User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 751 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 751

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    4
    Nice game overall that I did enjoy playing more or less. Why the low rating? First, it was fairly short 7-8 hours. Second, I somehow expected that story-wise Dead Space 2 would fill gaps that its predecessor left behind and develop the story further. Unfortunately for me, that did not happen. The game became even more linear and the story appeared to me like a lose collection of things that might or might not happen rather than a coherent storyline. To me it looks like they plan to make many sequels. I find that slightly dull. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Space 2: not the worst console port I've played. The graphics are Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    4
    Closed door sections and the overuse of "rare sudden explosive" events are getting old. The game play might be okay, but in overall this is just a Michael Bay movie. Not really bad, but it has its share of unimaginative shooting sections, where the doors magically lock and unlock. The quick-time events are redundant, and are there just for the touch of surprise. Having said that, surprise is the main element of the game. Would have been a very interesting game, if they exploited some more dynamic options instead of pure scripted events. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2011
    4
    At least they fixed the controls. The first game was hardly ground breaking, but was kinda original, a little scary and fun. This is just Dead Space 1.1, could have been released as DLC. Few new weapons, same old engine and much more linear gameplay. At least in the first game they had a semi-valid reason hey were holding you in a room to fight a few waves of necro's (bio quarantine), now they just expect you to believe that there are numerous coincidentally timed power outages to vital doors.
    Not new, not different, very one dimensional, overuse of quicktime events and far too easy and short.
    Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    Dead Space 2 may be one of the most lauded PC gaming experiences, but I'll never know, because the same criticisms I had about Dead Space 1 apply to its successor. Namely the fact that your player camera is needlessly 3rd person over-the-shoulder, meaning that at any given time at least 1/4 of the screen is not visible. I played about ten minutes of DS2, shambing around constantly twitching the camera to see into my blind spots like a man with one eye, before I remembered exactly why I quit DS1. It's like trying to watch a movie with someone's head in the way -- This is no kind of way to play a FPS, and with no option to switch to 1st person like you'd expect from any decent game, I had no reason to continue. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    Good single player campaign, boring/ crappy version on l4d multiplayer. Results: 10 for single player, because the atmosphere in-game is absolutely amazing and will make you jump, every once in a while, I haven't completed it, but I'm impressed already from 30min game play. 0 for multiplayer. If you ever player l4d, for example, an alien that can jump onto the players - Hunter. Alien that spits at players from close distance- Boomer
    Alien that spits at players from long distance - Smoker, not so much but you get the point.

    DS2 multiplayer is almost exactly the same,but with really, really, really boring objectives. Atm there are no dedicated server (not sure if there will be) so your ping/latency is also 1 out of 4 bars or, 150 ping/latency +. So really, laggy. Very, Very, Very unbalance, between alien and player, which is also very frustrating some times as you spit crap at them 20 times and they can keep using pills or what ever the hell it is to recover back to full health, making your attempt to kill one player is futile. Controls are unresponsive which adds more frustration and including the lag makes the whole multiplayer experience stupid and boring.
    Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This might be what passes for decent gaming for people who use consoles/controllers, but it is excruciating on a PC, a waste of money even on sale. I just uninstalled it, exclaiming, "Oh for Christ's sake!" Even with the patch, the controls are not fully implemented for PC, so Mouse 4 and Mouse 5 are unassignable for some actions.

    This game is fond of removing camera control from the
    player to show set pieces and other animations. This is disorienting in third person (why is this third person?). The FOV is around 65 degrees, designed for a TV, and it can't be changed. This may make some people nauseated, especially with the weird revolutions of the third person camera. Movement itself is extremely clunky. There is no crouching or jumping. You cannot hop over a coffee table or low couch.

    This is quite literally a shooter on rails--you can illuminate the paths to objectives, save stations (there is no traditional or quick saving), and "stores" where you buy guns. These are all on the exact same paths.

    Most of the monsters and other NPCs do not actually inhabit the game world, but are triggered to spawn as you travel a pre-defined path through corridors. The monsters will spawn through otherwise inaccessible doors right behind you or from ceiling panels above. Since monsters do not inhabit the game world, tactical approaches are futile. Clearing a room, for instance, nets you nothing because monsters can spawn wherever they are scripted to appear. All the combat I saw was extremely close quarters, necessitating a bullet time system where you press a button and then shoot monsters in slow motion.

    The environments were rendered well for the againg consoles it was designed for, but they do not evince any actual place. It feels more like you are thrust into an interminable series of gerbil tubes, albeit ones rigged with monster boxes.

    All in all, this game gives you very little freedom to play how you want to play. It is kind of like Disneyland's Haunted House ride, where you are escorted along to see a show, but you aren't really a participant. You are an observer with the illusion of participation, but the illusion is weak.
    Expand
  8. Jan 26, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Screams, Shattered Dreams, and Repetition. Once again it appears that Visceral tried way too hard. Dead Space 2 felt like it lacked the improvement that a sequel should have. Although the mouse movement system was improved that was about it. They still felt the need to turn off lights, have stuff pop out when you walk near, and use consistent loops of screaming that are way to frequent for "scary" ambiance. They once again tried way too hard to frighten the player that it got to the point that it once again became laughable after the first few attempts because they were still too predicable. Although i got the game at a discount on steam i still do not think it was worth it. If they are going to pretend that these console/pc games are full sized then they need to start making decent sized areas. Also just like the Cortana visions in Halo 3 the visions in here were just as annoying. I am still hoping for a solid horror/ action game that does not feel the need to try frighten you every time you do something. Expand
  9. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    While this franchise (and Dead Space 2 in particular) might cater to b-grade-horror-movie lovers, gamers with somewhat more refined taste will find Dead Space to be full of cheap scares, sudden noises, mildly awkward controls and clichéd plot points.
  10. May 18, 2011
    0
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    >crappy "plot", quick-time events, scripted attacks / mini-explosions and gas leaks, insides and blood, everywhere, generic as hell designs, idiotic ending.
  12. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    Console port crap. This game suffers badly from consolitis. So much so that you can't even bind your mouse keys, they are assigned to functions that you have no way of changing. This in itself completely ruins the game. Show me a pc gamer who doesnt bind their mouse keys to either sprint or aim... and EA the creators of this disaster took that option completely away from you. What freaking morons. I'll say it again - Console port crap. Expand
  13. Aug 22, 2013
    3
    It was a good game, multiplayer was fun, but I only played through the single player once, so in comparison to the first and third games it didn't have much reply value. I was really annoyed with it because the expansion could only be played on console, so I had to buy the game just to play the little single player mission. I will say that the DLC single player mission was actually more of a horror game then Dead Space 2 itself. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    An absolute blockbuster that makes the superb original look like a B-movie. [Mar 2011, p.87]
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]