Dead Space PC

Dead Space Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In DeadIn the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In Dead Space, players step into the role of engineer Isaac Clarke – an ordinary man on a seemingly routine mission to fix the communications systems aboard a deep space mining ship. It is not long before Isaac awakes to a living nightmare when he learns that the ship's crew has been ravaged by a vicious alien infestation. He must fight through the dead silence and darkness of deep space to stay alive. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Integrating some nice variety into one game while maintaining its decidedly action-oriented dynamics, Dead Space is appealing across a wide cross-section of gameplay styles. Wrap an engrossing plot that is a veritable warren of intermingling themes around this and you've got a game that is basically a guaranteed experience.
  2. Total PC Gaming
    90
    [Issue#13, p.54]
  3. Dead Space is one of best Survival Horror releases in years. Tense, violent and incredibly aggressive; playing it at night with a loud 5.1 sound system can provide you the most spectacular scare moments of your life.
  4. Dead Space is great entertainments for adults, not only because of the amount of gore and horror, but also because of the enthralling story with some nice twists. It's impressive how well pictures, dialogues and sound work together to form a cinema-like atmosphere.
  5. Dead Space was definitely a risk for EA and it's great to see they were willing to run with it, because it is a fantastic game. It looks and sounds great, is a lot of fun to play and oozes atmosphere.
  6. PC Zone UK
    81
    Dead Space is a potentially great game that's hamstrung by an attempt to completely ape a console controller with a mouse and keyboard. [Dec 2008, p.58]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Despite its by-the-numbers storyline, the game grabs you into its sucking chest wound of a world and keeps you there until the last chitinous spike has been blasted from the final suppurating torso. [Dec 2008, p.67]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 242
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Picked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is anPicked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is an incredible game, great storyline and probably the best fiver I spent on a game which is about three years old. As good as that first feeling you got when playing the first Resident Evil, though that's a poor comparison. Dead Space sucks you into it's madness and chaos, leaving you gasping for a breather. Definitely going to grab Dead Space 2. Collapse
  2. Jan 13, 2017
    10
    One of the best sci-fi horror games out there. Amazing ambience, story and gameplay. This is the game equivalent of the first Alien movie.One of the best sci-fi horror games out there. Amazing ambience, story and gameplay. This is the game equivalent of the first Alien movie.

    The story puts you on a mining station "Ishimura" after responding to a distress call. On arrival you and your two crew mates crash land on the station and find out that the station is overrun by creatures called necromorhps. It is up to you to figure out what's exactly going on at the station, find your girlfriend who was stationed there and get out.

    The story is quite interesting and takes through the different parts of the ships where you gather bits and pieces to solving the mystery of what exactly happened. Takes quite a while to go thrugh all the chapters but it's engaging, interesting and at no point repetitive.

    Graphics still hold up very nicely - the level design is very nice and there are just a few areas you will re-visit. The audio layer is amazing and gives a lot to the ambience. The thumps in the air ducts, the humming of machines and the echo of your footsteps. Makes your hair stand up.

    As far as mechanics go - this is somewhat of a 3rd person shooter but the array of weapons and the way you fight the enemies is not from a standard shooter. Most of the weapons are energy weapons each with its own distinguish ammunition. The way you use them against the necromorphs is you need to cut off their limbs rather than going for the classical headshots. This makes for a very interesting mechanic where the first thing you aim at are the legs - at least for the most enemies.

    Additionally you get a stasis power which lets you slow down the enemies affected by the stasis field which comes in handy with a bigger amount of enemies. There is a couple of different enemy types and most of them differ significantly from each other requiring a bit different approach which is really nice.

    The only problem I've had is that you can tell that the game was designed for console. And the sensitivity on the mouse changes when you go into aim mode and feels a bit sluggish. But its not very hard to get used to it and enjoy this great game.

