User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 911 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 911

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Got it in for the steam sale, but been holding off to play it for a long time since im a wimp to scary LOL. but I give it a 9 after playing it for sometime now. I like the mysterious story behind it, never know whats coming next. Graphics are surprisingly good for this first game of the series. Only reason it's not a 10 is because the controls are a bit hard to get use to, like switchingGot it in for the steam sale, but been holding off to play it for a long time since im a wimp to scary LOL. but I give it a 9 after playing it for sometime now. I like the mysterious story behind it, never know whats coming next. Graphics are surprisingly good for this first game of the series. Only reason it's not a 10 is because the controls are a bit hard to get use to, like switching guns is always a dam hassle of getting the right one. Thats the only issue i really had. Really great game though. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    Really, really good. Dead Space. That's such a name, isn't it? The game, once opened up, has a very tense menu, then, the introduction is intense too, showing off beautiful shading, and polygonal detail. There are hundreds of models, from cables on the walls, benches and Pipes, to little paper cups, this game has the detail of a real architectural design. The sound design is fantastic, asReally, really good. Dead Space. That's such a name, isn't it? The game, once opened up, has a very tense menu, then, the introduction is intense too, showing off beautiful shading, and polygonal detail. There are hundreds of models, from cables on the walls, benches and Pipes, to little paper cups, this game has the detail of a real architectural design. The sound design is fantastic, as you hear echoey chiming and something scratching in the walls, and the graphics are quite well shaded, but once a light gets too bright on a texture or something small, it looks... watercoloury... The game is intense, gut wrenching and addictive, however feeling slightly stiff. The game is only slightly short, but secrets make you play again and again. :D Smile! Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    This game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the shipsThis game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the ships crew. There is only one error that I can find with this game and that error is that every weapon apart from your default weapon (Plasma Cutter) is useless!

    Everyone is saying this game is a super crappy PC port but the problems they explain are problems I did not run into, it has normal FPS controls and the mouse movement is easy to get used too, I guess the people complaining about the port controls have there own heads up there arses or there dirty console peasants.

