User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 777 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 777

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    The one thing I praise the most about this game is that it runs very well on my computer, yes, it still uses directx9, but nevertheless it shows us that directx9 is still very capable of producing very good graphical effects when used correctly. As for me I won't have to upgrade my computer anytime soon, and this game proves my point. The other thing I appreciate is that the wireless xbox360 controller works 100%, including full rumble effects for the game, and the controller buttons show within the game, so If you have one of those I would recommend it over a keyboard (but I don't know, if you're a hardcore PC gamer you may prefer the keyboard, its your choice anyway). I also recommend you hook up your PC to an HDTV using HDMI cable, I can because my ATI card has HDMI out...and with that wireless Xbox360 controller whoooha, you're in for a spin (I have a Samsung 55'' 1080p). The only thing I can say about the gameplay right now, since I just started the game is mention the part about the health and ammo...I am constantly running out of them, and therefore it is very difficult to get past certain parts without them, It is also difficult to find them ( especially health). Also the very slow reloading is bad, because when a swarm of necromorphs attack you and you try to reload, they kill you before you can reload. Thus you have to be running away from them while reloading, for them to give you time to reload, this is bad with the faster necromorphs, and when they pop out of nowhere all of a sudden. It is a fun game, it's just kind of difficult, they should have added more health and ammo in certain places. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 1 and 2 are the best examples of interactive horror.....Resident Evil 5 was an embarrassment, frankly, in both tone and content, but this franchise, and this game, in particular nail the wonderful feeling of tension that great games can achieve. The first Dead Space introduced a limited number of well-designed encounters, with a few weapons to balance your progression. DS2 is a tougher game, but is also more modular, with greater variance in player agency in the campaign. Some of the most visceral reactions I had to this game were simply the empowerment one feels after upgrading a weapon (For me, the Javelin gun was hands-down the most powerful with the alt-fire) and feeling untouchable........I do have to bring up the misguided attempt at quick-time sequences/scripted sequences. At times, the game reminds me of Contra or Gradius, with rote memorization rearing its ugly head. This is one of my least favorite trends in narrative gaming at the moment...so, please Visceral, CEASE AND DESIST with any all encounters (Everyone who has played knows of the few I speak of) that are essentially a shooting gallery. Trust your sound design. Trust that we are unnerved by the anticipation of a fair fight by the fantastic lighting and signature noises emitted. (The raptors are a great example of a fair but still challenging/thrilling fight) And trust how unfun it is learn a certain monster closet and perfect it until the choreography is correct.......Games are not formulas, they are a combination of ingredients to be cooked with. Here's hoping Dead Space 3 is even more delicious. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I highly recommend this game if you're into the survival-horror genre. Graphics are good, level design rules, and gameplay couldn't be better. However, it just wasn't scary. There were a few moments were I jumped and a few moments where I might've "exclaimed', but I was never really dreading the next room like I did with the previous Dead Space. Reason being the lack of isolation. You never really feel alone in a structure infested with aliens. Still fun as hell! Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is in some way indentical to Dead Space 1, but it has a number of new things that manage to uplift Dead Space 2 from Dead Space 1. One thing that really made the game for me where those interactive cutscene things, just amazingly well-made. The sounds and music are downright spectacular. Pretty much the same weapons and a few new ones, a talking Isaac and new armor also make this game more interesting that its predecessor. The animations are silky smooth and the voice acting is very convincing. It has some downright disturbing moments and plenty of very tense and hectic fighting. The enemies are... interesting in a way i guess. Most of them very disturbing and freaky, good variety too, you need different approaches for different enemies. Great game, not too different in terms of gameplay but it does the job of providing a new and very interesting successor of Dead Space 1. Thank you Visceral Games, roll on Dead Space 3. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    I was really looking forward to this game. The first edition of Dead Space was the first game ever that actually gave me some cold chills. The game play has been improved in the new version. Isaac can float in his new suit. some new weapons and suits. I don't see many things that can still be improved in this game. I had about thirty hours of fun on the single player campaign before finishing it on the normal level (makes me wonder if Ransu's review is fact based....) My only less positive comment is that this game is in fact more of the first Dead Space game. But finetuned to a higher level. So maybe some more variation by adding more new elements, like the hacking, could have made me give it a ten. Great sound effects and music that get the adrenaline flowing. Great graphics and design (it was great that you actually revisit some parts of the first Dead Space.) You can really experience throughout this game that the designers put a lot of love and attention into the designs, music and script. 49 euro's well spent here. Tip: if you wish to enjoy the game, being a mediocre player like me, don't play it on casual difficulty but do it at least on the normal level, you will have a lot more fun that way. I am not very much interested in the multiplayer features. But I will probably pick it up again in two or three years right before DS3 arrives.... Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Well I just invested 13 straight hours of my life playing this and had a wonderful time. They did a great job with this game! The environments are awesome. The story is predictable but very good. The voice acting and sound effects are excellent. The mechanics worked great (i.e. the mouse without issue - hurray). I really like that the movement of the main character is dampened - that way you cannot just run and gun. You actually have to think, be careful, and it provides for the unpredictability or fear factor. There where even times when a scene was going on I thought I was supposed to watch and ended up dying (ironic). Overall I think Dead Space is one of the most enjoyable and fun franchises out there!!! Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    An incredibly refreshing game in an age of clones and much heralded disappointments. Everything about this game brims with creativity, from the lighting (inspired by the Old Masters such as Rembrandt), to the creatures Isaac encounters, everything in this game appears to have been crafted with love and thought. The user interface is so smoothly integrated with the gameplay itself that the shifting becomes seamless, making the experience even more immersive. Sound is also excellent, although music is limited and never finds a particularly important role. The weapon design is enjoyable and enormously unique, as the electrified javelin throwers attest to. Each weapon has two functions and is entirely upgradable, adding to the re-playability factor. I look forward very much to playing the "New Game +" (Chrono Trigger homage, anyone?) and trying out new weapons, different upgrades, and further exploration in Dead Space's dark world. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Even after hours of obvious tricks and monsters jumping on your face, Dead Space 2 can shock you until the very end. Graphics are smooth and game is really well optimized, which makes gameplay enjoyable without hiccups or long loading screens. Sound is perfect for a horror game, music cues for battles really pump up adrenaline and spooky ambient sounds while roaming around are keeping you at the edge of the seat. This game was one of the few released recently that didn't get boring after first few encounters with enemies, it's always fun obliterating monsters. RPG elements make it even more interesting. Ending was one of the best I've seen and makes it a perfect conclusion for the series. A word of warning though - game is extremely violent (and not only to monsters), so if you are easily offended by the look of gore you shouldn't buy it without watching trailers or playing demo. Expand
  10. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Let me say that I hate this game. Why? because it scared the living hell out of me. The thickly intense atmosphere is just dripping with desolation, feelings of seclusion, depair and the promise of terrifying creatures hidden within every shadow. Even when you know the scares are coming - they still manage to make you jump. Despite my hating this game for it's unavoidable scares, I love it twice as much for them(if that makes sense). The detail and design of the levels is truly extraordinary and time can be spent in-game simply shining the (fantastically implemented) flashlight around the decor admiring its minute details. Animations and voice work are also truly superb. There are no cheesy b-grade voice samples here, only pure quality. Cut scenes are well acted and choreographed and really assist in thickening the already soupy atmosphere. One thing noticed though, despite the texture work being 99% brilliant, there are still a few low-resolution textures around making me wonder if the work experience kid was honored with a few of his additions. Besides that, everything is candy. Sound effects are spot on... hard-hitting gunfire, flesh-rending impacts, cautious footsteps and distant moans and screams are all produced in spine-chillingly intricate detail. But most importantly the gameplay ties in perfectly, the controls are fluid and responsive and the menus and in-game interactive objects are a breeze to operate... helpful considering the game doesn't stop while you browse your inventory. Dismembering a slavering ghoul whilst micromanaging your stash is an oddly satisfying thing. The directional beacon which points your way to objectives, save-stations, workbenches etc is a treat and prevents you double-backing on yourself and always keeping you on track. Boss encounters are, for the most part, epic. The game avoids sterotypical FPS boss fights by scripting them into ever-changing sequences. One might have you frantically gunning a limb on a huge Necromorph as you dangle from a ceiling with your leg snared. Another may have you madly scrambling through debris, firing off potshots, as another huge demonic creature rips and roars his way behind you - at terrifying speed. There is never a moment this game lets you rest. I had to pause and take a big breath to shake some reality into myself after strings of teeth-grittingly intense firefights ... and to let my poor old ticker return to a remotely normal pace. In regards to the first iteration of this series, do not be fooled by other opinions that there is something lacking here. Dead Space 2 is a rock-solid, chrome polished game, that in my humble opinion, compliments first beautifully. I implore you to buy this game, play it in the dark with your headphones on full-ball and scream like a girl... hell.. I did. Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2011
    9
    Score (9.0).Bien pues después de casi 14 horas de juego efectivo lo he terminado. Muy emocionante la verdad. Sin más dilación voy a analizar sus Pros y Contras:

