• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deep Black: Reloaded is set in a desolate near future of global terrorism and espionage as players become involved in a desperate fight for world supremacy and the possession of a sophisticated biological weapon
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    78
    Deep Black: Reloaded is Halo mixed with Gears of War. There's nothing new, but it's a good hardcore shooter.
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    69
    For what the game does, it works relatively well. There are a few hitches here and there, but it was never enough to have me quit playing the game. For a cheaper title, you can definitely do a lot worse than Deep Black. If you're looking for a decent little shooter and don't mind a few inconsistencies here and there, you might want to check this game out.
  3. May 4, 2012
    60
    After Depth Hunter, Biart shows once again their ability to manage the underwater worlds. Deep Black Reloaded though, is a FPS that has many problems, but it could also be the starting point for more successful products.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    33
    Deep Black: Reloaded is an underwater Gears of War clone. While a good idea in theory, the execution here is all wrong. Frustrating action, poor checkpointing, boring level designs and enemies that take far too many bullets to kill. There are some good ideas here, but you have to dive deep to find them!
  5. 30
    Underwater third-person shooter is good for one and only one purpose: if you want to see every possible game mistake, bug and bad design decision packed into one, you just got it. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 8, 2012
    30
    With apologies to The Little Mermaid, perhaps third-person shooters aren't one of those things that's "much better, down where it's wetter, under the sea."
  7. May 2, 2012
    10
    It's a collection of repetitive gameplay, bland levels, a horrible story with forgettable characters, and a poor system of checkpoints that forces you to keep replaying sections of the already tedious levels. The overall experience is mind-numbing and frustrating, making it hard to play it for more than 30 minutes at a time without wanting to throw something or burn things.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    wow..this game like a dead space :v but its still hard to finishing this game :v
    you can kill like a profesionnal killer :v how about graphic
    ? i think its good and gameplay of this game i think its great..but one.. BAD its no include parkour move for supporting defence .. nice game and i say thanks to developer :v Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    I liked very much this game since I was a child.It's some "different" compared with others new games,like AAA.The game,in general,is beauty and the history is good.The character have weapons interesting. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    Deep Black: Reloaded for the PC doesn't bring much new to the TPS genre, but it certainly does it well. A lot of things interested me about this game; underwater combat, sci-fi setting, amazing graphics. Deep Black Reloaded, is a cover based, third-person shooter developed by Biart. This company seems to be very interested in all things underwater, as all of the games they have developed have this in common. They have developed their own engine called the Biengine, and it looks and plays quite well. The controls are quite responsive, the only gripe i had was you cannot go cover to cover. The graphics are amazing, and i saw no frame-rate issues or screen tearing. A very well optimized game. This game is worth the $20-25 price tag. Collapse
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    Why is it that games set in the ocean even when few and far between correlate so strongly with bad design? Hydrophobia: prophecy, Deadly Tide, and now Deep Black: Reloaded. I suppose I should have been warned LONG before I even made it to the register with this tome after all the game's unique selling point, right there on the front of the case was the fact that it 'supports nVidia's 3D technology!' But even after the install, I was leaning far, FAR back in my seat from the intro sequence when I was given a set of bullet points in lieu of an ACTUAL introduction. Then the dialogue started. Oh my god. No the voice acting isn't terrible, and no it's not as bad as sitting through Space Marine, but if there wasn't a 13 year old kid with ADHD and an obsession with burning things on the production staff of this game I will be surprised. There's the hispanic mission ops lady with the predictible accent and poor grasp of enlgish aphorisms, the over-testosteroned banter and deadpan delivery in the face of certain death and the enemies who not only spout the same three lines at you, that often make no sense: 'Unloading Grenade!' What grenade? The only truly immersing part of the dialogue is the assortment of 12 or more death screams... Yeah. When you put MOST of your effort into how people sound when their shattered bodies finally give out I'm gonna want to keep you away from the sharp things.
    Oh and when it comes to certain death... Oh god the gameplay! What the hell were they thinking? I've never been a fan of Third-Person Shooters but this one is capital B.A.D. BAD. You run about 15 degrees to starboard of where you shoot and zooming in just exacerbates this disparity, if it wasn't for the auto-regenerating health it would be an even bigger headache. Even the underwater movement feels clunky. And in a game suffused with chest-high walls, only SOME of them are useable as cover, generally in combat areas, but even still that's yet another black mark against this game. The even MORE annoying thing about this cover mechanic is that the cover key is context dependent. Pressed when you're not taking cover you will do a roll in the relevant direction you happen to be moving. Wouldn't be so bad if the roll actually DID something, you move a total of about three inches while being completely exposed to enemies all over the shop. Also, why is there no jump key? Chest-high walls aside, it would be SUPER handy to be able to vault over cover and jump the odd railing. But obviously this was removed from the game to cover for the level design which features MANY areas which a player with a jump key could easily fall into and not get out of (unless someone invented say, a ladder), and the game would lose about HALF of it's ridiculously short key-quest style stair lowering 'quests' which amount to crossing a single room while facing maybe three or less braindead AI enemies.

