User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 772

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    4
    Nice game overall that I did enjoy playing more or less. Why the low rating? First, it was fairly short 7-8 hours. Second, I somehow expected that story-wise Dead Space 2 would fill gaps that its predecessor left behind and develop the story further. Unfortunately for me, that did not happen. The game became even more linear and the story appeared to me like a lose collection of things that might or might not happen rather than a coherent storyline. To me it looks like they plan to make many sequels. I find that slightly dull. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Space 2: not the worst console port I've played. The graphics are Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2011
    4
    Closed door sections and the overuse of "rare sudden explosive" events are getting old. The game play might be okay, but in overall this is just a Michael Bay movie. Not really bad, but it has its share of unimaginative shooting sections, where the doors magically lock and unlock. The quick-time events are redundant, and are there just for the touch of surprise. Having said that, surprise is the main element of the game. Would have been a very interesting game, if they exploited some more dynamic options instead of pure scripted events. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    4
    At least they fixed the controls. The first game was hardly ground breaking, but was kinda original, a little scary and fun. This is just Dead Space 1.1, could have been released as DLC. Few new weapons, same old engine and much more linear gameplay. At least in the first game they had a semi-valid reason hey were holding you in a room to fight a few waves of necro's (bio quarantine), now they just expect you to believe that there are numerous coincidentally timed power outages to vital doors.
    Not new, not different, very one dimensional, overuse of quicktime events and far too easy and short.
    Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    7
    Dead Space was pussified. As the developers stated in an interview, the first game was deemed "too scary" for mainstream audience, and they considered that the reason behind the mediocre sales of the masterpiece that is Dead Space 1. In other words, Dead Space 1 was too good to be successful.

    Now, what made me love DS1 was exactly that, as a seasoned horror fan, it's very hard to find
    something to gave me real shivers, be it in movies or games. And DS1 delivered, as no movie or game in recent memory could do - maybe with the exception of Silent Hill 2.

    Yes, there were recycled levels, and yes, they ripped off lots of stuff from other games. But, as Picasso reportedly said, the mediocre artist copies, the great artist steals. Critics called DS1 "unoriginal", but that's missing the point completely. It was worthy not because the script, storytelling or game mechanics (despite dismemberment being original). It was worthy for achieving a overwhelmingly macabre feel that no one on cinema, lest gaming industry, today manage to achieve. Dead Space 2 is just not scary. I played it on the level above normal, got killed a lot of times. Still, I couldn't feel that impressing sensation of imminent danger that made DS1 into the game I loved. Some critics talked about the jump from Alien to Aliens, Ridley Scott to David Big Cheese Cameron. So, it's like having your favorite cult movie being re-shot in a generic commercial way by a Hollywood studio - or, more specifically, a Hollywood studio accidentally releasing a masterpiece and "correcting" it later.

    Now, DS2 has its merits as a game. Combat is still very satisfying, the script is a lot less generic, with Isaac turning into a person with his own will, not a generic vessel of suffering. It deserves the 7 I'm giving for those merits, and for that I'm excluding my comparison with DS1. Fortunately, it's not easier than DS1, maybe harder. On the down side, it's too linear - I really don't see the point of critics in hailing that as an advantage. Worse still, one of the new monsters, the stalker, caught my attention as a symptom of dumbification - it's supposed to hide at corners to suprise-attack you, but it actually sticks its head from the corners so you can peek it every time before it predictably charging head-on for you to cut his legs. The stalker actually playing peek-a-boo with you - I suppose that's adequate for the public they had in mind.

    Maybe it's not the developers' fault or executive meddling, maybe they set the bar too high, or it's just impossible for one to get the same scare twice - see Silent Hill after 2. Still, I'd wait for the price go down a little before acquiring it, not expecting it to be Dead Space, but just a competent monster shooter, a little soulless, but funny still.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    Dead Space 2 may be one of the most lauded PC gaming experiences, but I'll never know, because the same criticisms I had about Dead Space 1 apply to its successor. Namely the fact that your player camera is needlessly 3rd person over-the-shoulder, meaning that at any given time at least 1/4 of the screen is not visible. I played about ten minutes of DS2, shambing around constantly twitching the camera to see into my blind spots like a man with one eye, before I remembered exactly why I quit DS1. It's like trying to watch a movie with someone's head in the way -- This is no kind of way to play a FPS, and with no option to switch to 1st person like you'd expect from any decent game, I had no reason to continue. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2011
    6
    More of the same. Don't get me wrong, it's a great game but I don't see any huge improvement upon this game from DS1. I loved DS1 and thought it was scary as sh*t. But with DS2, I wasn't hooked. There are a couple of noticeable glitches (getting stuck on things and having to restart). There aren't any "omg awesome" guns that were introduced (and useful). There weren't many "omg crazy!" creatures that were introduced. And on a decent computer (I just recently upgraded), the game looks no better than an Xbox port.

    The multiplayer seems cool for a day then I realized there is no depth and it has no replayability. There is only one game type with very minimal maps, there are too many bottleneck points which make for unbalanced gameplay, and you get more points for kills, not completing objectives which makes for extremely slow leveling up if you're focusing on securing objectives.

    Overall, the game is okay, I enjoyed playing it, but if there was a DS3 for next year, I'd skip it or rent it. The way I feel about this game is comparable to Bioshock 2. Feels more like a forced sequel, more of the same, whoop dee doo I was already here before. I got tired of the "No way, the door is locked, you'll have to open it somewhere else" and "the lights went out, watch out for the..." Seriously, you can only pull off something like this once before it gets boring.
    Expand
  9. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    The one thing I praise the most about this game is that it runs very well on my computer, yes, it still uses directx9, but nevertheless it shows us that directx9 is still very capable of producing very good graphical effects when used correctly. As for me I won't have to upgrade my computer anytime soon, and this game proves my point. The other thing I appreciate is that the wireless xbox360 controller works 100%, including full rumble effects for the game, and the controller buttons show within the game, so If you have one of those I would recommend it over a keyboard (but I don't know, if you're a hardcore PC gamer you may prefer the keyboard, its your choice anyway). I also recommend you hook up your PC to an HDTV using HDMI cable, I can because my ATI card has HDMI out...and with that wireless Xbox360 controller whoooha, you're in for a spin (I have a Samsung 55'' 1080p). The only thing I can say about the gameplay right now, since I just started the game is mention the part about the health and ammo...I am constantly running out of them, and therefore it is very difficult to get past certain parts without them, It is also difficult to find them ( especially health). Also the very slow reloading is bad, because when a swarm of necromorphs attack you and you try to reload, they kill you before you can reload. Thus you have to be running away from them while reloading, for them to give you time to reload, this is bad with the faster necromorphs, and when they pop out of nowhere all of a sudden. It is a fun game, it's just kind of difficult, they should have added more health and ammo in certain places. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 1 and 2 are the best examples of interactive horror.....Resident Evil 5 was an embarrassment, frankly, in both tone and content, but this franchise, and this game, in particular nail the wonderful feeling of tension that great games can achieve. The first Dead Space introduced a limited number of well-designed encounters, with a few weapons to balance your progression. DS2 is a tougher game, but is also more modular, with greater variance in player agency in the campaign. Some of the most visceral reactions I had to this game were simply the empowerment one feels after upgrading a weapon (For me, the Javelin gun was hands-down the most powerful with the alt-fire) and feeling untouchable........I do have to bring up the misguided attempt at quick-time sequences/scripted sequences. At times, the game reminds me of Contra or Gradius, with rote memorization rearing its ugly head. This is one of my least favorite trends in narrative gaming at the moment...so, please Visceral, CEASE AND DESIST with any all encounters (Everyone who has played knows of the few I speak of) that are essentially a shooting gallery. Trust your sound design. Trust that we are unnerved by the anticipation of a fair fight by the fantastic lighting and signature noises emitted. (The raptors are a great example of a fair but still challenging/thrilling fight) And trust how unfun it is learn a certain monster closet and perfect it until the choreography is correct.......Games are not formulas, they are a combination of ingredients to be cooked with. Here's hoping Dead Space 3 is even more delicious. Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I highly recommend this game if you're into the survival-horror genre. Graphics are good, level design rules, and gameplay couldn't be better. However, it just wasn't scary. There were a few moments were I jumped and a few moments where I might've "exclaimed', but I was never really dreading the next room like I did with the previous Dead Space. Reason being the lack of isolation. You never really feel alone in a structure infested with aliens. Still fun as hell! Expand
  12. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is in some way indentical to Dead Space 1, but it has a number of new things that manage to uplift Dead Space 2 from Dead Space 1. One thing that really made the game for me where those interactive cutscene things, just amazingly well-made. The sounds and music are downright spectacular. Pretty much the same weapons and a few new ones, a talking Isaac and new armor also make this game more interesting that its predecessor. The animations are silky smooth and the voice acting is very convincing. It has some downright disturbing moments and plenty of very tense and hectic fighting. The enemies are... interesting in a way i guess. Most of them very disturbing and freaky, good variety too, you need different approaches for different enemies. Great game, not too different in terms of gameplay but it does the job of providing a new and very interesting successor of Dead Space 1. Thank you Visceral Games, roll on Dead Space 3. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    Good single player campaign, boring/ crappy version on l4d multiplayer. Results: 10 for single player, because the atmosphere in-game is absolutely amazing and will make you jump, every once in a while, I haven't completed it, but I'm impressed already from 30min game play. 0 for multiplayer. If you ever player l4d, for example, an alien that can jump onto the players - Hunter. Alien that spits at players from close distance- Boomer
    Alien that spits at players from long distance - Smoker, not so much but you get the point.