    Pros:

    -Audiovisualmetne impecable. Mucho más variado que el primero en su faceta artística. Capítulos como el cuatro o el cinco son
    bellísimos. - Permanece la tensión y los buenos sustos sobretodo en la primera mitad del juego ( el prólogo es increíble). Luego el juego pierde ese factor inquietante pero se vuelve mucho más intenso. Tambiénhay alguna escenas bastante gore y repugnante.

    - El nuevo movimiento en gravedad cero es una pasada; lástima que no haya demasiadas zonas de este estilo.

    -La acción se ha mejorado mucho. Los enemigos son más numerosos y letales, el mayor énfasis en la "éxtasis" ( parálisis temporal de los enemigos), en los elementos del entorno para acabar con ellos yuso más inteligente de todas las armas ( eso de utilizar todo el rato la misma arma como en el primer juego se ha acabado). La jabalina o el detonador son muy buenas adiciones. Los nuevos trajes están geniales.

    -Hay poco enemigos nuevos. Pero los combates contra los "stalkers" son muy tensos por sus impredecibles ataques.

    -Momentos cinematográficos muy espectaculares " a lo Uncharted" xD.

    -Historia interesante y muy bien narrada (aunque en mi opinión hay un determinado punto en el que sabes de que va todoâ
    Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    First Dead Space is one of the best Survival Horror game of this generation. The sequel is a little worst than first part. But still is a very good game.
  13. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    This is a very solid game. The multiplayer is great, though it does favor the necromorphs a bit right now (could be just because It's only been out for a day and people haven't unlocked much or learned a lot of the tactics). It really reminds me of Natural Selection which is a very good thing. The singleplayer is well designed and shows quite a bit of polish. The gameplay mechanics have been tweaked to perfection, and they don't just reuse the same scare tactics from the previous game. The graphics are solid, though not on the same level as some of the recent PC titles. The sound and ambiance provided by it are better in every way than the last one, and that's saying something. Overall, I'd say 9/10 for sure, possibly 10/10 if the multiplayer balances itself out. Expand
  14. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Game is Amazing, nice engine, nice Graphics, perfect sound and History.
    100% Recommended =D I am fan of Dead Space Game. Visceral Games Studios. Congratulations.
    Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Words can not describe how I feel about this game. There are very very few games that I believe are worth the $60 price tag that most have when they come out. This one is worth every last penny. Before it came out I was skeptical thinking it looked like a rehash of DS1 but it wasn't. Visceral delivered with the best horror game I've played so far. Isaac's inner struggle is something that thorough the game you wonder is what I'm seeing in his head or is it standing in front of me. The game keeps you on the edge of your seat from the very first moment until after the credits have finished and rewards you with an amazing after completion main screen. It is like playing a 20 hour movie with cut scenes that blend seamlessly with game play. I found myself just floating a few times realizing control of Clarke had been given back to me.

