Dead Space 3 PC

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 225
  2. Negative: 52 out of 225
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Never played DS1 or DS2. However, I read the plots and watched the movies before going into Dead Space 3. I'm one of those random fewNever played DS1 or DS2. However, I read the plots and watched the movies before going into Dead Space 3. I'm one of those random few (apparently) that actually enjoy games like RE5, LP2 and BL2. In short, I'm a coop whore. If you're not, good for you and this review is not for you. I've already completed the game with a friend and I will say that as a coop game, DS3 is a good game. The visuals are pretty intense and I don't even want to know what the texture budget was. There are some minor plot holes and some surprises, but I couldn't help feeling that some of the plot seemed ripped out of the Mass Effect or Halo series. Its got all the hallmarks of a "massive race intent on harvesting all life and wiping the galaxy clean". Its passable for a single game but it leaves one to wonder how it will damage the series as a whole. As for gameplay, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Coop partner and I would cover each other through many events. The coop missions, which have one player hallucinating and seeing out-of-place objects, was a very nice touch. "Dude, do you see the presents and birthday cake!?" "Um... no... I see a crate... with blood on it. Its like every other crate we've seen" "So you don't also see the big banner that says 'happy birthday'?" "Nope." It is a conversation I will not soon forget. As far as the bench system is concerned, it is a nice touch but I found myself wanting more suit upgrades. The weapons are very customizable but the suits upgrade are pretty basic. For anyone wondering, the suits themselves are cosmetic only and have no effect on the game. Suit upgrades transfer between suits automatically. The one downside of the bench system is that in coop games, one partner may find themselves waiting on the other. A more user friendly interface for the bench (showing all upgrade menus, etc.) at once would've streamlined the process.

    I will admit that the space interior and exterior environments in the first half of the chapters were the best in the game. Aside from the fact that half of the crew must have spent most of their lives in the many elevators (loading screens) in the game, it all felt connected and that you were actually in a game world. The planet side chapters often felt disconnected even though there was no clear cut-off or drop-in moment aside from when you arrive. I could have done without the rappel mountain sequences. If they would have made the entire game take place in space, I wouldn't have minded.

    As far as difficulty (on normal), in coop it didn't seem insurmountable except for one long occasion in the second to last chapter when waves of enemies pour in. However, that same room/environment is reused three times in that chapter so the attack doesn't come as a surprise. The last chapters reuse a lot of the environment and feels a little rushed.

    For the record, I was also not a fan of the last boss. It seemed nearly identical to the last boss in Mass Effect 2. Big boss, weak points, and done. I don't want to penalize the entire game though for one weak boss considering I was pleased with a majority of the game.

    For this PC version, I will say I'm not a fan of Origin but it isn't very bothersome in this game and I've learned to loathe it less. EA has made some good strides in recent years, but they seem to be spending too much on games and betting too much at the Craps table. That argument applies to Dead Space 3 as well. The game has incredibly high productions values, but it makes you wonder where they could have walled the garden a bit more and spent less. Betting that your game will sell more than five million copies to turn a profit is a tough sell. I hope they will continue with their plans for a Dead Space 4 (albeit reign it in) and retain coop but only time will tell.

    I am looking forward to working my way through pure survival mode next in coop.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    I played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode andI played Dead Space 1 and 2 and as far as I'm concerned, this is a great 3rd installment. I'm now replaying it on "Survival" mode and enjoying it.

    My favourite parts of the game were in orbit above Tau Volantis, going from ship to ship, looking for stuff and the great vista of being in space and above that world.

    I liked the differences between this game and the others making my own weapons, upgrading them with different circuit boards and attatchments. I think this 3rd Dead Space game needed changes otherwise it would just be the same formula all over again. Seems to me the developers did a smashing job of keeping what was really great about the other 2 games and adding in new aspects.

    There were more problems than usual with some glitches, like not being able to pick up ammo or some other things. I recommend not getting the voice "personalities" for the bots it gets really annoying after a while and it's like they never shut up sometimes.

    Considering they made this game in 2 years, compared to Aliens: Colonial Marines" five years well, they did an amazing job. And the Co-op is well implemented thanks Visceral for another great effort, much appreciated !

    Story was okay for me, ending too this is one of the best games I've played this year not sure what people are complaining about. I wonder sometimes if some gamers are becoming way way too demanding and critical jeepers Stop the whining and enjoy this game already :D
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    My first ever proper look into playing the Dead Space franchise, I liked it.
    - Yes, if you were a fan of the previous Dead Spaces, you would
    My first ever proper look into playing the Dead Space franchise, I liked it.
    - Yes, if you were a fan of the previous Dead Spaces, you would most likely hate and dislike this new inclusion in the series.
    - It lacks horror, it has obvious jump scares and does almost nothing which would give you the same creepiness and it just doesn't have the same as previous Dead Spaces to say the least
    - It is very obvious that they either took or were forced by EA to take the safe side and choose the one which would give them the most profit which is an action shooter game (as if we didn't have enough of them), and in this genre I would say they did fine, they had weapon customization, engaging enemies, a couple pleasant boss fights.
    - They also did coop in my opinion awesomely. You weren't forced to restart a mission just because someone wanted to play with you, the drop in and drop out system at the checkpoints were very convenient.
    - This game is an action/shooter rather than the previous in the past horror/survival/shooter sort of genre
    - 7/10 because I have not played the previous and see this as an action shooter with horror elements and it seems like it did fine in the genre
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    Dead Space 3 was not entirely what I expected. The first two games were certainly better, more horrifying and the stories in my opinion wereDead Space 3 was not entirely what I expected. The first two games were certainly better, more horrifying and the stories in my opinion were just altogether better. Dead Space 3 didn't really get my locked in the story that much, but it was alright. The gameplay was fun to me, it seemed just like the first two games, but, again, not as scary, and that is something that I believe really needs to be in Dead Space games; fear! The first two games were so great, but this one seemed like such a great disappointment to me. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    Is it only me who see that this game is so secondary in every aspect, that even its plot is the copy of the Mass Effect franchise idea?Is it only me who see that this game is so secondary in every aspect, that even its plot is the copy of the Mass Effect franchise idea? Enormous creatures, that are made of body parts to wipe out every been in the galaxy, ancient aliens, that made a machine to stop it, but failed... and only one hero, that would succeed by making a sacrifice? C'mon!
    One more thing. With this snowy landscapes, assault troops running around and big monsters with orange spots to shoot it made me recall Lost Planet (first part). Glad there are no robots to ride yet to complete the sameness.
    It feels that Dead Space franchise has lost its originality in the 3rd part, cause now it is played as every other multi-platform action game with covers and roll-overs, while keeping all of the own series issues: narrow corridors, lots of identical small rooms where nothing happens, millions of doors that lock down right after your back and lame camerawork with Isaak's back covering half of the screen most of the time PS. Oh, and we were fooled when told that we may get the same experience in single player as with partner there are some areas for co-op missions that are forbidden in singleplayer mode same way as unique items stashed there.
    Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2016
    0
    I wasn't already expecting much of this game since the second wasn't so good as the first, but i have to admit that it surpassed my mostI wasn't already expecting much of this game since the second wasn't so good as the first, but i have to admit that it surpassed my most negative expectations. I mean like damn it, how could they screw things up this much? They really done it with this one.

    Simply the worst game i have ever played. (i have played many games)
    Expand

See all 225 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.