    A must play game.
    Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Let me put it this way: for a couple of days i could not play this game for more than an hour - so tense and scared it kept my sheety pants!Let me put it this way: for a couple of days i could not play this game for more than an hour - so tense and scared it kept my sheety pants! :) Excellent graphics, excellent atmospheric sound, cool upgradable weapons and armour, horrific monsters, and a Classic Sci-Fi / Mysticism story makes this a Must-Have Game! Expand
  4. DanielJ.
    Jan 21, 2009
    8
    This is a really great game! However, at first I was rather dissappointed with the noticeable amount of mouse lag and the third-person This is a really great game! However, at first I was rather dissappointed with the noticeable amount of mouse lag and the third-person over-the-shoulder-camera-view where the main character blocked a significant portion of the view. But after switching off vsync and changing to a widescreen resolution, both of these initially quite annoying problems almost vanished and allowed me to discover what a thoroughly enjoyable and suspense-filled, atmospheric sci-fi "horror" shooter it really was. The "strategic maiming" sets it apart from many other games and is actually rather fun. It can be quite challenging at times - you need to aim both well and quick since you are often ambushed by several creatures at once. All in all highly recommended for fans of the genre! Expand
  5. DaleF
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. Interesting and innovative maneuvers in zero-G (not something I Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It'd been awhile since I'd re-visited the Ishimura and its (sadly) mostly dead crew. We landed, their were spooky scripted things and then the game lurched into a slow pattern of repeated onslaughts, puzzles, and a fairly in-cohesive, but functional storyline. You see, old Isaac our main character, is a bit of a fifth wheel on board this scifi-search'n'rescue-aliens-ripoff. In fact I was starting to think he was made as a joke by the development team as he's always running about killing hoards of zombie alien converted crew members, or repairing things that will conveniently only help you (or your mystery guests) for very short periods of time before possibly breaking again. Meanwhile I assume the folks that came with him are up telling ghost stories and drinking hot cocoa in a control room somewhere. Occasionally monitoring you on the cameras aboard the ship to check to see if you're actually still alive and continuing to fix things. Isaac's buddies are rather shifty from the get-go and its handled quite poorly throughout and rather disappointingly around the last hour or so of the game. Isaac's emotional love-interest is on board supposedly and is meant to tug at the heart strings of players, but even when most people didn't care about her existence. It provides very little pull for players and when we have no real connection to the world Isaac lives in, a frankly terrifying futuristic nightmare space land full of massive ships that punch entire holes into planets, it makes it even harder to care about what we're actually doing on this poorly designed and rather cramped ship. Of course something has gone wrong, yet they only send one engineer, a black guy and an incredibly suspicious and seemingly useless woman to go and check out this massive ship? Ridiculous plot aside, their is a lot missing from our adventure throughout the ship. Its probably actual suspense, tension or build up and payoff, since the only horrifying thing about the game is that you'll never run out of ammunition. It would seem the entire team forgot to make the game "actually" scary as well. Featuring jump scares such as: arrival in seemingly empty room with a few items inside or a particularly useful switch needed to progress, upon entry or press of said control panel, "ambush by aliens." It started to become irksome, and you were already buried in ammunition, credits, armor, and guns that could blow away just about any threat. Of course their are two portions of the game that are absolutely loathsome and almost stopped my replay when I remembered them. "The asteroid shoot out." Their is a portion that is so unintentionally difficult early on that almost makes me want to shut off the game and go find a nice woman to marry. I have no idea why its so difficult, only that it has something to do with patterns of rocks coming your way, the very little damage you can take before you lose, and the difficulty in actually aiming at the damn things. Of course who could forget the death sequences? I mean wow, just utterly disgusting and time consuming. "I get it. I died." I like how a game like Dead Space actually rubs it into your face when you die at any point. Obviously someone with actual humor must have been able to sneak this idea in. I'm sure no other game has ever done this ever. Dead Space is the culmination of a lot of things, ideas, generic science fiction writing, and dialogue as well. It is not original in many ways at all, save for the fact that it "functions" and at the end of the day that's what a lot of people liked about it. Was it scary? No. Was it challenging? Not particularly. Were the characters memorable? Nope. What about the plot was it worth holding out till the end of the game? If I was expecting EA to completely ruin an installment I would've waited for a few more games, which I did, and they did end up ruining the entire franchise incidentally. The plot is open and shut at the end of the first game. It hardly even needed a sequel, but one was made anyway. Their are far better games out there in the same vein as Dead Space. Like Resident Evil 4 and that was pretty good. Go play that again if you're bored. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2015
    0
    I wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the gameI wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the game except when the character was moving; then it was impossible to turn. Expand

See all 242 User Reviews