Dead Space PC

Dead Space Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In DeadIn the bold and often-bloody Dead Space gamers step into a third-person sci-fi survival horror experience that delivers psychological thrills and gruesome action. Set in the cold blackness of deep space, the atmosphere is soaked with a feeling of tension, dread and sheer terror. In Dead Space, players step into the role of engineer Isaac Clarke – an ordinary man on a seemingly routine mission to fix the communications systems aboard a deep space mining ship. It is not long before Isaac awakes to a living nightmare when he learns that the ship's crew has been ravaged by a vicious alien infestation. He must fight through the dead silence and darkness of deep space to stay alive. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Integrating some nice variety into one game while maintaining its decidedly action-oriented dynamics, Dead Space is appealing across a wide cross-section of gameplay styles. Wrap an engrossing plot that is a veritable warren of intermingling themes around this and you've got a game that is basically a guaranteed experience.
  2. Total PC Gaming
    90
    [Issue#13, p.54]
  3. Dead Space is one of best Survival Horror releases in years. Tense, violent and incredibly aggressive; playing it at night with a loud 5.1 sound system can provide you the most spectacular scare moments of your life.
  4. Dead Space is great entertainments for adults, not only because of the amount of gore and horror, but also because of the enthralling story with some nice twists. It's impressive how well pictures, dialogues and sound work together to form a cinema-like atmosphere.
  5. Dead Space was definitely a risk for EA and it's great to see they were willing to run with it, because it is a fantastic game. It looks and sounds great, is a lot of fun to play and oozes atmosphere.
  6. PC Zone UK
    81
    Dead Space is a potentially great game that's hamstrung by an attempt to completely ape a console controller with a mouse and keyboard. [Dec 2008, p.58]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Despite its by-the-numbers storyline, the game grabs you into its sucking chest wound of a world and keeps you there until the last chitinous spike has been blasted from the final suppurating torso. [Dec 2008, p.67]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 245
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Picked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is anPicked this up recently during a Steam Sale. Was wondering what the hype was all about for Dead Space 2. I now know. Dead Space is an incredible game, great storyline and probably the best fiver I spent on a game which is about three years old. As good as that first feeling you got when playing the first Resident Evil, though that's a poor comparison. Dead Space sucks you into it's madness and chaos, leaving you gasping for a breather. Definitely going to grab Dead Space 2. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2017
    10
    This is most intense and thrill, terrifying, cool and memorable survival horror TPS I have ever played. And OMG that sound design. It is justThis is most intense and thrill, terrifying, cool and memorable survival horror TPS I have ever played. And OMG that sound design. It is just PERFECT. Go and play this. Then you are gonna know what I'am talking about.

    Motivated by good old movies and games+low budget+effort=Dead Space. SAGA START!
    Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Pure adreneline pulse pounding jump out of your skin action. Once you get used to the controls game on. This is a must for any gamer. If youPure adreneline pulse pounding jump out of your skin action. Once you get used to the controls game on. This is a must for any gamer. If you love horror even if you hate TPS take it for a ride or you are missing out on a great and satisfying experience. I do wish the story was a bit beefier but what can you do, this game is still one of my favorites Expand
  4. DanielJ.
    Jan 21, 2009
    8
    This is a really great game! However, at first I was rather dissappointed with the noticeable amount of mouse lag and the third-person This is a really great game! However, at first I was rather dissappointed with the noticeable amount of mouse lag and the third-person over-the-shoulder-camera-view where the main character blocked a significant portion of the view. But after switching off vsync and changing to a widescreen resolution, both of these initially quite annoying problems almost vanished and allowed me to discover what a thoroughly enjoyable and suspense-filled, atmospheric sci-fi "horror" shooter it really was. The "strategic maiming" sets it apart from many other games and is actually rather fun. It can be quite challenging at times - you need to aim both well and quick since you are often ambushed by several creatures at once. All in all highly recommended for fans of the genre! Expand
  5. DaleF
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. PROs: excellent graphics & creepy effects makes this on par with Doom3. Innovative navigation feature (where to go next) and 3D maps. Interesting and innovative maneuvers in zero-G (not something I Expand
  6. May 8, 2011
    6
    This game is neither good nor is it bad. It has some fun elements but allot of flaws. For being a Survival Horror TPS game it's not hard toThis game is neither good nor is it bad. It has some fun elements but allot of flaws. For being a Survival Horror TPS game it's not hard to survive (even on the hardest difficulty) and it's far from a Horror. Today's standard of horror is doom 3 and that is why all horror game suck in that matter. When playing through it I constantly ran and never got surprised since a game with bright lighted rooms and a BFG and monsters who can't take **** for beeting kinda takes away all horror. See it like this, I would be scared ****less if I was put in a cage with a starving lion without any means of defence. But if you put me in the same cage, put me in a Metal armor suit, hand me a mini-gun and heavily sedate the lion it's suddenly not scary anymore.... Dead space is the later example. The transition from Console to PC when it comes to controls are HORRID. Worst mouse movement I have ever encountered in a TPS game, apart from that it's a rather nice game in it's own way. I would not say it's a waste playing it. But borrow it from a friend of buy it cheap cause anything more then 5-10 $ and it's a bad deal. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2015
    0
    I wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the gameI wasn't unable to play. There is a bug that doesn't allow me to walk and turn at the same time. The mouse works fine during all the game except when the character was moving; then it was impossible to turn. Expand

See all 245 User Reviews