    All of the last hour of the game your jaw will keep dropping more and more until it falls off when you enter the after credit cinematic. From DS1 they fixed or I should rather say improved the game play mechanics more than I could have hoped for. This is a game I think everyone should play and if this is what we start 2011 with then it is going to be an amazing year. I'm holding my breath until DS3 is announced and will preorder it as soon as I can on STEAM. I do not see how anyone can give this any less than a 10 or at least a 9. It has become one of the best games I've played to date only thing I wish they had done is add tessellation and DX11 support. But I'm sure DS3 will have that. So I say good luck and save you ammo and health you're in for one hell of a crawl through the Sprawl.
    Expand
  16. May 17, 2011
    9
    Absolutely brilliant game. The constant sheer terror, the pacing, the graphics, the art design, the characters - everything comes together just amazingly in this truly polished masterpiece.
  17. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Great game. Looks good, controls are good, gunplay is good, and above all the story is excellent. A very worthy sequel to dead space 1. Also the multiplayer is a good bit of fun! Is challenging to start because of the progression system which rewards higher level players giving them better unlocks etc (which is good) but puts a steep learning curve! Overall definitely worth playing, atmosphere is very creepy and well executed. Definitely worth the $20 current price tag. Expand
  18. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    First one had me bored quite quickly and had aweful mouse movement, this is a complete opposite.

    I'm 4 hours in and still having fun, even though all the monsters jump at you for cheap scare value. Level design is good, the Zero-G sections really let you break free and the "action cinematics" are superb. Detailed and well-animated. I know it's not a selling point for a game, but the fact
    that everything is engine-rendered makes it fit together very nicely. Expand
  19. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    More of the same from the first however if you loved the first you will love this even more. It's a slightly expanded and more improved upon game that carries out the story and furthers the meanings within. Though it's still a bit lacking in the story department i had to give it a ten. What a ride!
  20. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is truly one of the best game I've played and could not leave alone. It's atmosphere keeps it terrifying while the orchestral sounds makes some scenes very intense. Also, it's a bag of fun with clever jumps and bloody gore! The voice acting was very good, graphics were astonishing, and hate me when I say this but better than the first. One thing I would say is that the multiplayer could have been better and ore interesting. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    Scary? No. Fun? Hell yes.
    Let me start by saying this is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. I could spend a half hour just looking out the windows onto the city. But Dead Space 2 can take you from awe to terror in just a few seconds. The necromorphs are grotesquely designed, and the action is perfectly choreographed. Sure, there are plenty of jump out of the closet scares,
    but I would NOT call this a survival horror game, simply because you're a walking gun cabinet. Necromorphs end up falling apart after a few credits are spent on upgrades. But for the most part, watching your enemies being torn to shreds compensates for those false claims. The hardest thing for me is to identify any faults. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the multiplayer. Although it looks good on paper, I found it to be very dry and uninteresting, as if Visceral missed a few key elements in designing it. All in all, the singleplayer alone is still worth the $60 I paid. Expand
  22. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    With some PC performance and port issues aside, the game is a ton of fun that will leave you wanting more. Graphics and sound are top notch, play in a dark room and you will certainly have some jumps. The real unique aspect of the game is just how I felt that each enemy encounter genuinely felt like it was a fight for dear life. I never had the feeling of feeling over powerful, you will get into a ton of dirty knuckle situations. Easily one of my favorite games of 2011. So why not a 10/10, as I said earlier you will be left with wanting more. The single player campaign is a tad on the short side. Expand
  23. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    I played through dead space right before playing this game. This series sets me wonderfully on edge. I'm anxiously awaiting dead space 3, probably the only thing I'll ask for my birthday next year. Controls improved over previous dead space. excellent pacing. I thought a few times, oh **** if something jumps out now I'm going to have a heart attack ... lol awesome.
  24. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is a better, bigger and more improved version of its predecessor with a great singleplayer campaign but a forgettable multiplayer experience.
  25. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    Very bad game: no innovation at all, retrograde graphics and awful textures (if you have a >21' LCD display you will dramatically realize about that!), predictable sound effects, repeated elements, already seen gameplay, very uncomfortable controls ...I warmly suggest you to avoid this game
  26. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while.â Expand
  27. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 has been with us for a week or so now and in that time I've now managed to play-through twice. We continue Isaac's story three years after the original game, This time instead of being set on a spaceship DS2 is set in a huge space colony / city called Sprawl on one of Saturn's moons, It's here where we catch up with Isaac as he wakes from a daydream to find himself bound in a straitjacket and suffering from nightmarish hallucinations of his dead girlfriend. The Original Dead Space wasn't hyped as much as this sequel, and as a result it almost slipped under the radar for a lot of gamers, but for those of us who played the first game it became a game to remember for many reasons but mainly because it was full of edge of the seat action and suspense that would scare the pants of you, even when you had that knowing feeling that something was going to happen you'd still jump when it did, and the impressive highly detailed Zero-G sections that were unlike anything scene before and the unforgiving enemies, Dead Space 2 has all of this and more by the bucket load, with more zero g sections, a bigger necromorph invasion force, this time with added necromorph types that include hideous featureless childlike creatures with pointed limbs who attack you in packs, crawling baby like necromorphs who explode when they are near you, then there's the Puker's, who are similar to Left 4 Dead's Boomers (albeit a lot trimmer), but instead of spewing bile at you the Puker's spew acid from a distance accompanied with a blood-curdling scream. Isaac does have a bit more help this time round though in the form of new weapons which include a detonator gun that fires a tri-beamed laser which explodes when touched, and a Javelin Gun, a high-powered spear-gun like weapon that lets you fire bolts at enemies and impale them onto nearby crates or walls, and of course there's the old favorites from the original game such as the line-cutter, the ripper and the flamethrower, all of which can be upgraded along with your rig and stasis modules at workbenches throughout the game by using power nodes collected on your travels. There's no HUD as such in Dead Space 2, the screen is left quite clear while in combat, this is partly to allow you to have a clear view of your surroundings and partly so that anything remotely scary still has the full impact of scaring the crap out of you, add to this one of the best in-game atmospheres there is with its outstanding graphics that this time round see more of those superbly crafted zero-gravity sections where Isaac is free to float around with the aid of little rockets and the almost perfect sound effects that have you wondering if that was a bit of trash moving behind you or a necromorph creeping up on you, this all makes for a truly immersive experience and that keeps you on your toes at all times, so much so that you'll be grateful of those save points after a while so that you can take a breather (and turn the lights on if it's getting dark outside) Dead Space made great use of the Kinesis ability in Isaac's suit which allowed him to pick up objects and either move them out of the way or fire them at enemies and objects, this system has now been greatly improved and made more responsive, so much so that it will now become part of your combat technique, and as with the original game ammo is in short supply so you may find yourself having to use Kinesis to pick up a severed limb and fire it at an approaching enemy, you'll also use Kinesis and Stasis to manipulate objects to solve puzzles in order to progress through the game. Unlike it's predecessor Dead Space 2 has an eight player multiplayer mode in which 2 teams of four try to complete their objective, namely four human engineers try to achieve their goal while four necromorphs try to stop them (think of L4D but in space and you've got the idea), As with most online games if you're in a party or lobby with a good bunch of players then the multiplayer can be a lot of fun. In Summary Dead Space 2 has been vastly improved over the original game, with everything from the environments and sounds being tweaked so that the game pulls you in and completely immerses you, almost every aspect of game play has improved, and when you combine that with an engrossing storyline then you're in for a good time, Well, unless you suffer from a nervous disposition, in which case I'd recommend you don't play through while on your own Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I got say I've playing games for more than 15 years now and just a few games placed me and are enjoyable, this one makes me to play and play all day long. Excellent graphics, great sound that will make you feel fear, it's pretty much a good combination of other games like Bioshock, FEAR, MassEffect in my opinion, but a well done game.
  29. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    The game is just awesome all round, definitely lived up to the hype.. Dead Space is the kings at what they do.. I wanna rate 10/10!