    DS2 multiplayer is almost exactly the same,but with really, really, really boring objectives. Atm there are no dedicated server (not sure if there will be) so your ping/latency is also 1 out of 4 bars or, 150 ping/latency +. So really, laggy. Very, Very, Very unbalance, between alien and player, which is also very frustrating some times as you spit crap at them 20 times and they can keep using pills or what ever the hell it is to recover back to full health, making your attempt to kill one player is futile. Controls are unresponsive which adds more frustration and including the lag makes the whole multiplayer experience stupid and boring.
    Expand
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This might be what passes for decent gaming for people who use consoles/controllers, but it is excruciating on a PC, a waste of money even on sale. I just uninstalled it, exclaiming, "Oh for Christ's sake!" Even with the patch, the controls are not fully implemented for PC, so Mouse 4 and Mouse 5 are unassignable for some actions.

    This game is fond of removing camera control from the
    player to show set pieces and other animations. This is disorienting in third person (why is this third person?). The FOV is around 65 degrees, designed for a TV, and it can't be changed. This may make some people nauseated, especially with the weird revolutions of the third person camera. Movement itself is extremely clunky. There is no crouching or jumping. You cannot hop over a coffee table or low couch.

    This is quite literally a shooter on rails--you can illuminate the paths to objectives, save stations (there is no traditional or quick saving), and "stores" where you buy guns. These are all on the exact same paths.

    Most of the monsters and other NPCs do not actually inhabit the game world, but are triggered to spawn as you travel a pre-defined path through corridors. The monsters will spawn through otherwise inaccessible doors right behind you or from ceiling panels above. Since monsters do not inhabit the game world, tactical approaches are futile. Clearing a room, for instance, nets you nothing because monsters can spawn wherever they are scripted to appear. All the combat I saw was extremely close quarters, necessitating a bullet time system where you press a button and then shoot monsters in slow motion.

    The environments were rendered well for the againg consoles it was designed for, but they do not evince any actual place. It feels more like you are thrust into an interminable series of gerbil tubes, albeit ones rigged with monster boxes.

