Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 945 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 206
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Yes, DS has lost that amazing atmosphere of dread that the first two games capitalized on so brilliantly. They could have really turned the atmosphere of this frozen planet idea into some more mysterious and fascinating tapping into our imagination. Yes, the game does start off slow as well and there are a lack of tutorials for the new crafting system which is inexcusable. However stacked against what this game has going for it and other games out there right now a user score of 5.7 out of 10 is ridiculous.

    The crafting system is amazing and addictive, it's so much fun experimenting. You know that when you're making a new weapon or tweaking it a few times an hour they did it right. I was skeptical about them adding soldiers to fight with but I really gotta say it's an welcome change of pace. How many hours of necromorphs can we fight without expecting EA to add a different dimension of enemy, I gotta say the soldiers are a welcome addition. EA has fixed some of the frustrating issues plaguing the previous games like making the zero-g space areas easier to navigate and placing more oxygen tanks around just in case. Also universal ammo is a good thing, it would be impossible for the crafting system to work without it.

    In closing DS3 is at its core still DS, its lost that atmosphere but lets face it DS1 and DS2 really set the bar at the ceiling. EA has tried its best to add some new vigor into the series while fixing some haunting issues of the predecessors, overall this is still dead space it's not some game we've seen a million iterations of which mean its keeps a special place in my heart as a true DS fan!
    Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    I have read many of the reviews and I dont think people got the memo that this was not gonna be a horror game like its predecessors. Its an Action/FPS/RPG now and I think some players got a bit hurt about that. I have found the storyline well written and the voice over work to be well done. The shooting works well and the game moves smoothly through a very well rendered world of space mutant necro-bugs. If you liked Mass Effect then you will like this game. Dead space 1 and 2 are totally different games and Im thankful they decided to go another route with this one. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3 doesn't deserve the all of the derision it has gotten from gamers and critics even though it doesn't quite live up to its predecessors. Ditching some of the pure horror elements of the franchise was appropriate for the story and setting of the game and it actually outshines DS1&2 in some areas. Environments are detailed and beautifully realized. Level design is great and offers some non-linear elements that reward you for exploration. There is also a very deep weapon and equipment customization system that allows you to gather a wide range of resources use them to create and upgrade. You are required to manage resources wisely to advance.

    The problems with the DS3 lie along two lines. First, the developers seem to think you constantly need hordes of enemies to shoot at and this can lead to sections of the game were the action is Call of Duty style over the top. Over the course of an almost 20 hr campaign this can get exhausting and even dull. There should be some quieter moments to allow you to explore the large environments, provide exposition or allow for character interaction. Second, while the overall plot is pretty good, the story pacing can sometimes drag and instead of progressing it can belabor the same points. Also, The characters outside of Isaac and Ellie are poorly developed and their actions are sometimes hard to understand.

    Overall the experience could best be described as "Bioschock 2 in space" and it should be enjoyed on those terms instead of being compared to its predecessors.
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    Dead Space 3: The Perfect Necromorph

    My expectations were big for Dead Space 3, even if the game didn't seem spooky anymore and well, you
    know, EA was in charge. I really appreciated the first 2 games and I wanted to see the finally. I got what I wanted, but at a certain price..

    First things first, Dead Space 3 was developed for consoles and unfortunately for us PC gamers, it's a straight port. The controls are awful and absolutely not intuitive. A good example would be the key to exit menus, sometimes it's TAB, sometimes ESC. I strongly recommend re-mapping the hot-keys unless you want your hand to feel like a spider on the keyboard. The graphics are the same as on console and they're aren't any fancy settings like FOV. I don't understand why EA would put zero effort in the PC version of a game they want to sell massively and be successful. It's like EA still doesn't care about PC Gamers and think they are a minority.

    At least EA did us a favor, they added micro-transactions to the game, cause hey, we love micro-transactions, don't we.. Not only is there micro-transactions, co op was added to the game! But don't worry, not the lame local co op were you get to play with your friend on the couch and have a great time. Instead, both have to pay for the game, full price and play online on stable servers. Thank you EA for your generosity, kindness and openness to customer feedback!

    For the core game-play itself, it's not that bad. You can only carry two guns with you, instead of four, but the dismemberment still feels good and that's important for a third game in a franchise that's about killing alien zombies. The Necromorphs also still feel dangerous and scary, that last aspect being a concern for a lot of players before release. Visceral Games decided to renew the crafting system or as they call it the "bench". You can now create your own weapons and items from materials which are scavenged by bots you send out. It's a fun addition, but I had so many health packs I never felt I needed to make some until the very end. Another poor aspect of the game-play were boss fights. They were completely unoriginal and way too simple, including the finally. Developers seem to have a hard time making good boss fights these days. If your going to have boss fights in your game, at least make them fun and challenging or don't put them at all.

