Dead Space 2 PC

Dead Space 2 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 903 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters,Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters, explores epic Zero-G environments, and fights against a relentless necromorph onslaught. Survival isn't the only thing on Isaac's mind in Dead Space 2 – this time, he calls the shots. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    95
    Many horror games are able to deliver shocks during play, but none does it as well as Dead Space 2. Isaac's inner struggle in the tense setting of "Sprawl" provides an unforgettable atomsphere, making Dead Space 2 one of the most terrifying and unmissable horror games this generation and the benchmark for others to follow.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    92
    The interaction of great FPS storytelling mixed with light RPG elements has become a very successful formula and created some of my favorite games: System Shock, BioShock, Mass Effect, Half-Life and now Dead Space. The plotline of DS2 is clearly setting up for another sequel, and though I just finished playing this one, I'm already looking forward to the next. Bring it on!
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    91
    Take away the interface tweaks and improved mechanics behind how Isaac moves and feels, and examine the overall structure, you don't have a "good game and then a better game," you have two different games: a creepy sci-fi horror game with some damn good action versus a damn good sci-fi shooter with some creepy parts.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    89
    Forget coffee, Coke or Red Bull. If you never ever want to sleep again, than there's just one thing for you: Dead Space 2! You will be captivated, shocked and frightened right away from the beginning.
  5. PC Format
    Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Dead Space 2 is a more than worthy successor to the original, adding plenty of oomph to the series and a solid multiplayer experience to boot. We would have preferred more puzzles and a little less linearity, but that doesn't stop us wanting a third Isaac outing.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 24, 2011
    70
    If you loved the first Dead Space, you'll like this one. Just not as much. [Mar 2011, p.64]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 162
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Epic CAMPAIGN BUT LIMITED MULTIPLAYER
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that IsaacThis game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    I'm not an easy fan of the horror genre. I prefer horror games a bunch over horror movies, simply because I like to have control over how II'm not an easy fan of the horror genre. I prefer horror games a bunch over horror movies, simply because I like to have control over how I deal with certain fears. When I played other horror games, like "Amnesia: the Dark Descend" or "Resident Evil", the feeling of control got to a certain point where it wasn't horrifying anymore, but more like a 'do this, prevent that' kind of thing. Putting out your lantern and hiding behind a barrel could easily get you further or stocking up on herbs and ammo was basically the key to survival although the atmosphere was top notch, the game failed to scare toy on the moments you least expected it to do so. In "Dead Space 2" however, I do believe I shat my pantaloons multiple times in rapid succession before the first hour even passed. Maybe it's a beat of the classic steam blow and sudden explosion that made me jump like crazy, but the fear you get when four enemies come screaming and clawing towards you is terrifying at its highest level. You often need tactics, but you panic, and therefore you create an extra difficulty that hides within the human mind itself. The visuals look great, the story is immersive, and the space ship feels believable. A top notch horror game that definately is my favorite of its genre. 9/10 Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    Scary? No. Fun? Hell yes.
    Let me start by saying this is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. I could spend a half hour just
    Scary? No. Fun? Hell yes.
    Let me start by saying this is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. I could spend a half hour just looking out the windows onto the city. But Dead Space 2 can take you from awe to terror in just a few seconds. The necromorphs are grotesquely designed, and the action is perfectly choreographed. Sure, there are plenty of jump out of the closet scares, but I would NOT call this a survival horror game, simply because you're a walking gun cabinet. Necromorphs end up falling apart after a few credits are spent on upgrades. But for the most part, watching your enemies being torn to shreds compensates for those false claims. The hardest thing for me is to identify any faults. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the multiplayer. Although it looks good on paper, I found it to be very dry and uninteresting, as if Visceral missed a few key elements in designing it. All in all, the singleplayer alone is still worth the $60 I paid.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Yet again, Isaac Clarke is thrown into the middle of a terrible situation. Unfortunately, our hero is no longer faceless and voiceless. TakeYet again, Isaac Clarke is thrown into the middle of a terrible situation. Unfortunately, our hero is no longer faceless and voiceless. Take that how you will, but for me, it was kind of upsetting. It kind of ruined how I imagined him and his reactions to the horrors around him. This game is not focused so much externally on the environment and discovery as the first game was, but instead focuses more on Isaac's internal struggles and their external manifestations. We experience a hero drowning in madness while fighting a horrifying alien threat. This is much more fast-paced and action-oriented than the first but with the introduction of some new enemies, the game becomes much more frantic. It is still tense, just a different kind of tense. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Dead space 2 is a really competent game. The action feels great and there the combat feels good. The enemies are varied enough and there isDead space 2 is a really competent game. The action feels great and there the combat feels good. The enemies are varied enough and there is enough weapons so that you wont get bored. The Sci-fi setting feels great and i really liked the environments not to mention the space sections that i really enjoyed. The story and the character interactions are good enough even though i personally wasn't a big fan of the story. Overall the game feels like a nicely put together shooter without any really serious flaws. The quicktime events are awful though. And i found myself getting a little bit bored of the combat in the later parts of the game since it gets a bit repetitive. I should also mention that i rarely got frightened in the game despite being a bit of a coward so don't go into this game expecting anything like scary. This game is simply put a really well put together third person shooter that hold a high standard all the way through but never really blows you away. The games length should be a bit under 10 hours depending of what difficulty you chose. Expand
  7. May 18, 2011
    0
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    Expand

See all 162 User Reviews