    All in all, this game gives you very little freedom to play how you want to play. It is kind of like Disneyland's Haunted House ride, where you are escorted along to see a show, but you aren't really a participant. You are an observer with the illusion of participation, but the illusion is weak.
    Expand
  15. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Dead Space 2 is a third-person shooter that follows in foot steps of Dead Space 1 and continues the story of engineer Isaac Clark and his dead wife that has decided to haunt him as he busts out of a mental ward onboard a space station. The usual suspects are there; scary noises, ugly aliens that tear people apart and a whole lot of blood and dismemberment. Dead Space 2 is exactly like Dead Space 1 only more predictable and perhaps a little bit more frustrating. They still insist on Claarke covering 1/5th of the screen and they still insist on you not knowing what's going on when Claarke is pushed to the ground with his health meter obscured. Most of the time I die it's because I can't tell if I pushed the health button hard or often enough because I'm cornered wondering why my statis-field isn't triggering while the some mutant charges me. They also added these movie sequences where you're never quite sure if you have to do something. I died a lot of times thinking I was in a movie, causing me to sit back and enjoy the spectacle just to realize that the loading screen I am looking at didn't mean level transition but rather rolling back to a previous save point because I somehow failed a quick-time event that I didn't know was a quick time event because there were no indications or they were obscured by the Claarke and his big hiney. It does this right up to the end where the credits start rolling! I didn't fall for it that time, though. Other than that; Dead Space 2 is just fun despite it rubbing in your face just how inferior console shooters really are at every chance it gets. I also thought the writing was pretty good despite there being some very stereotypical and somewhat underdeveloped characters. EA also decided to throw in a lot of the guns and armour right from the start on the PC version. Instead of delivering the DLC in stages, you can access it right from the start possibly giving the player a very big advantage that wasn't intended at all. Of course, you can choose not to use it but EA should just have been less sloppy and respect PC gamers. Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Screams, Shattered Dreams, and Repetition. Once again it appears that Visceral tried way too hard. Dead Space 2 felt like it lacked the improvement that a sequel should have. Although the mouse movement system was improved that was about it. They still felt the need to turn off lights, have stuff pop out when you walk near, and use consistent loops of screaming that are way to frequent for "scary" ambiance. They once again tried way too hard to frighten the player that it got to the point that it once again became laughable after the first few attempts because they were still too predicable. Although i got the game at a discount on steam i still do not think it was worth it. If they are going to pretend that these console/pc games are full sized then they need to start making decent sized areas. Also just like the Cortana visions in Halo 3 the visions in here were just as annoying. I am still hoping for a solid horror/ action game that does not feel the need to try frighten you every time you do something. Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    While this franchise (and Dead Space 2 in particular) might cater to b-grade-horror-movie lovers, gamers with somewhat more refined taste will find Dead Space to be full of cheap scares, sudden noises, mildly awkward controls and clichéd plot points.
  18. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    I was really looking forward to this game. The first edition of Dead Space was the first game ever that actually gave me some cold chills. The game play has been improved in the new version. Isaac can float in his new suit. some new weapons and suits. I don't see many things that can still be improved in this game. I had about thirty hours of fun on the single player campaign before finishing it on the normal level (makes me wonder if Ransu's review is fact based....) My only less positive comment is that this game is in fact more of the first Dead Space game. But finetuned to a higher level. So maybe some more variation by adding more new elements, like the hacking, could have made me give it a ten. Great sound effects and music that get the adrenaline flowing. Great graphics and design (it was great that you actually revisit some parts of the first Dead Space.) You can really experience throughout this game that the designers put a lot of love and attention into the designs, music and script. 49 euro's well spent here. Tip: if you wish to enjoy the game, being a mediocre player like me, don't play it on casual difficulty but do it at least on the normal level, you will have a lot more fun that way. I am not very much interested in the multiplayer features. But I will probably pick it up again in two or three years right before DS3 arrives.... Expand
  19. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    I'll start with the controls, as that was what mattered most to me coming from the awful controls in the previous game which couldn't be fixed. They are absolutely fine once you've turned v-sync off, vastly improved over DS1, mouse+kb work great. Now the game itself - What's GOOD: It is indeed a fantastic game. The environments and scenery are some of the best I've seen in a game, the way you learn to interact with the environment, and in doing so solve an array of puzzles (none of which are too puzzling but feel rewarding none the less), is truly well thought through. The story is as good, if not better, than the first game and there's never a bit where you feel disinterested. It's the story that keeps you wanting to hear all of the audio and text logs as they leak little extra tid bits of information to you, none of which you need to read to progress but because they give you little extras as to how people on the station reacted to the outbreak, always adding to the story and keeping it flowing. Of course shooting the mutated crew-members is fun through-out and the variety that the game throws at you keeps it fresh. The bosses are also far more fun than in the first game and whilst still not as challenging as getting rushed by a mob of red necromorphs, provide fights which give a nice level of satisfaction. The new Spitter enemy as well as the raptors are enjoyable too - some of the best fights were against a pack of raptors as they peak around corners and dart between cover, before rushing head on at you - it really created some tense moments. The game isn't as 'scary' as the first, although I didn't find the first game particularly scary - however I would say it's just as tense and creates some great atmospherical tension. I also like the fact they've gone for less horror and more action, it shows and makes for a better game. The new anti-grav sections are really well made and are an improvement over the first. I also thought the game as a whole, including the characters script, was well written. What's BAD: Well, first of all I wish they would realise that enemies you can't kill aren't fun. Much like in the first game *SPOILER* towards the end there is one who just keeps regenerating and all you can do is stasis it and run away, until 15 minutes later where you finally escape it. I don't know if others enjoy this aspect, but I found it thoroughly irritating in both games and as soon as I saw it appear again in DS2, felt a little annoyed that I would have to go through the irritation of it again. It's not hard, just irritating. */SPOLIER* Another thing is when you get mobbed from all angles with little hope other than using several med-kits. A lot of the time when wave after wave is sent at you, it's exciting and with some skilled shooting you can make it out without a scratch. However, there are other times where you have no option other than to spam kits and shoot. Which brings me to my next criticism, being that life/death felt very much an all or nothing experience. You would either come out of something unscathed or with very little damage - or be reloading the game because you got instakilled from behind without even knowing anything was there. There seemed to be little inbetween. I mentioned that some of the new enemies were pretty cool additions, but some aren't. There are new baby necros which crawl along the walls and explode when you shoot the sack on their back. I don't know if they're meant to be creepy but they just look ridiculous and provide no challenge. The same goes for the child necros, they're pretty cool but one hit kills and provide no challenge. Quicktime events are an annoyance, pressing the same button and making it determine the outcome of a wrestling match isn't very enjoyable - perhaps if they made it so you had to press a sequence of buttons or something of the sort it would be better. The attempt at making the small cutscenes through-out the game with Isaacs girlfriend scary, fall flat on their face - and again feel like it's trying far too hard. My final criticism, which is small but frustrating when it happens, is that sometimes you will think you're in a cutscene only to realise too late that you have regained control of Isaac, and it results in having to reload from a checkpoint. Conclusion: It's a great game overall. You will find yourself getting agitated at certain times, but this usually amounts to the odd room which has been badly designed when it comes to spawning enemies on top of you and inevitably wasting a health pack or two. The variation of environments is excellent and the atmosphere through-out the game draws you in. As I said above, the story is well told and the characters believable. Towards the end i just felt it let itself down slightly with messy enemy spawns and it feeling like an old-skool 'spam health potions whilst blasting things' RPG. Can't get MP to work either. Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Well I just invested 13 straight hours of my life playing this and had a wonderful time. They did a great job with this game! The environments are awesome. The story is predictable but very good. The voice acting and sound effects are excellent. The mechanics worked great (i.e. the mouse without issue - hurray). I really like that the movement of the main character is dampened - that way you cannot just run and gun. You actually have to think, be careful, and it provides for the unpredictability or fear factor. There where even times when a scene was going on I thought I was supposed to watch and ended up dying (ironic). Overall I think Dead Space is one of the most enjoyable and fun franchises out there!!! Expand
  21. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    An incredibly refreshing game in an age of clones and much heralded disappointments. Everything about this game brims with creativity, from the lighting (inspired by the Old Masters such as Rembrandt), to the creatures Isaac encounters, everything in this game appears to have been crafted with love and thought. The user interface is so smoothly integrated with the gameplay itself that the shifting becomes seamless, making the experience even more immersive. Sound is also excellent, although music is limited and never finds a particularly important role. The weapon design is enjoyable and enormously unique, as the electrified javelin throwers attest to. Each weapon has two functions and is entirely upgradable, adding to the re-playability factor. I look forward very much to playing the "New Game +" (Chrono Trigger homage, anyone?) and trying out new weapons, different upgrades, and further exploration in Dead Space's dark world. Expand
  22. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Even after hours of obvious tricks and monsters jumping on your face, Dead Space 2 can shock you until the very end. Graphics are smooth and game is really well optimized, which makes gameplay enjoyable without hiccups or long loading screens. Sound is perfect for a horror game, music cues for battles really pump up adrenaline and spooky ambient sounds while roaming around are keeping you at the edge of the seat. This game was one of the few released recently that didn't get boring after first few encounters with enemies, it's always fun obliterating monsters. RPG elements make it even more interesting. Ending was one of the best I've seen and makes it a perfect conclusion for the series. A word of warning though - game is extremely violent (and not only to monsters), so if you are easily offended by the look of gore you shouldn't buy it without watching trailers or playing demo. Expand
  23. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Let me say that I hate this game. Why? because it scared the living hell out of me. The thickly intense atmosphere is just dripping with desolation, feelings of seclusion, depair and the promise of terrifying creatures hidden within every shadow. Even when you know the scares are coming - they still manage to make you jump. Despite my hating this game for it's unavoidable scares, I love it twice as much for them(if that makes sense). The detail and design of the levels is truly extraordinary and time can be spent in-game simply shining the (fantastically implemented) flashlight around the decor admiring its minute details. Animations and voice work are also truly superb. There are no cheesy b-grade voice samples here, only pure quality. Cut scenes are well acted and choreographed and really assist in thickening the already soupy atmosphere. One thing noticed though, despite the texture work being 99% brilliant, there are still a few low-resolution textures around making me wonder if the work experience kid was honored with a few of his additions. Besides that, everything is candy. Sound effects are spot on... hard-hitting gunfire, flesh-rending impacts, cautious footsteps and distant moans and screams are all produced in spine-chillingly intricate detail. But most importantly the gameplay ties in perfectly, the controls are fluid and responsive and the menus and in-game interactive objects are a breeze to operate... helpful considering the game doesn't stop while you browse your inventory. Dismembering a slavering ghoul whilst micromanaging your stash is an oddly satisfying thing. The directional beacon which points your way to objectives, save-stations, workbenches etc is a treat and prevents you double-backing on yourself and always keeping you on track. Boss encounters are, for the most part, epic. The game avoids sterotypical FPS boss fights by scripting them into ever-changing sequences. One might have you frantically gunning a limb on a huge Necromorph as you dangle from a ceiling with your leg snared. Another may have you madly scrambling through debris, firing off potshots, as another huge demonic creature rips and roars his way behind you - at terrifying speed. There is never a moment this game lets you rest. I had to pause and take a big breath to shake some reality into myself after strings of teeth-grittingly intense firefights ... and to let my poor old ticker return to a remotely normal pace. In regards to the first iteration of this series, do not be fooled by other opinions that there is something lacking here. Dead Space 2 is a rock-solid, chrome polished game, that in my humble opinion, compliments first beautifully. I implore you to buy this game, play it in the dark with your headphones on full-ball and scream like a girl... hell.. I did. Expand
  24. Feb 7, 2011
    9
    Score (9.0).Bien pues después de casi 14 horas de juego efectivo lo he terminado. Muy emocionante la verdad. Sin más dilación voy a analizar sus Pros y Contras:

    Pros:

    -Audiovisualmetne impecable. Mucho más variado que el primero en su faceta artística. Capítulos como el cuatro o el cinco son
    bellísimos. - Permanece la tensión y los buenos sustos sobretodo en la primera mitad del juego ( el prólogo es increíble). Luego el juego pierde ese factor inquietante pero se vuelve mucho más intenso. Tambiénhay alguna escenas bastante gore y repugnante.

    - El nuevo movimiento en gravedad cero es una pasada; lástima que no haya demasiadas zonas de este estilo.

    -La acción se ha mejorado mucho. Los enemigos son más numerosos y letales, el mayor énfasis en la "éxtasis" ( parálisis temporal de los enemigos), en los elementos del entorno para acabar con ellos yuso más inteligente de todas las armas ( eso de utilizar todo el rato la misma arma como en el primer juego se ha acabado). La jabalina o el detonador son muy buenas adiciones. Los nuevos trajes están geniales.

    -Hay poco enemigos nuevos. Pero los combates contra los "stalkers" son muy tensos por sus impredecibles ataques.

    -Momentos cinematográficos muy espectaculares " a lo Uncharted" xD.