    The last aspect that I haven't talked about is the reason why I bought the game: the story. The background story, the main plot, is the best part of the game and it's what saves it. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you've always wanted to know the truth behind those Markers and that Visceral Games delivered. There is only one thing that bothered me in the story: the relationship between Isaac and Ellie. In the first game, our favorite engineer is in love with his girlfriend Nicole and misses her terribly. In the second game we meet Ellie, but Clarke has visions of Nicole and is still clearly in love with her. Nothing special happens between Ellie and Isaac, they simply help each other out. Now apparently, we haven't seen Ellie since, but we are heartbroken and miss her terribly. I don't get the sudden change. The whole story I never bit the new romance. It's like they completely forgot about Nicole and replaced her with Ellie. Isaac doesn't even mention her once or think about her, even if she was a very important character in the first two games.

    Dead Space 3 is exactly like one of it's horrible creatures: the transformation from console to PC was horrible, it's hungry for you(or your money), it's not too friendly about having fun with someone else, the flesh around it is rotten and you can't feel much compassion for it, but at it's core, it is what it is, a Dead Space game. That's what saved it, but to get there, I had to go through a lot of rotten flesh and that's a hard price to pay(apart from the 60$) just to have a bit of fun and learn the truth. I would only recommend the game to real Dead Space fans, that have played both first games and I also suggest you wait for the price to lower(around 20$). EA should leave this franchise alone for a couple of years, before it completely decays. I know there's a DLC for the game, but that should of not even existed. Maybe EA is using the Dead Space games to pass subliminal messages to players: "Make us whole EA, make us whole!", but so far I don't think that's working out too good for them.

    Verdict
    A good Dead Space game at it's core, but the flesh around it leaves a bitter taste.

    Score: 6.5/10
    Recommended Price: 20$

    + Background story
    + Dismemberment
    + Ambient and sound effects
    - Boss fights
    - Straight port
    - The love story
    - Micro-transactions
    - No local co op
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    As the third installment in the pretty brilliant Dead Space series, it has become increasingly difficult to remain as scary and touching as the series was at its inception. Dead Space 3 does many things very well, but seems to have fallen short on exactly those strengths that made this franchise unique. Dead Space 3 has turned the franchise into a very straightforward 3rd person shooter, with some scary moments.

    Gameplay-wise, Dead Space 3 offers a revamped Weapon system, where players can create completely custom weapons that combine any two weapon types, most of which we have seen before, and some of which are brand new. While heralded by many reviewers as a great feature, it actually manages to completely destroy one of the principles that made Dead Space what it was: surviving on the bare minimum, being short on everything, having to adapt your playstyle to availability of Shops, ammo and weaponry. No more of this with the new Bench, you will have the most destructive weapon you could possibly build, within the first few hours of play.

    And of course it IS fun to play around with the bench and blast away the uglies. But it gets boring very quickly, and then you realize the new customization options completely destroy the game's feel of tension and fear. It gets worse, though. At some point you have the materials you need to start upgrading your already overpowered weaponry through Circuits, to ensure the need to progress slowly and with care is now completely obliterated.

    Where Dead Space 1 offered a quality storyline like few games can and have done, Dead Space 3 has reduced the story to a bare necessity to justify the large amount of content it has. Because yes, there are many levels to play and places to discover, though all of them are fairly linear and offer little in terms of surprise or shock.

    In conclusion, I feel it is safe to say that Dead Space 3 is a very solid 3rd person action game, but no longer a very solid Survival Horror game. If you are looking for and expecting the latter like most players of the franchise, this can be a bit unsettling.
    Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    Not scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the save feature! It only autosaves which doesn't save during long side missions which you can accidently stumble across and lose hours of play. Even when you finish the side missions it doesnt always save. This is not a bug they chose to add this feature. The incompetence in EA is mind boggling.

    They added a roll feature to try to make it like gears of war so you can dodge the groups of necromorphs sprinting at you, there's country music playing, the entire time I was like wtf. Weapon crafting is so much worse and the menu purposely is not visible so you have to spend more hours on the game. All the original weapons now suck even with upgrades and there's soooo many medkits so looting has become a complete bore.

    The first Dead Space was good, the second they improved on it and it was critically acclaimed. I don't know what posseses them to change the gameplay. Some games shouldn't be changed, like you don't change Super Mario. Dead Space could've been one of the greater trilogys ever but EA screwed up they'll never get those fans back. This game was a 100% cash out
    Expand

See all 206 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.