    First off the graphics are great, the story is solid, the sound and music is soo great adds so much depth to the overall experience. This is a really solid game, and there are so many more suits than the first one.. It's really a toss up to personal
    preference to which I prefer, but I have to say, I really enjoyed this.. the way the game ends, there might be a part 3? Let's just hope they don't ruin the great streak they have! Expand
  30. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    I think some people are a little TOO critical at times for sequels. First off, you can't be innovative by leaps and bounds every time you make a new game. And if there really were so many new and different elements between this and the first Dead Space, it simply would not be a Dead Space game. All in all I thought it was a solid sequel. Although I think $60 is too much for any game that you download. Good game, cool story, nice graphics and decent multiplayer. I say go for it and if you don't want to pay $60 just like any other game, wait for a few months after release to buy it. Expand
  31. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    When I started playing DS 2, I got the feeling that this might be an attempt to use the franchise to promote the sequel, because graphics were sub-par even with everything on, the textures were just too blurry, the overall feel was just somewhat off. But then, half an hour later i adapted and was able to enjoy the game. Great storytelling with a few twists, nice cut-scenes. True, this might not be as scary, or as polished, or as hard as the first part, though I died more times to the "environment" or in cut-scenes. Nice ending too, if you liked the first, most probably should try this out too. Expand
  32. Tig
    Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Surprisingly a very good game! Graphics is gorgeous, there are no loading screens while you are going through the game, fps are steady all the time due to the awesome optimization. Story is great, not as predictable as I thought it will be. I loved voice acting! Would have wished that characters chatted a bit more tho... The game isn't short and that is quite rare if you compare action games particularly. Still i was quite sad when I reached the end, would have loved to see more of it... Expand
  33. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Once again, Visceral show how to make a horror game, this time with a little more action, more variety of weapons and new monsters.
    I'm not wrong if I said that, to fully enjoy the game, is necessary to play the hardcore mode, at least the normal mode with the highest difficulty.

    I personally don't recommend any of the DLC (nor weapons, nor armors).
    Each power armor or power weapon costs
    $0, not a good choice. But you're free to do whatever you want.
    I'm not saying that DLC are bad, but in my opinion, I prefer new missions, for example.

    Dead Space 2 is a great game in almost all aspects, too many hours of entertainment.
    The menu is THE MENU, a lot of action, low ammo almost the entire game, new weapons, and powerful add-on.
    Lastly, not less important, monsters, a lot of them. And they are hungry.