    -Historia interesante y muy bien narrada (aunque en mi opinión hay un determinado punto en el que sabes de que va todoâ
    Expand
  25. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    First Dead Space is one of the best Survival Horror game of this generation. The sequel is a little worst than first part. But still is a very good game.
  26. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    This is a very solid game. The multiplayer is great, though it does favor the necromorphs a bit right now (could be just because It's only been out for a day and people haven't unlocked much or learned a lot of the tactics). It really reminds me of Natural Selection which is a very good thing. The singleplayer is well designed and shows quite a bit of polish. The gameplay mechanics have been tweaked to perfection, and they don't just reuse the same scare tactics from the previous game. The graphics are solid, though not on the same level as some of the recent PC titles. The sound and ambiance provided by it are better in every way than the last one, and that's saying something. Overall, I'd say 9/10 for sure, possibly 10/10 if the multiplayer balances itself out. Expand
  27. Feb 1, 2011
    5
    The game becomes extremely linear half way through. The, admittedly, diverse space station becomes tiring after awhile. The guns are cool for a bit, then lose their touch. The story is very straight forward. Not enough content to keep my interest over the full 10 hours.
  28. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Game is Amazing, nice engine, nice Graphics, perfect sound and History.
    100% Recommended =D I am fan of Dead Space Game. Visceral Games Studios. Congratulations.
    Expand
  29. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Words can not describe how I feel about this game. There are very very few games that I believe are worth the $60 price tag that most have when they come out. This one is worth every last penny. Before it came out I was skeptical thinking it looked like a rehash of DS1 but it wasn't. Visceral delivered with the best horror game I've played so far. Isaac's inner struggle is something that thorough the game you wonder is what I'm seeing in his head or is it standing in front of me. The game keeps you on the edge of your seat from the very first moment until after the credits have finished and rewards you with an amazing after completion main screen. It is like playing a 20 hour movie with cut scenes that blend seamlessly with game play. I found myself just floating a few times realizing control of Clarke had been given back to me.

    All of the last hour of the game your jaw will keep dropping more and more until it falls off when you enter the after credit cinematic. From DS1 they fixed or I should rather say improved the game play mechanics more than I could have hoped for. This is a game I think everyone should play and if this is what we start 2011 with then it is going to be an amazing year. I'm holding my breath until DS3 is announced and will preorder it as soon as I can on STEAM. I do not see how anyone can give this any less than a 10 or at least a 9. It has become one of the best games I've played to date only thing I wish they had done is add tessellation and DX11 support. But I'm sure DS3 will have that. So I say good luck and save you ammo and health you're in for one hell of a crawl through the Sprawl.
    Expand
  30. May 18, 2011
    0
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    Expand
  31. May 17, 2011
    9
    Absolutely brilliant game. The constant sheer terror, the pacing, the graphics, the art design, the characters - everything comes together just amazingly in this truly polished masterpiece.
  32. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Great game. Looks good, controls are good, gunplay is good, and above all the story is excellent. A very worthy sequel to dead space 1. Also the multiplayer is a good bit of fun! Is challenging to start because of the progression system which rewards higher level players giving them better unlocks etc (which is good) but puts a steep learning curve! Overall definitely worth playing, atmosphere is very creepy and well executed. Definitely worth the $20 current price tag. Expand
  33. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    First one had me bored quite quickly and had aweful mouse movement, this is a complete opposite.

    I'm 4 hours in and still having fun, even though all the monsters jump at you for cheap scare value. Level design is good, the Zero-G sections really let you break free and the "action cinematics" are superb. Detailed and well-animated. I know it's not a selling point for a game, but the fact
    that everything is engine-rendered makes it fit together very nicely. Expand
  34. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    More of the same from the first however if you loved the first you will love this even more. It's a slightly expanded and more improved upon game that carries out the story and furthers the meanings within. Though it's still a bit lacking in the story department i had to give it a ten. What a ride!
  35. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    Console port crap. This game suffers badly from consolitis. So much so that you can't even bind your mouse keys, they are assigned to functions that you have no way of changing. This in itself completely ruins the game. Show me a pc gamer who doesnt bind their mouse keys to either sprint or aim... and EA the creators of this disaster took that option completely away from you. What freaking morons. I'll say it again - Console port crap. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is truly one of the best game I've played and could not leave alone. It's atmosphere keeps it terrifying while the orchestral sounds makes some scenes very intense. Also, it's a bag of fun with clever jumps and bloody gore! The voice acting was very good, graphics were astonishing, and hate me when I say this but better than the first. One thing I would say is that the multiplayer could have been better and ore interesting. Expand
  37. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    Scary? No. Fun? Hell yes.
    Let me start by saying this is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. I could spend a half hour just looking out the windows onto the city. But Dead Space 2 can take you from awe to terror in just a few seconds. The necromorphs are grotesquely designed, and the action is perfectly choreographed. Sure, there are plenty of jump out of the closet scares,
    but I would NOT call this a survival horror game, simply because you're a walking gun cabinet. Necromorphs end up falling apart after a few credits are spent on upgrades. But for the most part, watching your enemies being torn to shreds compensates for those false claims. The hardest thing for me is to identify any faults. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the multiplayer. Although it looks good on paper, I found it to be very dry and uninteresting, as if Visceral missed a few key elements in designing it. All in all, the singleplayer alone is still worth the $60 I paid. Expand
  38. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    Much better port than to original game. The options are still a bit limited and the camera still feels a little odd, but the overall controls are improved and the UI is improved as well. Zero gravity segments are drastically better than in the original game but the came during these segments is a headache to control. The story isn't as good but it's full of twists and turns to keep you interested. I definitely wouldn't consider this game scary at all, it's more of an action-thriller. If you liked the first game, you will surely like this one more. Expand
  39. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Dead Space 2 is a really good game, but doesn't outdo the first game. All the gameplay has been refined and freshened up, such as a new locator system, and a better interface. Dead Space 2 is not as scary as the first game, but has more action, more story, new weapons and even a multiplayer mode. This game is great, so fans like me will have a good time with this.
  40. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    With some PC performance and port issues aside, the game is a ton of fun that will leave you wanting more. Graphics and sound are top notch, play in a dark room and you will certainly have some jumps. The real unique aspect of the game is just how I felt that each enemy encounter genuinely felt like it was a fight for dear life. I never had the feeling of feeling over powerful, you will get into a ton of dirty knuckle situations. Easily one of my favorite games of 2011. So why not a 10/10, as I said earlier you will be left with wanting more. The single player campaign is a tad on the short side. Expand
  41. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    I played through dead space right before playing this game. This series sets me wonderfully on edge. I'm anxiously awaiting dead space 3, probably the only thing I'll ask for my birthday next year. Controls improved over previous dead space. excellent pacing. I thought a few times, oh **** if something jumps out now I'm going to have a heart attack ... lol awesome.
  42. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    >crappy "plot", quick-time events, scripted attacks / mini-explosions and gas leaks, insides and blood, everywhere, generic as hell designs, idiotic ending.
  43. Feb 8, 2011
    5
    Played it for 30 minutes at a friend's house. Fun for a bit, but I will be buying it for $30 months from now. No way in hell am I paying $60 for a 10 hour game. No. Way.
  44. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    oh my **** god! i've never been so enraged since the first time i played contra on the nes. the normal difficulty is WAY too hard, while the casual difficulty is way too **** easy. so what to i do? do i destroy everything in the room every time i get pissed off, or do i just enjoy one of the easiest games on earth?? these people were on dementia when they made those difficulties. i dare to try the hardest difficulty... do i just start and die at the first frame of the game???
    anyway, apart from my frustration, this is a good game. the graphics are not top-notch for pc standards, but the atmosphere is great. the sound effects are great too, however some sounds are waaay too loud and can really piss you off if you're using headphones like i do. one of the things that make this game so hard for me, is the control. i mean, the first game had god awful control and it was nearly unplayable with keyboard and mouse, but the main problem is that sometimes you have no way to defend yourself, like if you're surrounded by enemies, you're **** they'll kill you almost instantly and it makes you wonder what's the point of the life bar on your back. another thing that i really hate is that when you're hacking something you have no way to defend yourself, and there's nothing you can do except for trying again and again, and eventually after a lot of tries, you might be lucky enough to make it. in general, the levels of this game are 90% trial and error: it's just "oh, there's an enemy, shoot him!, oh damn there's another one, oh **** there are enemies behind me, FUUUUUU, i'm dead... AGAIN!" also, i should mention that i keep getting killed in what i think are cutscenes: what a ****load of **** bull****! why do so many things in this game look like cutscenes? why isn't there some sort of indication that what's going on is or not a cutscene? goddamn it this kind of things just piss me off so much it makes me wanna throw the game out the damn window! this kind of bull**** would have been nice in the 80s when game developers had to make hard games to make them last, but why in the name of god do you have to do thing like this in 2011??? jesus christ! i can finish contra on the nes without dieing too many times, but i keep dieing over and over again in this damn game! that's definitely not what i expected.

