• Publisher: Biart
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2012
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    45
    On paper this was material for a blockbuster but good ideas were buried under incompetence and lack of experience. [May 2012, p.64]
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    45
    If you've got more money than sense, feel free to try it out. But if you're serious about gaming, and look for rewarding and engaging experiences, then stay well away.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    Deep Black: Reloaded falls short of its promising use of a predominately-water environment and instead casts that aside to become a below average shooter fest.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    33
    Deep Black: Reloaded is an underwater Gears of War clone. While a good idea in theory, the execution here is all wrong. Frustrating action, poor checkpointing, boring level designs and enemies that take far too many bullets to kill. There are some good ideas here, but you have to dive deep to find them!
  5. May 14, 2012
    30
    Deep Black: Reloaded features incredibly repetitive gameplay and broken, frustrating shooting. It's devoid of the smoothness in controls and exciting action that made the Gears of War series such a joy to play.
  6. 30
    Underwater third-person shooter is good for one and only one purpose: if you want to see every possible game mistake, bug and bad design decision packed into one, you just got it. [Apr 2012]
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    30
    Deep Black: Reloaded squanders its potential on broken cover-based shooting sequences.
  8. Mar 8, 2012
    30
    With apologies to The Little Mermaid, perhaps third-person shooters aren't one of those things that's "much better, down where it's wetter, under the sea."
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    20
    A low budget game with no intention to entertain its audience. Deep Black: Reloaded is just a bad carbon copy of every other game released post Gears of War. Avoid at all costs.
  10. Mar 14, 2012
    20
    Deep Black: Reloaded manages to take a potentially good idea and turn it into a living hell. Due to the lack of variation and the high amount of bad technical performances, it is a nightmare to play this game. Everyone should wisely stay away from this one.
  11. 20
    Deep Black: Reloaded manages far too well in making me furious within just a few minutes. Bad conveyance, poorly executed action elements and the worst storytelling I've experienced in a long, long time makes for an ultimately broken game.
  12. Mar 2, 2012
    20
    There's no discernable ironic enjoyment to be gleaned from this game, and it's certainly not fun-bad like Deadly Premonition. It's just plain old depressing bad-bad. Like drowning.
  13. May 2, 2012
    10
    It's a collection of repetitive gameplay, bland levels, a horrible story with forgettable characters, and a poor system of checkpoints that forces you to keep replaying sections of the already tedious levels. The overall experience is mind-numbing and frustrating, making it hard to play it for more than 30 minutes at a time without wanting to throw something or burn things.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    Like so many others, the conceit for this game was fascinating. Underwater open environments! New and interesting ways to fight in aLike so many others, the conceit for this game was fascinating. Underwater open environments! New and interesting ways to fight in a dystopian, cyberpunkian future ruled by merciless corporations! Lots of other stuff that, at most, gets passing mention in this game and has no bearing on the gameplay whatsoever! Actually playing the game is the deepest (...hah.) of disappointments. Thrill at having trouble getting onto a half-submerged staircase! Marvel at the stiffest protagonist movement since Resident Evil 1! Experience the pulse-pounding irritation of trying to make the sloppy, broken aiming work! This game not only did not learn from the current generation of FPS games' mistakes, it's still not sure that the mistakes of the 90s were really something from which to learn. Did I give this game a fair try? No, not really. After about half an hour of already repetitive, narrow corridors, enemies so bland I'm still not sure whether there was more than one enemy character model, godawful broken shooting, and getting caught on boxes and corners while trying to run around, I gave up. Still, as the game is fairly pretty (except when it's actually moving or trying to do anything) and boasts mediocre voice acting to go with the atrocious script, as well as having at least attempted something novel, I feel that it has earned its 2. This would have been significantly higher, no doubt, had they opted for a novel, interesting concept which they had some sort of idea for using.
    This game is like neon underlighting for your toaster. It's a kinda neat, odd idea that looks cool for a little while then makes you regret spending your money on such an utter waste of technology.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    1
    Plus: A nice idea. Normal: normal modern/scifi settings. Bad: Clunky unagile movement, bad controls both above ground and below. CharacterPlus: A nice idea. Normal: normal modern/scifi settings. Bad: Clunky unagile movement, bad controls both above ground and below. Character cannot jump! A million invisible walls. Stupid enemies. Chest high walls. Cannot grouch unless in front of a afore mentioned chest high wall. A crappy crappy crappy console port. I'm sorry about offensive language, but the port is absolutely awful that I cannot stipulate it enough. I need to say that I usually play pc-end shooters an bought this just to see what the commotion was about. The port between a xb pad and mouse is so damn horrible that stay away! Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    2
    like others: nice idea... BAD attempt.

    I have quite and returned 5 times since release trying desperately to get my money's worth and give
    like others: nice idea... BAD attempt.

    I have quite and returned 5 times since release trying desperately to get my money's worth and give this a fair chance... but....


    Pros: ummm... none.
    graphics are 'o.k.' for a modern shooter

    Cons: antiquated combat
    predictable boring AI
    limited AI actions/responses... you will see/hear the same thing 100 times in the first hour... painful!
    quirky controls
    unmappable keys
    minimal menu options and dismal control scheme
    mediocre sound effects
    bad voice editing...actors are o.k. but it does NOT flow naturally.
    poor scripting
    terrible autosave checkpoints
    very very very very linear

    I got sucked into the 'hype' and paid the $29.99 pre-order... ouchie.
    this is the ONLY game i have purchased in the last 5 years that i have TOTAL and aboslute regret *sigh*
    this game MAY be worth $9.99 (to some)... but even 'free' most will never finish this 'disaster' called a video game.
    Full Review »