    Good game, it deserves to be played until the end.
    Expand
  34. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Alright, I will start off by saying that this game is a terrible survival horror game. Or even just a horror game. But it's a damn good action game. Many improvements from it's predecessor include the armors (they no longer look precisely the same) and [for the pc] the mouse an anti-aliasing. Another very notable one would be its voiced protagonist in this game. The last game got so boring when you didn't hear anything for he longest time. Then, the downsides. The game attempts to scare you with meager attempts, i.e. bodies falling from the ceiling or catching a glimpse of something running down a hall. It seems Dead Space just isn't the horror type, but it does action quite well.
    One more problem I had, the game is significantly shorter and the chapter names are no longer clever. Although the game wraps up nicely, there will no doubt be a Dead Space 3. And I hope if it again fails in horror, it manages to keep it's nice action style. Dark, creepy, yet full of explosions.
    Expand
  35. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Game was very comprehensive in terms of single player .The story will leave you thirsting for more. Also, they implemented some cool moments that will seriously surprise the player and even scare them at times. Visuals are great, textures are top notch. Sound is amazing, and the suits never get old. Yet, the negative about this game is its short campaign.
  36. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This is the first review I've ever written. I felt compelled to put on the record how amazing this game was. Aside from having completely engrossing plot and universe, the atmosphere and mechanics of the game were dead on. My adrenaline was pumping almost constantly, and I'm not the easily startled type. Weapons and melee were fun and useful. Monsters were frightening in appearance and behavior, and they don't mess around when trying to kill you. The only negative is that towards the end, if you only used the same guns, it could get very repetitive. But thats why there like 10 weapons, mix it up! Overall, A+. If you liked resident evil or silent hill, then you'll love this one. Expand
  37. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the most defining modern takes on the classic Survival Horror Genre. It strikes a fine balance between horror, embracing violence and a compelling story line. Like its forbearer it offers the thrills and terror which put you (me) back to old Resident Evil Games. It is short, it can be done in the same of 6-7 hours without much exploration, but this is in no way a flaw. EA will role out more DLC and replayability can be done with it becoming painful. I loved the first game so i was pleased to see they had no taken away all of rail shooter type cinematic mini-boss levels. The look and presentation are flawless in its approach, fear seems to be built into the very game. One problem i have with this game is the lack of extensive customization. Part of me wanted this to play like a RPG game, but i guess the score of 9 comes down to what i expected from the game, not its based on its actually mertis (of which it could possibility a 10/10). If you like good atmosphere from a game as well as shooting zombie like things in the face with a assortment of weapons then this is your choice, but if you are no psychotic and need the thrill and suspenses of a genre defining game you have no reason not to buy this game. Expand
  38. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game, recommend to any lover of the survival-horror genre. Fixes all those issues and annoyances we faced in Dead Space 1, such as input/mouse lag, unable to change difficulty during next playthrough etc. Improves the game in every aspect which is fantastic. The game also still packs the frightening experience and is in no way less scarier than the original. The addition of multiplayer is also a lovely surprise and is very enjoyable despite p2p but it is to be expected from a tiny multiplayer addition. Expand
  39. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Some nice improvements over DS1, but no groundbreaking changes. Still a great game that definitely stands out of the pack. Excellent atmosphere throughout the game. The graphics, sound and voice acting really come together well. Decent replay value as well, which I find is very rare in games these days. Only downside that it feels like a bit of a port, not possible to key bind special mouse buttons. Expand
  40. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is better than its predecessor. I think the missions are more compelling and intriguing. It might be a little scarier but the atmosphere is still there and for me that's enough. I think the balance between action and horror is very good.
  41. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Dead space 2 succeeds in turning a seemingly unoriginal story in a tense, thrilling and exciting experience. Isaac is now "rough" and hard skinned but that doesn't mean we lack the constant fear and tension which made the prequel's success.
    Maybe more action-oriented than the first, but still scary and atmosphere based. Graphics are excellent although the engine's not the newest (therefore
    light and accessible to most rigs) and the light/shadows effects are always functional to the action progress and events.
    If one liked the first, he'll definitely like the second despite (thanks to?) its "more spectacular" nature.
    As for myself, the "satisfaction" and sense of fulfillment I felt after playing it made me register at metacritic and write these few lines. Was I to necessarily find a defect, I'd say it's a linear game with very little to no "non-enforced" exploration, but that lies in this game's nature itself.
    I strongly suggest playing it hard (which is not the hardest level anyway): less would mean to deminish by a lot the constant anxiety and tension you feel throughout the whole game (basically its strong point) therefore spoiling the experience.
    Expand
  42. May 16, 2011
    9
    While it fails to frighten you, Isaac Clarkes second adventure brings more thrills and excitement than the first one. The game takes place few years after the events of dead space 1, Isaac wakes up only to find himself in a necromorph infested city called the sprawl. While Isaac sees some news faces, some characters from the first one return to haunt him. Dead Space 2 single player keeps you entertained long enough for you to play through it's 10 hour campaign. There's also a multiplayer mode which heavily reminds me of left 4 dead, which is a good distraction but nothing ground breaking. While Dead Space 2 doesn't have too impressive graphics, it's audio design is still fantastic. Dead Space 2 is full of action, gore and it deserves your attention. Expand
  43. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Excellent, excellent game! Very enjoyable FPS - although the style IS slightly different from the original - something that fans might hate. However, if you try to enjoy it for what it is, you will.
  44. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Dead Space 2 is quite noticeably improved over the first one in many aspects. Firstly the levels and environments are more varied and more interesting. Some places look really nice, unique, and atmospheric, and aren't just grey and dark like most places in the first game. Secondly we have more weapons, like the awesome Javelin Gun. Having more weapons gives more diversity in gameplay and playstyle options. Thirdly the control of the character feels a bit easier than in the first game. It's easier to run, shoot, and generally manoeuvre around. Fourthly, the game feels more engaging. We have more unique situations and different things happening, like when having to quickly get away from a powerful creature, or I can certainly never forget the fantastic train scene fairly early on in the game, or even the smaller things, such as interacting with creatures or having to quickly shut off a breach and stop everything being sucked into space. Fifthly, I found Dead Space 2 somewhat more intense and scarier than the first game. Sure, it's still not exactly deathly scary or anything, but a few moments are definitely bound to make you jump or feel cautious to carry on. I liked the customization of different armor suits as well. They actually all have different bonuses rather than simply being upgrades from the previous one, like in the first game. All in all I generally felt that Dead Space 2 was a step in the right direction for the series. Some parts still do need an improvement, like the puzzles are still nothing special, just as with the first game, but in every other regard DS2 did better. Even the story was somewhat more interesting. Expand
  45. May 15, 2012
    10
    Epic CAMPAIGN BUT LIMITED MULTIPLAYER
  46. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Thank you Visceral! This game is of the absolutely highest production value. From the incredibly minute details, great PC optimization and well implemented scripting to the camera work which (successfully imo) builds confidence in your character this game keeps you on your toes. There's an overwhelming feeling of destitution in the first few levels I've played. They've borrowed a lot from Doom 3. I have never played Dead Space 1, but will definitely give it a go through once I finish this game. I'm currently 6 hours in and am absolutely satisfied with the purchase thus far. I will finish it this weekend for sure. Expand
  47. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is a great sequel to the original Dead Space, it's action has improved, it's weapons have improved, and most of all it's story. The story in the first Dead Space was good, but Dead Space 2's story is much more emotional and stronger, plus you finally get to hear Isaac SPEAK!!! And if you haven't played the first (which I suggest you do) you would not know how cool it is to finally hear him speak. And i must say he is sometimes quite humorous, but this doesn't ruin the gruesome and horrorific mood of the story, so rest asure that it will still will be creepy and scary, so you will stay on toes on every step you take in the game. Another thing that improved is the Necromorphs (the monsters) which is bad news for the players. There are 7 new Necromorphs in the game that will have running for your mommy. And for players new to the game, he is alittle advice for your first fight with a Necromorph, aim for the limbs. And if you run out of your precious ammo, the start using objects in the enviroment using telekensis. And if all else fails start swinging and stomping. Conserving ammo is a big deal in this game if you wish to survive the hordes of Necromorphs and escape, unless you have alot of credits (in-game money) to buy ammo. Overall this game is a great game, and should not be missed out by "survival / Horror" genera gamers and Dead Space fans. This game will have clenching your controller and sitting on the edge of your seat through the whole game. P.S. - It may be easier to use a Xbox 360 controller, than a mouse and keyboard for this game. Expand
  48. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is the best game i have played since the very original DOOM. and i've seen quite a lot of games in all those years.