    in conclusion: not a bad game, but holy **** is it hard! 7/10
    Expand
  45. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is a better, bigger and more improved version of its predecessor with a great singleplayer campaign but a forgettable multiplayer experience.
  46. Feb 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Space 2 has corrected some of the problems the first game had, but has removed somethings which might leave you wanting more. First off, I'll go over what it think they improved about the game. One of the major things that they changed/modified was Isaac himself, I remember before the first game came out, the developers said that Isaac was an engineer but it did not seem like they followed through with it, he picked up weapons and started killing, it did not seem he was much of an engineer as the developers claimed, instead it seemed he was a guy just trying to survive. In Dead space 2 Isaac feels more like engineer, his first few weapons he builds himself, he now opens computer panels and hacks them to open up sealed doors. I found these addition a nice improvement to the characters background as an engineer. Giving Isaac a voice this time around, I am kind of divided on that choice, sometimes it helps the game other times it seems it was better when he did not talk. There is now more creatures and weapon variety which is a very nice improvement over the first. There is now more Zero G sections and with the addition of boosters on Isaacs suit(s) it makes them more enjoyable. At some point though I miss were a monster would be coming at you and you would quickly jump to the adjacent wall to get away from it then turn and shoot it as it came at you in Zero G. In addition, Monster pop up sections are not as obvious as the last game. There are still vents where the monster will break out of but not as many are obvious as the first, so I feel that was a great improvement and keeping you on edge.
    Now comes the downsides of the game, first I would have to agree about Nicole aka Isaac's dead girlfriend tormenting him it ,gets old pretty fast. I wish there was more boss variety but the bosses that are there will do but still wish there was more. The biggest let down to me was the end boss, in the first game when it appeared my first thoughts were "You got to be kidding me, how am i supposed to kill that thing, RUN Isaac, That thing will kill you no sweat". In the second dead space you fight the boss and go "thats the boss? that's kind of dumb, there has to be another boss after this?" which there is not which in turn is a pretty big disappointment if you played the first dead space. The baby monsters get really annoy as well. I bought this game for the story/single player so i have not touched the multiplayer yet because from what I have heard its unbalanced and I felt that when they announced they would have MP the game did not feel like it needed it but thats just my opinion. All in all this game is a great game even with its shortcomings. If you enjoyed the first Dead space I would recommend picking up Dead space 2.
    Expand
  47. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    A sequel that lost sight of it's original goals for better or worse, DS2 tries exploring too much new territory at once and is forced to take short-cuts in the form of jump-scares, bad graphics, and difficulties dumbed down for the masses while having a very short and straightforward story campaign. Buy this on sales only.
  48. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    Very bad game: no innovation at all, retrograde graphics and awful textures (if you have a >21' LCD display you will dramatically realize about that!), predictable sound effects, repeated elements, already seen gameplay, very uncomfortable controls ...I warmly suggest you to avoid this game
  49. Feb 3, 2011
    6
    meh, i thought it would be much better. The graphics are nice, the gameplay is solid though repetitive, the sound effects are good BUT the story omg...The story is so dull, cheesy and unimaginative, the voice acting is so bad compared to the sound effects. Some lines are so bad and delivered so poorly that i did find find myself laughing while being chopped by them necrommorphes. The characters are poorly written that i've lost any interest for the story and just kept griding to the finish. Is it scary? Well, maybe you get a few thrills in the opening hour but after that you've learnt all game's tricks and you can anticipate the 'surprises'. 6/10 Expand
  50. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while.â Expand
  51. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    I thought the original was allright - not stellar - but I have to admit I am, so far, pleasantly surprised by DS2. The graphics are outstanding, the cutscenes thrilling, and the gameplay is pretty gripe-free. Definitely an improvement, and to my mind, was worth the purchase. I -was- hoping it'd be more sandbox (what, with this city called "The Sprawl"), but can't have everything. Maybe DS3.
  52. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 has been with us for a week or so now and in that time I've now managed to play-through twice. We continue Isaac's story three years after the original game, This time instead of being set on a spaceship DS2 is set in a huge space colony / city called Sprawl on one of Saturn's moons, It's here where we catch up with Isaac as he wakes from a daydream to find himself bound in a straitjacket and suffering from nightmarish hallucinations of his dead girlfriend. The Original Dead Space wasn't hyped as much as this sequel, and as a result it almost slipped under the radar for a lot of gamers, but for those of us who played the first game it became a game to remember for many reasons but mainly because it was full of edge of the seat action and suspense that would scare the pants of you, even when you had that knowing feeling that something was going to happen you'd still jump when it did, and the impressive highly detailed Zero-G sections that were unlike anything scene before and the unforgiving enemies, Dead Space 2 has all of this and more by the bucket load, with more zero g sections, a bigger necromorph invasion force, this time with added necromorph types that include hideous featureless childlike creatures with pointed limbs who attack you in packs, crawling baby like necromorphs who explode when they are near you, then there's the Puker's, who are similar to Left 4 Dead's Boomers (albeit a lot trimmer), but instead of spewing bile at you the Puker's spew acid from a distance accompanied with a blood-curdling scream. Isaac does have a bit more help this time round though in the form of new weapons which include a detonator gun that fires a tri-beamed laser which explodes when touched, and a Javelin Gun, a high-powered spear-gun like weapon that lets you fire bolts at enemies and impale them onto nearby crates or walls, and of course there's the old favorites from the original game such as the line-cutter, the ripper and the flamethrower, all of which can be upgraded along with your rig and stasis modules at workbenches throughout the game by using power nodes collected on your travels. There's no HUD as such in Dead Space 2, the screen is left quite clear while in combat, this is partly to allow you to have a clear view of your surroundings and partly so that anything remotely scary still has the full impact of scaring the crap out of you, add to this one of the best in-game atmospheres there is with its outstanding graphics that this time round see more of those superbly crafted zero-gravity sections where Isaac is free to float around with the aid of little rockets and the almost perfect sound effects that have you wondering if that was a bit of trash moving behind you or a necromorph creeping up on you, this all makes for a truly immersive experience and that keeps you on your toes at all times, so much so that you'll be grateful of those save points after a while so that you can take a breather (and turn the lights on if it's getting dark outside) Dead Space made great use of the Kinesis ability in Isaac's suit which allowed him to pick up objects and either move them out of the way or fire them at enemies and objects, this system has now been greatly improved and made more responsive, so much so that it will now become part of your combat technique, and as with the original game ammo is in short supply so you may find yourself having to use Kinesis to pick up a severed limb and fire it at an approaching enemy, you'll also use Kinesis and Stasis to manipulate objects to solve puzzles in order to progress through the game. Unlike it's predecessor Dead Space 2 has an eight player multiplayer mode in which 2 teams of four try to complete their objective, namely four human engineers try to achieve their goal while four necromorphs try to stop them (think of L4D but in space and you've got the idea), As with most online games if you're in a party or lobby with a good bunch of players then the multiplayer can be a lot of fun. In Summary Dead Space 2 has been vastly improved over the original game, with everything from the environments and sounds being tweaked so that the game pulls you in and completely immerses you, almost every aspect of game play has improved, and when you combine that with an engrossing storyline then you're in for a good time, Well, unless you suffer from a nervous disposition, in which case I'd recommend you don't play through while on your own Expand
  53. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. well the game wasn't as scary as first dead space,i think that's cause i allready knew that the corpses will raise up and there is always something in the place that looks safety. there is same things in the story like on dead space 1 you get friends and after few chapters they turns to enemies. the most positive thing is that you finally can aim,the aiming system on dead space 1 was so **** up so im glad that they fixed it that's all about the game. Expand
  54. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I got say I've playing games for more than 15 years now and just a few games placed me and are enjoyable, this one makes me to play and play all day long. Excellent graphics, great sound that will make you feel fear, it's pretty much a good combination of other games like Bioshock, FEAR, MassEffect in my opinion, but a well done game.
  55. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    The game is just awesome all round, definitely lived up to the hype.. Dead Space is the kings at what they do.. I wanna rate 10/10!