    If you like Survival Horror games then you are going to really like this!
    Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    Wonderful game, nice storyline well write, fearful atmosphere very addictive. Realistic phisic and gravity effect. I Love this game except for the impossibility of rebind command but well worth the effort to change our habits binding preferences_ Nice worck guys of Visceral squad!
  5. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    I usually don't like survival horror games like resident evil or silent hill but dead space was probably one of the most tense and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. It has such an amazing atmosphere that sucks you in with fantastic sound design which can scare you just as much as the horrifying monsters. The gun play is great as it limits you with scarce ammo but is rarelyI usually don't like survival horror games like resident evil or silent hill but dead space was probably one of the most tense and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. It has such an amazing atmosphere that sucks you in with fantastic sound design which can scare you just as much as the horrifying monsters. The gun play is great as it limits you with scarce ammo but is rarely frustrating. The main problem that stops me from giving this game a nine or ten is that late in the game the game starts to lose its creepy atmosphere and starts to focus on combat which leads to some frustrations as fighting large groups is awkward. Overall though the game is insanely atmospheric and the world sucks you in and proceeds to frighten the crap out of you. I'd say this and its sequel are the best horror games on modern consoles possibly ever! Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    The original and the best. Better than Dead Space 2 and 3. This is the scariest game in the series. The dark and gloomy atmosphere aboard a ship in space which has been overrun with infected creatures causes me to become stressed when I'm playing but in a good way. I had to scrounge around for ammo and medkits because resources are scarce. Great game still today. Highly recommended if youThe original and the best. Better than Dead Space 2 and 3. This is the scariest game in the series. The dark and gloomy atmosphere aboard a ship in space which has been overrun with infected creatures causes me to become stressed when I'm playing but in a good way. I had to scrounge around for ammo and medkits because resources are scarce. Great game still today. Highly recommended if you seek a game with a tense atmosphere, soundtrack and premise. 8/10 Expand
  7. May 19, 2014
    6
    dead space is someimes good, but sometimes its pretty boring. when everything works, its a good game. the game has great atmosphere. the graphics are great, especially smoke effects and lighting.the guns are cool, and the enviroments are pretty varied. the guns are also really cool and unique. the game has some great scares. the story is passable. near the end it got a bit interesting butdead space is someimes good, but sometimes its pretty boring. when everything works, its a good game. the game has great atmosphere. the graphics are great, especially smoke effects and lighting.the guns are cool, and the enviroments are pretty varied. the guns are also really cool and unique. the game has some great scares. the story is passable. near the end it got a bit interesting but before that it was boring. characters are pretty boring as well. the objectives are horrible and boring. most of them are just annoying "push a button" or "go there and push a button" missions. your character just does the work for everyone. the game has A LOT of backtracking. it gets annoying going back all the time. the pc port is horrible. the menu has extreme delays, and the game has extremely long loading times. the game also doesnt play so well with a keyboard+mouse.
    overall the game is mediocore. when it works its fun but it can get boring at times
    Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Dead Space is definitely a true horror game, one that (really, really) leaves you on the edge of your seat. However, this game suffers from linearity, unfortunately. The story-telling is otherwise superb.
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome and very scary at the same time, it's claustrophobic, mysterious and tricky. Only thing that I don't like is mouse input lag that I've fixed by plugging in PS3 controller and translating it to X360 controller input using MotionInJoy, I've enjoyed this game very much and I'm giving it 9/10, yes there are some bugs and glitches like graphical, AI logic and some rareThis game is awesome and very scary at the same time, it's claustrophobic, mysterious and tricky. Only thing that I don't like is mouse input lag that I've fixed by plugging in PS3 controller and translating it to X360 controller input using MotionInJoy, I've enjoyed this game very much and I'm giving it 9/10, yes there are some bugs and glitches like graphical, AI logic and some rare path-finding bugs. Expand
  10. Dec 10, 2014
    7
    The game itself is fantastic. Excellent sf horror story, great atmosphere, interesting universe. The only thing that really bothers me and brings the game down are controls. If you have a gamepad plugged in the game will automatically assume you are using it and show gamepad icons even if you use K&M. That said if you use K&M the controls are awkward and not very intuitive. If you can getThe game itself is fantastic. Excellent sf horror story, great atmosphere, interesting universe. The only thing that really bothers me and brings the game down are controls. If you have a gamepad plugged in the game will automatically assume you are using it and show gamepad icons even if you use K&M. That said if you use K&M the controls are awkward and not very intuitive. If you can get past that the game is as I said fantastic. Expand
  11. May 28, 2013
    9
    This survival horror masterpiece is truly frightening. The space ship that Issac is in feels lonely and certainly creepy, because of the zombie-like enemies that always surprise players in the most quiet moments and in the most uncomfortable situations. This game has a creepy atmosphere, that succeeds creating tension.
    But, what's wrong with this game resulting a score of nine? Well, it's
    This survival horror masterpiece is truly frightening. The space ship that Issac is in feels lonely and certainly creepy, because of the zombie-like enemies that always surprise players in the most quiet moments and in the most uncomfortable situations. This game has a creepy atmosphere, that succeeds creating tension.
    But, what's wrong with this game resulting a score of nine? Well, it's the slightly complicated controls, nothing else. Dead Space is an amazing game that I highly recommend, especially for the survival-horror fans.
    Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2014
    5
    Can't believe how much love this game gets. Controls are phenomenally bad, even with the well-known vsync and other fixes. It's just such a chore to play with such awful controls. I played it for an hour, tried all the fixes, uninstalled. Too many good games to play rather than fight with this one.
  13. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome it's not really as scary as many people say but it's an awesome Survival Horror title you should pick it up if you like Survival Horror like games and it's pretty similar to Resident Evil 4 and the story is amazing and the graphics are not the best but it is a 2008 game.
  14. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Pretty nice but some times clunky especially the corpses of the dead some may get stuck on a wall Sound: Very good also the voice acting is great Story: Solid but sometimes players might get lost in it but everything gets clear in the end Game play: Great but could have been just a little bet better as sometimes the player might feel
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Pretty nice but some times clunky especially the corpses of the dead some may get stuck on a wall
    Sound:
    Very good also the voice acting is great
    Story:
    Solid but sometimes players might get lost in it but everything gets clear in the end
    Game play:
    Great but could have been just a little bet better as sometimes the player might feel that his or her enemies is way powerful and sometimes survival gets very tough
    Overall Dead space as a fine third person shooter game but it just needed a little twist
    Expand
  15. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    A constant remix of tried and true horror techniques that's left me more afraid, not the technique itself, but always wondering when it would finally arrive and in what form. For example, there are countless times you enter a bloodied bathroom expecting something to jump out. Over and over again the game lets you off the hook. You worry every single time you enter one. Making you keep yourA constant remix of tried and true horror techniques that's left me more afraid, not the technique itself, but always wondering when it would finally arrive and in what form. For example, there are countless times you enter a bloodied bathroom expecting something to jump out. Over and over again the game lets you off the hook. You worry every single time you enter one. Making you keep your guard up constantly was what this title excels at.

