Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 883 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 192
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    just because the game isn't a carbon copy of the first two games doesn't mean its bad the game, the game really holds its own in the series as a game just as cool, and for most levels just as scary Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    I played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode and enjoying it.

    My favourite parts of the game were in orbit above Tau Volantis, going from ship to ship, looking for stuff and the great vista of being in space and above that world.

    I liked the differences between this game and the others making my own weapons, upgrading them with different circuit boards and attatchments. I think this 3rd Dead Space game needed changes otherwise it would just be the same formula all over again. Seems to me the developers did a smashing job of keeping what was really great about the other 2 games and adding in new aspects.

    There were more problems than usual with some glitches, like not being able to pick up ammo or some other things. I recommend not getting the voice "personalities" for the bots it gets really annoying after a while and it's like they never shut up sometimes.

    Considering they made this game in 2 years, compared to Aliens: Colonial Marines" five years well, they did an amazing job. And the Co-op is well implemented thanks Visceral for another great effort, much appreciated !

    Story was okay for me, ending too this is one of the best games I've played this year not sure what people are complaining about. I wonder sometimes if some gamers are becoming way way too demanding and critical jeepers Stop the whining and enjoy this game already :D
    Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    I'll just say, that at this precise moment it really deserves the 7 it's getting. Hell, it can probably go higher after a few patches. Time will tell. In short, the graphics are more than satisfactory, the writing and voice acting is excellent and immersive, the story CAN get a little cliche and vague at times, but it seems as a logical evolution of previous installments. Now one thing that everyone is mentioning is the dynamic of the gameplay. It's a tad more faster paced than the DS1 2, the enemies are more aggressive and faster, while the ammo is scarce at best (though that could be a matter of Difficulty). The overall atmosphere feels the same, the gritty, bloodstained corridors, the unidentifiable noises and the ever-familiar vent-scares are there, though how well they actually work with the more aggressive gameplay, that is up to each individual gamer's taste. If i had one thing to complain about, it would be the feeling of playing an unfinished product. There are some bits here and there, that feel very unpolished and even laughable, which, for me, ruins the whole experience. In summation: It's not the shiniest addition to a franchise, but it's a very good game in its own right. Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    6
    The game is good but nothing like the first two games. this sequel is mostly a TPS rather than a survival horror it has its horror moments here and there. I specially didn't like the fact that some missions are locked unless you have a co-op partner (they could of removed those or made them invisible during singlepplayer), also some bosses are reused that gets annoying after a while (spider). Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    5
    The Dead Space franchise moved forward, and sadly it has also been corrupted by EA's PureGreed engine.
    resources to be grinded for no reason,
    weapon ammo dumbed-down, game pace speed up AGAIN they had already done it on dead space 2 diverging the game even more from the horror roots.

    Weapon crafting system almost nice, but too obviously just a plot to convince people to throw away money to build their perfect weapon, along with an overly long and infinite achievement list to unlock certain weapon parts and armor, again to push no bully the gamer which already purchased the game with an AAA price tag to throw even more money towards EA.

    Worse still, all the hallucination scenes and the last game chapters were seemingly ripped off the base game and tacked on a DLC to gaugue more money from the players, giving the story an odd pace on both the base game with its non-ending, and the 'expansion'.

    The franchise would deserve a better number, but unfortunately it has to be averaged with EA's low rating, making it deserve no more than a 5.
    Expand

See all 192 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.