    First off the graphics are great, the story is solid, the sound and music is soo great adds so much depth to the overall experience. This is a really solid game, and there are so many more suits than the first one.. It's really a toss up to personal
    preference to which I prefer, but I have to say, I really enjoyed this.. the way the game ends, there might be a part 3? Let's just hope they don't ruin the great streak they have! Expand
  56. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    I think some people are a little TOO critical at times for sequels. First off, you can't be innovative by leaps and bounds every time you make a new game. And if there really were so many new and different elements between this and the first Dead Space, it simply would not be a Dead Space game. All in all I thought it was a solid sequel. Although I think $60 is too much for any game that you download. Good game, cool story, nice graphics and decent multiplayer. I say go for it and if you don't want to pay $60 just like any other game, wait for a few months after release to buy it. Expand
  57. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    When I started playing DS 2, I got the feeling that this might be an attempt to use the franchise to promote the sequel, because graphics were sub-par even with everything on, the textures were just too blurry, the overall feel was just somewhat off. But then, half an hour later i adapted and was able to enjoy the game. Great storytelling with a few twists, nice cut-scenes. True, this might not be as scary, or as polished, or as hard as the first part, though I died more times to the "environment" or in cut-scenes. Nice ending too, if you liked the first, most probably should try this out too. Expand
  58. Tig
    Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Surprisingly a very good game! Graphics is gorgeous, there are no loading screens while you are going through the game, fps are steady all the time due to the awesome optimization. Story is great, not as predictable as I thought it will be. I loved voice acting! Would have wished that characters chatted a bit more tho... The game isn't short and that is quite rare if you compare action games particularly. Still i was quite sad when I reached the end, would have loved to see more of it... Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Once again, Visceral show how to make a horror game, this time with a little more action, more variety of weapons and new monsters.
    I'm not wrong if I said that, to fully enjoy the game, is necessary to play the hardcore mode, at least the normal mode with the highest difficulty.

    I personally don't recommend any of the DLC (nor weapons, nor armors).
    Each power armor or power weapon costs
    $0, not a good choice. But you're free to do whatever you want.
    I'm not saying that DLC are bad, but in my opinion, I prefer new missions, for example.

    Dead Space 2 is a great game in almost all aspects, too many hours of entertainment.
    The menu is THE MENU, a lot of action, low ammo almost the entire game, new weapons, and powerful add-on.
    Lastly, not less important, monsters, a lot of them. And they are hungry.

    Good game, it deserves to be played until the end.
    Expand
  60. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Alright, I will start off by saying that this game is a terrible survival horror game. Or even just a horror game. But it's a damn good action game. Many improvements from it's predecessor include the armors (they no longer look precisely the same) and [for the pc] the mouse an anti-aliasing. Another very notable one would be its voiced protagonist in this game. The last game got so boring when you didn't hear anything for he longest time. Then, the downsides. The game attempts to scare you with meager attempts, i.e. bodies falling from the ceiling or catching a glimpse of something running down a hall. It seems Dead Space just isn't the horror type, but it does action quite well.
    One more problem I had, the game is significantly shorter and the chapter names are no longer clever. Although the game wraps up nicely, there will no doubt be a Dead Space 3. And I hope if it again fails in horror, it manages to keep it's nice action style. Dark, creepy, yet full of explosions.
    Expand
  61. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    THE GOOD: Expanded enemy variety from the first game, appropriately creepy and atmospheric, wide range of fun ways to kill enemies, more engaging plot than first game. THE BAD: The first few chapters are repetitive, but they do get better. Issac Clarke's personality is too generic. Not enough big boss fights. Could have been longer.
    THE UGLY: A few noticeably bad textures. Not enough to
    spoil the game or anything and they're few and far between, but still. I can't wait for the next console gen just so PC ports will start looking better. Expand
  62. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Game was very comprehensive in terms of single player .The story will leave you thirsting for more. Also, they implemented some cool moments that will seriously surprise the player and even scare them at times. Visuals are great, textures are top notch. Sound is amazing, and the suits never get old. Yet, the negative about this game is its short campaign.
  63. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This is the first review I've ever written. I felt compelled to put on the record how amazing this game was. Aside from having completely engrossing plot and universe, the atmosphere and mechanics of the game were dead on. My adrenaline was pumping almost constantly, and I'm not the easily startled type. Weapons and melee were fun and useful. Monsters were frightening in appearance and behavior, and they don't mess around when trying to kill you. The only negative is that towards the end, if you only used the same guns, it could get very repetitive. But thats why there like 10 weapons, mix it up! Overall, A+. If you liked resident evil or silent hill, then you'll love this one. Expand
  64. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the most defining modern takes on the classic Survival Horror Genre. It strikes a fine balance between horror, embracing violence and a compelling story line. Like its forbearer it offers the thrills and terror which put you (me) back to old Resident Evil Games. It is short, it can be done in the same of 6-7 hours without much exploration, but this is in no way a flaw. EA will role out more DLC and replayability can be done with it becoming painful. I loved the first game so i was pleased to see they had no taken away all of rail shooter type cinematic mini-boss levels. The look and presentation are flawless in its approach, fear seems to be built into the very game. One problem i have with this game is the lack of extensive customization. Part of me wanted this to play like a RPG game, but i guess the score of 9 comes down to what i expected from the game, not its based on its actually mertis (of which it could possibility a 10/10). If you like good atmosphere from a game as well as shooting zombie like things in the face with a assortment of weapons then this is your choice, but if you are no psychotic and need the thrill and suspenses of a genre defining game you have no reason not to buy this game. Expand
  65. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game, recommend to any lover of the survival-horror genre. Fixes all those issues and annoyances we faced in Dead Space 1, such as input/mouse lag, unable to change difficulty during next playthrough etc. Improves the game in every aspect which is fantastic. The game also still packs the frightening experience and is in no way less scarier than the original. The addition of multiplayer is also a lovely surprise and is very enjoyable despite p2p but it is to be expected from a tiny multiplayer addition. Expand
  66. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Some nice improvements over DS1, but no groundbreaking changes. Still a great game that definitely stands out of the pack. Excellent atmosphere throughout the game. The graphics, sound and voice acting really come together well. Decent replay value as well, which I find is very rare in games these days. Only downside that it feels like a bit of a port, not possible to key bind special mouse buttons. Expand
  67. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is better than its predecessor. I think the missions are more compelling and intriguing. It might be a little scarier but the atmosphere is still there and for me that's enough. I think the balance between action and horror is very good.
  68. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Dead space 2 succeeds in turning a seemingly unoriginal story in a tense, thrilling and exciting experience. Isaac is now "rough" and hard skinned but that doesn't mean we lack the constant fear and tension which made the prequel's success.
    Maybe more action-oriented than the first, but still scary and atmosphere based. Graphics are excellent although the engine's not the newest (therefore
    light and accessible to most rigs) and the light/shadows effects are always functional to the action progress and events.
    If one liked the first, he'll definitely like the second despite (thanks to?) its "more spectacular" nature.
    As for myself, the "satisfaction" and sense of fulfillment I felt after playing it made me register at metacritic and write these few lines. Was I to necessarily find a defect, I'd say it's a linear game with very little to no "non-enforced" exploration, but that lies in this game's nature itself.
    I strongly suggest playing it hard (which is not the hardest level anyway): less would mean to deminish by a lot the constant anxiety and tension you feel throughout the whole game (basically its strong point) therefore spoiling the experience.
    Expand
  69. May 16, 2011
    9
    While it fails to frighten you, Isaac Clarkes second adventure brings more thrills and excitement than the first one. The game takes place few years after the events of dead space 1, Isaac wakes up only to find himself in a necromorph infested city called the sprawl. While Isaac sees some news faces, some characters from the first one return to haunt him. Dead Space 2 single player keeps you entertained long enough for you to play through it's 10 hour campaign. There's also a multiplayer mode which heavily reminds me of left 4 dead, which is a good distraction but nothing ground breaking. While Dead Space 2 doesn't have too impressive graphics, it's audio design is still fantastic. Dead Space 2 is full of action, gore and it deserves your attention. Expand
  70. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Excellent, excellent game! Very enjoyable FPS - although the style IS slightly different from the original - something that fans might hate. However, if you try to enjoy it for what it is, you will.
  71. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Dead Space 2 is quite noticeably improved over the first one in many aspects. Firstly the levels and environments are more varied and more interesting. Some places look really nice, unique, and atmospheric, and aren't just grey and dark like most places in the first game. Secondly we have more weapons, like the awesome Javelin Gun. Having more weapons gives more diversity in gameplay and playstyle options. Thirdly the control of the character feels a bit easier than in the first game. It's easier to run, shoot, and generally manoeuvre around. Fourthly, the game feels more engaging. We have more unique situations and different things happening, like when having to quickly get away from a powerful creature, or I can certainly never forget the fantastic train scene fairly early on in the game, or even the smaller things, such as interacting with creatures or having to quickly shut off a breach and stop everything being sucked into space. Fifthly, I found Dead Space 2 somewhat more intense and scarier than the first game. Sure, it's still not exactly deathly scary or anything, but a few moments are definitely bound to make you jump or feel cautious to carry on. I liked the customization of different armor suits as well. They actually all have different bonuses rather than simply being upgrades from the previous one, like in the first game. All in all I generally felt that Dead Space 2 was a step in the right direction for the series. Some parts still do need an improvement, like the puzzles are still nothing special, just as with the first game, but in every other regard DS2 did better. Even the story was somewhat more interesting. Expand
  72. May 15, 2012
    10
    Epic CAMPAIGN BUT LIMITED MULTIPLAYER
  73. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Thank you Visceral! This game is of the absolutely highest production value. From the incredibly minute details, great PC optimization and well implemented scripting to the camera work which (successfully imo) builds confidence in your character this game keeps you on your toes. There's an overwhelming feeling of destitution in the first few levels I've played. They've borrowed a lot from Doom 3. I have never played Dead Space 1, but will definitely give it a go through once I finish this game. I'm currently 6 hours in and am absolutely satisfied with the purchase thus far. I will finish it this weekend for sure. Expand
  74. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is a great sequel to the original Dead Space, it's action has improved, it's weapons have improved, and most of all it's story. The story in the first Dead Space was good, but Dead Space 2's story is much more emotional and stronger, plus you finally get to hear Isaac SPEAK!!! And if you haven't played the first (which I suggest you do) you would not know how cool it is to finally hear him speak. And i must say he is sometimes quite humorous, but this doesn't ruin the gruesome and horrorific mood of the story, so rest asure that it will still will be creepy and scary, so you will stay on toes on every step you take in the game. Another thing that improved is the Necromorphs (the monsters) which is bad news for the players. There are 7 new Necromorphs in the game that will have running for your mommy. And for players new to the game, he is alittle advice for your first fight with a Necromorph, aim for the limbs. And if you run out of your precious ammo, the start using objects in the enviroment using telekensis. And if all else fails start swinging and stomping. Conserving ammo is a big deal in this game if you wish to survive the hordes of Necromorphs and escape, unless you have alot of credits (in-game money) to buy ammo. Overall this game is a great game, and should not be missed out by "survival / Horror" genera gamers and Dead Space fans. This game will have clenching your controller and sitting on the edge of your seat through the whole game. P.S. - It may be easier to use a Xbox 360 controller, than a mouse and keyboard for this game. Expand
  75. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is the best game i have played since the very original DOOM. and i've seen quite a lot of games in all those years.