    Overall it is an engaging and thrilling experience that could not be polished further.
    Expand
  16. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the better EA games i have played. Runs great on Max-settings, no mouse lag that most seem to complain about, great shooting mechanics and overall game-play. And this is also one of the better PC-ports i have played. I'd recommend to pick this one up as It's more than worth it's current price.
  17. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game in the series, one minor issue being delayed user input, but this could easily be fixed by turning off VSYNC so its not that big of an issue. One of the first things I remember noticing about this game was the lighting, it looked amazing, especially for a console port. The ambience is done excellently as well, good sound effects where they need to be. It makes for aEasily the best game in the series, one minor issue being delayed user input, but this could easily be fixed by turning off VSYNC so its not that big of an issue. One of the first things I remember noticing about this game was the lighting, it looked amazing, especially for a console port. The ambience is done excellently as well, good sound effects where they need to be. It makes for a very suspenseful atmosphere and I loved it, replayed it at least 10 times. Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This is a true futuristic, space aged version of resident evil. Very graphic, plot driven and extremely scary. This game also has brilliant visuals but it's primary selling point would be the impressive sound design and score, especially during the boss battles. The controls are a bit clunky though.
  19. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    I picked this game up along with a couple others with the Humble Origin Bundle. And I have to say this game is probably the best of the three made so far! I should know I own all three. The way the game handles on keyboard is my only issue! And there may be a few puzzles that are harder to figure out. But, overall this was a really good game. I would like to say more but I don't want toI picked this game up along with a couple others with the Humble Origin Bundle. And I have to say this game is probably the best of the three made so far! I should know I own all three. The way the game handles on keyboard is my only issue! And there may be a few puzzles that are harder to figure out. But, overall this was a really good game. I would like to say more but I don't want to soil it for anyone else who wants to play it. Expand
  20. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Ok, so. Let's start from the beginning. This game is AMAZING. The BEST game EVER! Oh my gosh this gun is SO cool. Then you get to the near-end. I've seen this bloody enemy for fiftieth time! Can't I get a break? Nope. Your dead. Trying to skip 30 second overly gory death scenes (which you can't). Now start the WHOLE sequence again. This is the first Dead Space in the nut shell.
  21. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very nice game that offers a nice game-play and story with Isaac the space engineer as main character. it delivers nice combat play and good horror effects. very nice graphics compared to date of release.
    10/10 from Denmark
    Expand
  22. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    I got this game for free on Origin, and now I understand the hype. I enjoyed the gameplay and the plot is fantastic. There was some confusion with resolution, vsync and sensitivity, as it seems it was not optimized for PC. However, I do think it only takes some time to get used to said sensitivity and change the settings. In my opinion, it doesn't take away much from the game. If DeadI got this game for free on Origin, and now I understand the hype. I enjoyed the gameplay and the plot is fantastic. There was some confusion with resolution, vsync and sensitivity, as it seems it was not optimized for PC. However, I do think it only takes some time to get used to said sensitivity and change the settings. In my opinion, it doesn't take away much from the game. If Dead Space 4 comes out, It's definitely a must for me to buy it. Expand
  23. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Very high quality product from Electronic Arts. Game developers clearly draws inspiration from the films "Alien" by Ridley Scott and "The Thing" by John Carpenter. The atmosphere is incredible, the first minutes of total immersion in the game world. I do not remember so much in the style of atmospheric Sci-Fi games, can only be the Aliens versus Predators 2. Very interesting design of theVery high quality product from Electronic Arts. Game developers clearly draws inspiration from the films "Alien" by Ridley Scott and "The Thing" by John Carpenter. The atmosphere is incredible, the first minutes of total immersion in the game world. I do not remember so much in the style of atmospheric Sci-Fi games, can only be the Aliens versus Predators 2. Very interesting design of the spacecraft, all very realistic, all in their places. Interesting system upgrades, original weapon. As far as the Necromorphs, I have never been so much fun to dismember, burn and trample into the meat of an aggressive alien biomass. Personally, I was not scared to play, the game is not like horror, but kept in constant tension to the very end of the game. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    Did you enjoy the System Shock series? Were you upset because they never continued it due to EA owning the rights to the series? Well fret not they finally did something with it-oh I just stepped in what I believe is dog shi-nope, just a complete rip-off of the System Shock series!

