Dead Space 3 PC

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1076 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 221
  2. Negative: 49 out of 221
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    I played all three Dead Space games. I liked the first and second, and I loved this third Dead Space. The gameplay hasn't changed much fromI played all three Dead Space games. I liked the first and second, and I loved this third Dead Space. The gameplay hasn't changed much from DS2, but I like the way you can make personalized weapons as well as upgrade them. But the main evolution is, in my opinion, the scenario: more action, well-developed characters, et cetera. The whole alien thing was a little disappointing though, and it's a shame that the game is so quick to finish. But in overall, Dead Space 3 is definitely one of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    This franchise is among my favorite in the entire industry. This first game was one of the scariest thing I've ever experienced and the secondThis franchise is among my favorite in the entire industry. This first game was one of the scariest thing I've ever experienced and the second one was a great game but I did find my self scared a jump scare or two got me but that was it. This game had quite a lot of attempts at scare but, much like the second, not many got pass. The overall mood of the game is mildly tense in a scary way but there is a large amount tension in not knowing what is going to happen next. The mood of the game best shows through during solo play, save co-op for your second play through. Overall, much like the second game, it does less than stellar in the horror genre, unless you are easily gotten by jump scares. On the earlier mention not of co-op, it works great when you have no one in your game then there is no AI to follow you around leavening the feel of the game intact, rather than making you fell like a babysitter for your AI partner. The combat is as great as ever and the weapon crafting system is easy and one of the most fun this about the game can be making new weapons. If you like the old weapons than have no fear they all make a return. There is even a mode unlocked upon beating the game that is unlocked where you can only use those guns. Speaking of other modes there are 4 in total, not including new game that add in things that make the game more interesting, like hardcore where you have to play the game without dying once or pure survival where you must craft med-kits and ammo as you find none through. This helps to boost replay value even higher which is amassing considering that this games cut-scenes are short and none feel unneeded. The pacing of the story is great if you like to explore your game worlds, if not it might be a little slow, the last two chapters, out of the nineteen in the game, felt a little rush as the story accelerated towards the finale. Exploring is rewarded in this game with not only achievements but in game rewards every time you complete a set, which range from text log to weapon parts and even artifacts.

    So to summarize if your looking solely for a horror game then look elsewhere but that is not to say the game is not great. The combat and mechanics are great and work flawlessly. The atmosphere is mildly tense and will keep you guessing on what will happen next. the graphics and sound design are beyond stellar. Replay value is high.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    I enjoyed the game, and it kept me coming back, playing hours on end until I'd finished. That said, it's more of the same. Loved DS and DS2,I enjoyed the game, and it kept me coming back, playing hours on end until I'd finished. That said, it's more of the same. Loved DS and DS2, so can't *really* go wrong. Some additions/changes aren't as welcome, however: too much focus on combat, too many enemies that push you into a corner and f**k up the camera, save state problems (no save points - just autosave) and a stupid cliffhanger ending that the DLC simply exaggerated. Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    6
    The game is good but nothing like the first two games. this sequel is mostly a TPS rather than a survival horror it has its horror momentsThe game is good but nothing like the first two games. this sequel is mostly a TPS rather than a survival horror it has its horror moments here and there. I specially didn't like the fact that some missions are locked unless you have a co-op partner (they could of removed those or made them invisible during singlepplayer), also some bosses are reused that gets annoying after a while (spider). Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    5
    The Dead Space franchise moved forward, and sadly it has also been corrupted by EA's PureGreed engine.
    resources to be grinded for no reason,
    The Dead Space franchise moved forward, and sadly it has also been corrupted by EA's PureGreed engine.
    resources to be grinded for no reason, weapon ammo dumbed-down, game pace speed up AGAIN they had already done it on dead space 2 diverging the game even more from the horror roots.

    Weapon crafting system almost nice, but too obviously just a plot to convince people to throw away money to build their perfect weapon, along with an overly long and infinite achievement list to unlock certain weapon parts and armor, again to push no bully the gamer which already purchased the game with an AAA price tag to throw even more money towards EA.

    Worse still, all the hallucination scenes and the last game chapters were seemingly ripped off the base game and tacked on a DLC to gaugue more money from the players, giving the story an odd pace on both the base game with its non-ending, and the 'expansion'.

    The franchise would deserve a better number, but unfortunately it has to be averaged with EA's low rating, making it deserve no more than a 5.
    Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    Literally, just a few hours into the game, and i am done. This game literally is utter Between the retarded lack of options to even remotelyLiterally, just a few hours into the game, and i am done. This game literally is utter Between the retarded lack of options to even remotely carry out dialogue between co op partners, and the endless stupid mission, aka avoiding the flying derbies when it is impossible to talk to your partner at all, this game is not worth my time. Literally if i wanted to play a good horror game i would go play Metro, and with last light coming out soon, guess where I will be? Expand

See all 221 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.