    the interiors of the space station are insanely detailed and well constructed, the glass window views to space are breathtaking and combined with the super creepy sound effects you'll find yourself 100% in a space sci-fi universe in no time. the game play is
    constantly kept interesting by offering different game elements (3rd person shooter, puzzle solving, interactive cut scenes,...) and it tells a really great story (which is usually displayed in HUD / holographic video displays in front of the character - no in-game menus that kill the atmosphere!)

    the balancing is great, it always felt "hard enough" and never got boring or repetitive, which is kind of a hard thing to accomplish in these kind of games. the endgame was pretty hard, which perfectly fitted the story (hero struggling to survive), and - no spoilers - the final moments are quite a masterpiece of story-telling.

    can't wait for a sequel!
    Expand
  49. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another game in my GOTY lists, Dead Space 2 is what everyone wanted. The controls were fixed and better than before, the game had way more weapons and customization abilities than the previous game had. The new multiplayer aspect in the game delivers, but it just seems a tad unbalanced at times.
    I don't think you can protect yourself against the baby aliens in multiplayer that round around you endlessly while slapping you with their hands until you die. It's just horrible that EA didn't fix that yet, since players have no way to defend themselves against that.
    As before, the story is great, and doesn't disappoint. The ending was also pretty funny (if you've played DS1, that is, or else you won't understand the subtle joke).
    It was also very nostalgic to visit the Ishimura for one more time. The areas where you get memories also got me as I said **** when the monster from DS1 grabs you and pummels you to the floor, and then you find out it was just a hallucination, a memory.
    Get this game if you're a fan of FPS and TPS games. If you want it more for the story, I would say you should wait for a sale so the game gets cheaper, because it might disappoint you.
    Expand
  50. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    The second part of the game amazed me a little much better than the first one. They've left everything what was good and added a few new tricky situations. Locations are much more unique. I like it.
  51. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    I wrote a review for Dead Space 1 and gave it an 8, this game a notch better for many reasons, first of all its longer. This also has alot more mechanics such as more zero gravity gameplay (not much but more) and more enemys, the story and voice overs are the same as the first which i thoguht were good, and the story flows fluently to the 2nd. All in all a really fun and great game, reason it loses a point is because still...STILL the plasma cutter (the first gun u get) is still the best gun, others are basically useless compared to this....anyways, id reccomend to anyone who liked the first, or who likes horror fps (ya i know its not fps, but it is basically) and a solid game over all. 9/10 Expand
  52. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Yes this game is linear. Yes it has the cheesy 'cinematic' events (which are really well done). The game does kind of play like a movie.

    That said this is a very, very well made game. The game runs very smoothly and looks great, despite being a game made for outdated consoles. The sound is incredible, it really is a work of art. It's also pretty fun and keeps you engaged while you
    play. Think of it as buying a movie for the outstanding yet short entertainment. If your looking to get a lot of hours out of it you'll be disappointed. Expand
  53. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Enchanting game. I never liked too much 'tension' and horror. Yet with this game I felt tension all the time and I just couldn't stop playing. Wonderfull experience with an interesting story.
  54. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The second installment in the Dead Space video game series is Incredible to say the least! The game is atmospheric, intriguing, consistent, immersive and with a spicy story to go along with the sublime graphics the Visceral engine provides to make this game set the standard across the board, on how video games should be made, played and experienced. A priceless gem that will leave its mark in history as one of the best video game sequels of all time. Expand
  55. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    So you want to know what people think about Dead Space 2? Ok, let me put it this way: I am an open-minded heavy gamer. I've played almost every FPS/RPG game out there that have been released in the past 5 years. Most of them were like "Meh..." When i finished them. But when i got my copy of Dead Space 2, I was pretty sure it will be good as the previous game - Dead Space 1... I was wrong. It was a whole new experience! lets take a closer look at what we got in this title: GAMEPLAY: The gameplay in Dead Space 2 is much smoother than the previous Dead Space 1 game. Weapons variety and Upgrades improved a lot, and the game is much more PC friendly than Dead Space 1. You will experience lots of "heart attack" due to psychedelic scenarios as you proceed with the game. The game is never boring, You will always try to guess the next ambush from the infected which are not "stupid" and slow-moving like zombies, most of them, will sprint towards you like you awe them money! SOUND: Probably one of the best PROS in this game. As you play, you always hear "something. somewhere", it can be quiet for couple moments and then all of the sudden roaring monster behind you. you will need to be alert all the time! GRAPHICS: This is a main CON of this game. Although GODFATHER Engine is improved, Dead Space 2 displays a decent graphic with but with lots of details though. vomit, monster-puke, and monster-body--part-tearing will be a common thing. Unlike many Zombie/Infected games, shooting the head NOT always helps. CONCLUSION: One of my top 5 of all times. A total king in his genre. You. Will. Be. Scared. I Promise you. Expand
  56. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    This title completely blew me away. As a gamer I am immediately skeptical of any single player game- the AI are always lacking and replay is typically low. I gave Dead Space a chance and I fell in love with it immediately after earning the plasma cutter. This game reminds me a lot of titles from Valve - plot is readily available but most fulfilling to users who explore the game and collect and read items. The backstory is great, this series has a great horror plot that is easy to embrace and understand, while at the same time approaching horror with an equal sci-fi element.
    Gameplay is fantastic. One of my biggest criticisms is how the weapons are not balanced - some weapons are meaningful the entire game and others are underpowered and never see a chance to shine. Graphics are great- lighting and shaders have been excellent on my PC (I do have a good PC). Audio is excellent, theres a lot of ambient sounds, zombie effects are diverse, and I love how the weapon effects scale up with how you upgrade them.
    Comparing PC to 360... the controls on PC (mouse + keyboard) are a bit hard to get used to. I personally use the 360 controller on my PC and it plays wonderfully. Graphics on the PC are superior, and overall I enjoy it more. There is a bug with full screen graphics, but I was able to work around this by playing in windowed mode with my gameplay resolution maxed. I give this game a 10/10. The replay is great, the overall presentation is excellent. Multiplayer is actually worthwhile, (unusual for a single player game) and I just love this game. Personal opinions aside, this game could potentially receive a 9/10 from me but I love sci-fi and this game truly captures the spirit of the genre.
    Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a worthy successor to Dead Space 1. More enemies, more guns, more stories (Isaac becoming a character is a plus!), more hatred for the Unitologists- the only downside is that you don't actually get to fight the religious zealots themselves. This game is intense, gruesome, and overall incredible. It's got lots of replayability in trying out different weapons on higher difficulties.
  58. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    I'm a male, 30 years old, and after playing Dead Space 2 right after Dead Space (sequel is even better!) I'm so stressed of constant feeling of fear, that I'm unable to choose next game for myself. Simply, whatever trailer I see, I think to myself: "Will I be so scared again? I don't want to be scared anymore!". I'm feeling like a boy I was 15 years ago playing Quake 1 at night. I haven't feel that way since.
    The story is great, graphics and lighting is great and Isaac finally talks.
    Expand
  59. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    If I thought Dead Space one was the best game I've ever played... I might have been wrong! Like its predecessor, the sequel remains nothing but an epic masterpice!!! :)
  60. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Having just this minuet completed this game (it took 8+ hours) I am blown away. Few games have the production values and carry it through the whole game. Perhaps if I am to critique to the extreme I could have seen bit of the story coming towards the end but I have to say wow best survival horror game I have played since... well.. Resi 1 to be honest. Before this i completed Far Cry 3 and meh it was good(ish) but this was great I really loved this game I recommend it to anyone, preferably on the PC... now onto DS3... Expand
  61. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This is a polished sequel that does right what the first game did, which is to scare you and keep your tension high. I recommend always playing this series in the dark with headphones or a loud stereo if you can. Nothing revolutionary in this installment but there are some fun variations, some new annoying enemies and a compelling story polished off with a little more humanizing of Isaac. Admittedly there can be some tedium at times but I think it may be a result of what can be a stressful gaming experience and a sign that it's time to take a break. Absolutely worth playing if you have limited gaming time. Expand
  62. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is fun and the price is tottaly worth it. The story is long and interesting while having to go through lots of scary situations. The multiplayer side of this game is tough/challenging, their is not really much about it, just to play as a necro trying to kill the humans preventing them from completing thier missions which is alright. I'm just plainly giving the single player part of this game a perfect 10 for well made action, and horror. Expand
  63. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    A worthy sequel to one of the best horror games of all time that manages to improve on the originals gameplay by a surprising amount. The game feels slightly less survival horror like as there is a greater focus on combat and set pieces, however playing on higher difficulty's, ammo is still scarce and there are plenty of scary moments. The game overall feels a little less clunky and controls better and there's alot more variety in the creepy locations you visit. The game is a little shorter than the original but I had more fun with dead space 2 and it certainly has more Holy s*** moments. There is also t=some solid multiplayer that's nothing too special but fits in nicely with the game and dead space universe. Overall a fantastic game, probably my favorite horror game ever. Expand
  64. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    This is definetly one of my favorite horror games of all time. I honestly couldn't find alot of bad things about it. But then again, i never got the chance to play it all the way through, but i did manage to play alot of it. The game is beautiful, has unique puzzles, awesome monsters and characters and weapons and GAH! When monsters suddenly popped out, i wasn't scared, but it still felt intense, even if i was playing on the easiest difficulty (lol i'm a Especially with the enhanced monsters, i would rather never see them again, they scare me. This is a really fun game that i recommend you buy. Expand
  65. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I was highly impressed by this game, not only is it scary but it plays so well, the story is good, the acting is good and I loved the controls/UI.