    That aside, with a proper amount of polish this game would actually be quite good, but the big problem is EVERYTHING needs polishing. The control system is half-finished, the level design--while it flows okay-- is still too simple and suffers from the aforementioned puzzle mechanic, the AI is boring, and predictible resembling space invaders more than current-gen shooters, and the weapons are bland, uninspired and look like they were picked out of Master Chief's weapons locker. The writing needs a lot more flesh on it before it can be called a story, and the truly sad part here is someone OBVIOUSLY had an idea, had a coherent sequence of ideas which did in fact resemble a chain of events and not just a few footnotes hastily scribbled on a whiteboard somewhere. Were it not for the fact that this game apparently has its own proprietary engine I would have said that Deep Black resembles an indie game done by a bunch of high-school kids, but the fact is that someone sank a lot of money into what amounts to a giant turd, and not a very polished one at that.
    Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    2
    like others: nice idea... BAD attempt.

    I have quite and returned 5 times since release trying desperately to get my money's worth and give
    this a fair chance... but....


    Pros: ummm... none.
    graphics are 'o.k.' for a modern shooter

    Cons: antiquated combat
    predictable boring AI
    limited AI actions/responses... you will see/hear the same thing 100 times in the first hour... painful!
    quirky controls
    unmappable keys
    minimal menu options and dismal control scheme
    mediocre sound effects
    bad voice editing...actors are o.k. but it does NOT flow naturally.
    poor scripting
    terrible autosave checkpoints
    very very very very linear

    I got sucked into the 'hype' and paid the $29.99 pre-order... ouchie.
    this is the ONLY game i have purchased in the last 5 years that i have TOTAL and aboslute regret *sigh*
    this game MAY be worth $9.99 (to some)... but even 'free' most will never finish this 'disaster' called a video game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    2
    I was fascinated by the premise of this game. Underwater combat sounds like fun with an endless amount of possibilities. This game do sadly not live up to those expectations in any way. The movements and aiming is to start with clunky at best. The cover mechanic doesn't always work, you cant run and the main character moves like a big cube of metal. You might wonder why it matters how you character moves on land considering that this game is focused on underwater combat.

    Well get that idea out of your head. This game is by no means focused on underwater combat. The water segments of the game is mostly used for you to get to land-area A from land-Area B. The game do now and then throw some underwater robots at you which triggers a repetitive and boring quicktime event which you basically cant fail at. The robots in question are also quite boring to say the least and i didn't encounter any interesting enemies in underwater which is a real shame.

    But i don't want i to appear like my biggest complaint about this game is the lack of rewarding underwater segments. It was naturally disappointing that the game didn't match my expectations but i tried to give the land-combat a fair chance. And it was awful.

    The fact that the controls were awkward wasn't a good start but there were a whole lot of other thing that dragged down the combat. The checkpoints were awful and all things cover related was a bit wunky. Which is quite bad when your whole combat is based around cover. Trying to throw a grenade from cover for example makes your character stand up straight and get shot to pieces while throwing.

    Combine that with boring enemies and weapons and you get a combat which only succeeds in making you snore and rage.

    The visuals are alright in the game. The visuals underwater do look pretty even though they are nothing out of the ordinary. On the land the game do look competent though a bit boring.

    Now i know that i have been extremely critical of this game which is based upon the face that i had a terrible time with it. I should however mention that i didn't finish the game and that it its completely possible that the game does a 180 degree turn. That does not however sound very likely.
    Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2012
    0
    Worst game I've ever had the misfortune of playing. I actually took the time to make an account JUST to help prevent people from buying this abomination of a game. The environments are bland and unimaginative. You'll be vomiting in misery and crying at the monotony of the environments you fight in. The underwater environments redeemed the game for me in this area SLIGHTLY. This was probably just because it was something different other than the usual hallways of blah you fight in.

    The AI is about as smart as a wet paper bag. Sure most cover based shooters are just a more advanced version of duck hunt, but this game takes that and steps it into overdrive. The story is a **** mess. They drop you into the game in a way that hints this game is a sequel to something... boy that's a scary thought isn't it? Through sheer willpower I was able to listen to the god awful voice actors, and pretty much the story is once again some evil group with unlimited resources is attempting to take over the world by developing some super weapon. This game is the worst thing to ever happen to video game history, and it should be forgotten as a sin of man.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews