Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    70
    Although, the game overall was not a letdown, as I got exactly what I expected, with a story told like some crazy paradox by a character you can’t help but enjoy.
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun. I cannot stress enough how much I value an entertaining experience, which is what High Moon delivers here. Fans of the character will love it, and if you are like me and are only vaguely familiar, the tropes and meta humor carry it through the brief campaign.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is a game that suffers in ways that should probably bother me a lot more than they do, but there’s no doubting that I had a good time while playing it. I was entertained. I laughed out loud on more than a few occasions.
  4. 70
    I've had a hard time putting Deadpool down. Not because the mechanics or the game as a whole are particularly great, but because the (admittedly) juvenile humor constantly carries it forward. In some ways, it feels like what Duke Nukem should have been. It's dumb, silly and self conscious, and that's what makes it so funny.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    In the end, hardcore Deadpool fans may want to get this game sooner rather than later, but for everyone else I'd say wait. There is some fun to be had here bashing baddies over the head with hammers and the like, and the story is pretty hilarious. However, the extremely short length of the game is a deal breaker. Wait until Deadpool gets a Steam sale or some such before picking it up.
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Swinging wildly between inspired and tedious, Deadpool is an uneven and unpredictable as its lead character. [Oct 2013, p.60]
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    A generic action game that can be really funny at times (if boob jokes are your type if humour) and has some enjoyable moments. If you’re a Deadpool fan and you find this game at a discount price or borrow it from a friend, I will not discourage you form playing it. Otherwise – meh. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.52]
  9. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is like a crappy moonshine. It may lighten your mood for a while, but you can’t shake the gross aftertaste. And when the ending comes, you will be left with an equivalent of a bad hangover – just a couple of funny jokes plus a few severed heads.
  10. 60
    Anyway, if you want a hacky-slashy title that mocks videogame and comic conventions and never takes itself seriously then Deadpool is for you.
  11. 60
    Gameplay-wise this is mediocre, it's got some rough edges and only a few truly great moments. It really is action from the assembly line, nothing more, nothing less. The meta-humor on the other hand is fantastic and well delivered, if an acquired taste. Deadpool aficionados might just enjoy their five to six hours with this.
  12. 60
    Deadpool gives what his fans want, but exciting gameplay moments are too few and far between. It’s a great shame that the rest of the game isn’t up to snuff with the character performances as the industry needs more comical stories such as this.
  13. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Developer High Moon gets the character and brings the funny, but none of the action finesse that would make Deadpool stand out.
  14. Jul 3, 2013
    55
    Deadpool is wasted potential. The story and lots of great humor would be enough to make this game one of the best comic book adaptations, if only the gameplay was on the same level. Unfortunately it isn't - the game has lot of issues and quickly becomes boring (there are some interesting innovations from time to time, but that's not enough). High Moon Studios delivered a product that makes fun of clichés, but at the same time is one of them. Only for fans of Deadpool and crazy atmosphere.
  15. Jul 4, 2013
    50
    It’s played safe, and although its jokes might make one playthrough worthwhile even they struggle to maintain the interest of a game severely lacking the nuance and depth of its contemporaries.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 103
  2. Negative: 10 out of 103
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to critics this game is funny as hell. I almost died of laughing. Gameplay is normal hack n slash with upgrades. the main good thing in game is the jokes. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    There is nothing special about this game, nothing amazing or outstanding. BUT IT'S JUST PLAIN FUN! General hack n slash with some randomness thrown in. Just fun in its purest form, not many games like that these days without a "serious" tone to it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    First of all I´d like to say that I don´t understand why this game has gotten as much flack as it has. It is a perfectly enjoyable experience. It has variety and at the same time it can be a little dumbed down, however the nonstop action keeps it from going stale. The story is crazy as is to be expected (I mean cmon the director of the game is Deadpool himself). For those unfamiliar with Deadpool as a character the games weird plot and crazy wisecracks, juvenile humor and sexism might come off as stupid. Deadpool isn´t the brightest knife in the drawer either and as such his character is rather dense and funny, you´d be able to get quite a good couple of laughs while playing this game. As a Deadpool fan you are sure to get your moneys worth the first play through. Being a Deadpool fan myself I can honestly say I enjoyed the game to the fullest but however I am a gamer and the following points are unbiased. The graphics are not the best neither are they the worst, they are mediocre and at times they shine. Framerate can get choppy but for the most part it is smooth. The game doesn´t take itself seriously and as such the environments and the style of the game should be taken into consideration as setting the tone for what is. The game does just that. The controls are not the best since it is perfectly obvious that this is a console title at heart, with some tweaking to your bindings you can however get rather comfortable play (however not optimal).Some bindings are not allowed like the scroll wheel on your mouse (retarded if you ask me). Music is great and I personally never got bored with it and the voice acting is awesome and so is the script and lines you will hear, some effects could use some work like the guns who feel a little flat but overall the sound is better than just passable. Gameplay is what counts the most in any game and Deadpool doesn´t go out of it´s own way to try and give you much to deal with here. You will have platforming, easy puzzles, alot of hacking and slashing and shooting. The combat system is very simple so don´t expect any God of War or DMC 3 fighting here. The action is intense and fast but the choice to have a counter button on the same button as Deadpools teleport ability was a stupid move. More often than not will you teleport around when you actually want to counter an enemy like you do in Batman Arkham series. When the counter works it´s great when it doesn´t 70-80% of the time not so great you will get better the further you progress which is a slight comfort). There is no online mode and the challenges are very generic and you most likely won´t bother with them when you are done with the campaign. To play through a 2nd time and unlock everything is an option which basically only hardcore Deadpool fans will do, everyone else will put the game on their shelves and remember it for the first and only time they played it and maybe pick it from time to time to play a specific map (some parts of the story are worthy of more playthroughs because of the awede cutscenes which are so funny you just have to see them more than once).

    Bottom line is that this game will be loved by the fans, enjoyed by the general public and hated on by hard felt critics and women.

    As a fan I give Deadpool an 8/10 but as a gamer I give Deadpool a 6/10. Hope that these two results guide you well in your decision to buy this game. The lack of multiplayer, short campaign (6-8h) and teleport/counter button are the biggest drawbacks in Deadpool.

    Regards Oktalz
    Full Review »