    This game had everything for me a good game should have.
  66. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Some games give its sequel demanding expectations to meet, and Dead Space is certainly one of them. In Dead Space 2, the gameplay feels much smoother and the controls are more responsive than in its prequel. Isaac Clarke has an entire wardrobe of engineering suits now, each having unique bonuses and advantages in combat. Old weapons are modified and the new weapons bring more excitement into combat. Some of the new enemies will swarm you in a pack, some will charge at you, and some are just overwhelmingly massive, but all present a fun challenge. What really amazes me is that Dead Space 2 still managed to maintain an incredible story. You’ll truly despise some of the characters, but also pray that others survive the necromorph massacre. The graphics are gorgeous and sometimes breathtaking when venturing in space around Saturn. If you enjoyed Dead Space 1, then this is a no-brainer. Expand
  67. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Bought immediately after finishing Dead Space. The gameplay is pretty much the same as the first game. The scavenging, the dismembering, the upgrading, it's all there and improved. Game was fairly challenging even on normal. Yes, Isaac talks! This might not be such a bad thing. It actually works. Visceral introduces some new gameplay elements, for example zero gravity floating, general improvements. As for the story, it's a little worse. I had a harder time following the story. It took me over 10 hours, closer to 13. Disappointingly, the game seems to challenge you by throwing endless waves of monsters at you. It's cheap and annoying. The same technical problems from the first game exist in DS2. Vsync runs at 30 fps, must force vsync externally to play at 60 fps. Also, Origin in-game overlay is incompatible with FXAA injectors and programs like Afterburner and D3DOverrider. EA is too lazy to fix these big problems. Not quite DS2, but still a great game. Must-play. Expand
  68. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    DS2 follows the general formula that made the first game awesome. Plus it even looks grander and is more action packed overall with more weapons and suits than ever before. Though familiarity breeds contempt so having played the near perfect Dead Space I can see why the developers decided to make the wise decision to amp up the action to challenge fans of the previous game, but still be gross and gory enough to shake up the newcomers ( and no more dumb turret mini game ). Expand
  69. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    This is a brilliant follow up to Dead Space. The story logically advances and the feeling of being alone is lessened toward the end but is almost oppressive in the beginning. The writing is excellent; voice acting continues to be superb and to give Isaac a voice is very fitting. The madness is what is the most disturbing part aside from the continuation of the necromorphs.

    The game,
    which I played on Survivalist, was especially challenging toward the end particularly since it was my first play through. The reason this does not get a 10 is that I hit a bug at the very end that prevented me from saving, using the bench and the store and had Isaac stuck in sight mode, making it impossible to run and I needed I say NEEDED to be able to access the store and it also altered the saved game to leave me with the resources that I finished the level with instead of what I started with (only a dozen rounds total and a hell of a bunch of hard rooms to run through) and I ended up just finishing it in casual so I could finish the story and not go through those god awful rooms with no resources.