    However, as disappointed a I was with this waste of time, I'll give it a nice ugly score of 5 (just
    Did you enjoy the System Shock series? Were you upset because they never continued it due to EA owning the rights to the series? Well fret not they finally did something with it-oh I just stepped in what I believe is dog shi-nope, just a complete rip-off of the System Shock series!

    However, as disappointed a I was with this waste of time, I'll give it a nice ugly score of 5 (just because I only believe in three grades, those being A, C, and F, but I'll use a 5 to substitute a 70-79 score on a 100-point scale) because it was playable and although (some) of the employees from Visceral games seems to think they discovered atmosphere and immersion techniques they are comparable to a teenager discovering internet porn for the first time and going on to brag about it-they ripped off a good game and with that said, I found the pacing to be adequate at best. But its not worth its' full retail price. Feel free to skip this game if you see it during the next sale (or on Origin, IF Origin has it and IF Origin ever has sales), you won't miss out on anything but a 6-to-8-hour story campaign with unlovable characters, decent pacing, and a complete 3rd-person rip-off of System Shock/Doom.

    Buuuuut,if all you care about is "graphix and gunZ!!!11!one!", break a leg.
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    One of those great horror games which keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the game keeping a tense lock on your senses. This is a good example of how horror should be done.
  26. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed the game and this is coming from a person that dislikes horror stuff. The controls are horrible, but I guess it does add to the panic your going to be facing in this game. I haven't experienced any bugs really. I did not like the map interface, and just avoided using it. Luckily the game has a feature called a breadcrumb pathway to show you the way. Upgrading your weaponI really enjoyed the game and this is coming from a person that dislikes horror stuff. The controls are horrible, but I guess it does add to the panic your going to be facing in this game. I haven't experienced any bugs really. I did not like the map interface, and just avoided using it. Luckily the game has a feature called a breadcrumb pathway to show you the way. Upgrading your weapon and upgrading your suit feels really satisfying knowing that your much more prepared to fight whats ahead. Expand
  27. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Un juego con toques de survival horror en el que estar solo en el espacio y con una ambientación siniestra y lúgubre ayuda a que te metas de lleno en el juego y su trama, lo recomiendo si te gusta los juegos de mezcla terror/shooter. Jugabilidad buena Los graficos tambien son buenos y el sonido con toques siniestros le da un buen punto al juego, de todas maneras deja que desear bastante yUn juego con toques de survival horror en el que estar solo en el espacio y con una ambientación siniestra y lúgubre ayuda a que te metas de lleno en el juego y su trama, lo recomiendo si te gusta los juegos de mezcla terror/shooter. Jugabilidad buena Los graficos tambien son buenos y el sonido con toques siniestros le da un buen punto al juego, de todas maneras deja que desear bastante y se te puede hacer repetitivo. Expand
  28. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    One of the best horror games out there with disturbingly brutal environments, fear-provoking action and a story-line which stays interesting to the end. However, the controls are not the best I've seen, and the movements and sensitivity feels too "floaty".
  29. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people constantly say "Go there, make that," etc. Well, this is not the first game with a dumb hero, so I'm fine with that.
    Bottom line: if you love horror-action games, you should try this one.
    Expand
  30. May 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game of Survival Horror genre. Deserves a perfect score for its excellent gameplay and graphics, but the difficulty seems to me something difficult. Expand
  31. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    This is a good game, but not always scary as they say, are more instant scares.

