Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters, explores epic Zero-G environments, and fights against a relentless necromorph onslaught. Survival isn't the only thing on Isaac's mind in Dead Space 2 – this time, he calls the shots. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    95
    Many horror games are able to deliver shocks during play, but none does it as well as Dead Space 2. Isaac's inner struggle in the tense setting of "Sprawl" provides an unforgettable atomsphere, making Dead Space 2 one of the most terrifying and unmissable horror games this generation and the benchmark for others to follow.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    92
    The interaction of great FPS storytelling mixed with light RPG elements has become a very successful formula and created some of my favorite games: System Shock, BioShock, Mass Effect, Half-Life and now Dead Space. The plotline of DS2 is clearly setting up for another sequel, and though I just finished playing this one, I'm already looking forward to the next. Bring it on!
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    91
    Take away the interface tweaks and improved mechanics behind how Isaac moves and feels, and examine the overall structure, you don't have a "good game and then a better game," you have two different games: a creepy sci-fi horror game with some damn good action versus a damn good sci-fi shooter with some creepy parts.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    89
    Forget coffee, Coke or Red Bull. If you never ever want to sleep again, than there's just one thing for you: Dead Space 2! You will be captivated, shocked and frightened right away from the beginning.
  5. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Dead Space 2 is a more than worthy successor to the original, adding plenty of oomph to the series and a solid multiplayer experience to boot. We would have preferred more puzzles and a little less linearity, but that doesn't stop us wanting a third Isaac outing.
  7. Feb 24, 2011
    70
    If you loved the first Dead Space, you'll like this one. Just not as much. [Mar 2011, p.64]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 155
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a worthy successor to Dead Space 1. More enemies, more guns, more stories (Isaac becoming a character is a plus!), more hatred for the Unitologists- the only downside is that you don't actually get to fight the religious zealots themselves. This game is intense, gruesome, and overall incredible. It's got lots of replayability in trying out different weapons on higher difficulties. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Bought immediately after finishing Dead Space. The gameplay is pretty much the same as the first game. The scavenging, the dismembering, the upgrading, it's all there and improved. Game was fairly challenging even on normal. Yes, Isaac talks! This might not be such a bad thing. It actually works. Visceral introduces some new gameplay elements, for example zero gravity floating, general improvements. As for the story, it's a little worse. I had a harder time following the story. It took me over 10 hours, closer to 13. Disappointingly, the game seems to challenge you by throwing endless waves of monsters at you. It's cheap and annoying. The same technical problems from the first game exist in DS2. Vsync runs at 30 fps, must force vsync externally to play at 60 fps. Also, Origin in-game overlay is incompatible with FXAA injectors and programs like Afterburner and D3DOverrider. EA is too lazy to fix these big problems. Not quite DS2, but still a great game. Must-play. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is in some way indentical to Dead Space 1, but it has a number of new things that manage to uplift Dead Space 2 from Dead Space 1. One thing that really made the game for me where those interactive cutscene things, just amazingly well-made. The sounds and music are downright spectacular. Pretty much the same weapons and a few new ones, a talking Isaac and new armor also make this game more interesting that its predecessor. The animations are silky smooth and the voice acting is very convincing. It has some downright disturbing moments and plenty of very tense and hectic fighting. The enemies are... interesting in a way i guess. Most of them very disturbing and freaky, good variety too, you need different approaches for different enemies. Great game, not too different in terms of gameplay but it does the job of providing a new and very interesting successor of Dead Space 1. Thank you Visceral Games, roll on Dead Space 3. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Yet again, Isaac Clarke is thrown into the middle of a terrible situation. Unfortunately, our hero is no longer faceless and voiceless. Take that how you will, but for me, it was kind of upsetting. It kind of ruined how I imagined him and his reactions to the horrors around him. This game is not focused so much externally on the environment and discovery as the first game was, but instead focuses more on Isaac's internal struggles and their external manifestations. We experience a hero drowning in madness while fighting a horrifying alien threat. This is much more fast-paced and action-oriented than the first but with the introduction of some new enemies, the game becomes much more frantic. It is still tense, just a different kind of tense. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    Much better port than to original game. The options are still a bit limited and the camera still feels a little odd, but the overall controls are improved and the UI is improved as well. Zero gravity segments are drastically better than in the original game but the came during these segments is a headache to control. The story isn't as good but it's full of twists and turns to keep you interested. I definitely wouldn't consider this game scary at all, it's more of an action-thriller. If you liked the first game, you will surely like this one more. Expand
  7. May 18, 2011
    0
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost
    connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    **** graphics, multiplayer always lost connection
    Expand

See all 155 User Reviews