    the interiors of the space station are insanely detailed and well constructed, the glass window views to space are breathtaking and combined with the super creepy sound effects you'll find yourself 100% in a space sci-fi universe in no time. the game play is
    constantly kept interesting by offering different game elements (3rd person shooter, puzzle solving, interactive cut scenes,...) and it tells a really great story (which is usually displayed in HUD / holographic video displays in front of the character - no in-game menus that kill the atmosphere!)

    the balancing is great, it always felt "hard enough" and never got boring or repetitive, which is kind of a hard thing to accomplish in these kind of games. the endgame was pretty hard, which perfectly fitted the story (hero struggling to survive), and - no spoilers - the final moments are quite a masterpiece of story-telling.

    can't wait for a sequel!
    Expand
  76. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    What struck me most about Dead Space 2 was how fantastic it looks without taxing my system, top marks to the developers there. I loved the action sequences that force you to think on your toes, as well as the variation in puzzles and zero gravity levels of the game. Voice acting and animations are fantastic, and the characterization of Isaac Clarke is very well done. Atmosphere is wonderful. definitely one to play on headphones with the lights out. If there is anything negative to be said about this game is that it's a little short - I think I finished it in six or seven hours on normal difficulty, and that if you've played the first game, then scares are a little familiar - if you've seen one Necromorph playing dead only to jump up at you when you walk nearby then you've seen them all, though having said that; it still made me jump a bunch of times - the screaming children are f***ing terrifying. Expand
  77. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another game in my GOTY lists, Dead Space 2 is what everyone wanted. The controls were fixed and better than before, the game had way more weapons and customization abilities than the previous game had. The new multiplayer aspect in the game delivers, but it just seems a tad unbalanced at times.
    I don't think you can protect yourself against the baby aliens in multiplayer that round around you endlessly while slapping you with their hands until you die. It's just horrible that EA didn't fix that yet, since players have no way to defend themselves against that.
    As before, the story is great, and doesn't disappoint. The ending was also pretty funny (if you've played DS1, that is, or else you won't understand the subtle joke).
    It was also very nostalgic to visit the Ishimura for one more time. The areas where you get memories also got me as I said **** when the monster from DS1 grabs you and pummels you to the floor, and then you find out it was just a hallucination, a memory.
    Get this game if you're a fan of FPS and TPS games. If you want it more for the story, I would say you should wait for a sale so the game gets cheaper, because it might disappoint you.
    Expand
  78. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    The second part of the game amazed me a little much better than the first one. They've left everything what was good and added a few new tricky situations. Locations are much more unique. I like it.
  79. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    I wrote a review for Dead Space 1 and gave it an 8, this game a notch better for many reasons, first of all its longer. This also has alot more mechanics such as more zero gravity gameplay (not much but more) and more enemys, the story and voice overs are the same as the first which i thoguht were good, and the story flows fluently to the 2nd. All in all a really fun and great game, reason it loses a point is because still...STILL the plasma cutter (the first gun u get) is still the best gun, others are basically useless compared to this....anyways, id reccomend to anyone who liked the first, or who likes horror fps (ya i know its not fps, but it is basically) and a solid game over all. 9/10 Expand
  80. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Yes this game is linear. Yes it has the cheesy 'cinematic' events (which are really well done). The game does kind of play like a movie.

