Death Rally (2012) PC

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 54
  2. Negative: 15 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ERB
    Jan 23, 2014
    7
    Death Rally doesn't really improve upon the original death rally.It also did not become worst than the original Death Rally.The only problem in this game is that The new Death Rally feels like the same as the original.This game disappoints me but the game is worth playing for like 2-4 hours or less.In fact each races are only about 1 minute long!and there are only 10 maps in the wholeDeath Rally doesn't really improve upon the original death rally.It also did not become worst than the original Death Rally.The only problem in this game is that The new Death Rally feels like the same as the original.This game disappoints me but the game is worth playing for like 2-4 hours or less.In fact each races are only about 1 minute long!and there are only 10 maps in the whole game!But the good thing about this game is customizing your car.Death Rally cars always looks awesome to look at.I know that this is a disappointing game but I hope remedy will make a better death rally in the near future. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I was a HUGE fan of the 1996 version of the game. In fact, I install it and play it at least once every year..and after playing this game I think I will contiue to do so. Don't get me wrong, this game is pretty fun and if you've never played the original you'll probably like it. I don't want to sound like an old person expecting to stick with the old school ways but this game was missingI was a HUGE fan of the 1996 version of the game. In fact, I install it and play it at least once every year..and after playing this game I think I will contiue to do so. Don't get me wrong, this game is pretty fun and if you've never played the original you'll probably like it. I don't want to sound like an old person expecting to stick with the old school ways but this game was missing some key items. More voices, the only ones I heard (which were pretty good) were ''bad scary'' and some screaming. It could have also used more pictures to get to know the characteres...maybe even a ladder like the old game. Where is DUKE!? The story also sucked, there were like 5 story races. It needs an update. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice:

    -The game plays at a much slower pace -Narrower tracks, -The camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns -Just...bad car handling (even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical
    As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice:

    -The game plays at a much slower pace
    -Narrower tracks, -The camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns
    -Just...bad car handling (even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical level, it won't let you turn+accelerate+shoot your secondary weapon at the same time. Instead you'll just go straight shooting and ram into a wall)
    -Very short races -No more pedestrians to run over
    -Your basic machine gun AUTO-SHOOTS? Now we are being noob friendly/streamlined?

    I regret buying this on sale and this game has hampered my view of Remedy. However, if you just stumbled upon this title and haven't played the original - drop everything you're doing now and go play it. It really is one of (if not) the best top down racer ever made.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    While not a perfect remake, Neo Death Rally has its ups and downs. The bad; no pedestrians, auto-fire of the standard gun, less options in the black market. The good: Races now have 6 competitors making them while slower a lot more intense, early vehicles aren't always useless anymore, no more mirror = new track, more variety in weapons. It's pretty hard, it's pure fun, and the online modeWhile not a perfect remake, Neo Death Rally has its ups and downs. The bad; no pedestrians, auto-fire of the standard gun, less options in the black market. The good: Races now have 6 competitors making them while slower a lot more intense, early vehicles aren't always useless anymore, no more mirror = new track, more variety in weapons. It's pretty hard, it's pure fun, and the online mode is a nice addition though it could do with more players. A good tribute to the classic. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    Remedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fans complain, after all it's not the old days. The game is still the same. Few types of racing, few tracks, but the boring side and addictive gameplay. Annoying system unlocking things and lack of ideas for campaigns. Although the game can be a bit of fun,Remedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fans complain, after all it's not the old days. The game is still the same. Few types of racing, few tracks, but the boring side and addictive gameplay. Annoying system unlocking things and lack of ideas for campaigns. Although the game can be a bit of fun, however, that's an old classic that left little damage. My Rating - 5/10 Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    I didn't play the initial Death Rally so I can't really compare the two... With that stated, I am having fun with this. I consider it a "Need for Speed" meets "Twisted Metal" title. That's fine by me. It's entertaining. Sure, it isn't going to be "Game of the Year" but if I'm having a rough day and want to just blow stuff up, it's good for that. I enjoy unlocking the various weaponsI didn't play the initial Death Rally so I can't really compare the two... With that stated, I am having fun with this. I consider it a "Need for Speed" meets "Twisted Metal" title. That's fine by me. It's entertaining. Sure, it isn't going to be "Game of the Year" but if I'm having a rough day and want to just blow stuff up, it's good for that. I enjoy unlocking the various weapons and accessories. I like having to unlock additional courses. I haven't tried multiplayer yet but that's next. It's a fun game. Steam's running it on sale for 4.99 and I don't consider that unreasonable at all for this title. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    Why that score are so low? Death Rally is a good indie game.
    Is a cheap "Rock´n roll racing" game style who delivers what it promises.

    I have some fun playing it.
  8. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was playing the original game soo many times. The original was funny, exciting, challenging, also had some bad points like short campaign and the enemies are faster than you in higher difficulties. The new Death Rally has more problems. While the graphics are good and the music is good too (but not badass like in the original), the gameplay isn't as good as in the original. The maps are too little (much smaller than in the original) and there are about 10 maps and some of them are really bad. The upgrade system is not bad, but it's far from being good. The cash system is terrible, extremly terrible. The boosting is bad, the controlling is bad too, the bosses are much faster than the others and also they have much more health. The aiming is soo hard and this is why new (and old) weapons are useless (eg. snipergun, minigun, shotgun). The differences between the cars are smaller and there are +2 cars, but the extra cars are useless, the Deliverator is the best as in the original. The extra game modes are bad, some of them are extremly bad. The original game was a really good game (9/10), this one is not (5/10). If you like the original one much, then don't buy it. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Although the basic concept of Death Rally is solid, there are problems. There is not a large variety of tracks, and you will often race on the same track a lot. The controls are also quite difficult and frustrating, so expect to crash into walls often. The gun mechanics also do no work that well, as it actually encourages you to stay behind and shoot everyone, which is rather contradictoryAlthough the basic concept of Death Rally is solid, there are problems. There is not a large variety of tracks, and you will often race on the same track a lot. The controls are also quite difficult and frustrating, so expect to crash into walls often. The gun mechanics also do no work that well, as it actually encourages you to stay behind and shoot everyone, which is rather contradictory to the objective in a racing game. Expect frustration and repetition will set in quickly. Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    78
    Death Rally accomplishes its goal to a great extent: it presents an updated version of a loved game, without overdoing it with modernized novelties. [October 2012]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Looking for the greatest pick-up-and-play top-down car-combat game ever? This isn't it. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Modern reincarnation of popular arcade driving gives an overall positive impression – old-school playability brings you a lot of "fast & furious" fun. [Sept 2012]