Dead Space Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In DeadIn the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In Dead Space, players step into the role of engineer Isaac Clarke – an ordinary man on a seemingly routine mission to fix the communications systems aboard a deep space mining ship. It is not long before Isaac awakes to a living nightmare when he learns that the ship's crew has been ravaged by a vicious alien infestation. He must fight through the dead silence and darkness of deep space to stay alive. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Integrating some nice variety into one game while maintaining its decidedly action-oriented dynamics, Dead Space is appealing across a wide cross-section of gameplay styles. Wrap an engrossing plot that is a veritable warren of intermingling themes around this and you've got a game that is basically a guaranteed experience.
  2. Total PC Gaming
    90
    [Issue#13, p.54]
  3. Dead Space is one of best Survival Horror releases in years. Tense, violent and incredibly aggressive; playing it at night with a loud 5.1 sound system can provide you the most spectacular scare moments of your life.
  4. Dead Space is great entertainments for adults, not only because of the amount of gore and horror, but also because of the enthralling story with some nice twists. It's impressive how well pictures, dialogues and sound work together to form a cinema-like atmosphere.
  5. Dead Space was definitely a risk for EA and it's great to see they were willing to run with it, because it is a fantastic game. It looks and sounds great, is a lot of fun to play and oozes atmosphere.
  6. PC Zone UK
    81
    Dead Space is a potentially great game that's hamstrung by an attempt to completely ape a console controller with a mouse and keyboard. [Dec 2008, p.58]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Despite its by-the-numbers storyline, the game grabs you into its sucking chest wound of a world and keeps you there until the last chitinous spike has been blasted from the final suppurating torso. [Dec 2008, p.67]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 248
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Picked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is anPicked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is an incredible game, great storyline and probably the best fiver I spent on a game which is about three years old. As good as that first feeling you got when playing the first Resident Evil, though that's a poor comparison. Dead Space sucks you into it's madness and chaos, leaving you gasping for a breather. Definitely going to grab Dead Space 2. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2017
    10
    its very simple this game is Amazing and its a whole new idea and gameplay with great story and thriller. Its hardcore survivor horror that aits very simple this game is Amazing and its a whole new idea and gameplay with great story and thriller. Its hardcore survivor horror that a real horror and survivor fan would enjoy and fall in love with. Its like the old school horror is back in a modern way. Expand
  3. anonymous
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    What a fantastic game. Like an ode to Doom 3 in many ways, its totally engaging and absorbing. The gameplay is terrifically well balanced What a fantastic game. Like an ode to Doom 3 in many ways, its totally engaging and absorbing. The gameplay is terrifically well balanced too, not too much, not to little of anything. Also, for basically a console port, the PC version is super clean, including a good compromise on the save system.... it just works well. The only complain I had was that the third person view makes visibility pretty tough sometimes, but you get used to it. There are times when I couldn't see what was going on, which made my eyes hurt. But this only happened occasionally. A GREAT game, truly Expand
  4. AlexH
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    Norman and Bryan: newfags can't disable vsync!

    The mouse controls are terrible until you do the above, and then they are fine. Great
    Norman and Bryan: newfags can't disable vsync!

    The mouse controls are terrible until you do the above, and then they are fine. Great game, I already owned it on PS3 and I still had to have it for PC. You may want to make sure your rig can run it, but if it can, I highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  5. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    The controls are pretty bad, luckily, if you are an experienced PC Gamer, you will find the enemies rather slow so in the end you will be The controls are pretty bad, luckily, if you are an experienced PC Gamer, you will find the enemies rather slow so in the end you will be more of a horror to them then they are to you. Speaking of which, it's supposed to be a really scary game, but I can't say it is. Not one time I was scared. Well, only one time I thought "What the hell?" when I entered a vacuum in space and an enemy suddenly hit me from behind a wall, but it didn't scare me. Other than that, often a sudden change in music or a roar from the enemy indicates that you are about to be ambushed. Not to mention that the area you are in will be in lockdown untill all enemies are complete, making it rather easy to know if there are still enemies left or not. The bosses look great, pretty epic. The last time I saw such fun bosses was in Crysis. Overall, the game is pretty enjoyable, and a good gameplay system. However, it only partly lives up to it's promises as it's factor for being scary is rather low. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It'd been awhile since I'd re-visited the Ishimura and its (sadly) mostly dead crew. We landed, their were spooky scripted things and then the game lurched into a slow pattern of repeated onslaughts, puzzles, and a fairly in-cohesive, but functional storyline. You see, old Isaac our main character, is a bit of a fifth wheel on board this scifi-search'n'rescue-aliens-ripoff. In fact I was starting to think he was made as a joke by the development team as he's always running about killing hoards of zombie alien converted crew members, or repairing things that will conveniently only help you (or your mystery guests) for very short periods of time before possibly breaking again. Meanwhile I assume the folks that came with him are up telling ghost stories and drinking hot cocoa in a control room somewhere. Occasionally monitoring you on the cameras aboard the ship to check to see if you're actually still alive and continuing to fix things. Isaac's buddies are rather shifty from the get-go and its handled quite poorly throughout and rather disappointingly around the last hour or so of the game. Isaac's emotional love-interest is on board supposedly and is meant to tug at the heart strings of players, but even when most people didn't care about her existence. It provides very little pull for players and when we have no real connection to the world Isaac lives in, a frankly terrifying futuristic nightmare space land full of massive ships that punch entire holes into planets, it makes it even harder to care about what we're actually doing on this poorly designed and rather cramped ship. Of course something has gone wrong, yet they only send one engineer, a black guy and an incredibly suspicious and seemingly useless woman to go and check out this massive ship? Ridiculous plot aside, their is a lot missing from our adventure throughout the ship. Its probably actual suspense, tension or build up and payoff, since the only horrifying thing about the game is that you'll never run out of ammunition. It would seem the entire team forgot to make the game "actually" scary as well. Featuring jump scares such as: arrival in seemingly empty room with a few items inside or a particularly useful switch needed to progress, upon entry or press of said control panel, "ambush by aliens." It started to become irksome, and you were already buried in ammunition, credits, armor, and guns that could blow away just about any threat. Of course their are two portions of the game that are absolutely loathsome and almost stopped my replay when I remembered them. "The asteroid shoot out." Their is a portion that is so unintentionally difficult early on that almost makes me want to shut off the game and go find a nice woman to marry. I have no idea why its so difficult, only that it has something to do with patterns of rocks coming your way, the very little damage you can take before you lose, and the difficulty in actually aiming at the damn things. Of course who could forget the death sequences? I mean wow, just utterly disgusting and time consuming. "I get it. I died." I like how a game like Dead Space actually rubs it into your face when you die at any point. Obviously someone with actual humor must have been able to sneak this idea in. I'm sure no other game has ever done this ever. Dead Space is the culmination of a lot of things, ideas, generic science fiction writing, and dialogue as well. It is not original in many ways at all, save for the fact that it "functions" and at the end of the day that's what a lot of people liked about it. Was it scary? No. Was it challenging? Not particularly. Were the characters memorable? Nope. What about the plot was it worth holding out till the end of the game? If I was expecting EA to completely ruin an installment I would've waited for a few more games, which I did, and they did end up ruining the entire franchise incidentally. The plot is open and shut at the end of the first game. It hardly even needed a sequel, but one was made anyway. Their are far better games out there in the same vein as Dead Space. Like Resident Evil 4 and that was pretty good. Go play that again if you're bored. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2015
    0
    I wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the gameI wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the game except when the character was moving; then it was impossible to turn. Expand

See all 248 User Reviews