Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Load your guns, start your engines...THE CLASSIC IS BACK! Brought to you from Remedy, renowned developers of Max Payne and Alan Wake, Remedy's Death Rally classic top down racer is back, stronger and more vicious than ever. This is no Sunday Drive. This is Death Rally, so be prepared to beLoad your guns, start your engines...THE CLASSIC IS BACK! Brought to you from Remedy, renowned developers of Max Payne and Alan Wake, Remedy's Death Rally classic top down racer is back, stronger and more vicious than ever. This is no Sunday Drive. This is Death Rally, so be prepared to be blown away, literally. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    Death Rally is a fantastic example of how you can play a game for two minutes at a time or an hour or two, as you will find yourself addicted and wanting to play again. This is a enjoyable PC game seriously worth downloading, as you will have lots of fun with it.
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    For ten bucks, you get a rather enjoyable little racing/car combat game in Death Rally. There are a few problems here and there, but when played in quick sessions, you can easily get addicted to earning money and upgrading your death rides.
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    Death Rally is quick and easy to pick up and learn, but quickly runs out of steam. Wait for the half-off sale on this one.
  4. 70
    Modern reincarnation of popular arcade driving gives an overall positive impression – old-school playability brings you a lot of "fast & furious" fun. [Sept 2012]
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    64
    Although it is a little lackluster, the mayhem and destruction are quite entertaining. Unfortunately you'll get tired of the tracks quite soon.
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    At the current price point of $9.99 on the PC, the title is difficult to recommend if you don't have access to a PC gamepad. However, if the price drops and you have a few bucks to spare, Death Rally may be worth the hassle.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Looking for the greatest pick-up-and-play top-down car-combat game ever? This isn't it. [Oct 2012, p.80]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I loved iPad Death Rally to death and immediately bought this version when I saw it on Steam. It's basically the same game, but they removedI loved iPad Death Rally to death and immediately bought this version when I saw it on Steam. It's basically the same game, but they removed all the IAP crap and added another track. There are tons of things to unlock, cool weapons and fame levels. I don't know what's going on with the multiplayer, though, I hope they are going to fix it soon. I can recommend this game to all arcade-racing-shooter fans. Collapse
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Simple, Cool, Fun, just an happy good little game like his grand father !
    Not perfect, a little limited but maybe dlc can arrived and modify
    Simple, Cool, Fun, just an happy good little game like his grand father !
    Not perfect, a little limited but maybe dlc can arrived and modify this.
    Finaly it's a good family game at low cost.
    Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    I got this game in the gaming magazine and it's great! Top-view racing games are classics... And i love racing games and it isI got this game in the gaming magazine and it's great! Top-view racing games are classics... And i love racing games and it is freeeeeeeeeee!!! Freeeeeeeee! I luv u Score! Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    Remedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fansRemedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fans complain, after all it's not the old days. The game is still the same. Few types of racing, few tracks, but the boring side and addictive gameplay. Annoying system unlocking things and lack of ideas for campaigns. Although the game can be a bit of fun, however, that's an old classic that left little damage. My Rating - 5/10 Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you willAs a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice:

    -The game plays at a much slower pace
    -Narrower tracks, -The camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns
    -Just...bad car handling (even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical level, it won't let you turn+accelerate+shoot your secondary weapon at the same time. Instead you'll just go straight shooting and ram into a wall)
    -Very short races -No more pedestrians to run over
    -Your basic machine gun AUTO-SHOOTS? Now we are being noob friendly/streamlined?

    I regret buying this on sale and this game has hampered my view of Remedy. However, if you just stumbled upon this title and haven't played the original - drop everything you're doing now and go play it. It really is one of (if not) the best top down racer ever made.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way tooOk, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way too linear and gives worse experience than the original. Not a good remake. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Really poor remake of the original. The controls are absolutely rubbish, as they seem linked to the FPS,
    which means you turn at different
    Really poor remake of the original. The controls are absolutely rubbish, as they seem linked to the FPS,
    which means you turn at different rates, depending on how many items are rendered, or where you are on the map.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews