Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadpool's oratory: "There are a few important things I need to say before you crack into my insanely sweet game. (Oof. Here we go again.) I'm a mercenary with an accelerated healing factor. I've been described as unstable, which is just plain coo-coo. (Wait, do sane people say coo-coo?) I'm gonna battle for the safety of humans and mutants. (And even mumans.) Be prepared for just about anything. (Holla!) • I made sure to capture all my good sides, so I made my game a third-person action-shooter. (Yep, you get to look at my heinie.) • Keep a look out cuz some of my X-Men pals (Whoa, what pals?!) are making an appearance. (Hope you don't mind picking hair out of your tacos.) • I'm really good at killing, so I made it a blast stringing together combos, and totally eviscerating my enemies. (Ev-is-cer-a-ting!) • I brought my skills and a buttload of my favorite things. Katanas (check), guns (bang!) explosives (boom), duct tape (quack) and of course, yours truly - ME! (Checkmate!)" Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    70
    Although, the game overall was not a letdown, as I got exactly what I expected, with a story told like some crazy paradox by a character you can’t help but enjoy.
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is a game that suffers in ways that should probably bother me a lot more than they do, but there’s no doubting that I had a good time while playing it. I was entertained. I laughed out loud on more than a few occasions.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun. I cannot stress enough how much I value an entertaining experience, which is what High Moon delivers here. Fans of the character will love it, and if you are like me and are only vaguely familiar, the tropes and meta humor carry it through the brief campaign.
  4. 60
    Anyway, if you want a hacky-slashy title that mocks videogame and comic conventions and never takes itself seriously then Deadpool is for you.
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    A generic action game that can be really funny at times (if boob jokes are your type if humour) and has some enjoyable moments. If you’re a Deadpool fan and you find this game at a discount price or borrow it from a friend, I will not discourage you form playing it. Otherwise – meh. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.52]
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is like a crappy moonshine. It may lighten your mood for a while, but you can’t shake the gross aftertaste. And when the ending comes, you will be left with an equivalent of a bad hangover – just a couple of funny jokes plus a few severed heads.
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    50
    It’s played safe, and although its jokes might make one playthrough worthwhile even they struggle to maintain the interest of a game severely lacking the nuance and depth of its contemporaries.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 108
  2. Negative: 11 out of 108
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to critics this game is funny as hell. I almost died of laughing. Gameplay is normal hack n slash with upgrades. the main good thing in game is the jokes. Collapse
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short. While the game is not perfect or groundbreaking in many ways... it's about as entertaining as they come. And that's what gaming is all about.

    They nailed the Deadpool persona and it's a blast to experience. I couldn't help but keep playing to see what was going to happen next.

    It's also the hardest game I've ever played (on the hardest setting) which literally had me screaming obscenities through my house at times... which makes it a great challenge for any gaming masochists out there.
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This game is hilarious. I laughed solidly for hours, though admittedly not many hours, it's a very short game. Massive re-playability though given the nature of upgrades and the fact that they can be reset. The combat has been criticized as repetitive but let's be honest, it's that kind of game. If you want to spice it up, try using different combos and different fighting styles. The humour and feel of Deadpool has been captured perfectly. Brilliantly done in all respects, even the soundtrack is great. The first truly fun game I've played in a while. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Deadpool has been great in most forms of media. This is not an exception. This is a really good hack 'n slash game with a great sense of humor. Most importantly, the game is fun. Video games were made to be fun and that got lost somewhere in between Call of Duty and cinematic games. This is the most fun I have had with a game in a long time. There were times in this game where I smiled. Not because of the comedy, but because I genuinely enjoyed playing this game.
    I have seen many reviews of this game, stating that the combat is shallow. I disagree. This isn't the deepest combat around, but it definitely isn't shallow. There are a large assortment of weapons that you can swap between at any time. All of the weapons are upgradable, along with Deadpool himself. There is also a momentum bar that will allow you to unleash massive attacks upon your enemies. Building up this bar requires combos, which require upgrades to weapons and smart fighting. I think most reviewers went through this game, just button mashing the entire time. If you build combos, the combat is jut fine.
    This game is hilarious. It is one of the funniest games I have seen in a long time. The writing is great and I was laughing at most of Deadpool's jokes. All of the characters are enjoyable and Nolan North does a passable job as Deadpool. My favorite character by far was Cable. He mad me laugh several times, even appearing as a talking taco at one point in the game.
    My only complaint with this game is that sometimes, it falls into the traps that it makes fun of. The game made fun of a downward sliding section while you played through the games downward sliding section. It's okay to make fun of video game tropes, but if you do that, don't fall into that trap.
    Overall, this was a great game and a definite pick up for any Deadpool fan, or and hack 'n slash fan in general. This game receives an 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2014
    8
    I know the game has been out a while but I just played it for the first time tonight. It's a riot! I appreciate the adult humor. Storyline is "ok", I was surprised to see other Marvel characters in this game. I got it for free & the sad part is it's a lot better then some of the newer games I've been playing lately that I did buy. The upgrade system is pretty standard I think which is a good thing. Balanced just right with enough XP to get almost everything. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    It is a must-have game if you are only looking for laughter. The combat becomes very repetitive and the game itself is pretty short and easy (even on hardest difficulty). The only factor that saves the game is the humour (immature) which can make you laugh a lot of times during your gameplay. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I bought this in the Steam sale and ended up feeling disappointed even with 75% off. I quite appreciated the humour, but it tries too hard a lot of the time, and the witty quips when he chops yet another clone get tiresome. The real problem is the awful game engine, the poor level design and the fact it's a console-port. Console ports don't usually bother me, but in combination with the other problems it manages to remove all interest value from the combat. Like "I'm in a wall, there are five (identical) enemies milling around behind me, I can't control the camera, I'll mash some buttons and just hope they die as easily as the previous 500 of them." Levels are scripted to the point of ridiculousness, the upgrade tree sucks because it mostly revolves around powering up the special moves that you never use because you'd then need a hand for the mouse to control where you look, a hand for the w,s,a,d to control where you're going, and a third hand to actually press the attack buttons.

    Deadpool: a game for three-handed Beavis and Butthead fans with very low standards of level design.
    Expand

See all 108 User Reviews