Death Rally (2012) PC

Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    Death Rally is quick and easy to pick up and learn, but quickly runs out of steam. Wait for the half-off sale on this one.
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    For ten bucks, you get a rather enjoyable little racing/car combat game in Death Rally. There are a few problems here and there, but when played in quick sessions, you can easily get addicted to earning money and upgrading your death rides.
  3. Aug 4, 2012
    80
    Death Rally is a fantastic example of how you can play a game for two minutes at a time or an hour or two, as you will find yourself addicted and wanting to play again. This is a enjoyable PC game seriously worth downloading, as you will have lots of fun with it.
  4. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    78
    Death Rally accomplishes its goal to a great extent: it presents an updated version of a loved game, without overdoing it with modernized novelties. [October 2012]
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    75
    The best we can say about Death Rally for PC is that it is really addictive, and you can't stop running one race after another once started. It has few tracks and cars, only a game mode and very limited multiplayer options, but a simple and engaging gameplay. Its major flaw is that it is too limited and short in content, and some players will find it repetitive, but the price is worth a buy.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Modern reincarnation of popular arcade driving gives an overall positive impression – old-school playability brings you a lot of "fast & furious" fun. [Sept 2012]
  7. Aug 10, 2012
    64
    Although it is a little lackluster, the mayhem and destruction are quite entertaining. Unfortunately you'll get tired of the tracks quite soon.
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    At the current price point of $9.99 on the PC, the title is difficult to recommend if you don't have access to a PC gamepad. However, if the price drops and you have a few bucks to spare, Death Rally may be worth the hassle.
  9. CD-Action
    Aug 29, 2012
    60
    My first thought was: 'Sweet Jesus, who would like to play a game like this now?'. Two hours and a couple hundred laps later I was wandering how something this primitive can be so addictive. [10/2012, p.78]
  10. Sep 25, 2012
    57
    Compared to the original, this Death Rally is twice as better, but that is hardly a compliment. We've played many great racing games since then, both with and without shooting, but this one still tries to party like it's 1996.
  11. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Looking for the greatest pick-up-and-play top-down car-combat game ever? This isn't it. [Oct 2012, p.80]
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    4
    The races in Death Rally are each only about 1 minute long, and there are only about 10 maps. Consequently, it's a VERY repetitive game. YouThe races in Death Rally are each only about 1 minute long, and there are only about 10 maps. Consequently, it's a VERY repetitive game. You usually have to do 3 to 5 races to get enough cash for an upgrade, and there are 5+ upgrades for every car, and 9 upgrades for each of the 6 weapons. Since you don't really get any objectives, completion is the only thing you can play for. That means you'll have to do several thousand of these 1 minute races.

    The game was fun to begin with, but 30 minutes later it was a repetitive snorefest. Don't get this game if you don't like grinding.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you willAs a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice:

    -The game plays at a much slower pace
    -Narrower tracks, -The camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns
    -Just...bad car handling (even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical level, it won't let you turn+accelerate+shoot your secondary weapon at the same time. Instead you'll just go straight shooting and ram into a wall)
    -Very short races -No more pedestrians to run over
    -Your basic machine gun AUTO-SHOOTS? Now we are being noob friendly/streamlined?

    I regret buying this on sale and this game has hampered my view of Remedy. However, if you just stumbled upon this title and haven't played the original - drop everything you're doing now and go play it. It really is one of (if not) the best top down racer ever made.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way tooOk, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way too linear and gives worse experience than the original. Not a good remake. Full Review »