    This is a great series and a really well constructed story. This game has an excellent balance of action, loneliness and madness and progresses it logically to the much more action oriented Dead Space 3.
    Expand
  70. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    I'm not an easy fan of the horror genre. I prefer horror games a bunch over horror movies, simply because I like to have control over how I deal with certain fears. When I played other horror games, like "Amnesia: the Dark Descend" or "Resident Evil", the feeling of control got to a certain point where it wasn't horrifying anymore, but more like a 'do this, prevent that' kind of thing. Putting out your lantern and hiding behind a barrel could easily get you further or stocking up on herbs and ammo was basically the key to survival although the atmosphere was top notch, the game failed to scare toy on the moments you least expected it to do so. In "Dead Space 2" however, I do believe I shat my pantaloons multiple times in rapid succession before the first hour even passed. Maybe it's a beat of the classic steam blow and sudden explosion that made me jump like crazy, but the fear you get when four enemies come screaming and clawing towards you is terrifying at its highest level. You often need tactics, but you panic, and therefore you create an extra difficulty that hides within the human mind itself. The visuals look great, the story is immersive, and the space ship feels believable. A top notch horror game that definately is my favorite of its genre. 9/10 Expand
  71. May 2, 2013
    9
    Great visuals, very atmospheric had me scared a few times. Story was fun and kept me wanting more. Gameplay was entertaining, shooting limbs is always a good way to spend a evening.
  72. May 28, 2013
    9
    This game mixes survival horror and action perfectly. With the creepy music, terrifieng creatures, great atmospher, brutal death scene, good story line, scary level design and difficulty this is a masterpiece in the survival horror genre. My only real complain is that the scares can get old. But if it do it will find a way to keep you playing. It also got a multiplayer mode where there are 2 teams. The aliens and the humans. Where if you are a alien you have to kill the humans. If you are a human you have to save the ship that you are on (or at least that is how i understood it). But it didn't take long until i forgot the multiplayer mode. And just continuet playing the singleplayer campaign. If you love survival games just like me you have to buy this game. Expand
  73. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Dead Space game! The controls and camera is much better in this game. Now on to what makes the game great! The opening is probably one of the coolest parts of any game I've ever played! You don't start out gunning down Necromorphs, you start out running for your life. No suit, no weapons, and low health. Now THAT is a way to start a game! The only thing that keeps this from being a perfect 10 is that it isn't scary. It is creepy but not scary. All it is is jump scares. It has great atmosphere. For those of you who didn't know, this game is inspired by System Shock 2. I don't know if the developers had System Shock 2 in mind as an inspiration or not but it has a lot of things that System Shock 2 has. Audio logs, mutated crew members, dark creepy corridors, bio-material growing everywhere, and someone who is helping you but turns out to be someone totally different or has other plans. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  74. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game! One of the best survival/horror games of all time definitely. Good story, strong scare factor, character development (yes glad Isaac talks in this one cos it gives a more in depth view of his persona) and lot's of fun.
  75. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    A step up from the first Dead Space. The controls are fluid and responsive. Graphic are crisp and look amazing. The only downside that I had was it felt more like a running and gunning game instead of a horror game. Sure there are moments that made me jump, but not many. If you played the Dead Space, you'll probably know what your getting into, and soon you'll be "numbed" to what going on. Playing through the game, all I was saying was, "Ah these guys again" Expand
  76. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Graphics: PC 10.

    Sound: Top notch voice acting, creepy themes during gameplay, great soundtrack. 10.

    Gameplay: Like Dead Space 1 only 10x better. Scripted events are crazier than ever. Newer guns to mess around with, melee has been updated and is much better. The zero gravity is now all free flight which looks fantastic. This is the best horror game I have ever played, tops
    Silent Hill, and Resident Evil by miles. 10.

    Story: The story continues with the main protagonist Isaac Clark, and I don’t want to spoil anything but I enjoyed it from start to finish, it’s always moving forward, and keeps the player strived to continue playing. 10.

    Lasting Appeal: Took 8 hours for me to complete on normal, the game also contains multiplayer, it’s worth buying. 10.

    Overall Score: 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  77. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    An overall beautifully made game, couldn't ask for more out of a game. Out of any of the "Dead Space" series this has to be the best, keep it up EA, can't wait for Dead Space 4!
  78. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    one of the best games i have ever played i will never forget this game .
    when i started it i didn't finish dead space 1 so i thought this one is a bad game with cheap story and crappy game play but **** it explode my mind with its awesome graphics, weapon ideas, very long story line also very exiting and its majestic ways to terrify you . the only bad thing its very hard some times .
  79. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 2 is not as scary as Dead Space 1 is, IMHO. Though it has its own merits: Isaac can now speak (not only just scream, as in Dead Space 1), and his nightmares about Nicole are just wonderful! Also, the speed flights through the vacuum are nice, too. Needless to say, the zero-gravity and vacuum features are still there, which is cool.
    Bottom line: it's a very good game (with less
    horror and more action, than in Dead Space 1), and I suggest you to buy it, if you love the first game. Expand
  80. May 23, 2014
    9
    This game truly serves the purpose of being both horror and action game. The new game mechanics make the character able to move more naturally and the game is more responsive than the previous one. The game has a lot of cool new features but without sacrificing much of the old content in the previous game.
  81. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Great game that made some good improvements one the first one first one. Controls are refined a bit and it still holds its dark and suspenseful roots of the first one. I suggest head phones for extra scary affect.
  82. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    This game improves upon its predecessor in almost every way, while still sticking to the formula that made it great. Dead Space 2 has an amazing setting and atmosphere and some impressive graphics for the age of the engine that was used. Not quite as relentlessly frightening as Dead Space, but it still has well crafted horror elements, coupled with the constant pressure of resource management. Titan Station provides a much larger and richer setting than the Ishimaru and allows the story more scope and depth. To me its one of the best and most fully realized sci-fi environments in any game. Isaac also graduates from silent protagonist to fully voiced character which adds greatly to the story. My only complaint is that the game comes in a bit short at around 8-9 hours. I think that games which are sold as mainly single player experiences should be at least over 10 hours, this isn't COD. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    An absolute blockbuster that makes the superb original look like a B-movie. [Mar 2011, p.87]
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]