Dead Space 3 PC

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead Space 3 - Pre-Order Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 221
  2. Negative: 44 out of 221
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    I went into this game with a lot of trepidation based on the mixed reviews. Love the first two, and while this is short on the horror aspect,I went into this game with a lot of trepidation based on the mixed reviews. Love the first two, and while this is short on the horror aspect, it's a fantastic game in its own right. Long, tough and fun throughout. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    I played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode andI played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode and enjoying it.

    My favourite parts of the game were in orbit above Tau Volantis, going from ship to ship, looking for stuff and the great vista of being in space and above that world.

    I liked the differences between this game and the others making my own weapons, upgrading them with different circuit boards and attatchments. I think this 3rd Dead Space game needed changes otherwise it would just be the same formula all over again. Seems to me the developers did a smashing job of keeping what was really great about the other 2 games and adding in new aspects.

    There were more problems than usual with some glitches, like not being able to pick up ammo or some other things. I recommend not getting the voice "personalities" for the bots it gets really annoying after a while and it's like they never shut up sometimes.

    Considering they made this game in 2 years, compared to Aliens: Colonial Marines" five years well, they did an amazing job. And the Co-op is well implemented thanks Visceral for another great effort, much appreciated !

    Story was okay for me, ending too this is one of the best games I've played this year not sure what people are complaining about. I wonder sometimes if some gamers are becoming way way too demanding and critical jeepers Stop the whining and enjoy this game already :D
    Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2017
    7
    Nice polish and great graphics. Lacks the fear and terror due to both familiarity of the necromorphs and the absence of a claustrophobicNice polish and great graphics. Lacks the fear and terror due to both familiarity of the necromorphs and the absence of a claustrophobic environment that was present in DS 1. Having more fire power and many more enemies is fun, but it sacrifices the tension and anticipation that made the earlier games great. There are some great moments to be had, but the game suffers from down time not just in story, but in Isaac moving all over the map for fetch missions. For DS3, more doesn't necessarily mean better. Still a good game 7/10 Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    6
    The game is good but nothing like the first two games. this sequel is mostly a TPS rather than a survival horror it has its horror momentsThe game is good but nothing like the first two games. this sequel is mostly a TPS rather than a survival horror it has its horror moments here and there. I specially didn't like the fact that some missions are locked unless you have a co-op partner (they could of removed those or made them invisible during singlepplayer), also some bosses are reused that gets annoying after a while (spider). Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    As the third installment in the pretty brilliant Dead Space series, it has become increasingly difficult to remain as scary and touching asAs the third installment in the pretty brilliant Dead Space series, it has become increasingly difficult to remain as scary and touching as the series was at its inception. Dead Space 3 does many things very well, but seems to have fallen short on exactly those strengths that made this franchise unique. Dead Space 3 has turned the franchise into a very straightforward 3rd person shooter, with some scary moments.

    Gameplay-wise, Dead Space 3 offers a revamped Weapon system, where players can create completely custom weapons that combine any two weapon types, most of which we have seen before, and some of which are brand new. While heralded by many reviewers as a great feature, it actually manages to completely destroy one of the principles that made Dead Space what it was: surviving on the bare minimum, being short on everything, having to adapt your playstyle to availability of Shops, ammo and weaponry. No more of this with the new Bench, you will have the most destructive weapon you could possibly build, within the first few hours of play.

    And of course it IS fun to play around with the bench and blast away the uglies. But it gets boring very quickly, and then you realize the new customization options completely destroy the game's feel of tension and fear. It gets worse, though. At some point you have the materials you need to start upgrading your already overpowered weaponry through Circuits, to ensure the need to progress slowly and with care is now completely obliterated.

    Where Dead Space 1 offered a quality storyline like few games can and have done, Dead Space 3 has reduced the story to a bare necessity to justify the large amount of content it has. Because yes, there are many levels to play and places to discover, though all of them are fairly linear and offer little in terms of surprise or shock.

    In conclusion, I feel it is safe to say that Dead Space 3 is a very solid 3rd person action game, but no longer a very solid Survival Horror game. If you are looking for and expecting the latter like most players of the franchise, this can be a bit unsettling.
    Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2016
    0
    I wasn't already expecting much of this game since the second wasn't so good as the first, but i have to admit that it surpassed my mostI wasn't already expecting much of this game since the second wasn't so good as the first, but i have to admit that it surpassed my most negative expectations. I mean like damn it, how could they screw things up this much? They really done it with this one.

    Simply the worst game i have ever played. (i have played many games)
    Expand

See all 221 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.