Death Rally (2012) PC

Death Rally (2012) Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Load your guns, start your engines...THE CLASSIC IS BACK! Brought to you from Remedy, renowned developers of Max Payne and Alan Wake, Remedy's Death Rally classic top down racer is back, stronger and more vicious than ever. This is no Sunday Drive. This is Death Rally, so be prepared to beLoad your guns, start your engines...THE CLASSIC IS BACK! Brought to you from Remedy, renowned developers of Max Payne and Alan Wake, Remedy's Death Rally classic top down racer is back, stronger and more vicious than ever. This is no Sunday Drive. This is Death Rally, so be prepared to be blown away, literally. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    80
    Death Rally is a fantastic example of how you can play a game for two minutes at a time or an hour or two, as you will find yourself addicted and wanting to play again. This is a enjoyable PC game seriously worth downloading, as you will have lots of fun with it.
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    For ten bucks, you get a rather enjoyable little racing/car combat game in Death Rally. There are a few problems here and there, but when played in quick sessions, you can easily get addicted to earning money and upgrading your death rides.
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    Death Rally is quick and easy to pick up and learn, but quickly runs out of steam. Wait for the half-off sale on this one.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Modern reincarnation of popular arcade driving gives an overall positive impression – old-school playability brings you a lot of "fast & furious" fun. [Sept 2012]
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    64
    Although it is a little lackluster, the mayhem and destruction are quite entertaining. Unfortunately you'll get tired of the tracks quite soon.
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    At the current price point of $9.99 on the PC, the title is difficult to recommend if you don't have access to a PC gamepad. However, if the price drops and you have a few bucks to spare, Death Rally may be worth the hassle.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Looking for the greatest pick-up-and-play top-down car-combat game ever? This isn't it. [Oct 2012, p.80]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I loved iPad Death Rally to death and immediately bought this version when I saw it on Steam. It's basically the same game, but they removedI loved iPad Death Rally to death and immediately bought this version when I saw it on Steam. It's basically the same game, but they removed all the IAP crap and added another track. There are tons of things to unlock, cool weapons and fame levels. I don't know what's going on with the multiplayer, though, I hope they are going to fix it soon. I can recommend this game to all arcade-racing-shooter fans. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome game! It's very much like the original with a bunch of enhancements. The multiplayer is a really nice addition!

    On the downside the
    Awesome game! It's very much like the original with a bunch of enhancements. The multiplayer is a really nice addition!

    On the downside the story mode is quite short.
    Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    While not a perfect remake, Neo Death Rally has its ups and downs. The bad; no pedestrians, auto-fire of the standard gun, less options in theWhile not a perfect remake, Neo Death Rally has its ups and downs. The bad; no pedestrians, auto-fire of the standard gun, less options in the black market. The good: Races now have 6 competitors making them while slower a lot more intense, early vehicles aren't always useless anymore, no more mirror = new track, more variety in weapons. It's pretty hard, it's pure fun, and the online mode is a nice addition though it could do with more players. A good tribute to the classic. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    Remedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fansRemedy opted for a classic. I wanted to refresh it, add to it a new and better items. Please the fans. It is a pity that even the fans complain, after all it's not the old days. The game is still the same. Few types of racing, few tracks, but the boring side and addictive gameplay. Annoying system unlocking things and lack of ideas for campaigns. Although the game can be a bit of fun, however, that's an old classic that left little damage. My Rating - 5/10 Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way tooOk, I have to reconsider my rating after playing for longer time. I have to agree with BinarySplit and others. It's way too fast, way too linear and gives worse experience than the original. Not a good remake. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2015
    1
    Everything went wrong way. You just had to give us the same game - but better, with more content... what we get is game where when you getEverything went wrong way. You just had to give us the same game - but better, with more content... what we get is game where when you get best car (from old death really) ITS IS FU**ING SLOWER THAN EVERYTHING. You have to earn some cash to upgrade its speed and armor - wrong, in old game you had account and you decided when and how spend money! - it was just better...

    Driving isn't nice, shooting also changed, boost changed... but everything went wrong!
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Really poor remake of the original. The controls are absolutely rubbish, as they seem linked to the FPS,
    which means you turn at different
    Really poor remake of the original. The controls are absolutely rubbish, as they seem linked to the FPS,
    which means you turn at different rates, depending on how many items are rendered, or where you are on the map.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews