2011, p.92]
  15. Feb 21, 2011
    89
    Forget coffee, Coke or Red Bull. If you never ever want to sleep again, than there's just one thing for you: Dead Space 2! You will be captivated, shocked and frightened right away from the beginning.
  16. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  17. Jan 26, 2011
    87
    An excellent action-horror sequel. Dead Space 2 doesn't try to innovate, but it's a highly polished alien-rending experience.
  18. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  19. Feb 6, 2011
    85
    It's addicting and it might make it well worth the $60 if you're trying to justify a purchase by calculating overall playtime. You think about that, but I'm telling you, Dead Space 2 is pretty damn good.
  20. Jan 28, 2011
    85
    Dead Space 2's thrilling campaign and intense multiplayer make it an excellent game and a worthy follow-up to its superb predecessor.
  21. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Dead Space 2 is a more than worthy successor to the original, adding plenty of oomph to the series and a solid multiplayer experience to boot. We would have preferred more puzzles and a little less linearity, but that doesn't stop us wanting a third Isaac outing.
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    83
    Like Frankenstein's monster, Dead Space 2 is an assemblage of preexisting parts brought to exciting new life. And like seeing the living dead, it's impressive for a little while… then they start clawing for your brain.
  23. 82
    The main attraction is still the single-player experience, which uses the same approach as James Cameron's Aliens: more action, puns in the dialogues and a touch of military presence in the backdrop. It's too bad though that the flaws dragging it down are there to stay: the multiplayer is underwhelming and problematic, and there are far too few additions when it comes to gameplay and narrative.
  24. 80
    Atmospheric and sometimes even exciting action doesn't bring many new features but greatly develops the original universe of Dead Space. [Issue#200]
  25. Feb 6, 2011
    80
    Dead Space 2 is a great action adventure/survival horror game then – it just isn't necessarily the greatest game in the Dead Space series.
  26. Jan 29, 2011
    80
    Beyond the subtle changes in gameplay and maneuverability, it is not clear whether Dead Space 2 is better or worse than the first: it is simply different.
  27. Jan 25, 2011
    80
    Dead Space 2 is sometimes a confused and disappointing production, but more often than not it's tense and fascinating.
  28. Feb 24, 2011
    70
    If you loved the first Dead Space, you'll like this one. Just not as much. [Mar 2011, p.64]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 737 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 152
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    4
    Nice game overall that I did enjoy playing more or less. Why the low rating? First, it was fairly short 7-8 hours. Second, I somehow expected that story-wise Dead Space 2 would fill gaps that its predecessor left behind and develop the story further. Unfortunately for me, that did not happen. The game became even more linear and the story appeared to me like a lose collection of things that might or might not happen rather than a coherent storyline. To me it looks like they plan to make many sequels. I find that slightly dull. Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Dead Space 2: not the worst console port I've played. The graphics are Full Review »