    Graphics: Because the truth esque 2008 are great.
    Gameplay: Very comfortable to play, but third-person shooter is not always great.
    Multiplayer: None,
    Duration: You will spend it within 10 hours.
  32. Apr 6, 2014
    7
    It's a pretty good game. Why'd I give it a 7? If you're like me, then i guess you like games that center your character, or have a feature here there's a quick turn. Through out the WHOLE game I struggled with trying to see the enemy. And in the elevators? That was absolutely hell trying to just LOOK OUT THE DOOR.
  33. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    It is the scariest game I've ever played! The graphics on the PC are very good, but the PS3 is a little less. Was one of the top 10 games I played on the PS3. Optimal difficulty where you must save all the time weapons ammo and use strategy when buying supplies and then not become more difficult to play. 10!
  34. k_9
    Aug 12, 2014
    10
    Bought it three years ago but somehow never got to try it. Just finished it recently. Great experience if you are brave and a fan of horror fps genre which I am not (Was that a confession?). Still, recommended to everyone new to this series. Graphics and sound are fantastic. The weapons upgrading system is fantastic. Makes you craving for those power nodes, searching, making plans aboutBought it three years ago but somehow never got to try it. Just finished it recently. Great experience if you are brave and a fan of horror fps genre which I am not (Was that a confession?). Still, recommended to everyone new to this series. Graphics and sound are fantastic. The weapons upgrading system is fantastic. Makes you craving for those power nodes, searching, making plans about what you wanna keep and what you sell away for that extra bit of money to afford another node. The limb cutter weapon and foot thumping are my two favorite features of this franchise. The suspense and surprise are good. Midnight? Feeling lonely? Nothing to do? Go to hell but don't try this! USG Ishimora is NOT a aplce for cowards, mind you. Expand
  35. May 13, 2014
    10
    Очень интересный и интригующий сюжет, хороший геймплей, реально страшная атмосфера, поддерживаемая отличным звуковым сопровождением.
  36. May 23, 2014
    9
    It was a breath taking sci-fi horror game. The game left you with only tools that you can found in the ship in order to survive the madness that is happening. Although I'm having little problem with my mouse sensitivity, but soon after get it fixed, the game just run amazingly. Great storyline and atmosphere in this game definitely makes this one of the best horror game.
  37. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Interesante propuesta de Hub, con la vida a la espalda de tu personaje, además la atmósfera es muy interesante y los personajes también. Lo malo es que la jugabilidad llega a ser un poco repetitiva y bastante correcalles, pero las armas son también una genialidad. Para jugar prestado o comprar en grandes rebajas.
  38. Jul 3, 2014
    7
    Pretty good game that screams bad console port. The controls for this game are really bad as many of the reviews here indicate. The issue is that the developers mapped analog stick controls for pc play so when you are moving your mouse it's like using a poorly optimized analog stick. Precise movements are impossible with the mouse. A solution to this is disabling v-sync in game and forcingPretty good game that screams bad console port. The controls for this game are really bad as many of the reviews here indicate. The issue is that the developers mapped analog stick controls for pc play so when you are moving your mouse it's like using a poorly optimized analog stick. Precise movements are impossible with the mouse. A solution to this is disabling v-sync in game and forcing it via your graphics card and jacking up mouse sensitivity. I don't know how effective this is because I gave up on the mouse and decided to use a gamepad. Anyway, with a controller this game functions fine. I recommend anyone who gets this game for the PC to first consider using a controller instead of a mouse and keyboard. Honestly, using the mouse ruined the experience I had in the earlier chapters.

    Now for the game itself. It's pretty good with an interesting story. You play an engineer named Isaac who is trying to escape an infested ship called Ishimura. The atmosphere of the game is great. It's the best aspect of the game. Everything from the music, sound effects, and setting creates this dark and isolated atmosphere. While the game isn't necessarily piss your pants scary it does create some very tense moments. I think people need to keep this in mind before playing the game. Highly recommend if you are into these types of games. 7.5/10
    Expand
  39. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    I really dont understand why critics like this game so much, its not that good. Controls are awkward until you dont get used to it, shooting is alright but what I really hate is that Isac is moving like a slug when aiming! Storyline is alright, linear, and the graphics are nice. Killing those thins is allot of fun, but the game is not scary for a horror game, its predictable, oh and IfI really dont understand why critics like this game so much, its not that good. Controls are awkward until you dont get used to it, shooting is alright but what I really hate is that Isac is moving like a slug when aiming! Storyline is alright, linear, and the graphics are nice. Killing those thins is allot of fun, but the game is not scary for a horror game, its predictable, oh and If that thing appears behind your back, you are **** you need a century to turn around and scan the area! Expand
  40. Sep 14, 2014
    5
    dead space on my harddrive.