    That said this is a very, very well made game. The game runs very smoothly and looks great, despite being a game made for outdated consoles. The sound is incredible, it really is a work of art. It's also pretty fun and keeps you engaged while you
    play. Think of it as buying a movie for the outstanding yet short entertainment. If your looking to get a lot of hours out of it you'll be disappointed. Expand
  81. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Enchanting game. I never liked too much 'tension' and horror. Yet with this game I felt tension all the time and I just couldn't stop playing. Wonderfull experience with an interesting story.
  82. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The second installment in the Dead Space video game series is Incredible to say the least! The game is atmospheric, intriguing, consistent, immersive and with a spicy story to go along with the sublime graphics the Visceral engine provides to make this game set the standard across the board, on how video games should be made, played and experienced. A priceless gem that will leave its mark in history as one of the best video game sequels of all time. Expand
  83. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    So you want to know what people think about Dead Space 2? Ok, let me put it this way: I am an open-minded heavy gamer. I've played almost every FPS/RPG game out there that have been released in the past 5 years. Most of them were like "Meh..." When i finished them. But when i got my copy of Dead Space 2, I was pretty sure it will be good as the previous game - Dead Space 1... I was wrong. It was a whole new experience! lets take a closer look at what we got in this title: GAMEPLAY: The gameplay in Dead Space 2 is much smoother than the previous Dead Space 1 game. Weapons variety and Upgrades improved a lot, and the game is much more PC friendly than Dead Space 1. You will experience lots of "heart attack" due to psychedelic scenarios as you proceed with the game. The game is never boring, You will always try to guess the next ambush from the infected which are not "stupid" and slow-moving like zombies, most of them, will sprint towards you like you awe them money! SOUND: Probably one of the best PROS in this game. As you play, you always hear "something. somewhere", it can be quiet for couple moments and then all of the sudden roaring monster behind you. you will need to be alert all the time! GRAPHICS: This is a main CON of this game. Although GODFATHER Engine is improved, Dead Space 2 displays a decent graphic with but with lots of details though. vomit, monster-puke, and monster-body--part-tearing will be a common thing. Unlike many Zombie/Infected games, shooting the head NOT always helps. CONCLUSION: One of my top 5 of all times. A total king in his genre. You. Will. Be. Scared. I Promise you. Expand
  84. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    This title completely blew me away. As a gamer I am immediately skeptical of any single player game- the AI are always lacking and replay is typically low. I gave Dead Space a chance and I fell in love with it immediately after earning the plasma cutter. This game reminds me a lot of titles from Valve - plot is readily available but most fulfilling to users who explore the game and collect and read items. The backstory is great, this series has a great horror plot that is easy to embrace and understand, while at the same time approaching horror with an equal sci-fi element.
    Gameplay is fantastic. One of my biggest criticisms is how the weapons are not balanced - some weapons are meaningful the entire game and others are underpowered and never see a chance to shine. Graphics are great- lighting and shaders have been excellent on my PC (I do have a good PC). Audio is excellent, theres a lot of ambient sounds, zombie effects are diverse, and I love how the weapon effects scale up with how you upgrade them.
    Comparing PC to 360... the controls on PC (mouse + keyboard) are a bit hard to get used to. I personally use the 360 controller on my PC and it plays wonderfully. Graphics on the PC are superior, and overall I enjoy it more. There is a bug with full screen graphics, but I was able to work around this by playing in windowed mode with my gameplay resolution maxed. I give this game a 10/10. The replay is great, the overall presentation is excellent. Multiplayer is actually worthwhile, (unusual for a single player game) and I just love this game. Personal opinions aside, this game could potentially receive a 9/10 from me but I love sci-fi and this game truly captures the spirit of the genre.
    Expand
  85. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Dead space 2 is a really competent game. The action feels great and there the combat feels good. The enemies are varied enough and there is enough weapons so that you wont get bored. The Sci-fi setting feels great and i really liked the environments not to mention the space sections that i really enjoyed. The story and the character interactions are good enough even though i personally wasn't a big fan of the story. Overall the game feels like a nicely put together shooter without any really serious flaws. The quicktime events are awful though. And i found myself getting a little bit bored of the combat in the later parts of the game since it gets a bit repetitive. I should also mention that i rarely got frightened in the game despite being a bit of a coward so don't go into this game expecting anything like scary. This game is simply put a really well put together third person shooter that hold a high standard all the way through but never really blows you away. The games length should be a bit under 10 hours depending of what difficulty you chose. Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a worthy successor to Dead Space 1. More enemies, more guns, more stories (Isaac becoming a character is a plus!), more hatred for the Unitologists- the only downside is that you don't actually get to fight the religious zealots themselves. This game is intense, gruesome, and overall incredible. It's got lots of replayability in trying out different weapons on higher difficulties.
  87. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    I'm a male, 30 years old, and after playing Dead Space 2 right after Dead Space (sequel is even better!) I'm so stressed of constant feeling of fear, that I'm unable to choose next game for myself. Simply, whatever trailer I see, I think to myself: "Will I be so scared again? I don't want to be scared anymore!". I'm feeling like a boy I was 15 years ago playing Quake 1 at night. I haven't feel that way since.
    The story is great, graphics and lighting is great and Isaac finally talks.
    Expand
  88. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    If I thought Dead Space one was the best game I've ever played... I might have been wrong! Like its predecessor, the sequel remains nothing but an epic masterpice!!! :)
  89. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Having just this minuet completed this game (it took 8+ hours) I am blown away. Few games have the production values and carry it through the whole game. Perhaps if I am to critique to the extreme I could have seen bit of the story coming towards the end but I have to say wow best survival horror game I have played since... well.. Resi 1 to be honest. Before this i completed Far Cry 3 and meh it was good(ish) but this was great I really loved this game I recommend it to anyone, preferably on the PC... now onto DS3... Expand
  90. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This is a polished sequel that does right what the first game did, which is to scare you and keep your tension high. I recommend always playing this series in the dark with headphones or a loud stereo if you can. Nothing revolutionary in this installment but there are some fun variations, some new annoying enemies and a compelling story polished off with a little more humanizing of Isaac. Admittedly there can be some tedium at times but I think it may be a result of what can be a stressful gaming experience and a sign that it's time to take a break. Absolutely worth playing if you have limited gaming time. Expand
  91. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is fun and the price is tottaly worth it. The story is long and interesting while having to go through lots of scary situations. The multiplayer side of this game is tough/challenging, their is not really much about it, just to play as a necro trying to kill the humans preventing them from completing thier missions which is alright. I'm just plainly giving the single player part of this game a perfect 10 for well made action, and horror. Expand
  92. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    A worthy sequel to one of the best horror games of all time that manages to improve on the originals gameplay by a surprising amount. The game feels slightly less survival horror like as there is a greater focus on combat and set pieces, however playing on higher difficulty's, ammo is still scarce and there are plenty of scary moments. The game overall feels a little less clunky and controls better and there's alot more variety in the creepy locations you visit. The game is a little shorter than the original but I had more fun with dead space 2 and it certainly has more Holy s*** moments. There is also t=some solid multiplayer that's nothing too special but fits in nicely with the game and dead space universe. Overall a fantastic game, probably my favorite horror game ever. Expand
  93. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    This is definetly one of my favorite horror games of all time. I honestly couldn't find alot of bad things about it. But then again, i never got the chance to play it all the way through, but i did manage to play alot of it. The game is beautiful, has unique puzzles, awesome monsters and characters and weapons and GAH! When monsters suddenly popped out, i wasn't scared, but it still felt intense, even if i was playing on the easiest difficulty (lol i'm a Especially with the enhanced monsters, i would rather never see them again, they scare me. This is a really fun game that i recommend you buy. Expand
  94. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I was highly impressed by this game, not only is it scary but it plays so well, the story is good, the acting is good and I loved the controls/UI.

    This game had everything for me a good game should have.
  95. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I surprisingly enjoyed this game a lot as i am not such fan of horror games. Pros: The main part of the game play which is the actual combat is very well done, it allows one to not only use aiming skills but also strategies to best vanquish ones enemies and gives a lot of options on the type of weapons one wants to use, the RPG elements are employed very well in the game allowing one to upgrade weapons, bye new weapons, armour and ammunition. The sound is very well done, sets the mood nicely and adds very well to the horror effect. . Neutral: The graphics were good but nothing that makes one go wow ! On your first play through you will take about 7-10 hours to complete the game but if you enjoyed it you will want to play again on higher difficulty, hardcore mode or carry over your weapons to a new game and fully upgrade everything so the game can have decent-ish replayability but there are other games that give much more longevity Cons: The game's story while being okay could have been far more imaginative and had some unclear segments. The zero gravity sequences in the game could have implemented in a better manner making them more fun and interesting. The game is simply not as scary as i thought it would be. A game that overall does very well but each individual aspect of the game isn't anything groundbreaking, except some aspects of the game play are something new and refreshing. 8.5/10. Expand
  96. Jan 31, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is more like a movie (a mix of Event Horizon and Alien). Some scenes are for my taste disturbing and could have left out. But then again why do I still keep playing this game? The pain, the horror? The Marker knows why. Expand
  97. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Some games give its sequel demanding expectations to meet, and Dead Space is certainly one of them. In Dead Space 2, the gameplay feels much smoother and the controls are more responsive than in its prequel. Isaac Clarke has an entire wardrobe of engineering suits now, each having unique bonuses and advantages in combat. Old weapons are modified and the new weapons bring more excitement into combat. Some of the new enemies will swarm you in a pack, some will charge at you, and some are just overwhelmingly massive, but all present a fun challenge. What really amazes me is that Dead Space 2 still managed to maintain an incredible story. You’ll truly despise some of the characters, but also pray that others survive the necromorph massacre. The graphics are gorgeous and sometimes breathtaking when venturing in space around Saturn. If you enjoyed Dead Space 1, then this is a no-brainer. Expand
  98. Feb 9, 2011
    7
    no bad.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  99. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    Awesome sequel, if I do say so myself. First off, they fixed the mouse acceleration/v-sync problem (which I didn't realize was a problem until Dead Space 2). Second, it blends nicely from the first game, and includes a short "refresher" video of the first game. Campaign is very enjoyable and a decent amount of play time can be put into this. One thing for sure is that Dead Space 2 is still sh*t your pants scary, complete with old enemies and new enemies alike. Listen to me: buy this game and play in the dark. Expand
  100. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is perfect as a sequel. There are times I was like, "No, they didn't just do that!" It is intense just like the first, but the weapons are much more fun. Weapons from the first also have different Alternate fire than the first game. The best part of this game is revisiting the Ishimura. While the game has improved on many features and graphics, I was really disappointed with the boss fights. They were fewer than the first game and the final boss fight was very anti-climactic. I would wait for this to drop in price to $40 before purchasing as I paid $60 and do not feel that it was worth it. It felt more like an expansion than a sequel. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    An absolute blockbuster that makes the superb original look like a B-movie. [Mar 2011, p.87]
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]