Dead Space PC

Dead Space Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1072 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In DeadIn the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In Dead Space, players step into the role of engineer Isaac Clarke – an ordinary man on a seemingly routine mission to fix the communications systems aboard a deep space mining ship. It is not long before Isaac awakes to a living nightmare when he learns that the ship's crew has been ravaged by a vicious alien infestation. He must fight through the dead silence and darkness of deep space to stay alive. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Integrating some nice variety into one game while maintaining its decidedly action-oriented dynamics, Dead Space is appealing across a wide cross-section of gameplay styles. Wrap an engrossing plot that is a veritable warren of intermingling themes around this and you've got a game that is basically a guaranteed experience.
  2. Total PC Gaming
    90
    [Issue#13, p.54]
  3. Dead Space is one of best Survival Horror releases in years. Tense, violent and incredibly aggressive; playing it at night with a loud 5.1 sound system can provide you the most spectacular scare moments of your life.
  4. Dead Space is great entertainments for adults, not only because of the amount of gore and horror, but also because of the enthralling story with some nice twists. It's impressive how well pictures, dialogues and sound work together to form a cinema-like atmosphere.
  5. Dead Space was definitely a risk for EA and it's great to see they were willing to run with it, because it is a fantastic game. It looks and sounds great, is a lot of fun to play and oozes atmosphere.
  6. PC Zone UK
    81
    Dead Space is a potentially great game that's hamstrung by an attempt to completely ape a console controller with a mouse and keyboard. [Dec 2008, p.58]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Despite its by-the-numbers storyline, the game grabs you into its sucking chest wound of a world and keeps you there until the last chitinous spike has been blasted from the final suppurating torso. [Dec 2008, p.67]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 237
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Picked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is anPicked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is an incredible game, great storyline and probably the best fiver I spent on a game which is about three years old. As good as that first feeling you got when playing the first Resident Evil, though that's a poor comparison. Dead Space sucks you into it's madness and chaos, leaving you gasping for a breather. Definitely going to grab Dead Space 2. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido eEste jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma Expand
  3. anonymous
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    What a fantastic game. Like an ode to Doom 3 in many ways, its totally engaging and absorbing. The gameplay is terrifically well balanced What a fantastic game. Like an ode to Doom 3 in many ways, its totally engaging and absorbing. The gameplay is terrifically well balanced too, not too much, not to little of anything. Also, for basically a console port, the PC version is super clean, including a good compromise on the save system.... it just works well. The only complain I had was that the third person view makes visibility pretty tough sometimes, but you get used to it. There are times when I couldn't see what was going on, which made my eyes hurt. But this only happened occasionally. A GREAT game, truly Expand
  4. ElginM.
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    Good: immersive environment, tactical combat (versus mindless blasting), diverse array of enemies Bad: you feel like an intern (Isaac, fix Good: immersive environment, tactical combat (versus mindless blasting), diverse array of enemies Bad: you feel like an intern (Isaac, fix this...Isaac, bring that schematic to me), dreary and cramped environment the entire time, startling rather than scary. Expand
  5. DaleF
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. Interesting and innovative maneuvers in zero-G (not something I Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    Did you enjoy the System Shock series? Were you upset because they never continued it due to EA owning the rights to the series? Well fret notDid you enjoy the System Shock series? Were you upset because they never continued it due to EA owning the rights to the series? Well fret not they finally did something with it-oh I just stepped in what I believe is dog shi-nope, just a complete rip-off of the System Shock series!

    However, as disappointed a I was with this waste of time, I'll give it a nice ugly score of 5 (just because I only believe in three grades, those being A, C, and F, but I'll use a 5 to substitute a 70-79 score on a 100-point scale) because it was playable and although (some) of the employees from Visceral games seems to think they discovered atmosphere and immersion techniques they are comparable to a teenager discovering internet porn for the first time and going on to brag about it-they ripped off a good game and with that said, I found the pacing to be adequate at best. But its not worth its' full retail price. Feel free to skip this game if you see it during the next sale (or on Origin, IF Origin has it and IF Origin ever has sales), you won't miss out on anything but a 6-to-8-hour story campaign with unlovable characters, decent pacing, and a complete 3rd-person rip-off of System Shock/Doom.

    Buuuuut,if all you care about is "graphix and gunZ!!!11!one!", break a leg.
    Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2015
    0
    I wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the gameI wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the game except when the character was moving; then it was impossible to turn. Expand

See all 237 User Reviews