    I played it got it free off origin it was on the house decided give it a try this is hard to review because to me it felt like just a generic fps its ok I played some of it got bored never touched it again it didn't have that pull back that made me want to start it up again I don't have much else to say if you like fps and like some mild jump scare once in a
    dead space on my harddrive.

    I played it got it free off origin it was on the house decided give it a try this is hard to review because to me it felt like just a generic fps its ok I played some of it got bored never touched it again it didn't have that pull back that made me want to start it up again I don't have much else to say if you like fps and like some mild jump scare once in a while you will probably like this title but fps market seems so flooded and most of whats here you seen before.

    just average middle of the road game in my eyes.
    Expand
  41. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played. I love Half life and FEAR series, but this something different. This is just you and loads of necromorf meat to blast.

    This game has it all: good scares, tons of gore, gallons of blood, great weapons, very nice story, scary enemies and huge old creepy ship to explore. At the end you kill the big bad boss and fly home. I just love it. I played
    One of the best games i have ever played. I love Half life and FEAR series, but this something different. This is just you and loads of necromorf meat to blast.

    This game has it all: good scares, tons of gore, gallons of blood, great weapons, very nice story, scary enemies and huge old creepy ship to explore. At the end you kill the big bad boss and fly home. I just love it.

    I played this five or more times. Second and third games feel a bit watered down, but this is a true gem. This is game that gives you that heavy feeling around your stomach, this is the game that makes you feel overwhelmed until the end. Please buy it and play it!
    Expand
  42. Feb 28, 2015
    8
    Good game, a lot of stress . We hesitate to each corridor corners . the scenario is crazy but we want to understand why.
    Excellent horror games in space and yet I am not too ammateur the genre.
  43. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    After hearing a distress signal (From the anime of dead space downfall) a group of engineers, Isaac Clark, Kendra Daniels, and Zack Hammond come to the ship U.S.G. Ishimura to repair their radio transmitter. Shortly after investigating they are attacked by the games threat "necromorphs." After repairing the ships radio transmitter and avoiding several catastrophes they are finally able toAfter hearing a distress signal (From the anime of dead space downfall) a group of engineers, Isaac Clark, Kendra Daniels, and Zack Hammond come to the ship U.S.G. Ishimura to repair their radio transmitter. Shortly after investigating they are attacked by the games threat "necromorphs." After repairing the ships radio transmitter and avoiding several catastrophes they are finally able to retrieve a transition, that of a war ship named U.S.M Valor. Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    Bought this on special from Steam, the graphics are really good, and the atmosphere and immersion are unreal, but unfortunately the otherwise decent gameplay is let let down by awkward controls as a result of a fairly average console port.

    My other major gripe is the game mechanic of using the same resource for upgrades as you use for health and ammo, since every time you play out an
    Bought this on special from Steam, the graphics are really good, and the atmosphere and immersion are unreal, but unfortunately the otherwise decent gameplay is let let down by awkward controls as a result of a fairly average console port.

    My other major gripe is the game mechanic of using the same resource for upgrades as you use for health and ammo, since every time you play out an engagement less than perfectly it pretty much gimps your character for the future, and with the clunky controls this happens quite a bit. Add to this the fact that the savepoints are fairly far apart and it can make for a very frustrating experience. I'm just over halfway through it and the story seems very cliché and unoriginal so far. If you've already played through any of the Doom or Half Life series (or a dozen other games for that matter) there's nothing really new or interesting that this offers story wise.

    If you see this on special for XBOX or PS3 it might be worth a look at but I wouldn't recommend it for PC.
    Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. This is a highly recommended game for science fiction and survival horror fans, with its claustrophobic atmosphere and horrible creatures.
  2. Overall, Dead Space is an extraordinary game with tons of shock value and action to whet any fan's appetite for some time, and with a campaign that lasts a steady 10-12 hours, that’s plenty of time to get lost aboard the Ishimura.
  3. Dead Space is a potentially great game that's hamstrung by an attempt to completely ape a console controller with a mouse and keyboard. [Dec 2008, p.58]